Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 479 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South
    South Park: The Game is an epic role-playing adventure that will allow the user to befriend Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny and explore the quiet little mountain town like never before.
    From the perilous battlefields of the 4th-grade playground, a young hero will rise, destined to be South Park’s savior. From the creators of South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, comes an epic quest to become… cool. Introducing South Park: The Stick of Truth. For a thousand years, the battle has been waged. The sole reason humans and elves are locked in a neverending war: The Stick of Truth. But the tides of war are soon to change as word of a new kid spreads throughout the land, his coming foretold by the stars. As the moving vans of prophecy drive away, your adventure begins. Arm yourself with weapons of legend to defeat crabpeople, underpants gnomes, hippies, and other forces of evil. Discover the lost Stick of Truth and earn your place at the side of Stan, Kyle, Cartman, and Kenny as their new friend. Succeed, and you shall be South Park’s savior, cementing your social status in South Park Elementary. Fail, and you will forever be known… as a loser. [Ubisoft]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    95
    Games like this one make being a videogame fan worthy. Quality, good work, a breathtaking experience and fun, tons of fun. South Park: The Stick of Truth is one of the best games ever on Playstation 3.
  2. 90
    The idea of a role-playing game built on the South Park universe is borderline genius.
  3. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Shameless, hilarious and surprisingly complex - an essential purchase for RPG and show fans. [May 2014, p.64]
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    85
    All the fart jokes and Chinpokomon references in the world wouldn’t mean anything if the gameplay weren’t up to snuff, but The Stick of Truth manages to impress as a game on top of being frequently hilarious.
  5. Apr 23, 2014
    80
    In the end, though, what really carries The Stick of Truth along is its innocence, something that may surprise people who have read the stories about Euro censorship but is unlikely to come as a shock to fans of the show itself, which has always offset its raunchiness with an odd sweetness. This is, simply put, pleasant to play.
  6. Mar 13, 2014
    80
    If it wasn't for the genius of that writing, the setting and the characterisation then Stick of Truth would undoubtedly be quickly sidelined as a generic RPG lacking depth and originality. That's really besides the real point, though. Stick of Truth features some of the most daring and explicit writing ever seen in a mainstream video game and it more than makes up for its by-the-numbers gameplay.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    75
    Grabbing this title is a no-brainer for the show's legions of devotees.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 98
  2. Negative: 6 out of 98
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This is by far the best RPG of the year so far! the combat is old school like paper mario and
    mario rpg. This game is also one of the
    This is by far the best RPG of the year so far! the combat is old school like paper mario and
    mario rpg. This game is also one of the funniest games i have ever played. there is a ton of fan service in this game but non fans will not fill lost at all.most rpg fans will like this even if not a south park fan.
    the only rpg games that have a shot at being better this year are Final fantasy x hd and the witcher 3,
    nothing else this year will beat this as far as rpgs go.
    Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    the person who vote for one vote. You who ever vote that number don't get it on pc if you gonna chuck a nacky. what wrong with people that dothe person who vote for one vote. You who ever vote that number don't get it on pc if you gonna chuck a nacky. what wrong with people that do that really I don't know why it does annoy me so I don't do it. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    This game is absolutely epic! It literally feels like the show if you're a fan of South Park you'll absolutely love it but even if you're notThis game is absolutely epic! It literally feels like the show if you're a fan of South Park you'll absolutely love it but even if you're not like my (friend who never watches the show) he said he really liked it too especially the RPG aspects of the game. Best Licensed game since Simpsons: Hit and Run in my opinion! Expand
  4. May 5, 2014
    9
    Before I start, I should say that I'm not that much of an role playing fan and I got this because I'm a fan of South Park and I have waited aBefore I start, I should say that I'm not that much of an role playing fan and I got this because I'm a fan of South Park and I have waited a long time for this to come out, a full year in fact if you remember that it was supposed to come out March 2013 but was delayed until this year. When I finally got this on launch day, I was so excited and it didn't disappoint. It looks just like the show and is so much better than those terrible 3D games from the 90's. The story is filled with the usual comedic and offensive humour that every one just can't get enough of. One thing that alot of people are probably annoyed is that several parts are sensored in Europe and Australia, mostly during an abduction sequence which I leave you to find out what I mean. The good thing is that they actually describe to you what happens through a screen
    which is just as funny but it probably would have been better if we could have just got the full game without the censors. The game play is quick and easy to pick up and is alot of fun when you use your character's special abilities which are great and Cartman's attacks are by far the best and funniest of them all. One of the only problems is that rpg fans will feel abit annoyed that it is just abit too easy but the majority of people will still enjoy regardless and you don't have to be a fan of the show to enjoy this and fans of the show will find dozens of references to the show which definitely encourages you to explore every last part of south park to find all of them. This is a must buy and one of the best games of 2014 so far and is worthy of a game of the year nomination. You won't regret that 60 Euro/Dollars.
    Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2014
    9
    With brilliant humor, enjoyable combat, and endless references to it's source material, South Park The Stick Of Truth is guaranteed fun forWith brilliant humor, enjoyable combat, and endless references to it's source material, South Park The Stick Of Truth is guaranteed fun for fans and gamers of any mature age. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    Awesome cut scenes no denying that, some funny stuff. Wasn't to big on the gameplay. Would have been great on the 3DS. 32 more characters, mmmhmm yep.
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    1
    This will be a good game if they ever get it fixed. Glitchy as hell. Ridiculous and painful button mashing on PS3. Frustrating waste of timeThis will be a good game if they ever get it fixed. Glitchy as hell. Ridiculous and painful button mashing on PS3. Frustrating waste of time at this point. Don't buy this until it gets patched! Expand

See all 98 User Reviews