User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 6 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    Skate 2 7/10..........................................................................................................................................
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    7
    Skate 2 improves on all of the great controls of the original. Unfortunately is worse in terms of story and open world. Both lack the depth of the original. While the original had a satisfying conclusion of winning the XGAMES this one doesn't have anything as fun. Your last task is to win an event you created for the skatepark you made for the city. The customization of the original isSkate 2 improves on all of the great controls of the original. Unfortunately is worse in terms of story and open world. Both lack the depth of the original. While the original had a satisfying conclusion of winning the XGAMES this one doesn't have anything as fun. Your last task is to win an event you created for the skatepark you made for the city. The customization of the original is also back, which is great. The best thing here is the controls which are flawless. Allowing for crazy stuff to happen that seems believable at times. Its amazing. This alone trumps any issues with the story. The open world also has a police/guard mechanic that means you'll be able to be chased and have fights. This is all possible due to Skate 2's ability for you to separate your self from the board. Truly revolutionary. I just wish there were guns. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    7
    Better than skate 1, with some very fun gameplay mechanics like the hall of meat and just controlling the skateboard. The missions however are very frustrating and is basically trial and error
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    7
    Skate 2 is a small step down from the first Skate. The steering is an issue, as is the controls. I cover most of this in my Skate 3 review, read that instead.
  5. Akseli
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    I loved the game and i say that game was bit too easy.. Only bad things at game were short, nothing to do after complete, easy, sometimes camera jumping, moving objects and offboard . And i think that Skate 2 buttons and tricks are easy to learn.
  6. RobinN.
    May 22, 2009
    9
    I think this game is the best Action sports game because the buttons are so sensitive and the gamer has to practice doing a certain trick like in real life . But there is one minus in this game : because the off board and moving objects is new to EA Games its pretty stiff but i guess in Skate 3 it will be perfected if there even going to be a Skate 3.
  7. AJ
    Mar 30, 2009
    9
    This game is difficult, so difficult that its a joy when u actually land a move correctly. Took me a few days to really get the hang of it. If any other games were this difficult, I would have just tossed it one side. This game kept me as its just so beautiful to watch. Now that I really know how to play it, its quite satisfying. This is indeed the best skating game out there!
  8. CasualPlayer
    Mar 21, 2009
    2
    Verdict (Pass or Buy): Pass. (rent if you
  9. Beelay
    Mar 10, 2009
    9
    Great game, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Although the map is bigger, There aren't really as many gaps and fun places to go as in Skate 1. Lots more polish, far more tricks, and the framerate is far smoother. This is a good game, but the career mode seemed a bit too easy. If you played the first, you'd love it, but if you didn't, the learning curve might be a bit steep for the Great game, I thoroughly enjoyed it. Although the map is bigger, There aren't really as many gaps and fun places to go as in Skate 1. Lots more polish, far more tricks, and the framerate is far smoother. This is a good game, but the career mode seemed a bit too easy. If you played the first, you'd love it, but if you didn't, the learning curve might be a bit steep for the first few hours. Give it a try. Expand
  10. RobertN
    Mar 10, 2009
    8
    I played SKATE (at my mates house) , and i loved it so much i went out and bought SKATE 2. And i can say it is just as excellent but with loads more excellent features thrown in. OK, this game can be very infuriating due to some solid challenges, and annoying pedestrians. However the satisfaction and pure joy you can squeeze out of this game make you forget all about fact you just lobbed I played SKATE (at my mates house) , and i loved it so much i went out and bought SKATE 2. And i can say it is just as excellent but with loads more excellent features thrown in. OK, this game can be very infuriating due to some solid challenges, and annoying pedestrians. However the satisfaction and pure joy you can squeeze out of this game make you forget all about fact you just lobbed you controller through the window. Best skating game i have ever played, period. Expand
  11. BU
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    Great game, but still has plenty of flaws. The controls are easy to learn, and its easy to pull off simple flip to grind tricks, but its still a challenge to pull off more technical tricks. So you can just skate around the city, exploring, popping tricks here and there as you go, or you can stay in one spot, trying to nail a kickflip to tailslide shove-it out on a park bench, or Great game, but still has plenty of flaws. The controls are easy to learn, and its easy to pull off simple flip to grind tricks, but its still a challenge to pull off more technical tricks. So you can just skate around the city, exploring, popping tricks here and there as you go, or you can stay in one spot, trying to nail a kickflip to tailslide shove-it out on a park bench, or something. So far I've spent more time doing either of these options than playing the actual missions. The missions aren't too bad, but they need some work. A lot of the missions have your skater start too close to the ledge or gap etc and you can't build enough speed to accomplish your goal, like clearing a gap, so you find your self wasting time moving away from your target. This just doesn't sit right with me, cos in real life you give yourself as much of a run-up as you can for almost any trick you're attempting. Also, the pedestrians get f-----g annoying during missions. I don't mind the idea of having them around, but they just wander around aimlessly and tend to walk around in squares (not circles) right where you're trying to skate. They should be programed to be walking to a destination, or something, so that they have a purpose. I did find most of the missions to be fun though, especially Danny Way's. You get to drop in to a dam, and off buildings and stuff, and end up going over 100 miles an hour. MIght not be that realistic, but its definatley fun! The skater's animation looks really good most of the time, but there are a few tricks that look a bit ugly, like the airwalk. Just doesn't look right. Looks awesome when you stack, and I've spent hours cracking up while I launch the skater into a pylon and 80 miles an hour, to see how much cash I can make off the Hall of Meat. In summary, a very fun game thats easy to pick up, and has a lot of replay value, if you enjoy skating games. Expand
  12. Sean
    Jan 28, 2009
    10
    Surpasses it's predecessor in every way possible.
    Flows like the old one (still a minor frame rate issue though :(., Controls feel natural, not too overcrowded and overwhelming.
    Best Online i';ve seen in a sports game, varied challenges, freeskate co-op activities.

    Camera i luv, but TH fans may not like it.

    10/10 a truly brilliant and thought out sequel
  13. AerinE
    Jan 23, 2009
    9
    absolutely ever aspect of skate 2 is an improvement over what skate. was, and skate. is a great game

    the gameplay is more fluid, with a noticeable increase in animation quality as well as more realistic board physics
    ...and you can even be a girl this time around, so my fiancee can stop whining
  14. TomW.
    Jan 22, 2009
    2
    Hands down, the worst and most FRUSTRATING game i ever played. I LOVE skate 1, but they messed up in skate 2, here are reasons why: 1. The challenges are way too hard, you have to be an expert to complete them, its like playing veteran mode on call of duty: world at war, its too hard. there aren't even any difficulty modes 2. Pedestrians - they are most annoying when you are doing a Hands down, the worst and most FRUSTRATING game i ever played. I LOVE skate 1, but they messed up in skate 2, here are reasons why: 1. The challenges are way too hard, you have to be an expert to complete them, its like playing veteran mode on call of duty: world at war, its too hard. there aren't even any difficulty modes 2. Pedestrians - they are most annoying when you are doing a challenge, THEY ARE ALWAYS IN THE WAY!!! 3. Ollie North - whenever you are in the air, you always keep your thumb on the X button in skate 1 right? Well in skate 2, it does an Ollie north, and mostly you don't realize it, and if you hold it the whole time, YOU BAIL!!! 4. Timers - some challenges have timers, and some don't...what's the point? Just to be annoying and lose your patience. 5. Flipping - When you do a front flip or back flip or whatever, you have to be EXACTLY accurate just to land it I can keep going on, but not feeling like typing all about why i hate this game. Why did I give this game a rating of 2? because i might play it again, and i love skate 1. Expand
  15. Jan 31, 2012
    0
    Better than skate 1, with some very fun gameplay mechanics like the hall of meat and just controlling the skateboard. The missions however are very frustrating and is basically trial and error
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Black Box’s sequel ultimately struggles to offer any single compelling justification for its own existence. [Feb 2009, p.93]
  2. Skate 2 is sport entertainment as good as the first one, and in many aspects even better. Great graphics, awesome campaign mode and an interesting multiplayer are among its highlights. We were intrigued about how the franchise would evolve after its overwhelming first entry, and the final result has not disappointed us.
  3. A brilliant game. For the most part it takes the brilliant template laid down in the original and injects it with a smartly integrated new move-set, an exciting world to rip to shreds, and the same addictive, unquestionably stylish gameplay which saw the Tony Hawk series bolt for the hills.