Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 86 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A free-to-play game. There are some changes to the Soulcalibur formula implemented in Lost Swords. The game is single-player only and revolves around players making their way through a series of quests to gain items. These items can be accessories such as clothing options or new weapons toA free-to-play game. There are some changes to the Soulcalibur formula implemented in Lost Swords. The game is single-player only and revolves around players making their way through a series of quests to gain items. These items can be accessories such as clothing options or new weapons to give your character extra flair or increased stats. These upgraded items will be essential as you tackle later quests. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    69
    Soul Calibur: Lost Swords is a crappy free-2-play version of a great beat-em up game. [June 2014]
  2. Jun 3, 2014
    50
    Rather than being encouraged to play, it often feels like Bandai Namco is actively discouraging you from Lost Swords. [Issue#148, p.124]
  3. The lack of multiplayer is baffling. [July 2014, p.80]
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    38
    The shame here isn't that this is a a bad beat-'em-up. It's that it's a good one saddled with so much nonsense and tedium that you're unlikely to care. [Aug 2014, p.78]
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    30
    In some weird way all of Lost Swords bad ideas remind you why you once loved the series.
  6. May 6, 2014
    30
    To call Lost Swords a failed experiment would be an insult to every ambitious game that fell flat on its face. It feels like Namco put barely any thought into making the not-so-micro-transactions justifiable or even making sure that the single-player focus felt consistently engaging.
  7. May 12, 2014
    15
    Who needs Souls Calibur: Lost Swords? Well, with all the “complete” versions available at with a budget price tag, actually nobody.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 15 out of 19
  1. Nov 30, 2014
    7
    Fun game if you like the Soul Calibur series, miss single player, and dislike multi-player. Honestly I didn't like this game when it was firstFun game if you like the Soul Calibur series, miss single player, and dislike multi-player. Honestly I didn't like this game when it was first released. Now since they've fixed a bunch of the bugs (still plenty more to go) it's at least fun, and challenging.

    Expect a high level of difficulty if you do not purchase the greatly over-priced "random new gear." Who doesn't like a good challenge though?

    Pros:
    Taki and Sophitia are back
    New content all the time, it's designed to keep you coming back for new stuff.
    Loading time has been fixed. It's not lightning fast, but its's much better.
    13 free to play characters to choose from. 3 to choose from at the start, 10 more to unlock. (con: 2 to buy)
    Variety of options for gear, both free and purchasable.
    Hey it's free, right?

    Cons:
    Hey it's free, right? Yes up to a point, then you hit a brick wall competing vs people who have seemingly endless money to burn.
    "Free" only goes so far, Like Maxi? $60... Like Seung Mi-na? $90!!! ...W... T... F...
    Limited weapon choices, unless you're willing to risk random new gear premium chests.
    Premium chests are extremely over valued, and too costly for most people. I bought 3, and that is my limit. Some people have spent thousands of dollars on this game. Let me repeat that, THOUSANDS of dollars.
    Waiting for "AP" aka "action points" is a drag. F2P nonsense that it is.
    No multi-player
    Story mode is just text that barely passes for a children's bedtime story.
    While they do have tournaments to win prizes, 75% of the top ones go to players willing to buy hundreds of dollars of AP, to win prizes they don't even need, or use. AWESOME right?

    Fun experiment in free gaming, but definitely one of the greediest. Don't fall into the "well I've gotta spend money to win" crap. Try it out, if you like it, buy a chest or 2 to maybe help yourself out. But be warned: nothing is guaranteed with "random." You might get a weapon for the $90 character that you'll never get to use.
    Expand
  2. May 17, 2014
    5
    If not the for the long goddamn loading between just about everthing,this game would be a good free-to-play,it's weird if you compare toIf not the for the long goddamn loading between just about everthing,this game would be a good free-to-play,it's weird if you compare to others,especially tekken revolution that the loading is quite fast,and it's also free,however,there is visible potential on this title,i really hope this ''will'' be fixed Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2014
    2
    This game was absolutely disappointing. I went through the whole arduous process of installing the game and waiting during the loading screensThis game was absolutely disappointing. I went through the whole arduous process of installing the game and waiting during the loading screens for an utterly underwhelming gaming experience. Three characters to play as, a focus on gaining money and points instead of gameplay, a flawed partners and allies system, a severe lack of variety in gameplay - the game was a bore hole. I was disappointed because I'm a huge Soulcalibur fan and have played almost every single game religiously, but this one left me wondering why I went through the trouble of downloading it in the first place. Even for a free-to-play game, it was a waste of time. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2015
    1
    Load times. Connection but no multiplayer. High price for microtransactions. Perfect gift for your kids if you want to be hated.

