• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 14, 2012
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 3, 2012
    71
    Truly dire voice acting. [May 2012, p.89]
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    70
    All in all, a fun yet ultimately forgettable experience.
  3. May 10, 2012
    65
    The House of the Dead 3 HD is a good, fun arcade port that works great with the Move, but after an hour it becomes a bit boring and repetitive. If you enjoyed House of the Dead games in the arcade, this is your game, otherwise look elsewhere.
  4. Feb 16, 2012
    65
    For a horror game, it's not at all scary, and for an action game, it's only got one type of action. This is House of the Dead -- nothing more, but absolutely nothing less.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    The House of the Dead III's individual components might all be pretty unimpressive, but it's still a fun game for an hour or so and it's perfectly priced for the type of experience it offers.
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    60
    With the short amount of gameplay and overly easy mechanics, House of the Dead III has not aged gracefully.
  7. Mar 9, 2012
    53
    The Move controls may be great, but the game seems irrelevant in the current landscape, bringing nothing new to the franchise, genre or console.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    8
    Awesome light shooter fun. Probably the best onrails shooter I have played with the Move. I can't see this game being fun without the Move. Only problem I had was that the T trigger has to be completely disengaged for it to shoot again. I wound up just using the top Move button and I can shoot a lot faster. It can be unforgiving as Ranked mode only gives you the equivalent of 1 game without a continue. Surprisingly playing the same game over and over doesn't get boring because there are multiple paths to choose. Well worth the $7as I have put more money into the arcade version in an hour. Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    Again I consider an 8 rating to be a must have game but this one falls into the 7 catagory, just a fun game worth the money. Actually for $7 this is a great pickup. I will say that this game is not mind blowing and House of the Dead Overkill is a much better game with better pacing and railing. This game feels a bit generic and the pacing seems off as it was designed for various controllers such as the PS3 sharpshooter with move, or just the move controller or you can also use the normal dual shock ps3 controller. You will have to customize your game settings based on each controller. On the hardest setting the game is very easy with the dual shock but with the move you are less stable and require an easier setting. The game is chaotic moving left, right, over here over there and is generic in its presentation. I prefer the House of the Dead Overkill version as it was a single version designed for a single controller. There are 5 quick and easy chapters in this game so not much there. But and the big but is here that this game is a mere $5 if you are a playstation plus member and still only $7 if you are not. For those prices the price tag is at least worth a weekend of fun to be had. Full Review »