Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    91
    Sonic Adventure 2 is for true Sonic fans that want to relive a time when the series was still fun to play. Despite the terrible camera and some audio hiccups, it's a great experience for old and new players alike. The Chao Garden and great price only add to the overall package making this one a sure fire bet!
  2. Oct 16, 2012
    80
    Sonic Adventure 2 offers the same thrills as its Dreamcast and GameCube predecessors without sacrificing too much. The online features from the Dreamcast title are unfortunately stripped, and the GameCube extras are only available as paid DLC – making this PSN download worth skipping if you already own either of the original titles. But for those who haven't yet experienced the fast paced adventure, this is a stellar port of an old classic.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    70
    Sonic Adventure 2 has aged well. Nevertheless its purchase should be considered carefully, because of defects that already penalized the original version.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    69
    Sharp when played in short bursts. [Issue#225, p.83]
  5. The only real reason to purchase this port is if the prospect of scouting out a Dreamcast and a copy of the game seems a bit pricey. [Holiday 2012, p.81]
  6. Oct 9, 2012
    40
    Sonic Adventure 2 didn't really get an unanimously enthusiastic reception when it came out in 2001, and this "HD" remastering won't either. Even though the fans will be able to enjoy this game in full widescreen / 720P resolution, nothing else has been upgraded, and it's not even the best version to date (the GameCube one) that's been used for this. Worst of all, SEGA asks for an extra DLC purchase to upgrade it to the Battle version.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    The best Sonic game ever now in HD. It is very nostalgic to look these graphics that were awesome 11 years ago in a HDTV, but they keep looking good. The musics are awesome (one of the best soundtracks), the story is the best in a Sonic game, and the gameplay is AMAZING (specially with Sonic and Shadow, but the other characters are very fun too). My only concern is about download content. I hope SEGA bring new things (new stages, or new costumes in 2 players mode), not only the 2:Battle from the GameCube. Congratulations Sonic Team for producing the game that I'll never forget, you are great! Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    You will probably have a blast while playing it, i gave it a 10 for a rason. This game is twice the hedghog, twice the fun.

    DO NOT STEAL,
    you8 should probably buy the original. Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    i lyk plin a sanic i tink itas fun rolling in ball and runn fast through stages and i clear every act gam is in hd high definitnietion you can see the graphifcs sonic is blue angd he get the rings i give this gam 10 sanic hegehouds out of 10 for ggbeing good game very fun yes thbank you bye Collapse
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Despite the recent 3.D. Sonic games that have been decent, Sonic Adventure 2 is among the top quality of Sonic the Hedgehog video games. That's not saying much, as there are severe issues with the quality involving Sonic Adventure 2. May it be a H.D. remaster, it still contains all of the bugs and glitches that the original contained. A prime example is the camera and voice acting...basically, the camera in this game is some of the worst I have ever experienced. Luckily the camera isn't something that is of much importance in Sonic Adventure 2. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    i think sanic adventures 2 is a pretty cool guy, eh goes fast and doesn't afraid of anything

    GOTTA GO FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST
    GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST GOTTA GOT FAST Expand
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    Can't say too much about it. Still a awesome game, but with the same issue of bugs it has in SA1 for PSN/XBLA, Shadow NA voice acting still terrible and from the rest of NA voice acting as well (rather the JP VA but still not so good because I can't hear anything they say when the BG Music is too loud). There's probably some people would to kill my but I hate the Escape from the City music *die*. I prefer Live 'n Learn *uses phoenix down*. I think nowadays I like Sonic because his character, not from his games anymore. Sorry, but it's true. Anyway, go have fun and play it. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    6
    Sonic Adventure 2 is a solid game. It has a lot of variety due to the multiple characters you play as. The graphics are nicely formatted for widescreen and everything runs super-smooth and in HD. Basically speaking, the game looks beautiful. If you buy the Battle DLC, Sonic Adventure 2 also has a fantastic offline multiplayer mode, too. It actually still remains the best multiplayer Sonic experience on offer. Unfortunately, the game is also riddled with faults. Clumsy cameras, imprecise controls, cheap unfair deaths and an untold number of glitches all raise their hands in this title. It's nowhere near as bad as some of the later Sonic titles ('06, we're looking at you!) but it'll definitely rankle if you're looking for a super-polished game. It also bears mentioning that Sonic Adventure 2 is one of the most difficult Sonic games, so if you're coming off the back of some of the more 'casual' Sonic titles, it might be a bit of a shock. Ultimately, Sonic Adventure 2 makes for a decent game but it doesn't quite rank among Sonic's best. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews