Tales of Symphonia Chronicles Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tales of Symphonia Chronicles lets players experience Tales of Symphonia along with its 2008 companion title, Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World, with high definition graphics and additional content.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Aug 18, 2014
    93
    Symphonia alone is worth the price of admission.
  2. 85
    The games translate very well to modern times and are worth every penny spent to add them to your library, with at least 40 hours of gameplay in the first one alone. Oh, did I mention that they also have trophy support?
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    Chronicles as a whole is incredibly enjoyable and certainly a worthy HD port of a beloved JRPG.
  4. Feb 27, 2014
    80
    These days, when Japan RPG titles are struggling to survive against the Western RPG front, the old school feeling is more than welcome. This is what Namco Bandai has done: Looking back to a not-too-distant good old times and bringing us back one of the best Tales ever made. Add to the mix a reasonable price, a sequel and min +70, max +150 hours of quests, Overworld Maps, Cities, Dungeons and some HD anime cutscenes, and you have a good offering if you like the genre or just the Tales series.
  5. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    I would’ve loved to give this compilation a higher score but the sequel really brought the entire experience down. That said, this is great value for your money and the original Tales of Symphonia more than justifies a purchase.
  6. Tales of Symphonia Chronicles includes the PlayStation 2 port of Tales of Symphonia and Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World. With new costumes and new 3D graphics, the story seems so nostalgic.
  7. games(TM)
    May 2, 2014
    60
    For those who haven't played a Tales game before, we'd suggest there are better options out there. [Issue#147, p.118]

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Somehow a port ot a ten year old game becomes.......the best game in the PS3 library.

    This game was a classic with deep challenging
    Somehow a port ot a ten year old game becomes.......the best game in the PS3 library.

    This game was a classic with deep challenging gameplay, a massive adventure, a top-notch story, a great soundtrack, great characters, and the newest edition has dual audio, 720P resolution, and although the battle framerate technically drops from 60fps to 30fps, this actually leads to a smoother experience as there is less stutter/slowdown.

    If you're an RPG fan, you owe it to yourself to play ToS. It's nothing like the mediocre Xillia or the terrible Graces F, by the way.
    Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    It has to be said. The original Game Tales of Symphonia is still one of the Best JRPGs of all Time.
    This collection has such a large content
    It has to be said. The original Game Tales of Symphonia is still one of the Best JRPGs of all Time.
    This collection has such a large content for this price...
    ToS 2 is not quite so good, but not too bad either, but simply for the first game on this disc...its just unbelievable good.
    Played it now for nearly 10 hours, and the graphics are not that bad for a HD-Edition :)
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2014
    9
    As a long time JRPG fan; I had always heard of how good the Tales games were; yet I had never played any of them. After this remaster cameAs a long time JRPG fan; I had always heard of how good the Tales games were; yet I had never played any of them. After this remaster came out, I decided to correct that situation by starting with Symphonia, one of the most beloved titles in the whole saga. The game did´nt disappoint at all: its a perfect example of what, to me, is the fundamental equation behind any good RPG: an epic story, well-paced and filled with adventure, plus a memorable cast of likable, diverse characters that moves such story forward. Worth mentioning is the tight, highly dynamic and entertaining combat system (battles go quite faster that in your usual "turn-based" RPG), which apparently is a constant for the Tales games. I absolutely recommend this game, to both new and old JPRG fans! Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    Sometimes a game looses a well deserved score just for a hater, and no, is not someone with a different opinion, someone may say he hatedSometimes a game looses a well deserved score just for a hater, and no, is not someone with a different opinion, someone may say he hated zelda a link to the past, and thats good, but the game's still a masterpiece no matter what.
    Same happens here, if you LOVE rpgs you simply have to play tales of symphonia, end of story. Great visuals, music, amazing story and the gameplay is not bad at all. This game is actually one of the best rpgs since a while, along with xenoblade, last story, and a very few others. I can say is better than all final fantasies in cd format tied with 9 maybe.

    So if you didnt played it on the Cube be nice to your videogaming needs and get this, looks even better with the overhaul on the ps3! And has the sequel which is nothing big but is not bad either.
    Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2016
    9
    Tales of Symphonia Chronicles is my first "Tales of" game , I guess it was a good star considering the fans think of Symphonia 1 as the bestTales of Symphonia Chronicles is my first "Tales of" game , I guess it was a good star considering the fans think of Symphonia 1 as the best game in the series. And i cannot already say that it's the best in the serie, it's for sure a great game.

    First it's important to say that those games are part of the "remastered" family so do not expect gorgeous graphics, even if the framerate is steady and the art direction is pretty cute it still is a very old game (Symphonia 2 looks a bit better but once again it's obvious that the game is from an older generation). I didn't notice any bugs during my gameplay which is the minimum for a remastered game.

    From now on i'm going to talk more about each of the two games on their own. So gameplay wise the first game offers a nice open world in the old-school style: your character walks on the world map as a giant with more or less random encounters (you see there is a monster but don't know how many and wich type). The fighting is pretty cool with the management of your TP (= mana) in real time fighting. The cooking and synthesising aren't very useful but it's still makes some nice features. There is some side quests on the game but they're kind of hidden and on your own it's probable you'll miss some.
    Concerning Dawn of A New World (aka Symphonia 2) the fighting system is the more or less the same (maybe a bit more difficult than the first one), unfortunately there is no more open world and the game becomes more of a dungeon-RPG which is probably the main downside of the game , the synthesising and cooking systems are more developed and the game adds a monster training (like pokemon) feature that may disturb you a little at first but once you get used to it, it's pretty cool.

    Concerning the story the first game is really awesome, it will last about 50 hours to finish it, it has great characters, multiple plots, some nice twist you really are always looking for the next the chapter of the story, and the world of Symphonia is pretty well thought and it was a pleasure to discover it.
    For the second game even if the story is also pretty good but the lack of innovations both when adding characters but mainly locations (most of the dungeons were already there in the first game) takes away the discovery. It'll last about 30 hours to finish the second game.

    So in conclusion if I'd have to give a mark for each game the first one would be a 9 and the second a 7 but for the collection I'll stick to 9 because the first game is worth the price on its own and it makes the second game look like a nice extension included in the game which is always good to take.
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    Tales of Symphonia is one of my favorite RPG's of all time but this version isn't what I would consider the definitive version it's decent butTales of Symphonia is one of my favorite RPG's of all time but this version isn't what I would consider the definitive version it's decent but not great. The addition of the Japanese Voice track and the revamped graphics are worth the purchase. However there are some things you should know: This is a direct port of the Japanese PS2 Edition and some of it's problems (like decreased framerate) are still intact. This version runs at 30fps instead of the original 60fps this is both a good and bad thing. The good thing is that the game runs without slowdown but the bad thing is that the game looks and feels less fluid than the Gamecube Version it is a bit disappointing especially considering the PS3's hardware. The next issue is the World Map if any of you replayed the Gamecube Version just recently you will notice the movement speed on the World Map is significantly slower than the original this sure to try your patience as it now takes longer to reach towns or dungeons. The new attacks and mystic artes are nice but they don't add up to much in the end. If any of you imported the PS2 Version back in the day one noticeable improvement you may notice is the loading times. The loading times are a lot faster compared to that version they still aren't as quick as they are on the Gamecube but it's a close enough match. the overall port is good for newcomers but if you already have the Gamecube Version then you will probably want to stick with the original game. Collapse
  7. Sep 18, 2014
    4
    Don't believe any of the hype or fake reviews, ToS is one of the worst in the series by far - Its plagued with terrible A.I scripts, poor andDon't believe any of the hype or fake reviews, ToS is one of the worst in the series by far - Its plagued with terrible A.I scripts, poor and bland plot points and awful combat that is very unbalanced and tedious. For "new players", they'll either give up really early in the game due to the poorly balanced combat, or the fact you'll get a "game over" a dozen times over until you get a certain "healer" join your party and even then, the gameplay is still extremely difficult until you can master the combat system to a point you can infinity stunlock enemies, without that - expect alot of frustration.

    If you can stomach the high difficulty and frustration factor and look beyond ToS major flaws then you could find somewhat of a solid JRPG but beware, this one isn't for the faint-hearted or newbie JRPG player. Expect lots of grinding to over-level boss encounters if you haven't mastered the infinite combos.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews