• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Starhawk is a 3rd Person shooter adventure in which you can instantly change the battlefield in the heat of combat. In the future, humanity’s final hope lies in the lawless frontier of space where factions battle over the universe’s most valuable resource - Rift Energy. Caught in the middleStarhawk is a 3rd Person shooter adventure in which you can instantly change the battlefield in the heat of combat. In the future, humanity’s final hope lies in the lawless frontier of space where factions battle over the universe’s most valuable resource - Rift Energy. Caught in the middle is Emmett Graves, an outcast gunslinger who is drawn back to the planet that abandoned him, to face a fierce outlaw and his warband of followers. Experience frenzied combat on foot, in vehicles, or in the air and discover a new type of shooter gameplay with the new "Build & Battle" system. Gain the tactical advantage by calling upon an arsenal of weapons, vehicles, and fortifications, violently delivered from an orbiting drop ship to help turn the tide of battle. Engage in epic 32-player online battles and see maps dynamically change depending solely on each player's strategy or team up with friends and protect your claim against waves of AI opponents in online and offline Co-op modes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. May 14, 2012
    91
    Its nuances are deep, the layered gameplay is incredibly satisfying and there really is nothing quite like it out there. Now if you'll excuse me, I've got another 350 or so hours to knock out.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    85
    Starhawk is an ambitious cross-breed of shooter and RTS. When this concept is coupled with 32 player network game and large, open battlefields, Starhawk sure is quite unique. [June 2012]
  3. May 20, 2012
    83
    While Starhawk does have its faults (particularly in the single player campaign), the multiplayer is deep, fun, decisive, and completely innovative. I don't think I've had a much better multiplayer experience in a long time. Starhawk has redefined the third-person shooter genre with intelligent strategy. I credit it with nothing less than successfully shoving itself back into the world of multiplayer gaming. It is arguably the best multiplayer experience the PlayStation 3 has to offer so far in 2012.
  4. 80
    Exhilarating space battles and overall an intense multiplayer experience.
  5. We are afraid that a lot of newcomers will give up on Starhawk because of its sometimes overwhelming action. And they would be wrong, because once you fully grasp the Build & Battle concept, there's a very unique multiplayer experience waiting to be discovered. [June 2012, p.94]
  6. Aug 10, 2012
    70
    The disappointment stems from the notion that it could have been truly great, but a few design decisions and strange lag keep it from achieving that.
  7. May 7, 2012
    60
    Starhawk is definitely a game that was made; I just don't know if it was a game that was designed. Its scope seems at odds with its mechanics. There's nothing inherently broken about Starhawk, it's just painfully straightforward, as if the question of "why" was never asked. And it's one I continued to ponder as I played the game and don't think I ever really came up with a satisfying answer.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 64
  2. Negative: 2 out of 64
  1. May 8, 2012
    10
    I have never had as much fun in a multiplayer game; the battlefield is consistently changing, and when you have solid teams battling it out,I have never had as much fun in a multiplayer game; the battlefield is consistently changing, and when you have solid teams battling it out, its hard to leave. Everything from the visuals to the audio to the controls are dripping with style. A must buy if you own a ps3! Expand
  2. May 8, 2012
    10
    Is it a 10? No, I'd give it a 9.5 or so if Metacritic let me, but since not, I'm rounding. I picked it up today and tried every game mode - itIs it a 10? No, I'd give it a 9.5 or so if Metacritic let me, but since not, I'm rounding. I picked it up today and tried every game mode - it truly is a complete package. The campaign isn't particularly memorable, but it doesn't have to be - its purpose is multiplayer training and it does a great job of gearing players up for the online component (which is truly the core of the experience here). I'll admit that the game isn't perfect by any means - between meh AI, low production values, and little variety in the campaign, there really isn't much worth replaying in the solo affairs. But again, that's not the point by any means. This game is the spiritual successor to 2007's Warhawk, which was a multiplayer only game. It was the first incredibly popular game on the PS3, and made its name by the skill based, teamwork-oriented, fast-paced gameplay with good balance of vehicular and ground combat. Starhawk adds an extra dimension to this with build and battle, making this game feel like a real time strategy third person shooter. Teamwork is the key to success in Starhawk, and the new clan system makes it really easy to set up a dedicated team to play with. While Machinima and GameInformer bash Starhawk for the teamwork emphasis, they don't realize that it's the point of the game. Starhawk is easily one of the most innovative games of this generation, and this gem contains everything a game really needs (coop is a blast as well). The music is incredible and fits the western theme. The graphics, while not realistic by any means, are still strikingly beautiful. The gameplay is polished and well balanced. And with a well built, active, and long supported (free map packs inbound) online component, what more could you ask for? I honestly find it embarrassing that each year's Madden or Call of Duty tops the critical and commercial success (thank you EA and Activision -_-) while the truly innovative games go largely ignored. Oh well, to each his own I suppose. Basically, I'm fine if people dislike it, but I'd like them to at least know what they're talking about. For now, I'll give Starhawk one of my strongest recommendations of this generation, and I encourage readers to look past the mixed reviews and see if they like the game itself - they may be surprised. Collapse
  3. May 9, 2012
    10
    This game really takes a stands, I've never been big into getting a game solely for the multiplier but this game really stands out in so manyThis game really takes a stands, I've never been big into getting a game solely for the multiplier but this game really stands out in so many ways due to its creative multiplier style that it has. i hope many other games look at this and take an example from it Expand
  4. May 19, 2012
    9
    Great game i must say, single player is just to wet your teeth and the meat is the multi, seems to have everything from inspecting maps aloneGreat game i must say, single player is just to wet your teeth and the meat is the multi, seems to have everything from inspecting maps alone to get used to them and every control option to make that crappy controller better for impressive combat thru to fun team based/building aspects rarely seen in games on consoles.

    This is a true 8.5 score, if it had keyboard and mouse support i'd give it a 9 and if it was also on PC i'd give it a 10 lol

    The morons giving this low scores need to go back to MW and have a cry.
    Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2015
    9
    Wow, what a amazing game that not a lot of people played.. I loved this game, so much that I actually purchased an online pass knowing theWow, what a amazing game that not a lot of people played.. I loved this game, so much that I actually purchased an online pass knowing the player base might be in the single digits. The innovative real time build structures while you play was awesome and fun, and was clearly the highlight of the game. They basically fused a solid tower defense game with a very good third person shooter, and added in mechs for good measure. People complaining about lack of innovation in video games, look no further this is your game here. The story of this game was good(pretty straight-foward), but the gameplay overshadowed the story to the point where I was hooked by the build and battle system, always trying to think about what to do next. The flight combat can be awkward, but still enjoyable and felt fresh. Now the multiplayer has a very steep learning curve, and the play style of others can be frustrating, but it's enjoyable if you put time and actually get good at it. To end, I don't know if this game was ahead of it's time or not, because when I think of next-gen games, I think of this game. Everyone should check this game out, and I would'nt mind a remaster or even a starhawk 2 in the future.. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    this game is FUN, and if you are a ps3 owner check it out. If you love shooters but are getting tired of cod, battlefield, or pretty muchthis game is FUN, and if you are a ps3 owner check it out. If you love shooters but are getting tired of cod, battlefield, or pretty much every other shooter out there, then this game is one to pick up because it is so unique. It combines third person shooting with base building like in a strategy game. The gunplay is silky smooth, which admittedly i wasnt expecting. The controls for everything from flying to laying down buildings in your base ( or wherever you choose to lay them) is very smooth and intuitive. the singleplayer campaign is fun in its own right, but it gets really good online. and whats great is that however you choose to attack or defend, whether it be flying your spaceship, walking in your mech, driving a tank, or just going at it on foot (my favorite), you are not at a disadvantage, you can wreck it however you want. oh and the jetpack is a blast. if you want a fun, smooth, unique third person shooter on ps3 (that also offers so much more), this is the way to go. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2012
    2
    I really didn't enjoy this game. I bought it mainly for the Multi-player but gave the campaign a shot too. The Multi-player is weak. The gunsI really didn't enjoy this game. I bought it mainly for the Multi-player but gave the campaign a shot too. The Multi-player is weak. The guns are far too simple and lack any punch whatsoever. The campaign is quite good fun, but way too linear and voice acting is elementary. The building aspect - which all the magazines talk about as the best thing since slice bread - becomes very old very quickly. The Mulitplayer maps are either far too large or far too small. 2/10. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.