Street Fighter IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 342
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinC
    Jan 10, 2010
    1
    I'm an old school streetfighter fan played it to death in the arcades and owned it on other consoles, I've played the ps3 version and the xbox version. There was a massive difference in how the game played between both consoles, xbox was 100 times better than ps3 version. Plus playing online pretty much killed the game for me, slow to block let alone perform moves. My advice is I'm an old school streetfighter fan played it to death in the arcades and owned it on other consoles, I've played the ps3 version and the xbox version. There was a massive difference in how the game played between both consoles, xbox was 100 times better than ps3 version. Plus playing online pretty much killed the game for me, slow to block let alone perform moves. My advice is if you want to play this game, play it on an xbox not a ps3. Expand
  2. ChazS
    Apr 6, 2009
    6
    I don't quite understand how this game top scores. Its not a horrible game but it definitely doesn't live up the the Street fighter legacy. What really stung me about this game right off the bat is the horrible intro music. Made it seem like a cheesey knock off game....When are we going to see some Capcom vs marvel for the next gen?
  3. FelipeL
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    The best fighting game ever for ps3 system, and a really well done job on art by bringing back from the past one of the worlds most famous games ever. Fans have to have it.
  4. RickC.
    Feb 20, 2009
    5
    This game is crap. I was a huge fan of the street fighter series back when II hit the arcades. Well... This might as well be part II version 26. Not a lot has changed if you ask me. Sure there are some new characters. whoopdeedoo. I think Part III had more new characters then this one. It will be ok if you have never played any of the previous 25 versions of street fighter.
  5. SuleimanM.
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    Fantastic! Back to its roots. No more tag teams, or any non sense of that kind. Great roster, incredible graphics, and most importantly, it's Street Fighter. Anyone that even has a SLIGHT interest in the genre must pick this up. Anyone giving this game under an 8 is clearly playing it by themselves, enough said.
  6. imadf
    Mar 30, 2009
    10
    This is by far the best street fighter game ever made!!!!! in fact it si the best fighting game ver made!!!! possibly the best game ever made. This game has made the fighting genre appealing after a massive downturn. It is very accessible yet very depp if you are willing to invest some time in it. The characters are well balanced, fighting is graceful and fluid and the graphics are This is by far the best street fighter game ever made!!!!! in fact it si the best fighting game ver made!!!! possibly the best game ever made. This game has made the fighting genre appealing after a massive downturn. It is very accessible yet very depp if you are willing to invest some time in it. The characters are well balanced, fighting is graceful and fluid and the graphics are astounding and need to be seen to be appreciated. Great art style!!!!! My only issue with the game is its online component. While you can get into some robust games that play well i still encounter times where it becomes virtually unplayable. This is due to the fact that i reside in Austrlia and playing someone the other side of the world is in fact a challenge. However with all that said there is a considerable amount of cheaters online. Players that quit early once they are about to lose are all over the place and they go unpunihed. Also there are a few people that use lag switches to gain advantages. Simply these actions reck what is otherwise a perfect experinece. Get this game, you simply must play this. Expand
  7. NeT
    Jun 9, 2009
    7
    I was expecting a lot more from this game, especially after reading all the reviews. It's far from a bad game, but in my opinion, it was very over hyped. The new characters are cool, and it feels good to play with the classic fighters, but the game doesn't move as fast as I enjoyed it back then. Maybe it's just me, but the controls don't feel very responsive when I I was expecting a lot more from this game, especially after reading all the reviews. It's far from a bad game, but in my opinion, it was very over hyped. The new characters are cool, and it feels good to play with the classic fighters, but the game doesn't move as fast as I enjoyed it back then. Maybe it's just me, but the controls don't feel very responsive when I input a special move. Sometimes instead of doing my revenge super, I end up just doing a regular super, even if I hit the button that's suppose to be all three kicks or punches. Also, restricting us with only one revenge super and only one watered down normal version of THAT super sucks. (The exception being Dan... and that special is totally useless... ) EX moves are okay and the animations are very nice, but I feel that a lot has been lost in Street Fighter 4... to be perfectly honest, I'd prefer Street Fighter Alpha 3 or 3rd strike over this... Still, good try Capcom. Hope you guys deliver way more with Street Fighter 5. Expand
  8. SquidJ.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    Move over third strike...Sf4 is the true sequel and the best SF period.
  9. JeffLundy
    Mar 14, 2009
    2
    Poor, poor game. It's a shame, because I was looking forward to this. The graphics are good -- certainly a fascinating application of 3d means to 2d methods. The controls are clunky, the menus are bad, and the music...my God, the music. It is easily the worst game music I've ever come across. This was a real disappointment.
  10. KevinB
    Mar 21, 2009
    4
    As of writing this I have played through the Arcade with about half the characters and unlocked Akuma and Gouken. The only reason that I have played this much is that I really want to like this game, but I can't justify why. There is only one time that this game is truly fun, when playing with a friend who is in the same room as you. This game lacks innovation, ambition, and As of writing this I have played through the Arcade with about half the characters and unlocked Akuma and Gouken. The only reason that I have played this much is that I really want to like this game, but I can't justify why. There is only one time that this game is truly fun, when playing with a friend who is in the same room as you. This game lacks innovation, ambition, and enjoyment. Graphics: They are cell shaded, 3D modeled, and nice looking, but not that great. They look good for a Street Fighter game but compared to anything else on next-gen consoles they don't actually look that great. Right after I bought the game my roommate saw it and said "that doesn't look that great for a PS3 game." It is an interesting look that is behind the times. Gameplay: It pays to be as cheep as possible. Playing through Arcade mode with different characters the first thing that I do is try and find the cheapest move that I can and just do that over and over and over. This is especially true on the last boss Seth. If you actually try and fight him he will usually kill you really fast, he teleports all over the screen then when he actually ends up teleporting next to you he will just grab and throw you. If you do manage to get his health low he will use his Ultra Combo (which there really isn Expand
  11. BilltheIceman
    Mar 3, 2009
    9
    It's funny that 360 owners are screaming that both versions need a 3rd party controller to fully enjoy the game, yet PS3 owners seem to find the default controller to work just fine. I've played both versions at home and can't find a difference worth noting. If you want to shell out an extra 59-99 dollars on a special controller, go with the 360 version - but the PS3 It's funny that 360 owners are screaming that both versions need a 3rd party controller to fully enjoy the game, yet PS3 owners seem to find the default controller to work just fine. I've played both versions at home and can't find a difference worth noting. If you want to shell out an extra 59-99 dollars on a special controller, go with the 360 version - but the PS3 controller works fine for me. Expand
  12. jhagla
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    This is the best fighting game ever, I can't get enough. When i first started playing i didn't think too much of it. I decided to give it a chance and mastered a few characters went online and pwned some noobs. Now i just can't stop pwning noobs. I sit at work all day long thinking about Pwning Noobs! It PWNS!!!!
  13. GK
    Apr 2, 2009
    2
    I normally don't post on forums, but having just sold my SF4 copy to Gamestop for $30, I feel compelled to speak up and warn wary buyers. Clonic M. above summarizes this game's problems well, so I'm just adding to on his comments, which I fully adopt here: -unresponsive controls -SLOW loading times (yes, even after installing 2GB of data onto the hard drive), which you have I normally don't post on forums, but having just sold my SF4 copy to Gamestop for $30, I feel compelled to speak up and warn wary buyers. Clonic M. above summarizes this game's problems well, so I'm just adding to on his comments, which I fully adopt here: -unresponsive controls -SLOW loading times (yes, even after installing 2GB of data onto the hard drive), which you have to endure after every match -stupid menus (you'll enjoy this while going into the moves list in practice mode) -did I mention that the controls are unresponsive? this is why you have to mash the h*ll out of your directional pad just to do a simple hadoken. In conclusion, RENT before you buy...which you probably won't until the price drops significantly below $60. Expand
  14. AJ
    May 7, 2009
    10
    This is by far the best street fighter ever! It is probably worth the big price tag coz this game will always be in my library. it plays amazingly smooth. turned out alot better than I thought. will be a difficult task if they are to top this game. I say well done. JUST GET RID OF SETH!
  15. kevincroughan
    Jul 6, 2009
    3
    o.k i dont tend to vote on metacritic but street fighters 4 is constantly annoying me by getting good scores.i really cant understand why people think its so good.i understand that the graphics are lovely but the fights arent that fluent or fun and the caracters are unbalenced.i rented this once and i could only make my self play it twice in a week.i would also recemend every one to rento.k i dont tend to vote on metacritic but street fighters 4 is constantly annoying me by getting good scores.i really cant understand why people think its so good.i understand that the graphics are lovely but the fights arent that fluent or fun and the caracters are unbalenced.i rented this once and i could only make my self play it twice in a week.i would also recemend every one to rent before they buy.basicly its simple not fun and not well done i really hoped i was going to enjoy this but i didnt.THANKS FOR READING!!! Expand
  16. shad
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Pretty much the best fighter since Street fighter 3.For all the fags sayin its unbalanced you have probably never played any other SF in your life.SF4 probably the most balanced SF up to date.the boss seth is cheap but the playable version isnt that great.Go watch some abel or c.viper videos and then say they suck.The only bad character i find in this game is vega he was nerfed a bit tooPretty much the best fighter since Street fighter 3.For all the fags sayin its unbalanced you have probably never played any other SF in your life.SF4 probably the most balanced SF up to date.the boss seth is cheap but the playable version isnt that great.Go watch some abel or c.viper videos and then say they suck.The only bad character i find in this game is vega he was nerfed a bit too much but overall probably the most balanced game till date for its roseter. Expand
  17. PhilG.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    I really well balanced, polished fighting game wich merges the best of mechanics of Street Fighters past with the new Focus Attack system. Awesome
  18. NadimK.
    Feb 17, 2009
    10
    An awesome fighting game and the true continuation to the Street Fighter series.
  19. Vic
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    This is without a doubt the most fun I've had with a street fighter title since Alpha 3. The game is very well balanced, but like any good street fighter, an experienced player could very well be unstoppable with any of the game's 25 characters. This doesn't mean however that the game isn't welcoming to new comers. The game's somewhat leisurely speed (compared toThis is without a doubt the most fun I've had with a street fighter title since Alpha 3. The game is very well balanced, but like any good street fighter, an experienced player could very well be unstoppable with any of the game's 25 characters. This doesn't mean however that the game isn't welcoming to new comers. The game's somewhat leisurely speed (compared to the turbo7 days of old) doesn't take long to get use to and once you do, you realize you wouldn't have it any other way. I do however have a few gripes with the game. For starters i was very disappointed that capcom did not include some sort of profile system for button configuration. Changing button schemes after every match when playing against a group of skilled street fighter friends is a major pain. Including such a feature doesn't seem like asking for too much and hopefully capcom could deliver in future updates. Another more personal complaint is capcoms choice of soundtrack for the opening sequence. Sitting down to play the long awaited 4th installment to one of your favorite childhood series should have a monumental symphony that brings you to tears and stands the hair on the back of your neck, instead we're treated to something comparable to an unreleased backstreet boys single. My final gripe with the game may originate from my limited (<15 hours) experience with the game, but it feels like Move Cancels and anything that has to do with the new focus system doesn't cooperate with me very well. Hopefully they're not as limited as my first impressions, and in time i'll learn to use them to their full potential. Overall this game is a must have whether you're a street fighter fan or not. It's an Instant classic that should not be missed. Expand
  20. ClonicM.
    Feb 19, 2009
    0
    This should be called Street Fighter for Dummies. Unbalanced characters, awful character models, sluggish game play, horrible voice acting and sound. This is the most over hyped game in history.
  21. JustinB
    Feb 21, 2009
    1
    I have played this game for hours (literally hours) trying too give it the benefit of the doubt. I have played all of the standard characters, done the training, tried to be the poor excuse for a final boss (Seth is the worst boss in Street Fighter history), and I still can not believe that this is a 60 dollar game. There is absolutely nothing different about this game as compared to I have played this game for hours (literally hours) trying too give it the benefit of the doubt. I have played all of the standard characters, done the training, tried to be the poor excuse for a final boss (Seth is the worst boss in Street Fighter history), and I still can not believe that this is a 60 dollar game. There is absolutely nothing different about this game as compared to Street Fighter 2 other than the fact that you can use this "focus" attack which is actually useless when you fight against faster characters. This game is so abysmally pathetic and utterly devoid of being new or originally that I actually laugh when people ask me if I like it. Did I like Street Fighter 2 nearly two decades ago? Sure! Do I like the fact that Capcom has tried to sell me the same game for the past 20 years? Hell no. Get over it people. It's the same damned game. Expand
  22. MikeC
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    The character balance is near perfect. . . like they have been fixing them for 20 years. Although the pace has slowed down a bit, and Guile looks weird. The voice acting for 95% of the characters is horrible. Change the voices to Japanese asap. The cutscenes are also a letdown compared to the rest of the game. Thankfully, the game plays great, and is definitely worth buying if you have The character balance is near perfect. . . like they have been fixing them for 20 years. Although the pace has slowed down a bit, and Guile looks weird. The voice acting for 95% of the characters is horrible. Change the voices to Japanese asap. The cutscenes are also a letdown compared to the rest of the game. Thankfully, the game plays great, and is definitely worth buying if you have online/some friends/random people you found at wal-mart to play against. Expand
  23. Foox
    Feb 23, 2009
    3
    The interface and general presentation feel rather unpolished, the character models are horrible and lets not talk about the cut scenes, the lack of a "play with friends" feature, the annoying announcer or the games ridiculous boss "seth".
  24. JohnT
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    Great game. Everything you ever loved about Street Fighter II and more. It looks simply amazing in HD and is a blast to play online. My only minor complaints are that the story mode and accompanying anime is pretty lame, and when your playing online with a poor connection gameplay suffers.
  25. F4r0
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    " Street Fighter for Dummies. Unbalanced characters, awful character models, sluggish game play, horrible voice acting and sound". Horrible voice acting, what were you expecting from American voice actors. The Japanese are the only one to do it right. Players like this one must not have played a lot of games in their live, because turning the 2D Street Fighter Series to a 3D version. The " Street Fighter for Dummies. Unbalanced characters, awful character models, sluggish game play, horrible voice acting and sound". Horrible voice acting, what were you expecting from American voice actors. The Japanese are the only one to do it right. Players like this one must not have played a lot of games in their live, because turning the 2D Street Fighter Series to a 3D version. The conversion was welcomed by a lot of fans, but apparently some of their fans seems to be staying with the 2D concept. I've played all of the previous Street Fighter and I can tell that SF IV must be among the the 3 best Street Fighter. And for those who think that there isn't much things new, what were you expecting? What do you want more? Street Fighter IV got to be the best fighter released since Super Smash Bros Brawl. This new title sure showed some solid gameplay, some astonishing look and sound, the musics is great and made for this game, and Japanese musics and voice acting got to be the best. Street Fighter IV sure showed that Street Fighter was the best fighting game series. Expand
  26. JoeD
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    Superb fighting game and a breath of fresh air, as it not another shooter!!! This game is as good as a fighter can get. If you cant play fighters then rent it and try it out, otherwise this is a must buy right now item. If the scores are under a 95 its simply because people dont have the patience to learn, or they are use to the over saturated fps/shooter market. Fighting games are Superb fighting game and a breath of fresh air, as it not another shooter!!! This game is as good as a fighter can get. If you cant play fighters then rent it and try it out, otherwise this is a must buy right now item. If the scores are under a 95 its simply because people dont have the patience to learn, or they are use to the over saturated fps/shooter market. Fighting games are precise and involve more skill than walking around with a gun. every element of this game is awesome and rewarding. I only have a problem with the no backup feature for saved data. Wonderful game!! Expand
  27. JamesL.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Street Fighter returns with avengance with a HD makeover. All original SFII characters return with some new fighters, old moves and new. The controls are really responsive and it has a fair learning curve for newcomers and SFII fans alike. Anyone who is looking for a one on one fighting game should purchase this as it is the best fighter to date.
  28. OmarB
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    this game is absoloutly brilliant and holds a high contrast to more realistic games such as tekken 6, this gives the user a sense of super power through its unrealism and takes them to the "street fighter world" . On a negative aspect however the main theme song could have been more hardcore to attract a older target audiencerather then soft touch.
  29. Vic
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Easily the best fighting game I've ever played, and I've played..nearly all of them. It easily lives up to the hype, and far surpasses it. Brilliant!
  30. HanseShadow
    Feb 19, 2009
    10
    Beyond anything I expected... This game is truly an evolution in side-fighters.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 61
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 61
  3. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    By striking a balance between fresh and familiar, and by delivering the best aspects of Street Fighters past, Street Fighter IV is easily one of this console generation's best fighting games. [Feb 2009, p.66]
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    95
    SFIV had to be a Street Fighter that can be played by anyone who’s ever picked up Street Fighter II, and a Street Fighter that gives everyone all the help they’ll need if they’re starting completely from scratch. It’s effortlessly both of those things. While every other fighting game has become an elitist club for the best of the best, Capcom have given Street Fighter back to the people, where it belongs.
  3. 100
    At the end of the day, that's really what this Street Fighter is: it's a title that's built for newcomers, yet tweaked for old school vets from the arcade and console days. [Mar 2009, p.75]