Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    83
    It may not be as famous as the Worms franchise, but Team 17's HD edition of the classic game from the 1990s is as great and addictive as it always has been.
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    80
    While we yearned for some of the 1993 game's imperfections in a purely nostalgic sense, Superfrog HD is a great platformer in its own right that works as both an effective homage and a means of breathing new life into an underrated classic.
  3. Jul 21, 2013
    80
    Superfrog HD means the return of an old hero and this is a comeback to remember. The game consists of old and new levels and is rendered in full-on HD. The story is a lot of fun and the same can be said of the atmosphere and the presence of a cross-buy feature. We loved that you are able to create your own levels, though it is a bit of a shame that you can't upload them to the PlayStation Network.
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    80
    It is easy to see why Sonic and Mario went on to dominate the video game world, but Superfrog was a cracking title in its own right and thanks to this HD re-imagining, a whole new generation of people will be able to enjoy this under-appreciated gem.
  5. Twenty years after the Amiga classic our fourth favourite super frog (just behind Frog from Chrono Trigger and the Battletoads) returns with fancy new visuals. And, guess what? Besides some control issues, the game is not that bad. [September p.91]
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    A collision system with some issues adds frustration to an, otherwise, very enjoyable experience.
  7. Sep 1, 2013
    69
    The content is vast and lovely to look at but the generations since have provided loftier platforming heights. [Oct 2013, p.73]
  8. Aug 22, 2013
    68
    All in all Superfrog HD is not a bad game. It has a lot of content for its price, and tries to bring on the charm with its characters. Most of it works fairly well. The jumping and the camera may become a bother, but the game is not so overly difficult that players won’t mind a bad jump here and there.
  9. Aug 7, 2013
    63
    Some classics are better left untouched. Although it is nice to be reminded of the Amiga era, the audiovisual translation into the present is rather disappointing and stays miles behind games like Rayman Origins.
  10. Oct 21, 2013
    60
    Superfrog HD tries really hard to be a warm and entertaining re-imagining of the Amiga classic, but there are a few bumps along the road. From a gameplay perspective, jumping is quite floaty and requires a lot of patience to wrap your head around.
  11. Aug 1, 2013
    60
    A decent enough result after 20 years in the wilderness.
  12. Aug 20, 2013
    41
    A platformer that will leave anyone who doesn't remember the original cold. [Issue#234, p.80]
  13. 30
    Nostalgia hounds will find plenty to excite them but viewed under the cold light of modern day Superfrog is not, and never really was, a very good platformer.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    3
    Around the age of 19, in my university years (and probably inebriated), I sent an e-mail to Team 17, the makers of Superfrog. It was something to the effect of "Wouldn't it be great to bring back Superfrog to the modern generation of gaming?". Superfrog was a hit platformer of the early 90s that (in the UK at least) could have ranked as highly as Mario and Sonic. It also was one of my fondest memories of my formative years.

    I write that because I wish to, in advance, apologise for sending that email. Some things are best left in the past.

    Gone are the charming introduction animatics, replaced by an awkward slideshow that looks like it was made as a school project in flash. And gone is a major point of Superfrog, the humourous product placement of Lucozade (a British drink similar to Gatorade in the US) and the failures of said frog to match up to the stereotype (He is unable to fly, but instead uses his cape to glide slightly like a parachute). We even see the camera turn to the "director", another frog presumably so uninterested in this project that he couldn't be bothered to switch a fan on to make Superfrog's cape appear to flow in the wind.

    Lucozade is now replaced with an orange "potion", missing the point entirely. I understand copyright, but could they not have at least rebranded the drink Superzade or something in the game? Also while on the subject of the graphics; everything has a very flat feel, almost like the icons were made out of clip art. Also the character animation is awful. There was a certain charm in the original, cute looking and slightly chubby character graphics which didn't quite match the more detailed design in the introduction cut scenes. Yes, now in game he looks much more consistent. But it is all very clunky, and looks and feels like a web game.

    All of the charm that and distinct Britishness that was part of the game is gone; and replaced with a bland platformer presumably made for the lowest common denominator of Android and iPhone. Wasn't the whole point that, despite not being able to fly, relying on Lucozade like a sugar junkie and not even having the support of his "crew", Superfrog was actually a very well rounded, good looking and fun game to play?
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Fantastic platformer. It's great that you can play orignal and a new levels. I had a lot of fun 20 years ago when I played this game on Amiga and have a lot fun now on PS3. Team 17 rocks! Full Review »