Test Drive Unlimited 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 45
  2. Negative: 12 out of 45
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 27, 2011
    4
    The pros: - Lots to explore and be found. - Amazing changes in weather
    - Easy to pick up and start playing
    The bad: - Quite possibly the worst plot and voice acting not just in a racing game but in a video game ever - Really wonky handling that isn't sim or arcade but ends up being frustrating - Buggy online servers that have crashed across all platforms several times since the game was
    The pros: - Lots to explore and be found. - Amazing changes in weather
    - Easy to pick up and start playing

    The bad:
    - Quite possibly the worst plot and voice acting not just in a racing game but in a video game ever
    - Really wonky handling that isn't sim or arcade but ends up being frustrating
    - Buggy online servers that have crashed across all platforms several times since the game was released.

    I had high hopes for this game when it was released, but ultimately the steering gets way too touchy in the better cars and you'll spin out in a moment's notice. Not to mention a horribly story and seam bustingly bad lines ("I'm feeling in top form!" being one of my favorites, when you're in a SINGLE PLAYER race!).

    This game needed between 3-6 more months in development. As is, it can't hold a candle to the 6 best racing games on the PS3 (in no particular order: Blur, Split/Second, NFS:HP, Modnation Racers and NFS: Shift & GT5)
    Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2011
    1
    I am amending my review which was at first a 7. I'm changing it to a 1 because they at least took they time to print, package and put it on the shelves, that took a little effort I guess, so they get a 1 for trying. This is a videogame only in the most basic sense. It is now day 3 after release and still no online, in a game that is primarily an online game. Inexcusable. When we askedI am amending my review which was at first a 7. I'm changing it to a 1 because they at least took they time to print, package and put it on the shelves, that took a little effort I guess, so they get a 1 for trying. This is a videogame only in the most basic sense. It is now day 3 after release and still no online, in a game that is primarily an online game. Inexcusable. When we asked about the connectivity issues on the official site one too many times they closed the thread so they didn't have to listen to us any more. Sorry to inconvenience you guys, we're only trying to play the game we paid our hard-earned cash for. I guess the reduced $49.99 price point should have gave us some sort of hint as to what kind of quality to expect. Buyer beware! Not only is it a Massively Multi-player-less Offline Racing Game, but little else works properly either. Terrible graphics, I think the first actually looked better. Handling is still terrible, supposedly this was an issue from the first game they allegedly fixed. Only two radio stations, both with horrible music and no option to use your own soundtrack. Items you own sometimes appear in-game and sometimes they don't ( cars, clothing, etc.). These issues should have been ironed out pre-release. The game is simply broken. There are so many problems with this game, and I didn't even bother listing all of them, just those I thought were major. They should have invested a little in play-testing before release, instead of letting us pay $50 to find all the problems for them. So not only did they skip a very important step, they made us do it, and then charged us for it. They may fix this game, but the damage has been done. I won't be buying anything from this developer ever again, and I'm sure many other people will agree. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2011
    2
    A game that stopped in the time, lacks everything, graphical, game play, history, is a shame that a game with a history , fail in everything, other reviews say this game is beautiful lol , in Ps2 ; xbox, yes , in xbox 360 no , not buy this game , there are more game cars and all are better than this garbage. 1.0
  4. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    What a waste of money!

    I have both a ps3 and an xbox 360, i had TDU1 on the 360 but i orderd TDU2 on the PS3 and i sold it 2 weeks before the release date thats how bad it is. I thought that TDU1 was really good so i was looking forward to this, if your thinking of getting this READ MY REVIEW! The graphics are baddddddddd worse then playing a few ps2 or even ps1 games NO JOKE
    What a waste of money!

    I have both a ps3 and an xbox 360, i had TDU1 on the 360 but i orderd TDU2 on the PS3 and i sold it 2 weeks before the release date thats how bad it is. I thought that TDU1 was really good so i was looking forward to this, if your thinking of getting this READ MY REVIEW!

    The graphics are baddddddddd worse then playing a few ps2 or even ps1 games NO JOKE

    the handling of the cars just WTF>? the story is a joke, a bum gets offered to drive a £250k supercar to see if he is any good at driving and from there its like a really REALLY bad GTA. I am sorry to even mention grand theft auto on this game review, but i think this is the same company who are making the new driver so i might stay far away from it.

    a 4-5 year wait for a game that is 4-5 years BEHIND the first game. nearley as bad as the 5 year wait for alan wake's 6 hour story.
    Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2011
    2
    First of all, i am a huge fan of TDU 1, never mind that it's 4 years old. It had a lot of great cars, it was simple, the missions were fun, the best the ones with models. Now the new game, where to begin. I don't like the menus, and the new level system, the story is stupid and unnecesary. There are just a few classic cars left, that's a big shame, they were a special experience i missFirst of all, i am a huge fan of TDU 1, never mind that it's 4 years old. It had a lot of great cars, it was simple, the missions were fun, the best the ones with models. Now the new game, where to begin. I don't like the menus, and the new level system, the story is stupid and unnecesary. There are just a few classic cars left, that's a big shame, they were a special experience i miss them alot in this game. And the stupid car washes. bottom line is, they had a great thing here and they crapped on it. there are again no porsche's and no BMW's whay is that? Why did they make TDU 2 a game for retards? Expand
  6. May 4, 2011
    1
    test drive unlimited 2 is one of the worst open world driving games ever made very poor graphics boring gameplay driving is just horrible twitchy as hell avatars that you choose are lifeless douches horrible cut scences and voice acting boring races cars cant drive over bushes seriously it also has game breaking bugs i got stuck in a endless void i cant believe i wasted my money on this crap
  7. Jan 13, 2013
    4
    This is really embarrassing for me. After reviewing some good solid games today, I decided to come to this one. This game took a turn for the worse, and I thought it would be good. The mechanics of the driving in this game are screwed up, it gets somewhat irritating whenever you turn your vehicle and it makes it like the car doesn't make marks or anything, it just turns. Although theThis is really embarrassing for me. After reviewing some good solid games today, I decided to come to this one. This game took a turn for the worse, and I thought it would be good. The mechanics of the driving in this game are screwed up, it gets somewhat irritating whenever you turn your vehicle and it makes it like the car doesn't make marks or anything, it just turns. Although the feature of the windows coming down, and you being able to fire up cars in a shop is cool, the game itself lacked terribly. The driver coarse challenges also got irritating when I tried to do it nearly twenty times, and failed at it dramatically on every one. I gave up on this game and decided it wasn't for me. I just can't continue to play a game that just isn't realistic. If you want a real driving game, go to my Driver: San Francisco review, that game is much better and is continuing to do good. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. May 24, 2011
    67
    We were really looking foreward to TDU 2. The controls of the cars and the AI are really poor. Online multiplayer is more offline than online.
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    70
    While not quite a lemon, Test Drive Unlimited 2 proves to share a similar fate to its predecessor in that it possesses a host of flaws under its shiny coat of paint that make for one frustrating ride.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 24, 2011
    70
    The longer you play it, too, the more enjoyment you'll get out of it, but only because you start to accept TDU2's many shortcomings and instead enjoy its endless possibilities. [Apr 2011, p.116]