Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dec 23, 2012
    90
    Skilled, stylish, well-balanced kart racing. [Jan 2013, p.101]
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    90
    All-Stars Racing Transformed is, by its nature, a cheery beast, but that's not to say it doesn't have teeth: some of the challenges kick back on even the middle tier of the three initially available difficulty levels, and an unlockable fourth level provides the kind of nasty yet rewarding challenges that some of the best arcade racers are loved for.
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    85
    An easily playable though challenging kart game, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed offers a ton of fun.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a great variation of the kart-racing theme, and it holds its own against the Mario Kart series. I'd recommend it to not only the few remaining die-hard Sega fans out there, but also anyone who's itching for a more fantastical approach to arcade racing.
  5. 80
    Sumo Digital created a game with a production value that is capable of honoring great series Sega series and a very competent racing game.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    A fun and special race game filled with Sega nostalgia. It may be a little bit sad to think that all these special characters can nowadays only be found in a race game, but Transformed is such a good one, that it doesn't even really matter.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    As a package, it's generous and deep, but Sumo has fallen victim to its own success. While enjoyable in their own right, boats and planes simply can't match the moreish handling of the karts.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Really enjoying this -Beautiful to look at and game play that's genuinely moving the karting genre forward. Sorry Mario, I still love you butReally enjoying this -Beautiful to look at and game play that's genuinely moving the karting genre forward. Sorry Mario, I still love you but you're looking a slow and tired next Sonic Transformed. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Well what can I say, but what an ace little game this is. I love the likes of Mario Kart and obviously this title is compared to that series.Well what can I say, but what an ace little game this is. I love the likes of Mario Kart and obviously this title is compared to that series. While Its still not as good as Mario Kart (IMO) its still a fantastic racing game. Its fun, lots of fun and that is all that matters in this type of game IMO. Crank it up to "A" class skill and its also a good challenge. Great adrenaline rush on some tracks. Link the above with the fact that my local supermarket was selling it for £23.50 new, its an absolute must. The best karting game in years I think and what so many other pretenders fail at, Sonic takes a podium finish. The most fun you can have with a hedgehog & monkey without angering the animal cruelty brigade. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    The first Sega Superstars racing was genuinely refreshing, because Sega's take on the kart-racing genre (shocking to think it has its ownThe first Sega Superstars racing was genuinely refreshing, because Sega's take on the kart-racing genre (shocking to think it has its own genre now!!) had enough of its own flavour to feel somewhat new. This time around Sumo and Sega have served a sequel that is different enough to the first one, whilst still proving to be massively playable. The graphics are mostly lovely (despite the framerate slips at times), the music and FX are awesome, but its the execution of the courses, and the themed-nature between game worlds and courses that really stuns. The courses are huge, and are akin to the freakiest rollercoasters you could ever imagine - then multiply that by ten!! Really worth it, a huge amount of fun, a fitting tribute to Sega, and suprizingly tense too. Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    This game is extremely well done, all except a few things. 1. Flying on the Jet Set radio stage 2. Drifting while flying 3. Confusing twistsThis game is extremely well done, all except a few things. 1. Flying on the Jet Set radio stage 2. Drifting while flying 3. Confusing twists 4. failing tricks equals slowing down.The major positives would be 1. World tour 2. No saga miles from previous game. 3. speed, you can tell, is extremely fast. Overall, 8.4/10 Collapse
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    Sonic and Allstars Racing Transformed!” Shouts the title menu as I experience a rather more tolerable announcing voice than the last game. ItSonic and Allstars Racing Transformed!” Shouts the title menu as I experience a rather more tolerable announcing voice than the last game. It pretty much sets up the belief that, right from the start this was going to be something with very little comparison to play. There’s nothing ‘Mario Kart’ left about it, even in the sense of ‘MK7’ in which the vehicle transformations in Allstars are better utilized and crafted; not digging at Mario Kart since it is the older brother of kart games, but Sumo and SEGA need credit where credit is due.

    Often a cliché reviewer will point out that sonic doesn’t need a car to win the races, but as stated in the previous games manual (I admit I’m still sad enough to read character bios and manuals) Sonic made it fair on the others, and well… in this one, unless he can fly he really does need the vehicle regardless of fair play. So just to get this out early, I will not be taking easy and/ or ignorant stabs at the supposedly obvious flaws which counterproductively mean nothing at all with this particular titles fun factor.

    Okay, so the weapon system is completely different from before, The useless rainbow has been removed with a tornado attack which flips vehicle controls, and projectiles vary a lot more than just being homing and precision. A really cool move being the baseball glove, which absorb an enemy projectile and allow the receiver to send it back.

    Boosting is no longer broken, whereas in the last game I exploited the ability to level 1 boost round a track and win, the boost requires more charge time and thoughtful use, partnered with an all knew trick system that flows through certain transform stages, boost can even be “Combo’d” up for greater speed and advantages. In fact this is where it gets better than Mario Kart, as the game is much faster and tracks are much tighter, requiring a greater attention span and overall fun factor. I’m not trying to dig at Mario Kart as I stated before, but parts of it just feel clunky and slow compared to Allstars.

    Some tracks in Allstars Racing have an evolution to them in each lap, consisting of more and more changes to the layout as time goes by. The most notable to me being the stage from ‘NiGHTS’ where you enter various dream worlds each time; a close second to this being the ‘Burning Rangers’ stage where the base slowly floods more and more each round.

    There’s even two levels that some would call a “Rainbow Road Clone” in there, but to be fair, starlight carnival was a level imagined for use outside of Kart racing, and the second potential offender is more likely to be an equivalent since it was Sumo made and inspired, but I couldn’t care less what any level is similar too; if we’re having more fun on it, then we shouldn’t care less what came first, as it’s obvious that the formula is an improvement; and that’s what a review should focus on.

    So if you have one of the many consoles this game is on, buy it and enjoy it; I’ve played The Vita, 360 and PS3 versions personally, and there are barely any differences between any of them; there’s literally no loss to be made from purchasing this title, and though I’ve yet to mention the Allstar moves and online mode, I often believe the player deserves at least a few surprises round the corner. Especially if you’re looking for something other than Mario Kart; this game ticks all the boxes there.
    Expand
  6. May 5, 2014
    6
    Free with PLUS. I have to say it looks good and handles well. The tracks and characters are interesting and the power ups albeit feeble areFree with PLUS. I have to say it looks good and handles well. The tracks and characters are interesting and the power ups albeit feeble are well thought out if not ripped from Mario Kart. The only problem like EVERY Mario Kart clone is it doesn't have the X factor that makes you come back after each race. I like it but it hasn't kept me hooked in any way. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    1
    I have to say this is a massive disappointment. The frame-rate is terrible and split-screen is virtually pointless because of this and theI have to say this is a massive disappointment. The frame-rate is terrible and split-screen is virtually pointless because of this and the sheer amount of garish visual noise being thrown at the screen. The driving mechanic is basic to say the least, the water based game-play feels like a poor mans wave race and the flying is just unbearably sluggish. If you're old enough to get nostalgic about the games this pillages for visual ideas, you're old enough to know that this game lacks any of the characteristics that made those old games great. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews