Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 17
  2. Negative: 6 out of 17
  1. May 15, 2011
    75
    The PS3 version of Sniper: Ghost Warrior has received some improvements which are pretty useful. You get some extra content, better opponent AI and more, but there are still some bugs, concerning the graphics, a terribly told story and some weaknesses concerning the gameplay (e.g. reloading time or disappearing enemies after reaching checkpoints).
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    70
    Although the art of sniping has transformed into a game quite nicely, the other aspects don't compliment the fine mechanics of long distance shooting. Superhuman AI is the biggest issue, because green-dressed soldiers with x-ray vision mixed in green jungle make it almost impossible to stay alive. [June 2011]
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    69
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior is a game suitable only for fans of the genre. It's a perfect product for people who love calm and strategic shooter, but it is tedious and frustrating for those who do not love him.
  4. Jun 27, 2011
    69
    In the end, Sniper: Ghost Warrior is unfortunately a mediocre first person shooter strategy game that attempts to breach the world of realism with its no frills action and realistic content.
  5. May 16, 2011
    65
    This is a more than decent game, with great ideas and concepts, which are not executed that well. It has an attractive scheme, more than decent visuals and interesting concepts which would have turned it into a great game, if only it had been put together better.
  6. Aug 15, 2011
    60
    Going into Sniper: Ghost Warrior with fairly low expectations, you may find yourself pleasantly surprised. Despite some of the heavy-handed mechanics and under-developed online portion there is still an enjoyable experience to be had.
  7. If it was actually a budget game, rather than just feeling like one, it would be more strongly recommended. [July 2011, p.100]
  8. Jun 1, 2011
    60
    As a low budget game Sniper is quite enjoyable, but keep in mind that many action games published this year (or last, for that matter) are much better.
  9. Jul 12, 2011
    59
    This version has some improvements compared with the Xbox 360 version, but it isn't really a great game. The sniping part of the game is perfect, but the AI, the graphics, the audio and movement aren't really good. The game can be fun to play, but that's only because of the sniper rifles.
  10. Jul 9, 2011
    50
    It's certainly budget in its lack of polish and its brevity (even with the additional PS3-specific missions added it totaled to barely five hours), so if you really, really have a hard-on for sniping you'll be able to wring some fun from this, but you'll have to swallow some crap along the way.
  11. Jun 15, 2011
    50
    The PlayStation 3-version of Sniper: Ghost Warrior should've been in stores the day the Xbox 360- and PC-versions were released. A lot of points that were criticized have been adjusted and this edition also contains more content. This doesn't make it a good product, however. It's still a shallow game that'll give you a few hours of fun, tops.
  12. Jun 29, 2011
    45
    It looks and runs worse, and fails to address the hyper-linear level design that doomed the original release to the bargain bin.
  13. Jun 26, 2011
    45
    It's glitchy. [Issue#206, p.94]
  14. The core gameplay simply isn't enough to overcome the technical shortcomings. [Sept 2011, p.87]
  15. Jul 4, 2011
    40
    Despite solid foundations and some good ideas, the pursuit of unreasonable design goals and terrible executions mean that Sniper: Ghost Warrior fails to make the passing grade.
  16. Jun 20, 2011
    40
    Good intentions and sporadic success can only carry a campaign so far, and Sniper unfortunately falls well short of the quality benchmark in almost all respects.
  17. Jun 4, 2011
    31
    A truly wretched game. [July 2011, p.94]
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 4 out of 4
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    4
    Sniper: Ghost Warrior is a game plagued by faults, some small and relatively forgettable, and others much larger which seriously interfere with gameplay. Probably the biggest, not to mention most annoying, fault is the Save Checkpoints. These appear very frequently. While some may think that this is a good feature, I do not, for this reason- every single time you reach a new Checkpoint the game freezes for about 3-5 seconds. This really interferes with your fun, as it drags you out of the game and interrupts what can, occasionally, be a gripping sequence of events. Next, is the barrage of invisible barriers/walls that you will find within the game. These appear in what seem to be random locations and often stop you from reaching that perfect sniping spot that you can see. I find it hard to believe that this highly trained Sniper cannot somehow climb over a small rock. When you hear the word 'sniper', what words come to mind? Covert, silent, stealthy? No, according to this game, words and phrases like 'all guns blazing' and 'open fire' are what sniping is all about. You can definitely see that the Devs behind SGW have taken a page out of Infinity Wards books. The hectic mix and sudden change between silent and stealthy to loud and action filled works for the CoD franchise but not for Sniper Ghost Warrior. Lastly, one of the most minor, yet still irritating, faults is the amount of bad spelling and grammar and subtitles not matching with the actual dialogue. For example, during the first section of the game, the words 'don't let your target see you' or spoken but 'don't let your pray see you' is shown on subtitles. Yes, this is a very small issue and easily ignorable, but I thought it warranted a mention. All in all, Sniper Ghost Warrior had it in it to be a fantastic, stealthy game, but it falls short in so many areas. The constant interruptions from Checkpoint freezes to the disappointing, 2006 graphics make this game a chore to play, or as I should say, work through. Full Review »
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    2
    To start off I can't see the people I'm supposed to shoot during
    Every single mission accept there guns on most enemies. It seems like they
    have some crazy cloaking device which is not true and don't get me started with the checkpoints every time u get to a meter marker. I honestly think the people that made this game should go shoot them selves for making such a **** gay that is 3 hours long which blows. The feel of the guns are good and the environments are nice at some points but overall I gave this game a 2 and I suggest you should NOT PLAY THIS GAME!!! Full Review »
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    4
    The game is graphically quite bad but the "sniping" physics are impressive. The game ceases to impress me and has a lack of action. Some of the missions are nigh impossible on "Hard" but it is a lot of fun until you notice you can't do something. After your 4th-5th attempt you get bored and turn the PlayStation off.

    A problem I noticed when playing the game was that you could never see your enemies, even when they can see you! Like a few times, I was hiding behind a near opaque bush, and an enemy started firing at me, whom I didn't even see. The game is very realistic, (you have low health, the enemies die in one shot etc) but the game creators did over-do it with the gun kickback. fire more than 2 bullets out of an assault rifle and it becomes incredibly hard to aim, to much so. I noticed this when doing the first tutorial. The game is rather misleading as on the back cover you see an action packed game with amazing graphics. but all those images on the back are just loading screen backgrounds or intro film screen shots. As I said, the actual game has quite poor graphics, that of an early PS3 game.

    If I were to describe the quality of the graphics in detail I would say that the plants look very fuzzy and when you lie down it still feels like you're crouching. Most of the plants seem to be able to move through objects as they sway into an out-of buildings and other scenery.

    Overall, this is worth a play but wait until it goes down in price to around £15.99 because only then will it be good value for money
    Full Review »