    If you've
    Load times. Connection but no multiplayer. High price for microtransactions. Perfect gift for your kids if you want to be hated.

    If you've never heard of SoulCalibur, pass.
    If you're a HUGE SoulCalibur fan, pass.
    No matter who you are, pass.

    Only reason why I'm giving this a 1 and not a 0 is because the fighting isn't too glitchy, But still, don't waste your time.
    Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    Another "free-to-play" scam as far as I'm concerned. This isn't a Soul Calibur game, I cannot call it that, it would be an insult to theAnother "free-to-play" scam as far as I'm concerned. This isn't a Soul Calibur game, I cannot call it that, it would be an insult to the actual game series. I don't even understand the concept of forced online single player, why would anyone do such a thing? If a nearly constant rotating hourglass is your thing then download this game. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2014
    0
    Tried it out to see what it was like thought hey free-to-play now that is something yet it turned into extreme disappointment lets see whereTried it out to see what it was like thought hey free-to-play now that is something yet it turned into extreme disappointment lets see where to begin. Oh I know the AP points which makes it so you have to wait for awhile to do any missions or quests. Making feel more like a facebook game then a real game. But wait it gets better if you lose in a fight you have to use a continue ticket and if you don't got a ticket you have to buy it with real money in order to continue the fight where you left off. Oh and if you leave the fight all the AP you used is wasted and you have to wait. The funniest part in a disappointing matter is that there are equipment slots that barely gives you enough room for any armor which is used for resistances and HP which gives you just enough for two characters, and the rest you have to buy with real money for $6.99 to get 10 slots. The ally slots to buy 10 is $1.99 yeah the people abusing the micro-transaction system. Congrats Soul Calibur Lost Swords? More like Soul Calibur Lost Fundings! Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2014
    0
    Soul Calibur : Lost Swords takes the idea of the mainstream game we're used to and takes a large dump all over it in this Free to PlaySoul Calibur : Lost Swords takes the idea of the mainstream game we're used to and takes a large dump all over it in this Free to Play edition. First off, the popular multiplayer aspect of the game has been completely removed. This leaves you with "Quest Mode", a rather boring attempt at a vague storyline. There are no cut scenes, so you're stuck reading single paragraphs about how you journey takes you to another opponent in the road. Yippe! Load times are abysmal, on average between fights you're looking at 3-5 minute wait, since you are forced to be connected to a server in order to play. On it's actual debut a few days ago, many people couldn't not even play the game due to the massive server issues that kept players from logging on at all. Now it's quite common for you to get ejected back to the load screen between matching due to the same error. Let's say that you actually did manage to connect to matches and it didn't take you all day to connect to the next match, you are still limited by how long you can play due to AP (Action Points). Each Quest costs between 4-9 points so far, and the more you play, then the more you lose. At some point you will have to wait for the AP to recover before you can move on to the next quest (unless you feel like spending real life money on a AP Potion. One of the main selling points of the series has always been customizing and creating your own character to duke it out with fan favorites. This to has been cut away. You're given a meager three starting characters to choose from and, get this, they start in their underwear. So you not only get almost no choices in characters, but you can't even give them a great look. You have to grind thru Quest Mode to unlock common armor and accessories that reminisce of Soul Calibur IV days. Each piece has particular attributes that boast your stats, so if you really like that blue bandanna with only +2 HP, then you're S.O.L. when passing up better armor later on. Now you could always just do apparently what this game was originally trying to gear you towards and spend a ridiculously absurd amount of money on micro transactions (We're talking like $20 for 6 chests) for in game chests to get items, but who the Hell would be that stupid?! In conclusion, yes this game is Free to Play, but ultimately there simply isn't any real reason to bother picking it up when there are FAR better versions already got there to choose from. I say try it out if you've never touched Soul Calibur and if you like it, go out and purchase either IV or V. Better yet, just go do that now. Don't play this game. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers