Sonic Adventure 2 PlayStation 3

Sonic Adventure 2 Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as theyIn the fight between heroes and villains, will you choose to save the world or conquer it? The hunt for the Chaos Emeralds is on and battle lines have been drawn between Hero and Dark. Experience two unique adventures featuring both long-time heroes and new and returning villains as they battle for the fate of the world! Sonic Adventure 2 makes its return on Xbox LIVE Arcade with a full cast of playable heroes and villains, exciting two-player competitive modes, Chao Gardens, and more than 30 action-packed stages, all remastered in HD! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Relive 3 Classics in this Sega Heritage Collection Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    91
    Sonic Adventure 2 is for true Sonic fans that want to relive a time when the series was still fun to play. Despite the terrible camera and some audio hiccups, it's a great experience for old and new players alike. The Chao Garden and great price only add to the overall package making this one a sure fire bet!
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Sonic Adventure 2 offers the same thrills as its Dreamcast and GameCube predecessors without sacrificing too much. The online features from the Dreamcast title are unfortunately stripped, and the GameCube extras are only available as paid DLC – making this PSN download worth skipping if you already own either of the original titles. But for those who haven't yet experienced the fast paced adventure, this is a stellar port of an old classic.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    70
    Sonic Adventure 2 has aged well. Nevertheless its purchase should be considered carefully, because of defects that already penalized the original version.
  4. Play UK
    Nov 30, 2012
    69
    Sharp when played in short bursts. [Issue#225, p.83]
  5. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    50
    The only real reason to purchase this port is if the prospect of scouting out a Dreamcast and a copy of the game seems a bit pricey. [Holiday 2012, p.81]
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    40
    Sonic Adventure 2 didn't really get an unanimously enthusiastic reception when it came out in 2001, and this "HD" remastering won't either. Even though the fans will be able to enjoy this game in full widescreen / 720P resolution, nothing else has been upgraded, and it's not even the best version to date (the GameCube one) that's been used for this. Worst of all, SEGA asks for an extra DLC purchase to upgrade it to the Battle version.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    I chose 10 because sa2 is a perfect game for aniversery. No big the cat and you play as eggman. But i would like to say, why is tails in aI chose 10 because sa2 is a perfect game for aniversery. No big the cat and you play as eggman. But i would like to say, why is tails in a robot i mean he's normal in chao garden so why cant he be normal for the whole game. The chao world is so good and isn't as big as SA's chao world and all my chao are hero/run/run All in all SA2 is a amazing game that any sonic fan should try Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    The best Sonic game ever now in HD. It is very nostalgic to look these graphics that were awesome 11 years ago in a HDTV, but they keepThe best Sonic game ever now in HD. It is very nostalgic to look these graphics that were awesome 11 years ago in a HDTV, but they keep looking good. The musics are awesome (one of the best soundtracks), the story is the best in a Sonic game, and the gameplay is AMAZING (specially with Sonic and Shadow, but the other characters are very fun too). My only concern is about download content. I hope SEGA bring new things (new stages, or new costumes in 2 players mode), not only the 2:Battle from the GameCube. Congratulations Sonic Team for producing the game that I'll never forget, you are great! Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    i lyk plin a sanic i tink itas fun rolling in ball and runn fast through stages and i clear every act gam is in hd high definitnietion you cani lyk plin a sanic i tink itas fun rolling in ball and runn fast through stages and i clear every act gam is in hd high definitnietion you can see the graphifcs sonic is blue angd he get the rings i give this gam 10 sanic hegehouds out of 10 for ggbeing good game very fun yes thbank you bye Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2017
    8
    8.8 - Fantastic Sonic game, revolutionary for the time and iconic for a lot of its soundtrack and levels. Would have gave it a 9 if it didn't8.8 - Fantastic Sonic game, revolutionary for the time and iconic for a lot of its soundtrack and levels. Would have gave it a 9 if it didn't have such tedious Knuckles/Rouge missions, but as a whole a really fun and memorable classic. Rolling around at the speed of sound. Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2017
    7
    Sonic adventure 2: Sonic adventure on the Dreamcast was awesome, it had fun gameplay, tones of replay value and it was the most popular gameSonic adventure 2: Sonic adventure on the Dreamcast was awesome, it had fun gameplay, tones of replay value and it was the most popular game on the system. When SEGA saw the sales for sonic adventure, they new they were back into the positives after the rather not so good 3D games on the Saturn. Sonic adventure 2 was announced in 2001 and was released June on that year. the game wasn't very successful because people saw the next generation of consoles and SEGA would later abandoned the Dreamcast and create future sonic games on those consoles. Sonic adventure 2 brought back what was fun about sonic adventure but made a few tweaks, instead of having multiple characters stories this game has 2 separate stories hero and dark. Hero has you playing as sonic, tails and knuckles trying to save the world from the eclips cannon from firing a laser that could destroy the world while the Dark has you play Dr. Eggman, and newcomers shadow the hedgehog and rouge the bat who are trying to destroy the earth but need the chaos emeralds to access the eclips cannon to destroy the earth. Once completed each of 2 stories their will be a last story available like adventure 1. The characters are now trying to save the world because shadow suddenly what he promised to someone ( don't want to spoil too much ) and successfully did just that. The story is better than adventure 1 but It has it's problems and I don't want to go into detail about that. Sonic and shadow control like the sonic stages in adventure 1, only more linear and more focused on speed, while I'm not a fan of this these stages are still pretty fun to go through and the best part of the game. The knuckles and rouge levels are the knuckles stages from adventure 1 which I found pretty enjoyable in that game, the biggest problem is it's much worse here, didn't like the radar in adventure 1? well your going to hate the radar in this game, you can only track 1 emerald piece at a time, in adventure 1 the radar will let you know if your close to any of the 3 pieces but in this game only 1 at a time. It doesn't help that the levels them selves are incredibly huge and are a worse design than adventure 1 with the exception of wild canyon which that stage was ok but the rest are either a frustrating negative experience or a poor design that should of not existed in the first place. The knuckles and rouge levels are not bad but they come pretty close, if anything positive about these stages knuckles and rouge control really great but that it for the treasure hunting levels. The tails and Eggman stages are shooting and Mech stages, think of them like the Gamma stages in adventure 1 only clunky. these stages are nowhere frustrating as the knuckles and rouge levels but they are pretty boring, the majority of the levels your just walking jumping and spamming the shoot button until the levels over. The games graphics and presentation are way better than adventure 1, cutscenes are way better animated and improved voice acting then the previous game. The soundtrack while nowhere as good as adventure 1 is still nice especially music like live and learn, city escape and metal harbor. While comparing the gameplay styles from adventure 1, I think that game is a better experience which was less linear, better designed and just more fun than this game. Now I don't hate adventure 2 I really like it especially the 2 player mode that you can play with in battle mode. Sonic adventure 2 is a really good game but It feels like a step backwards because of the treasure hunting and shooting levels, the sonic and shadow levels are the best part of this game and their miles more repayable than the other 2 gameplay styles. I can recommend 1 / 3rd of this game because the sonic and shadow levels are the only levels that I think anyone can enjoy and have fun with. Very good game but not a good sequel. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2014
    6
    Sonic Adventure 2 can be a rather fun game when playing as Sonic or Shadow. But the other character sections sour the game for me.

    Let's
    Sonic Adventure 2 can be a rather fun game when playing as Sonic or Shadow. But the other character sections sour the game for me.

    Let's start with the story. I can enjoyed the dark story, as it gave some good character interactions and a backstory for Shadow. The hero story I found confusing if you played it first over the dark story and the characters are much more annoying. The sound editing is horrific as most of the time you cannot hear what the characters are saying over the loud music(while is sometimes very catchy and other times just forgettable/dated)

    Sonic and Shadow's stages are extremely fun to play. They are get to the goal speed sections with good ol homing actions and light speed dashes. I find these levels to be very well-designed until the space-themed levels. They use the gimmicks of gravity switches and rails and this can be a huge pain.

    Knuckles and Rouge's treasure hunting sections I actually didn't mind too much. It was actually fun to glide around and search for treasure. Only problem is the radar is all messed up. It will only go after one treasure at a time, which can make you glide right past treasures countless times. Also these levels can either be really short or really really long. Depends on where the treasure is. These levels are just okay.

    Then there is the shooting sections with Tails and Eggman. These are not to my liking at all. The control in these sections are very clunky as both characters seemed very weighed down with not much floating abilities. Also the biggest problem in this section(as well in some Sonic stages) is that enemies COME OUT OF NOWHERE. They just pop right down from the sky and land on you! That's not fair! The shooting sections are extremely repetitive. Just shoot shoot shoot.

    Only 10 out of the 30+ stages are Sonic and Shadow stages and that is really upsetting. If it was balanced more, this may be a better game. Also for the other modes (Chao garden, multiplayer, etc), they are good time wasters. Except kart race that is just awful. Actually I should give multiplayer more credit. It is extremely fun to play with friends, especially if you have the battle version of this game.

    The Good
    + Sonic/Shadow stages
    + Some hunting stages
    + Multiplayer/Chao Garden
    + Live and Learn

    The Bad
    - Tails/Eggman stages
    - The other hunting stages
    - Terrible voice editing
    - Pathetic boss battles
    - ENEMIES OUT OF NOWHERE

    Score: 6/10 Fun game with some major annoyances that bring down the whole experience
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2015
    3
    This isnt the best sonic game of all time.first the story isnt good it has so many plot holes everyone is fricking stuipd how do you getThis isnt the best sonic game of all time.first the story isnt good it has so many plot holes everyone is fricking stuipd how do you get shadow and sonic mixed up they look nothing alike.ok plot holes dont matter its a sonic game well why do people give shadow the hedgehogs a tough time.

    Now lets talk about gameplay.The speed sections where you play as sonic and shadow are fun until the slippery controls mixed with platforming is bad also i swear the homing attack is broken because i attacked some gun robots and i took a hit.There is too much platforming in this game in sonic games you are suppose to fast.Now lets talk about one of the dumbest ideas in this game TREASURE HUNTING in these types of stages you play as Knuckles or newcomer Rouge the bat.The sonic fanbase confusses me they complain about slow gameplay like the werehog in unleashed or Shadow the Hedgehog but they're cool with this.Some of this stages are too small and Knuckles and Rouge run to fast the only good treasure hunting stage is Pumpkin Hill why because its made for Knuckles gliding abiltey and good music.Now the worst part of the game the MECH STAGES these are slow and cluncky in these stages you play as Eggman or Tails when this stages start i want to throw up because this stages are horrible.Its Gammas stages from SA the whole gameplay is hold one button lock on and let go.The only good thing about this game is of course the music is amazing.but that cant save this bad game sonic 06 had good music and that game was total ****
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews