The Eye of Judgment PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2007
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 8 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    This game had me entranced from the moment I heard about it all of those years ago. I'd have to say that this game reminds me of chess and poker all rolled into one delightful package. I bought all three expansions of this game and nearly all of the cards. The cards by the way are beautiful and a collector's dream. I have recently even began playing this game again in 2011 and 2012,This game had me entranced from the moment I heard about it all of those years ago. I'd have to say that this game reminds me of chess and poker all rolled into one delightful package. I bought all three expansions of this game and nearly all of the cards. The cards by the way are beautiful and a collector's dream. I have recently even began playing this game again in 2011 and 2012, but was so angry and disappointed that the servers were turned off. This game never reached its full potential due to the nature of many gamers today that want instant gratification instead of learning, strategy and forethought. I would have supported this game for ever. Instead it now has been relegated to playing at home with buddies that cannot possibly beat me or the AI with no banter. I really wished that this game was made into more of an epic story with plots, twists, amazing music and beautifully rendered cut scenes. But I still give this game a 10 and would give it a higher rating if I could. I love originality, immersion and intelligence. This game has all. Expand
  2. MattC.
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Is it ahead of its time? Very cool for Magic types to video game junkies who want something very new and very different
  3. Stryydr
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Game is amazing. Sony has it's act together with original and fun games and appears to be willing to try new things. From a collectible card player over the years, I can only hope this will take off and bring other games into the fold.
  4. CameronT
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    An excellent game, boasts a growing community and great customisation. The ability to unlock more decks will keep you trying to improve, and the expansions don't look like they'll stop coming soon. Plenty of room to grow, however needs a better reward system and more multiplayer interactivity outside of full games.
  5. YeahI.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I am not a fan of this genre yet i thought i'd give it a chance with the inclusion of the Playstation Eye I felt it was a good enough deal. Guess what?.. I love this game!! It's addictive & very well made. It's an underated beauty!
  6. Limanima
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    This game is fun. In the first games, this game looks simplistic and mindless, but after playing a few online games, the strategy side of the game arises. And it is strong. Almost a chess game. I don't give it a 9, because the soundtrack is awfull, and the user interface is week. But fortunately those problems don't hurt gameplay.
  7. PaulD.
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    Well thought-out, but leans a little bit towards the stereotypical nerd demographic to be perfect (eg. constant hard-rock soundtrack, booming voice of God giving instructions, slightly cheesy female character voices). It may also prove to be difficult to make much headway online without purchasing (or photocopying) extra cards, but the game is worth the money for the camera alone in my Well thought-out, but leans a little bit towards the stereotypical nerd demographic to be perfect (eg. constant hard-rock soundtrack, booming voice of God giving instructions, slightly cheesy female character voices). It may also prove to be difficult to make much headway online without purchasing (or photocopying) extra cards, but the game is worth the money for the camera alone in my opinion - it's a nice piece of hardware. Expand
  8. DavidF.
    Oct 30, 2007
    9
    Fun? Hell yeah, tons of! Watching your cards come to life and annihilate the oponent is great to behold. The strategy is deep und the card-collecting part is highly addictive. On top of that you get an high-quality camera with built in mics which works perfect for video-chat and any game I played so far. Only the low availability of boosters is a pain in the ass.
  9. CoreyK.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    Awsome game at first i thought it was going to be more of a pokemon type ccg but turns out to be more of a magic type ccg and have to use alot of stratagey to win Awsome concept and game well worth the money.
  10. JustinH.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    Unexpectedly I love this game. I didn't expect to enjoy a trading card game, but the PS3 adds a special icing to the cake. The gimmic of avatars appearing on the cards wears off quite quickly, but the awesome depth of strategy in the core game and variety of tactics makes it a very special game indeed. The graphics and animations are very pretty which really invokes the feeling of Unexpectedly I love this game. I didn't expect to enjoy a trading card game, but the PS3 adds a special icing to the cake. The gimmic of avatars appearing on the cards wears off quite quickly, but the awesome depth of strategy in the core game and variety of tactics makes it a very special game indeed. The graphics and animations are very pretty which really invokes the feeling of being a powerful battle mage summoning creatures to your aid. One warning, this is very much a 2 player and/or online experience....the single player is a waste of time. If you have friends and family, or a decent internet connection this will keep you amused forever, it's a 21st century version of chess. Expand
  11. TheBigmac
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    I bought this game because a certain computer store was closing its doors in my city. They had everything with 20% off so I only paid about 15 bucks, my wife wanted and it included it the PlayStation eye. We were not supposed to open the game until next week since we are replacing our living room tv, and the new unit is being delivered next week. (Right now my living room sports a 14" CRT I bought this game because a certain computer store was closing its doors in my city. They had everything with 20% off so I only paid about 15 bucks, my wife wanted and it included it the PlayStation eye. We were not supposed to open the game until next week since we are replacing our living room tv, and the new unit is being delivered next week. (Right now my living room sports a 14" CRT that I pillaged from the exercise room). Just like I predicted, my wife didn't want to wait until next week to open it and she begged me to do exactly what I didn't want to do: Play a match using our room TV, and placing the cards on top of the bed. I was reluctant but after her beggapalooza I agreed to play just 1 match just so she could try the game since it was a Monday night and I had to work early. We went to sleep at 2 o clock in the morning and today, I'm sitting in my office shopping for booster packs on the internet.That should tell you if this game is any good or not. Only 1 gripe and the reason why I took 1 star off: The resolution SUCKS! I have a 52" 1080p LCD. Ranked amongst the top 4 models currently in the market right now so the problem wasn't the TV. Do a search here on amazon and take a look at the TV reviews(LN-T5271F) you'll conclude the TV was not the issue. All my ps3 and blu ray movies look absolutely pristine over HDMI. Playing the Eye of Judgment and sitting 10 feet away from the TV I COULD NOT READ THE SMALL LETTERS, the ones that tell you why you can't play a certain card in a given move. I checked the box. It advertises 720p. I've been dealing with HD since about 6 years ago and I can tell you. THAT WAS NOT 720p. That was 480p at the most. Besides that little hiccup, this game is cocaine. Expand
  12. DavidR.
    Dec 16, 2007
    8
    I bought he PS3 mainly for the blu-ray feature. Console games pale in comparison to the PC in my opinion, too linear and the controllers generally suck. Eye changed my mind, it's a fun and engaging strategy game. One caveat, be careful of image burn in on your plasma TV!
  13. AlvinM.
    Oct 20, 2007
    0
    Boring game. Not even worth a rent.
  14. RealGambler
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    Two drawbacks: Cards can be expensive if you want all 110 cards. And a match last about 20 to 30 minutes but could be much longer. Do not start playing if you have something to do in 45 minutes because you may end up being late : ) Otherwise, just a great relaxing games. You'll like it even if you never played this type of card game before. It's nice to be able to find opponents Two drawbacks: Cards can be expensive if you want all 110 cards. And a match last about 20 to 30 minutes but could be much longer. Do not start playing if you have something to do in 45 minutes because you may end up being late : ) Otherwise, just a great relaxing games. You'll like it even if you never played this type of card game before. It's nice to be able to find opponents anytime, without going out of the house. You deck is always a work in progress. This game is relatively new, but so far, it's likely the game I spent the most time one already. So cost per hour of game play is really low for me. Expand
  15. AndyK.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    The best card-based game on any platform with amazing presentation and great gameplay. Endlessly replayable! Great!
  16. LyleB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Wow this game is well done. There are a few issues that should be remedied soon (availability of the game and the cards is the biggest problem). But with Wizards of the Coast on the gameplay I was sure that the game mechanics would not dissapoint and they don't. the game is deep and fun to play. Excellent strategic gameplay. The visuals are great! The soundtrack is not great (oh Wow this game is well done. There are a few issues that should be remedied soon (availability of the game and the cards is the biggest problem). But with Wizards of the Coast on the gameplay I was sure that the game mechanics would not dissapoint and they don't. the game is deep and fun to play. Excellent strategic gameplay. The visuals are great! The soundtrack is not great (oh well). The multiplayer experience is great! Edge Magazine? Hard to take that one seriously. Did you actually play the game? Expand
  17. ChrisW.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, one of the best i have played so far, revolutionary style of game play for a console.
  18. ChrisC.
    Feb 13, 2008
    4
    I didn't care for it at all. I like trading card games but this one was just nothing exciting. I could see the same thing and have more fun by watching really old episodes of Yu-Gi-Oh.
  19. DainC.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    This game adds a new vision of the way the games are meant to be played.
  20. StephaneJ.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    Brilliant game, I really hope piracy and complexity will not spell the end for this gem.
  21. JohnD.
    Nov 25, 2007
    1
    Unfortunately the soundtrack is so awful that it ruins the whole game.
  22. aspentitan
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    This is an incredible game but unfortunately it is left unfinished and requires future sets to balance the existing sets. One of my favorite games on the ps3. The ability to customize and create your own deck(s) makes this game highly replayable for years. I was lucky enough to get in on this game from the start and have all the cards but this may be difficult for new players to buy (and This is an incredible game but unfortunately it is left unfinished and requires future sets to balance the existing sets. One of my favorite games on the ps3. The ability to customize and create your own deck(s) makes this game highly replayable for years. I was lucky enough to get in on this game from the start and have all the cards but this may be difficult for new players to buy (and is expensive, but worth it- $600+). If you can though, and like card battle this is a near perfect game apart from the balancing issues which are possible depending on opponent deck creation. Expand
  23. PemaR.
    Dec 18, 2007
    3
    This is so boring. Few games and you've seen it all.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. 80
    Eye of Judgment will appeal to a very, very select audience, but that audience will get a lot of enjoyment out of the title. I personally had a great time with it, although not everyone in the office had the same reaction.
  2. It is solidly the best card-based game on any platform, but compared to the refined mechanics of its collectible brethren and the fully-fleshed features of its digital brothers, it doesn’t fully grasp the inner nerd - neither the card nor video game player - within us all.
  3. Somewhat of a niche game, The Eye of Judgment nonetheless makes the whole trading card game genre accessible and graphically entertaining.