Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Skyrim is a gorgeous production that truly does justice to the words "roleplaying game." It doesn't just tell us a story, it gives us the chance to tell a story of our own. At its best, that's what an interactive art form should be all about. [Jan 2011, p.73]
  2. 100
    The gamer in everyone will launch Skyrim in their PS3 and sit in awe at the masterpiece Bethesda Game Studios has created.
  3. This is a game full of emotions for gamers who are willing to embrace it. A beautiful fantasy land that makes loading times a thing of the past and is full of surprises. Not only do you get a lot of variety in the locations, the gameplay offers a lot of different experiences as well. [December 2011, p.66]
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    97
    Yes, you can find some bugs and glitches here and there, but that's to be expected. What you should remember is that this game will slaughter your personal life and won't let you go until you've explored every bit of its huge open world. Now go and buy Skyrim, you won't regret it.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    97
    The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim does not only equal its legendary predecessor Oblivion; it surpasses it. The immense and atmospheric world and insane amount of content will have gamers captivated for months, while the more dynamic level structure and improved fighting possibilities won't allow for a single boring moment. Plus, Skyrim has dragons. Epic!
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    96
    Skyrim is one of the most captivating role-playing games this generation. Each setting looks amazingly special and the artistic side of the game is just brilliant. This game is deeper and bigger than anything we have seen this year.
  7. Dec 1, 2011
    95
    It's the king of console role-players. [Christmas 2011, p.86]
  8. Nov 17, 2011
    95
    Of course, Skyrim isn't perfect, but if you can overlook its few shortcomings, Skyrim is enormously rewarding. Great storytelling meets a fine plot, and your hero is key to all of that. Compelling narration, strong graphics, astonishing sound – you'll have to see it to believe it.
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    95
    It's a mesmerizing game that draws you into an finely crafted fictional space packed with content that consistently surprises.
  10. 95
    Skyrim is not perfect, but the flaws don't keep it from being an excellent game. If you measure enjoyment on sure obsession and addiction, Skyrim is easily one of the greatest games of the generation, perhaps of all time. Open-world RPG fans have every reason to be excited; Bethesda truly delivered an extraordinary game.
  11. Nov 21, 2011
    93
    The folks at Bethesda have built themselves quite a world, and while not perfect it is a joy to inhabit for a couple of hundred hours.
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    93
    Building upon everything that made Oblivion such a joy, Skyrim has easily secured the crown as the biggest game this gen and also as one of the best. Even if you don't ordinarily like ye olde fantasy RPGs, this is brilliant.
  13. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    I enjoyed Skyrim and I look forward to the DLC that we know is inevitably coming. If we looked at this honestly, though, this game probably should have been pushed back a month or so for more polish. It needed it and it still does.
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    90
    In the end, Skyrim will be hailed as both the best and worst title of the year depending on whom you ask. RPG gamers who look for subtle storytelling and endless replay value are going to love every minute. But gamers that have even a slight problem with impatience will quickly become frustrated. However, even the most devoted naysayer has to admit that Skyrim is at the top of its genre, and that's no small feat.
  15. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    There is a huge, jaw dropping world to discover at whatever pace you desire. Along the way you're free to author your own story, defining your unique character and experience through whatever style of play you prefer. When you're lost in its rich landscape and enthralled within its fiction, Skyrim thrives, and is truly unparalleled; it's when you take a closer look, you can't help but discover the seams holding this tapestry together.
  16. I love this game, I really do, but I can't give it the score I want in its current state. That would be unfair to anyone forking out £40 for a something that might work. It might not. The most amazing game of the year is in there somewhere. I really hope Bethesda can get it out.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    For those of you who are addicted to trophy hunting, the difficulty level of the game doesn't affect the trophies, so you can play it dead easy, and still get all of them. There's a vast world to explore making it rather addictive. Quests / battles very doable, not too hard, not retardedly easy either... However... this game has some serious flaws, which get REALLY ANNOYING after some time.... Such as... Main quest is really really short. Sometimes in battles a dragon pops up (if you're lucky your enemies die by the dragon's attack, if unlucky both the dragon and the other enemies aggro on you). If you hit a member of your team during a number of quests (not all), they turn their aggression on you. This is especially retarded for mages since they just run into your attack while casting and turn aggressive. >_< The stamina of your horses run out even faster than your own, which completely ruins the point of riding on a horse. Not faster. If you're in battle and you surrender, your horse / companion will keep on fighting. (just annoying) After about 20 hours of game time the game starts to lag so badly it's damn near impossible to play the game (happens either straight away or after 30 minutes or so), and there's not much you seem to be able to do about it. (this is the main reason I'm grading it low, a game you can't play due to fps lags isn't really a fun one. Next to the lagging, sometimes the game crashes during a loading screen or freezes while you're running around, the fps lag can actually freeze up your entire console. In some cases I can exit the game using my controller, in some cases I can press the on/off button on my console, and in some cases I have to cut the power off of my ps3 and plugging the cord back in. Most annoying thing really. Also, the update for this game supposedly fixing bugs, makes the game act worse rather than better.... Quest bugs leading to it being impossible to finish quests, while you're hoping you have a recent previous save game from before the dungeon (which in most cases you don't). I'm sure I haven't named all minuses yet, but this is about enough really. It's a fun game, a LOT of gameplay, but the bugs and glitches and mistakes, and lags and freezes, and crashes, and everything else really take the edge off. Full Review »
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    To those who continue to think this page is being flooded by trolls: On the 5th of December, this page was linked on the forums for the hundreds (and possibly thousands) of PS3 users who are fed up with Bethesda's attitude towards releasing games (releasing a buggy game knowing full well it was buggy with the intention of 'fixing it later' instead of delaying the release to fix everything they could). The problems being flooded here are not trolls, but frustrated gamers who cannot enjoy this fantastic game due to a huge lag problem that makes the game unplayable. I personally am about 43 hours in, and the lag only really kicks in cities and during dragon fights. I dread to think what it will be like at 60 hours. But I am also quest locked, unable to complete the main storyline, and thus the reason for my 0. Full Review »
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    0
    Currently, it's just a version of the game full of game-breaking bugs and glitches that will hinder your experience and make you wish for a refund.

    I'll update the score if ever they release a proper version that fully works!
    Full Review »