User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    i lyk plin a sanic i tink itas fun rolling in ball and runn fast through stages and i clear every act gam is in hd high definitnietion you can see the graphifcs sonic is blue angd he get the rings i give this gam 10 sanic hegehouds out of 10 for ggbeing good game very fun yes thbank you bye
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    You will probably have a blast while playing it, i gave it a 10 for a rason. This game is twice the hedghog, twice the fun.

    DO NOT STEAL, you8 should probably buy the original.
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    The best Sonic game ever now in HD. It is very nostalgic to look these graphics that were awesome 11 years ago in a HDTV, but they keep looking good. The musics are awesome (one of the best soundtracks), the story is the best in a Sonic game, and the gameplay is AMAZING (specially with Sonic and Shadow, but the other characters are very fun too). My only concern is about download content. I hope SEGA bring new things (new stages, or new costumes in 2 players mode), not only the 2:Battle from the GameCube. Congratulations Sonic Team for producing the game that I'll never forget, you are great! Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Still one of the best Sonic games, recent Sonic games have gotten better, but they are good in a new and different way, this is easily the best of the classic Sonic games, must have for big fans!
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This game is so addictive! The mechs aren't that interesting at first, but once you get the upgrades (laser blaster, hover booster) they become really fun despite them being the slowest paced of the gameplay styles! The running stages are also pretty interesting, with high speed action and a more consistent camera than the first game. Levels start off linear, though, so this may be an issue for some people who want more open and alternate pathways from the get go (i could care less. As long as I'm not randomly glitching through the floor/walls I'm fine and yes I'm looking at you Sonic Adventure). The highlight of the game for me is the treasure hunting stages, due to them having a less grating radar system than the first game and easier digging abilities. I also prefer how these are more puzzle based than the first game's "arcade style" design. There's also a lot of extra features once you beat the game. There's kart racing, an addictive chao garden, the best multiplayer mode of ANY Sonic game (and I will challenge anyone who says otherwise), and side missions you can undertake in order to collect emblems and unlock bonus features in the chao garden as well as a special stage designed to celebrate Sonic's 10th anniversary. Music and story is fantastic, much like the first game. The only thing you should know is if you LOVED the first Sonic Adventure you may not be blown away as much by this game. The tone of the story is more complex and dramatic than the first game, there aren't any hub worlds so the focus is more on speed than exploration, levels are longer by like two or three minutes, and only three gameplay styles are the main focus so if you just adored playing as snail paced Amy, depressingly easy and short lengthed Tails, or...Big (haha) you'll probably be disappointed by this game. Other than that I'd definitely recommend this game. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Despite the recent 3.D. Sonic games that have been decent, Sonic Adventure 2 is among the top quality of Sonic the Hedgehog video games. That's not saying much, as there are severe issues with the quality involving Sonic Adventure 2. May it be a H.D. remaster, it still contains all of the bugs and glitches that the original contained. A prime example is the camera and voice acting...basically, the camera in this game is some of the worst I have ever experienced. Luckily the camera isn't something that is of much importance in Sonic Adventure 2. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    I chose 10 because sa2 is a perfect game for aniversery. No big the cat and you play as eggman. But i would like to say, why is tails in a robot i mean he's normal in chao garden so why cant he be normal for the whole game. The chao world is so good and isn't as big as SA's chao world and all my chao are hero/run/run All in all SA2 is a amazing game that any sonic fan should try
  8. Oct 3, 2012
    0
    So, Sonic Adventure 2 is back. We finally have it up on the PSN Store. For what I've seen, I must say that it didn't get to be the same error as the port of the first Adventure was earlier.

    This note is quite based on the comparation with experience we've seen with the First Adventure on the PSN/XBLA and Sonic Heroes, that came after the original Adventure 2. Can't say this game is way
    better or fixed than it was before, but it's a relief to see that this one has not been nerfed in terms of quality like the first Adventure. So, we have HD graphics, trophies (yes, finally a good reason to A-Rank all stages and missions)... But this is all to be there. We got no big news beside the chance to mix the best of the original Dreamcast version with the best of the Gamecube version via DLC.

    Nonetheless, it did not made the same mistake of becoming the bugmass the first Adventure had become on the PSN/XBLA version.
    Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    69
    Sharp when played in short bursts. [Issue#225, p.83]
  2. The only real reason to purchase this port is if the prospect of scouting out a Dreamcast and a copy of the game seems a bit pricey. [Holiday 2012, p.81]
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Sonic Adventure 2 offers the same thrills as its Dreamcast and GameCube predecessors without sacrificing too much. The online features from the Dreamcast title are unfortunately stripped, and the GameCube extras are only available as paid DLC – making this PSN download worth skipping if you already own either of the original titles. But for those who haven't yet experienced the fast paced adventure, this is a stellar port of an old classic.