Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spec Ops: The Line is a provocative third-person modern military shooter that challenges players' morality by putting them in the middle of unspeakable situations where unimaginable choices affecting human life must be made. Spec Ops: The Line unfolds within the destroyed opulence of Dubai. Once the playground for the world's wealthiest elite, Dubai has fallen victim to a series of cataclysmic sandstorms. The city's ultramodern architecture lies half-buried under millions of tons of sand. The very sand that blankets the city plays a marquee role in altering combat situations and serves as a powerful but unpredictable force that will both help and hinder players throughout the course of the game. While most people have fled the now-barren wasteland before the sandstorms swept through, U.S. Army Colonel John Konrad and his loyal squad remained behind to protect those incapable of escape. Unable to reach anyone in Dubai after the storm hit, the U.S. Army feared Konrad and his team dead until they picked up a weak distress signal and launched a rescue operation. As U.S. Army Captain Martin Walker, you and your elite Delta Force team are sent to infiltrate the treacherous region to bring Konrad home. Players experience “"The Line," that razor's edge known only to men who deal in war. It is the line they cross when death and duty become one and the same. It is the end -- of self and sanity -- when their duty is done and only they remain. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jun 27, 2012
    90
    The Line rivals thatgamecompany's Journey in terms of overall impact, serving as a brave step forward for developers who want to help us get more from games than just gunplay. If you're tired of the same old firefight, you really ought to play it.
  2. Good or evil doesn't really exist in The Line, most of the time you have to choose between doing something bad or doing something very bad. Just don't expect any branching story paths, because The Line is about as linear as it gets. [July 2012, p.82]
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    For the first time, a game with guns doesn't want you to be the hero -- it's wants you to feel terrible about trying to be one.
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    80
    The line between an outstanding game and a very powerful game but without shine is in this Spec Ops. The story of Walker, Adams and Lugo is deep and interesting, as are the situations they will be exposed too. But the multiplayer is not very inspired and other areas have shortcomings.
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    Spec Ops: The Line is a solid, action packed shooter that sets itself apart by demonstrating the brutal realities of war. The fragile lines of morality are easily blurred, and sometimes, only visible when crossed.
  6. Jul 4, 2012
    75
    Spec Ops: The Line has a great story and manages to show a gruesome, yet beautifully destroyed Dubai. It's just a shame that the moving sand is all scripted and that the campaign doesn't last for more than 6 hours.
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    59
    What would be a ridiculously bland and forgettable experience is rendered that little bit less so through a fairly interesting setting and narrative. But it's still not very good at all, and not particularly worth your time. Unless you're REALLY bored. [Issue#220, p.74]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 68
  2. Negative: 7 out of 68
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    Spec Ops: The Line is a great game, you can't deny that. I just wish it was longer, it's quite short, but still, I thought it was amazing, quite underrated if you asked me, one of the best game this gen. Yes, it is that good, please buy it as soon as possible. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    If you finish Spec Ops: The Line without learning anything about yourself; without ever feeling genuine anger, sadness, or regret; without truly examining where the line is drawn between right and wrong; then you played it wrong. Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    As has been said before, great game with a great story. The passable gameplay is overshadowed by spectacular voice acting. Definitely not a game to be missed, but not a purchase. Rent or Redbox. Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Beautiful art design+ Phenomenal acting
    + Good use of licensed soundtrack
    ( Jimmi Hendrix, The Black Angels and even a classical music
    piece )
    + Very good story
    + A soul sucking experience that made me cross The Line ''

    - The cover system loves to piss you off sometimes during the final chapters
    - The difficulty jumps 200m high during the final chapters. F#$k YOU CHAPTER 14!!! )
    - Too Short Took me 9 hours on Suicide Mission
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    I think that Spec Ops The Line is a great campaign mainly because of the story line I would've never have expected the ending if I had not played it myself. I love the difficulty of it. Like pre_-cision-_ said it is worthy of a book. The only thing I do dislike about this game is that on the multiplayer I always disconnect for some strange reason but its not because of my connection. So other than that the game is great! Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    wow what a story line my god i am not gone spoil it but its amezing you play as walker voicet ase nolan north and your in dubai to shoot people that is something i dont get in this game you are saveing people while the only thing you do is shooting the shooting is fun not great but not bad you can give your squad commants and the time slows down when you make a headshot this are litle fun things the game is pretty short around 6-7 hours than you got your mp witch is meh but it is the story that takes me the charecters its just amezing you have got to play this for the story Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2013
    2
    Only play this pile if you enjoy getting stuck to cover, enemies that spam you with grenades, the worst shooting mechanic, and clumsy controls. Its hard to understand the developers could have been happy with these issues. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews