The House of the Dead 4 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Apr 17, 2012
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Apr 18, 2012
    69
    House of the Dead 4 does a good job implementing Move into the classic formula of FPS games on rails.
  2. CD-Action
    Jun 6, 2012
    65
    The House of the Dead 4 is enjoyable but also a couple of years late. If you like light gun shooters I advise you to pick up The House of Dead: Overkill – Extended Cut (if you haven't done so yet). [July 2012, p.82]
  3. Apr 19, 2012
    78
    A very welcomed addition to the PSN and to my game collection, The House of the Dead 4 finally comes home.
  4. Games Master UK
    Jun 25, 2012
    83
    Plenty of fast, bloody carnage. [Aug 2012, p.79]
  5. Apr 23, 2012
    91
    More quality arcade ports like this that are priced appropriately is definitely a step in the right direction, and overall it's a great purchase if you tend to enjoy House of the Dead.
  6. Apr 17, 2012
    70
    House of the Dead 4 demonstrates that the classic formula of FPS games on rails is still really fun. The format of downloable content fits perfectly this genre for the amount of content, making the price really attractive. The PS3 port works well, with nice HD graphics and greatly adapted to use Move as the input controller. If you are an arcade lover, this game is for you.
  7. Apr 25, 2012
    78
    This game feels just right in duration and should be worthwhile for horror fans looking to get more use out of their dusty Move controllers this Winter.
  8. Play UK
    May 13, 2012
    82
    Brilliant fun. [Issue#218, p.81]
  9. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jun 12, 2012
    70
    If you've been looking for an excuse to dust off your Move controller, this is it. [June 2012, p80]
  10. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 18, 2012
    50
    Go for last year's Overkill for your undead shooting needs. [July 2012, p.115]
  11. 80
    Short but sweet, House of the Dead 4 is old-school zombie blasting at its best. If you need an excuse to dust off PS Move, then this is it.
  12. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 30, 2012
    70
    This shooter's mindless, gun-centric amusement is delicious junk food for our itchy trigger fingers. [July 2012, p.85]
  13. May 3, 2012
    80
    House of the Dead 4's crawl onto PSN brings the zombie-infested action of the arcades right into your house of the living. At about the same cost as a pocketful of quarters, you can grab a friend and Move controllers and relive the arcade experience from the relative safety of your home.
  14. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    The new HD version of HOTD is a perfect porting of the last chapter of Sega franchise, thanks to the good visual impact and well-implemented Move mechanics. The main mode is short but intense, and two additional chapters give more time to spend into the title. The price is competitive and the fun guaranteed.
  15. Apr 18, 2012
    75
    One of the games that takes the most advantage of motion sensing, and probably the most favoured genre by the PS Move. Also, the game had never been released on consoles, so it is a great opportunity to relive the arcade experience.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. May 9, 2012
    9
    More Rail shooters for the PS3 and more reason to use your PS Move if you have one. its a fast paced rail shooter with zombies rushing youMore Rail shooters for the PS3 and more reason to use your PS Move if you have one. its a fast paced rail shooter with zombies rushing you 4-12 at a time and its lots of fun especially with a PS Move. The graphics look great the voice acting is cheesey like it should be (wish it was more like (HOTD OverKill) and best of all its at the nice price of just $10 . The game is very short like about 25 min long and you also have SP mode which is like a new story mode which will about double that but its alot of fun running through again trying to beat your score or others online . I've always had a love for theese games since back in the arcade and since we have never been drowning in them they are always still fun to play . i Hope sega keeps bringing some more of that HOTD fun to the PS3 for us hopefully though in a bigger game like Overkill but if this is what we have to settle for i will still be happy with it. Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2014
    1
    Es un juego cutre con mayúsculas, es de 2012 y parece la primera entrega: gráficos del siglo pasado, un control tosco, diversión nula, unaEs un juego cutre con mayúsculas, es de 2012 y parece la primera entrega: gráficos del siglo pasado, un control tosco, diversión nula, una trama sin interés, un jefe final fácil...
    Alucino de que tenga tanta nota...
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    I just bought this game online via Playstation Network for just a small price. Finished the game with Very Easy difficulty just to go throughI just bought this game online via Playstation Network for just a small price. Finished the game with Very Easy difficulty just to go through the graphics. Overall it's a very nice game, reliving all the memories when I first played the original House of the Dead on my 266MHz Celeron PC.

    This game has a lot of zombies seriously compared to previous games. Story is average, happened before the HOTD3. HOTD2 has the best story line as for my opinion. Lots of familiar zombies returned such as the little worms which are present since the original HOTD.

    I was surprised they included HOTD4 Special as a bonus when you finished the game. Kate now plays alongside G after James was killed I believe James is not killed, he will return in the future installment as a mutated monster (old same story like Resident Evil 3 ).

    Overall the graphics are great on PS3. FPS are fast even more than a dozen zombies roams around. Zombies and the environment are very detailed but a little bit outdated since this was originally released 2005. Music and sound effects are average because almost all are reused from the previous games.

    This game is recommended for all gamers especially for those addicted to Plants vs Zombies.
    Full Review »