User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 87
  2. Negative: 6 out of 87

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    This is a really, really underrated game. I truly can't explain why this hasn't achieved the same success of the Burnout games, my guess is because of Disney's bad merchandising. The car crashes are not so spectacular, but the scenario destruction is very impressive, and is really the catch of the game. Very nice graphics, increasing difficulty (to the point it's almost unplayable at the end) and a lot of breathtaking moments will get you hooked to this game for days. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    Split Second offers solid arcade racing action with a strong focus on drifting as well as the player-triggered environmental destruction. Unlike some other racing titles, long well-controlled drifts in this game will not only maintain your momentum through corners, but will actually give you a turbo boost of speed. This often makes taking what appears to be the fastest normal path through a turn obsolete, as it is usually faster to power out of a drift whenever possible, although it will take some practice to get used to. Drifting also rewards the player with energy they can use to trigger "power plays" which cause objects in the environment to fall onto the track or explode nearby, as well as shortcuts to open briefly, and if you acquire a full meter of energy, there are points at which you can drastically alter the track itself with things such as falling towers and sinking ships. You are encouraged to use these triggered events both for your own benefit as well as to the detriment of others, and while it is exciting and fun, there is a bit of a balance issue when playing online as occasionally you will see players come to a complete stop as they wait for the front of the pack to come under an unavoidable course change before hitting the button and easily coming back to win. Unlike in a game such as Mario Kart that offers a chance of redemption in the form of strong weapons when losing a race, once a sneaky opponent hits you with one of these, they are normally too far ahead afterwards for you to get revenge on them, and which leaves you in close quarters with the rest of the group he just wrecked as they all carelessly trigger events in desperation, with the worst drivers often wrecking themselves and taking you down with them.

    There are a few other game modes aside from just racing such as "Survival" where you attempt to pass as many trucks as possible as they dump explosive barrels behind them, as well as "Elimination" where the last place driver gets blown up after a certain number of seconds. These are fun as well but you aren't likely to find anyone playing these modes online, presumably because their is no real incentive to do so in terms of trophies or unlockable content.

    The soundtrack is pretty good, alternating between a frantic orchestral score and some bass-driven electronica type music. The latter group does have one or two beats that can grind on the nerves after a while, especially if it's playing while you continually lose a difficult race against the computer.

    Lastly, there are 12 tracks overall, but several of them share segments with one another leading one to feel there is little overall variety. Some portions are so similar, right down to the lighting, that you may think you are on one particular track only to find out the hard way as you take a wrong turn and crash.

    Overall, Split Second is a fun game with a great sense of speed, but the negatives I mentioned clearly need to be addressed if there is to be a sequel.
    Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Destroy overtake instead: This racing game burns a rapid effect fireworks - and does some things differently than the genre competition. It is a simple but extremely entertaining arcade racing in brilliant bombastic appearance.
  4. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    about half a year before it came out, I read about it in some gaming magazine, as I read about how the game would work, I instantly wanted it. When I saw the TV commercial I knew it was coming, I bought it when it came out. I was quite surprised that nobody knew about it but let me tell you something: MONEY WELL SPENT! This game is just faced paced racing with explosions, lots and lots of 'splosions... The guy ahead wont mess up and let you pass him? Have a helicopter drop a bomb on top of him! Bunch of people in front of you while you race in a construction yard? Have the bulldoser swing his shovel arm thing across the track and rake them all out! What if you are racing in seattle and you are so far back you can't do anything? DROP THE SPACE NEEDLE ON THE TRACK. Then ride the space needle on a couple buildings and win the race. My only problem with it is that more tracks would have been fun, but it is still one of my favorite racing games of all time. I can't wait for the second one! Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    Um dos melhores jogos de corrida que joguei nesta geração , ao lado de Burnout Paradise .

    Jogabilidade perfeita , gráficos bonitos e um viciante modo online , é um jogo para platinar !

    One of the best racing games I've played this generation, along with Burnout Paradise.
    Perfect gameplay, beautiful graphics and an addictive online mode is a game for platinize!
  6. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, i recently had it brought for me for my birthday and from the moment i turned it on, i loved it. The best racing genre game i have ever played. Love it
  7. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    this game is really a good racing game the explosions are awesome and the levels are fun the gameplay is fast and crazy but the storyline is boring and the multiplayer is poorly made but other the that it has a sloo of modes that are really fun
  8. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I never like any racing game but i think game is probably one of the best racing games i played. The game was very fun . probably my first racing i played
  9. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    It is a decent game, also very enjoyable. It's strongest points are in offline multiplayer, very fun with a friend. Tactical, game of skill and luck. Very interesting explosions during the race will keep you sweating. It does have a few flaws though: Graphics aren't the best, sometimes the AI is scripted and it does seem to a bit unfair sometimes. Also the online isn't quite as I hoped, it isn't the same smooth as singleplayer. Blur is better arcace-racing from these two but this is a decent game too, singleplayer being great too. So if you're arcade-racing fan buy it (with Blur) and you won't be disappointment. Also good buy for everyone else (except those who don't enjoy racing games - of course) Expand
  10. Dec 12, 2011
    6
    i like racing games but im more in the Gran Turismo catagory of my style of racing games i like to play but i like arcadey ones like motor storm and love Daytona USA. i picked up split second cause it was used at my local pawn shop for $12 . the game is very simplistic with its only real key feature being you can activate theese special attacks that will knock the other cars out which is cool. unfortunitly the racing physics and just about every thing els eather kinda sucks or feels mdiocore . this isnt a bad game but probubly more in line for kids to play as it will be easy for them to get the hang of. i just like alot of depth or at the very least some challange and split second has neather. Expand
  11. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    This is a terrific arcade gaming experience. As soon a sI saw the trailer and realised that taking out an enemy meant triggering an event rather blasting guns. It was a must purchase. I hadn't been this excited about a racing game since Wipeout on the PSone. The game is top notch all the way down the line from the great visuals to the big TV style presentation. Where the game really shines in the massive set pieces where you can alter the routes of the race. I guess where the game falls down, as with most titles of this ilke, is the grind. Especially when this is coupled with win a season get a new car which is easily good enough to beat the opponents plough through race and unlock the next season and so on. What I do like are the challenges. These have been balanced perfectly and definitely have that "just one more go" element. I still enjoy playing and look forward to more interesting way to dispose of the opponents. Expand
  12. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Wow, i can't believe there isn't more of a fuss being made about this excellent game. I grabbed it off the Playstation Store after hearing it's 'pretty good" but i think this is solid gold. I love how there's no exposition story-wise or lame attempt at introducing characters; only ' here's this TV show, now go'! After the 10 or so hours i've played this it seems like the same music track is playing in all the races, but it happens to be an excellent one so it doesn't bug me - kind of Star Wars/ James Bond-y. If you don't know, you're racing and trying to wreck opponents by triggering 'power-plays' - trackside events like explosions or dropping barriers that hopefully put you in the lead. If your bar is full (filled up by drifting, drafting and jumping) you can trigger even bigger events that completely alter the course of the track, and these result in some awe-inspiring sequences; dodging a jumbo jet as you careen down a landing strip, or driving along a sinking aircraft carrier while fighter planes hurtle past you into the ocean. As arcade racing games go the handling is very cool, much better than i've seen in ridge racer 7 and burnout paradise. If i have to point out one negative the single player campaign is is tad easy, but overall it's a wicked fun racer filled with 'oh SHIIIIIIIIIII-" moments. Expand
  13. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    Amazed this one has slipped under the radar so much. It really is very good. GT actually felt stodgy afterwards but GT is a different member of the family. Split seconds detonator challenges are excellent fun and will appeal to any stubborn gamers who don't like to be beaten!!
  14. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    One of the most fun racing games I have ever played in my life! Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. What sold me was the demo, played it 5 times and even though it was the same track, I experienced it differently 3 or 4 of those times. Even the 1st lap of one race was different than the first lap of another because of a portion of the environment being destroyed forcing you to use a new part of the track. On my 5th play-through of the demo I saw a part of the track I hadn't experienced yet, so once the real game came out I picked it up asap and loved it a lot! Definitely worth the money, took a few weeks to beat it since I would try for all gold's before moving to next episode. Collapse
  15. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    This game provides a jarring racing experience, unfortunately with boring arcade physics. Everything is on autopilot and the game is very easy. I was able to win without paying attention to the game. The explosions became irritating so I turned the sound off. Get Burnout instead, even Blur is slightly better arcade racing. This is like eating stale crackers.
  16. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    The most fun I've had playing a racing game in a very long time. Simply marvelous destruction and competitive gameplay makes this a must buy for combat racing fans.
  17. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    What do you get with Split/Second? Fun. Just fun. Pure simple unadulterated fun. When you put the game up against other arcade and kart-racing games, you may put it just in the top 3. You would also need to put an asterisk next to the game, since it is the first game to say "My car is not the weapon, the game is my weapon". This is a twist that is unseen and you can only hope that Disney with BlackRock Studio will make another split/second with more tracks, cars, and improvements.

    I would recommend this game to anybody, but for those who love online racing, I would recommend it more to. As said, I keep feeling like there is something in the game that has been missed. If that feature...whatever it is was in the game, I think more people would know of the game and rate it higher. Either way, what we have now is simple, fast, beautiful and fun.

    For Full Review, visit my blog: http://hypedgames.blogspot.com/2010/09/splitsecond-review-explosions.html
    Expand
  18. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    Split/Second is one of those rare games that feature breath-taking, adrenaline fueled moments over and over again. The gameplay is fun but I found drifting difficult. The later stages are challenging to get 1st place, mainly the elite races. What sets this title apart is the unique ability to trigger "power plays". Wth a push of a button can can trigger an explosion or a giant wrecking ball to demolish your opponents. The level two power plays are insanely powerful and can cause an evil little smile on your face when destroy five or six of your opponents. Graphics are excellent, featuring nicely done track design and massive explosions. With split-screen, many modes, and multiplayer, you'll keep coming back for more explosive fun. Fans of arcade and kart racing shouldn't miss out on this superb action racer. Expand
  19. Dec 26, 2010
    0
    One of the most fun racing games I have ever played in my life! Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. What sold me was the demo, played it 5 times and even though it was the same track, I experienced it differently 3 or 4 of those times. Even the 1st lap of one race was different than the first lap of another because of a portion of the environment being destroyed forcing you to use a new part of the track. On my 5th play-through of the demo I saw a part of the track I hadn't experienced yet, so once the real game came out I picked it up asap and loved it a lot! Definitely worth the money, took a few weeks to beat it since I would try for all gold's before moving to next episode. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. This game has plenty of edge-of-your-seat racing and thrilling moments. Some of the repetition, however, slows it down. [Issue#206, p.89]
  2. This is like a wet dream thought up by James Cameron and Michael Bay. Forget realism and go for mindless fun. The powerplay-function is great fun when mastered. While the amount of tracks on offer is less than impressive and the car-models unimaginative, there is lot of fun to be had racing against friends online or offline.
  3. 85
    In the end though, Split/Second has so much going for it that it's easy to recommend for kart and arcade racing fans alike.