The Adventures of Tintin: The Game PlayStation 3

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    74
    Far from perfect, and its simple gameplay and (mostly) shallow puzzles aren't going to entertain one for long. Still, it's an extremely solid movie tie-in and a mostly seamless platforming experience, with polish where it counts.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    72
    Tintin is a good game, although in a very complicated time of the year. With dozens of other titles in the shelves, a movie-based game may be secondary for most gamers, and that is a shame, because this is a very interesting game, although far from perfect.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 12, 2012
    70
    Oddly immersive. [Feb 2012, p.84]
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    70
    A game based on a movie, that remotely follows the film's plot, but still manages to some crucial mistakes in terms of story. The gameplay is fun, but way too simple. The adventure lasts long, but it's way too easy. And the graphics? Well, they're just mediocre.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 3, 2011
    70
    Oddly immersive. [Christmas 2011, p.104]
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    70
    A charming adventure with a genuine feeling of love for the source material. It's certianly a very well made game compared to most other movie tie-ins. The only real negatives is the terribly short campaign and nearly no difficulty at all.
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    70
    The Adventures of Tintin is an excellent game for the casual gamers out there. The graphics don't look amazing and the gameplay could have been a bit more difficult, but the varied missions and good comedic timing make up for that.
  8. Nov 1, 2011
    70
    Ubisoft Montpellier clearly knows its target audience well, and has crafted an uncomplicated, varied adventure that does not outstay its welcome, supplemented by generous alternative modes that meet or exceed the level of quality found in the main story.
  9. Dec 31, 2011
    67
    A competent action platformer with an appealing persona and style. The music is fantastic, the voices are pleasant, and the diverse gameplay does manage to remain somewhat interesting throughout. Sadly, the pacing is off, too many of the segments don't hit home, and the designers come up a little shy when shooting for the stars.
  10. Dec 9, 2011
    65
    Tintin only has itself to blame for its shortcomings: for every exciting moment there's a turgid interlude which drags the overall experience down.
  11. Oct 26, 2011
    65
    The Adventures of Tintin is a good tie-in of Spielberg's performance capture 3D film. It has an action/platform-based gameplay and is very simple. Only for young players.
  12. Oct 25, 2011
    65
    TinTin may be basic and one of the easiest games I've played in some years, but it's certainly a cracker of a game for children and gives them something to get their teeth into with its cute visuals.
  13. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    62
    After you finish the game – which you can do in about four hours – you can replay the special sections with Bobby, Haddock and all kinds of vehicles in the Challenge mode. But there is more fun to be had in the Haddock mode, which drops you in a dreamlike world. [December 2011, p.98]
  14. Games Master UK
    Dec 17, 2011
    62
    A solid, retro core game which probably doesn't justify its price tag. [Jan 2012, p.94]
  15. Nov 7, 2011
    60
    You should take a look at The Adventures of Tintin. For a game that's just a marketing ploy tied with the movie it's suprisingly enjoyable, though mostly for younger gamers. Or perhaps less experienced - for hardcore gamers Ubisoft's game presents no challenge at all.
  16. Play UK
    Dec 1, 2011
    58
    Not bad enough to be sent for instant, ruthless execution - but certainly not good enough to really bother with. [Issue#212, p.97]
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    50
    It turns out to be an average game, mostly because of lack of ambition.
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    50
    The film managed to capture the spirit of the beloved comics and this game tries to do the same with some decent results. The problem here is the constant repetition, the lack of content and the fact that the main campaign lasts for -roughly- 4 hours.
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    50
    A dull and repetitive platformer that does no justice to the exciting exploits of its titular character.
  20. 50
    The Adventures of Tintin has its ups and downs, and reminds us at times of Another World and Prince of Persia, but in the end it doesn't have enough on offer to really recommend.
  21. Oct 20, 2011
    50
    A disappointment but perhaps my expectations should have been lower in the first place. It's short and lacking in gameplay depth, but has moments where you'll be fooled into thinking it's all right. Visually it at least has style if not technical excellence, but underneath is a fairly typical licensed title.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    I confess I was quite surprised with "Tintin: The Game". Like "Captain America - Super Soldier", this is a good game. Very good, actually. ItI confess I was quite surprised with "Tintin: The Game". Like "Captain America - Super Soldier", this is a good game. Very good, actually. It has its flaws, here and there, the graphics are not that great (although BEAUTIFUL sometimes), the it's fun and it's clear to me that Ubisoft wanted to make a decent games. There are SO MANY GREAT IDEAS here, really, I'm not kidding. Also, there's a lot to do and unlock. There's the main quest (around 5 hours or so), the co-op quest (another 5 hours or so), challenges and gallery. Think of this game as an "Uncharted for kids", or something. But don't get me wrong: this is not a kids game. It's aimed to a younger audience, sure, but any adult (specially Tintin fans) will love this game. I enjoyed every second of it and intend to go back for more, after I finish the recent blockbusters. But don't let the critics fool you: if you, just like me, had a hunch this would be a good game, trust your instincts. I'm sure you'll not be disapointed. Full Review »
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    1
    waste of time... a sidescroller?! why?? i really dont like this... i played it for about 10 minutes and left it... came back, played and leftwaste of time... a sidescroller?! why?? i really dont like this... i played it for about 10 minutes and left it... came back, played and left it... movie games ARE bulls**t Full Review »
  3. Jan 15, 2012
    7
    Surprisingly good game! And a surprising amount of content, too. The main campaign follows the movie and is already of decent length, but theySurprisingly good game! And a surprising amount of content, too. The main campaign follows the movie and is already of decent length, but they also added another campaign in some sort of dreamworld, thus not having to care about realism too much. (Captain Haddock gets hit on the head and they are trying to wake him up.) If anything, the latter could even be considered a little too long or rather lengthy, but you don't have to play it in one run, of course. It's made up of several â Full Review »