Terraria Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for
    Terraria? What's that?

    Terraria is a land of adventure! A land of mystery! A land that's yours to shape, to defend and to enjoy. Your options in Terraria are limitless, are you an action gamer with an itchy trigger finger? A master builder? A collector? An explorer? There's something for everyone here.

    Dig, fight, explore, build! Nothing is impossible in this action-packed adventure game. The world is your canvas and the ground itself is your paint.

    Grab your tools and go! Make weapons to fight off a variety of enemies in numerous biomes. Dig deep underground to find accessories, money, and other useful things. Gather resources to create everything you need to make the world your own. Build a house, a fort, or even a castle. People will move in to live there and perhaps even sell you different wares to assist you on your journey.

    But beware, there are even more challenges awaiting you... Are you up to the task?

    Key features:

    - Sandbox Play
    - Randomly generated worlds
    - Free Content Updates
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    The console versions make subtle but welcome improvements over its PC predecessor in some areas, even though inventory management is definitely more fluid with a mouse and keyboard. Still, this experience is no less entrancing once you dig into it.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 4, 2013
    88
    All this digging can be frustrating until you have mastered the right technique. Once you do, you will be hooked for a long time. Exploring a surprisingly large system of caverns underneath the surface of this colourful world, searching for that precious gold nugget. [June 2013, p.94]
  3. Play UK
    Jun 24, 2013
    85
    Wonderful stuff. [Issue#232, p.84]
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    80
    Terraria is a simple game that is hard to master, and one that can easily consume your time. The only stories here are the ones you create, either by yourself or with others, and there’s a chance to construct some real masterpieces.
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    80
    Aside from that and the lagging-loading moments between day and night, there really isn't anything I could find "wrong" with this game… but then again, it's more of a sim than a "game" in the first place.
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Terraria is just as magical and content-rich on consoles as it is on the PC, although the controls aren't ideal for every situation.
  7. Apr 8, 2013
    67
    The whole 16-bit SNES thing may be a little overdone these days, but Terraria captures the vibe of that era so perfectly that it's almost impossible to not love its aesthetic. A pleasing aesthetic, however, does not a great game make. You need to have compelling gameplay as well, and — while I can certainly see where some people may disagree with me on this — Terraria just doesn't have that.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    Can't rate it anything below a straight A. It feels great, it's great fun to play with friends and there's a vast amount of content. It'sCan't rate it anything below a straight A. It feels great, it's great fun to play with friends and there's a vast amount of content. It's currently the most played game in my PS3's game collection, and the smooth local multiplayer make this an incredibly good game. In terms of value to quality it really shines as well. It's only $15 and it's definitely an amazing value. If you have a friend and a spare controller, get both of them to your house and play the hell out of this game. It's absolutely worth it. Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2016
    10
    I just don't find any important features missing , i don't find any negatives , the game might have bugs but they will be removed . TerrariaI just don't find any important features missing , i don't find any negatives , the game might have bugs but they will be removed . Terraria is a game you should stick and explore instead of quitting it because you haven't learned how to play yet , press the respawn button and get back there !! Call a few friends , sit on the couch and explore the game together , use your imagination and build stuff . Fight bosses , monsters , your friends with more than 300 different weapons !

    The game has a nice soundtrack , my favourite 16-bit retro snes-like graphics , a lot of replay value , tons of content , very fun multiplayer + the game often goes 50% or more off price on the PS store !
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Even on PC this game is fantastic and the control are a little bit more confusing on console this game is still freaking fantastic. TerrariaEven on PC this game is fantastic and the control are a little bit more confusing on console this game is still freaking fantastic. Terraria is the best game I've every played so far with it's minecraft like theme. This game is a must buy, hopefully they do not update the game with useless updates that ruin the game like many other games out there. Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    10
    I bought this game at 7pm.
    10 minutes later, it was already 1:30 am.
    And what is interesting about it is that I don't even like Minecraft.
    I bought this game at 7pm.
    10 minutes later, it was already 1:30 am.
    And what is interesting about it is that I don't even like Minecraft.
    If you have problems placing blocks, just press R3 and you'll have a better tuned cursor.
    The learning curve is great, specially with all guides available.
    Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This game is amazingly deep, considering there is no story. The controls are tough to learn but after an hour you'll be an expert. TheThis game is amazingly deep, considering there is no story. The controls are tough to learn but after an hour you'll be an expert. The tutorial is fantastic and for newbies it is critical. I will admit that I'm not a fan of 8-bit graphics and I've never played minecraft so I can't make comparisons but I do enjoy this game. I won't tell you its a must buy title and honestly it shouldn't cost $15 but I do recommend the demo. its not a game everyone will like and it is over priced on PSN. Expand
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    I love this game. Spent dozens of hours on it already. I had not heard of it until coming by it on the psn store. Its very much like an epicI love this game. Spent dozens of hours on it already. I had not heard of it until coming by it on the psn store. Its very much like an epic NES game. The worlds are HUGE and there are tons of stuff to find and experiment with. Sort of has a Rygar/Kid Chameleon meets Minecraft vibe to it. Be warned though, if you plan on playing this with a buddy online, it has some major connection issues which have yet to be addressed. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2013
    2
    This is the worst case of a rushed game I've ever played. It seems like the final release version wasn't even tested. There are way too manyThis is the worst case of a rushed game I've ever played. It seems like the final release version wasn't even tested. There are way too many bugs that prevent an actual enjoyable experience. I've lost items countless times after crashes, and at this point, I don't want to play any more. The game crashes frequently and ruthlessly. The save function is useless, it only saves during set intervals so if you decide to leave without saving, you'll lose some progress.

    This game is broken and all I desire at this point is a refund. Patches won't fix this godawful experience. 505 Games left me very disappointed with this release.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews