Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64
  1. A competent multiplayer FPS. The arenas are big, pretty and detailed. Too bad the vehicles have been dropped. [May 2009]
  2. Confrontation is the best edition of SOCOM yet. With relatively smooth servers (patched and fixed after a rocky start) and great character customization, there’s a lot of fun to be had in the wide open and stunningly beautiful maps. Precision accuracy and coordinated teamwork are well represented here, making for one of the most fun tactical online shooters this side of Rainbow Six: Vegas.
  3. Given the ever advancing state of online titles, what with the updates and patches, it’s not a good plan to give a “thumbs up” or “thumbs down” based on the first week of performance. Wait a bit, and then we’ll see… And we did.
  4. Post-patch SOCOM: Confrontation is a highly enjoyable online tactical shooter with an emphasis on realism and teamwork, but unfortunately the game has a few shortcomings and missing features preventing it from being something special.
  5. If you like a game that rewards teamwork and strategy as well as hair-trigger reactions and steady nerves, then SOCOM becomes immensely rewarding. Take the game seriously, learn quickly and bring a headset. This package will keep you entertained for a long while.
  6. If patches can address the odd hiccups here and there, as we presume they will, and some new maps become available, SOCOM: Confrontation could very well have some staying power.
  7. In conclusion, SOCOM Confrontation is a decent online multiplayer game set in a realistic universe with sturdy gameplay, good graphics and some great online moments.
  8. 78
    With Socom: Confrontation that ‘nice job’ is as rewarding as ever, and considering all the obstacles you have to overcome to get it, it feels all the better.
  9. Loads of customisation options and integrated clan support too. [May 2009, p.77]
  10. Slant Six has done a great job in bringing SOCOM to the next generation. Fans of the series will feel satisfied with the end result once the game has been patched up.
  11. SOCOM: Confrontation is a fairly safe bet if all you're looking for is a by-the-numbers, online, tactical shooter. Without a single-player campaign to add some flavor, the game does come off as kind of generic.
  12. Now that some of the kinks have been worked out SOCOM Confrontation is worth the time and effort. I’m a big fan of the series and even with the lack of single player, the ancient match making system, and the launch server I am still playing the heck out of it.
  13. 75
    Confrontation, with version 1.3, is a good SOCOM game. It feels a little light due to being online only and veterans of the series will certainly feel that. The teamwork and immersion of the actual gameplay remains intact and, at the end of the day, is what really matters.
  14. SOCOM has always catered to the hardcore and Confrontation is no different in this regard. Slant Six has done an admirable job updating the formula of past games, but the decision to wipe the single-player slate clean and the copious amounts of bugs are standout problems.
  15. This game could be a lot of fun, but the technical shortfalls avoid that. This title can be very frustrating sometimes. Only hardcore fans of the genre will enjoy it very much.
  16. If you can look past the technical issues, long time fans of the SOCOM series should be happy with Confrontation.
  17. The slower pace is an acquired taste, but can make for ace games if you have the patience. [May 2009, p.78]
  18. We can conclude that, apart from some connection glitches we hope to be kept polished, Socom Confrontation is a good, exclusively multiplayer game, which runs the risk of being overlapped by other more comprehensive games.
  19. While it is nice to finally see a graphically upgraded, SIXAXIS enabled version of Sony’s tactical shooter, you feel a little cheated by the fact that there is no single player campaign. Oh, and there are server issues, many, many server issues. Users have had difficuly connecting to games while some haven't been able to connect to a single one.
  20. With future patches, and possible future downloadable content, I know I for one will be playing SOCOM for a long time to come.
  21. 70
    SOCOM isn't the genre-defining multiplayer experience it once was.
  22. Although we waited for a few patches to arrive and fix up Confrontation's tattered connection problems, it's still no remedy for the game's lack of substance. With an absence of polish, customization, and maps, Confrontation just doesn't deliver a full-fledged online experience worthy of the SOCOM name.
  23. It's just a shame it hasn't got a faster, snappier matchmaking system. [Christmas 2008, p.104]
  24. Unfortunately, Confrontation still isn't exceptionally compelling, thanks largely to the technical letdowns and its niche appeal. [Jan 2009, p.74]
  25. Fun to play, but it's too punishing and packs a hefty learning curve.
  26. SOCOM: Confrontation is a game delivered with conviction and a clear sense of its identity, and that it will be embraced and loved by veterans of the series is without question. However, its single-minded pursuit of realism is also unfortunately its greatest downfall, making it at times more frustrating than enjoyable.
  27. This return to classic tactical multiplayer without vehicles should be welcomed by fans of the series. Newcomers may love it, but without a singleplayer campaign expectations should include readiness to work hard and die a lot. The game looks, sounds and feels nice, headsets work fine, servers are full, and regular patches will hopefully take care of those pesky little bugs.
  28. Confrontation is only one game among many of its kind, which will only be played by elite players and clans. All others who only want to play for a few hours and dream with a new generation experience just choose another game.
  29. The long awaited return of SOCOM in the next-gen is a big disappointment: the typical elements of the series, like the realism or the customization of weapons and equipment, are still there, but the many technical flaws make Confrontation a title only for hardcore fans. Bad control system, the occasional lag and the broken statistics are unforgivable defects, especially for a multiplayer only game. Until Sony releases a patch to fix the many issues, SOCOM: Confrontation will remain a game only for the most hardcore fans.
  30. Conventional tactical action game that addresses players who prefer strict rules of team cooperation, a fast and dynamic action game of a modern era. [Apr 2009]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 58
  2. Negative: 25 out of 58
  1. May 2, 2011
    0
    I have played SOCOM since the first one. I would love to hook up with some of the old guys who are still around playing. I miss the oldI have played SOCOM since the first one. I would love to hook up with some of the old guys who are still around playing. I miss the old cross roads and the mixer and the jungle maps and many more. I remember sweating at the end of a round trying to get threw PMI mines and just how intense it was WOW!!! Old SOCOM was the **** There never has been a game like that since!!! Not sure who designed all of SOCOM 1-2 but I'm sure the one's after that have been some young kid who should be working on COD which is nothing more then a baby sitter. These games have lost story purpose heart and the addiction feeling. People (sad as it is) use to live on these games lol. COD there is not about a team or involves any real thinking and definitely does not require any skills just a bunch of ADD kids who's parents dump them on it so they don't have to deal with them. It is electronic Ritalin. Why put the SOCOM name on something that really has nothing to do with the original SOCOM? The difference of SOCOM vs. this new stuff like COD is that any one can play COD. In SOCOM you had to be smart a good gamer and put a lot of your self into each mission or you would get voted out. Bring your A game. The games today are just reactive games very little thinking or skills involved. Us old guys are looking to SOCOM to give us that. Plus there is a lot of younger people who are not challenged enough by COD (because it is pathetic display of tards). Geeks are not known to listen or connect with people well. So remember this with out fans there is no "SOCOM". You should have BETA the game and tweaked it from there and taken some feed back. You could have been bigger then COD but now your just a game with out sole. Who ever made this shows what they have inside them selves, not much... SOCOM Confrontation is another baby sitter!! Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    im a big socom fan from the PS2 era and spent many months on socom 1 and some time on socom 2 . when i first read the reviews i decedied toim a big socom fan from the PS2 era and spent many months on socom 1 and some time on socom 2 . when i first read the reviews i decedied to wait for a price drop and for all the online problems to be patched . i started playing it about 1 year after it came out and it wasnt to bad online although some of the maps even with 32 players just feels like to much of a chore to find any one to kill. ive gone the full 20 min and seen only a few enimys . there is some nice custimaszation you can do . and it does have the socom feel to it but not near 100%. also no story mode i would have loved that with 4 player co op . as this game is you are better off waiting for Socom 5 from the way thats shaping up it should hopefully be the socom game fans of the series have been waiting for. Full Review »
  3. JadM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    This game is a Piece of $hit.Why they called it Socom I will never know. There is a ton of things missing from the game. It plays slow, This game is a Piece of $hit.Why they called it Socom I will never know. There is a ton of things missing from the game. It plays slow, reloads are slow. Sniping is horrible. Freezes up all the time. This Game is a Mess. Slant 6 should have made a Pokemon game, not Socom. Full Review »