Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
Buy On
  1. Oct 8, 2012
    70
    For experienced players, though, this is as fluid as Tekken has been for years, the tagging doing much to revitalise a combo system that, with its over-reliance on juggles and wall combos, was in danger of growing stale. But it's taken a 12-year-old mechanic to do that, and other games in this increasingly crowded genre boast a deeper level of mechanical complexity as well as a more generous welcome to newcomers.
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is not a bad fighting game, but I would rather play almost any other fighting game that came out this year before it. I didn't find the fun that I was looking for, and considering that this is a $60 retail title, I find it hard to recommend over games like Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown, Persona 4: Arena, or even the older Tekken 6.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Sep 20, 2012
    70
    The fighting doesn't feel significantly changed or enhanced. [Nov 2012, p.78]
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    70
    It doesn't even try to reinvent the fighting game genre or itself, but this is still the most enjoyable – and accessible - Tekken has been in years.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible characterThis is everything that Tekken has been and has become. This is possibly the best fighting game all around. With an incredible character roster and highly improved online gameplay, you'll definitely enjoy it! Full Review »
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I have been a fan of Tekken since Tekken 1 in the arcade. I have seen the games change over time, tekken 2 was considered extreme when it cameI have been a fan of Tekken since Tekken 1 in the arcade. I have seen the games change over time, tekken 2 was considered extreme when it came out, so much new stuff, I remember hating it. I remember playing Tekken3 until I couldn't even see anymore, and my hands hurt for weeks. I am an absolute fan of Tekken, and the series. That being said, there also have been quite a few problems with some of the games in the series. It seems to indeed have a namco number curse, 4 was garbage, 6 was garbage, and 2 was questionable to some peopel ( I loved it ). Namco and Harada seem to always want to toy with tekken, and then bring it back to its roots in the next game.

    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING like tekken 6. Let me be clear, I am a fan of everything tekken and I did not really enjoy 6. It had some serious graphic problems in my opinion, something was wrong with the timing as well. It seemed to run really slow and lack the IMPACT of hitting someone that Tekken is known for. Tag2 definitely returns all of this to the series. Punching someone sounds like thunder again, and the sound all around I found to be extremely well done. It was one of the only times I've actually taken note of the soundtrack it was so good. Before going on too long, Tekken Tag 2 is absolutely amazing in my veteran opinion. I have played them all relentlessly, and I can honestly say that this probably is the pinnacle for tekken so far. The only tekkens in this league in my opinion are tekken 5, and tekken 3. Do not listen to the people who are writing negative reviews about this game. It features a complex system indeed that is very unforgiving to most people. If you are a series veteran, or are looking for a complex fighting game, Tekken will deliver, and the better you get at it.. (like any true fighting game).. the more fun it keeps becoming. Love it!
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    The music is amazing. Customization is fun. More characters awesome but I still get bored playing after a while. The game does nothing new toThe music is amazing. Customization is fun. More characters awesome but I still get bored playing after a while. The game does nothing new to the series...it's honestly getting old and I want something different. Tekken needs new inspiration for sure. I'm moving on to something else. Full Review »