• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Starhawk is a 3rd Person shooter adventure in which you can instantly change the battlefield in the heat of combat. In the future, humanity’s final hope lies in the lawless frontier of space where factions battle over the universe’s most valuable resource - Rift Energy. Caught in the middle is Emmett Graves, an outcast gunslinger who is drawn back to the planet that abandoned him, to face a fierce outlaw and his warband of followers. Experience frenzied combat on foot, in vehicles, or in the air and discover a new type of shooter gameplay with the new "Build & Battle" system. Gain the tactical advantage by calling upon an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and fortifications, violently delivered from an orbiting drop ship to help turn the tide of battle. Engage in epic 32-player online battles and see maps dynamically change depending solely on each player's strategy or team up with friends and protect your claim against waves of AI opponents in online and offline Co-op modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. May 14, 2012
    91
    Its nuances are deep, the layered gameplay is incredibly satisfying and there really is nothing quite like it out there. Now if you'll excuse me, I've got another 350 or so hours to knock out.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    85
    Starhawk is an ambitious cross-breed of shooter and RTS. When this concept is coupled with 32 player network game and large, open battlefields, Starhawk sure is quite unique. [June 2012]
  3. May 20, 2012
    83
    While Starhawk does have its faults (particularly in the single player campaign), the multiplayer is deep, fun, decisive, and completely innovative. I don't think I've had a much better multiplayer experience in a long time. Starhawk has redefined the third-person shooter genre with intelligent strategy. I credit it with nothing less than successfully shoving itself back into the world of multiplayer gaming. It is arguably the best multiplayer experience the PlayStation 3 has to offer so far in 2012.
  4. 80
    Exhilarating space battles and overall an intense multiplayer experience.
  5. We are afraid that a lot of newcomers will give up on Starhawk because of its sometimes overwhelming action. And they would be wrong, because once you fully grasp the Build & Battle concept, there's a very unique multiplayer experience waiting to be discovered. [June 2012, p.94]
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    70
    The disappointment stems from the notion that it could have been truly great, but a few design decisions and strange lag keep it from achieving that.
  7. May 7, 2012
    60
    Starhawk is definitely a game that was made; I just don't know if it was a game that was designed. Its scope seems at odds with its mechanics. There's nothing inherently broken about Starhawk, it's just painfully straightforward, as if the question of "why" was never asked. And it's one I continued to ponder as I played the game and don't think I ever really came up with a satisfying answer.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 62
  2. Negative: 2 out of 62
  1. May 8, 2012
    10
    I have never had as much fun in a multiplayer game; the battlefield is consistently changing, and when you have solid teams battling it out, its hard to leave. Everything from the visuals to the audio to the controls are dripping with style. A must buy if you own a ps3! Expand
  2. May 8, 2012
    10
    Is it a 10? No, I'd give it a 9.5 or so if Metacritic let me, but since not, I'm rounding. I picked it up today and tried every game mode - it truly is a complete package. The campaign isn't particularly memorable, but it doesn't have to be - its purpose is multiplayer training and it does a great job of gearing players up for the online component (which is truly the core of the experience here). I'll admit that the game isn't perfect by any means - between meh AI, low production values, and little variety in the campaign, there really isn't much worth replaying in the solo affairs. But again, that's not the point by any means. This game is the spiritual successor to 2007's Warhawk, which was a multiplayer only game. It was the first incredibly popular game on the PS3, and made its name by the skill based, teamwork-oriented, fast-paced gameplay with good balance of vehicular and ground combat. Starhawk adds an extra dimension to this with build and battle, making this game feel like a real time strategy third person shooter. Teamwork is the key to success in Starhawk, and the new clan system makes it really easy to set up a dedicated team to play with. While Machinima and GameInformer bash Starhawk for the teamwork emphasis, they don't realize that it's the point of the game. Starhawk is easily one of the most innovative games of this generation, and this gem contains everything a game really needs (coop is a blast as well). The music is incredible and fits the western theme. The graphics, while not realistic by any means, are still strikingly beautiful. The gameplay is polished and well balanced. And with a well built, active, and long supported (free map packs inbound) online component, what more could you ask for? I honestly find it embarrassing that each year's Madden or Call of Duty tops the critical and commercial success (thank you EA and Activision -_-) while the truly innovative games go largely ignored. Oh well, to each his own I suppose. Basically, I'm fine if people dislike it, but I'd like them to at least know what they're talking about. For now, I'll give Starhawk one of my strongest recommendations of this generation, and I encourage readers to look past the mixed reviews and see if they like the game itself - they may be surprised. Expand
  3. May 9, 2012
    10
    This game really takes a stands, I've never been big into getting a game solely for the multiplier but this game really stands out in so many ways due to its creative multiplier style that it has. i hope many other games look at this and take an example from it Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    The story is not really anything new (it's like Star Wars set in the wild west in some places), but the actual gameplay and multiplayer modes are so addicting that you don't want to stop playing. Awesome graphics and visuals, smooth, satisfying gameplay and no-nonsense action from start to finish. I rate this game Solid. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2014
    9
    Excellent follow up to "Warhawk" with tons up creativity and a sandbox way of playing. However, the one downside is that should you play in a multiplayer game where someone has dlc content, such as the grizzly, then you will be at a massive disadvantage. This forces you to buy the dlc content which makes the game a little more expensive than it should. Expand
  6. May 8, 2012
    8
    Successor to my beloved Warhawk and genuinely one of only two games I had on pre-order since 2011, Starhawk had a lot to live up to in my mind. It didn't, but it did manage to justify the wait. The single player is a no thrills answer to the critics who felt Warhawk 'needed' a campaign - it didn't - to understand the gameplay. The plot is thin, the set pieces are challenging and everything as a whole was underwhelming. It's one of those rare occasions where a game's campaign feels like the tack on, the effortless attempt to appease a small crowd of greedy consumers. The online, however, didn't disappoint. Its as refreshing as Warhawk but with a few new twists and turns, with the versatile Hawk only the poster boy. Dozens of options open up hundreds of tactics. Meaning a player genuinely has to engage the game with their brain as much as they would their thumbs. Turrets, bases, walls, depots and more. Call it, build it, use it. I can't give the campaign much praise, it isn't that good. But the multiplayer, oh god the multiplayer, is something completely out of this world. You must at least try this, you simply can't miss out on the one great tonic gamers are afforded in the midst of the endless FPS online market. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2012
    2
    I really didn't enjoy this game. I bought it mainly for the Multi-player but gave the campaign a shot too. The Multi-player is weak. The guns are far too simple and lack any punch whatsoever. The campaign is quite good fun, but way too linear and voice acting is elementary. The building aspect - which all the magazines talk about as the best thing since slice bread - becomes very old very quickly. The Mulitplayer maps are either far too large or far too small. 2/10. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.