Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Stacking is the second downloadable game produced by THQ and the award-winning Double Fine Productions. The adventure of Stacking requires players to capture and stack dolls together, then use each doll's unique abilities to solve the game's challenges. As more puzzles are solved, new dolls are acquired and the game's visually lush, carefully constructed story unfolds. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Feb 9, 2011
    100
    Stacking proves that lively character and set designs, catchy music, and clever writing are far more important in making a good game than simply simply adding filler to extend the quantity of gameplay hours.
  2. Feb 14, 2011
    90
    Stacking mixes inventive gameplay with a charming visual style to produce an outstanding puzzle-adventure.
  3. Feb 13, 2011
    88
    In realm of creative game design, Stacking is a champion and the star of the show, Charlie Blackmore, is a video game folk hero. In the way that it fuses its charming atmosphere with its witty mechanics, Stacking is endlessly delightful.
  4. Feb 9, 2011
    85
    Deceptively cute, strikingly subversive and creatively inspired, Stacking appeals to both the casual and hardcore audiences in a single shot.
  5. Wonderfully unique and truly intoxicating. Double Fine strikes again. [April 2011, p.80]
  6. Feb 13, 2011
    80
    Stacking fills a role as a clever little family game that is great for a weekend with the kids. As a showcase for the humor of Double Fine, Stacking can't stand up to some of the past gems from the studio.
  7. Feb 14, 2011
    50
    I feel the humor falls a little flat, and while I found plenty of stuff to laugh at with Costume Quest, the adventures of a little matryoshka doll named Charlie hasn't done much for me.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Absolutely a must have game! It's funny, original and different, maybe a bit slow paced, but so great! The style is great too, the old Russian thingy ;) I can really recommend this. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Why do I love this game? Originality for one. It doesn't do loads of things, but what it does, it does brilliantly. It's this simplicity and whimsy that make this game wonderful. It's not for everyone, and I don't expect the die hard COD's to play it and not hate it. The mechanics of game play are never bad and hopping in and out of other characters does not get boring. I love this game and I love the company it came from. I will continue to support it wholeheartedly. Expand
  3. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Another winner from Double Fine! I can't keep from smiling when I play it. The art, music AND gameplay combine to form a fresh (and shhhh... approachable) take on the adventure game genre. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Epic game. The music is nice and relaxing. The characters are actually kind of cute. The fact that there are different ways to complete the tasks at hand is cool. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    Stacking is probably my favorite downloadable title of 2011. The characters are great and the world is breathing with life. Though the game is kinda short, it's still a must-play. It's a beautiful little gem and it shouldn't be missed. Collapse
  6. Feb 12, 2011
    6
    it to slow for me it not bad but don't much.
  7. Mar 3, 2011
    0
    like i don't get this game, its competeing with much better games.... i tried to like it... i tried to play it, its great for ps3plus members, i found it boring and dull as hell... i'm going to play marvel v capcom 3... this shi.... don't interest me Expand

See all 14 User Reviews