Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    88
    We absolutely loved this zombie-splattering rail shooter when it first shuffled into existence on Wii in 2009 - and it's every bit as enjoyable on PS3 with added Move support. [Dec 2011, p.96]
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Again – I was completely blown away by how much fun this game offered, as the style generally isn't that appealing to me. The experience here is the real deal sealer – if you're a fan of explotation films, gratuitous violence and gore then this game is the one for you.
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    85
    The House of the Dead: Overkill - Extended Cut mocks women, the disabled and racial minorities. It's astoundingly gory, gruesome and profane.
  4. Oct 30, 2011
    85
    For multiplayer, this game is a strictly a 2-player affair but if you manage to finish the game, it does open up a Director's Cut version that allows you to purchase additional guns with a couple of new levels. Add in bonus artwork, online leaderboards, 3D models and a few other collectibles and there's definitely some replay value here.
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    House of the Dead Overkill Extended Cut is the ultimate version of Overkill and is quite a good buy if you're a fan of on-rails shooters.
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    83
    As far as light gun shooters go, this is one of the few that I think is perfectly suited to the home console environment.
  7. Has its tongue so far in its cheek its poking through to the other side. [Dec 2011, p82]
  8. Dec 9, 2011
    80
    Remake of the Wii's finest railshooter adds some action and polish and make's it's way to Playstation. Move is far more accurate than Wiimote and HD graphics give some shine to the gory action. For newbies this ride gives thrills and chills, but if the title is familiar from Wii, cussing and swearing sounds way too familiar. [Dec 2011]
  9. Pretty offensive, truly disgusting, and in utterly terrible taste. Making it one of the best excuses you've ever had to buy a Move controller. [Christmas 2011, p.94]
  10. Add in some genuine frights, hilariously ribald dialog, and inventive boss battles, and it becomes clear why there should be more on-rails shooters for the Move. [Holiday 2011, p.78]
  11. Nov 25, 2011
    80
    You are playing the Grindhouse films of the 1970's, so you'll dispel any expectations, check your brain at the door, and shoot everything that moves. Simple as that.
  12. Nov 25, 2011
    80
    The House of the Dead: Overkill - Extended Cut is one of the best on-rail shooters in the last generation, and surely one of the few games that give sense to PlayStation Move.
  13. Nov 23, 2011
    80
    If you've never played Overkill before this is the definitive version of a great game. It's something that might only be played once but will be remembered fondly after that fact as a fun experience. It's hilarious, sometimes disgusting, sometimes ridiculous and almost always fun – especially when playing with a friend.
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    80
    An edition packed with extras compared to the original Wii release and with tons of gore, humor and that "grindhouse" style that we love.
  15. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    While it's true that the market is currently experiencing a bit of a glut in the Zombie genre, in our view the modern take of most of these games is not a patch on the old B-Movie style. So, Melon Farmers, if you want a game filled with blood and tatties, get your artichoke down to the store and grab this one.
  16. Nov 2, 2011
    80
    A fantastic diversion that basks in its ridiculousness far too much. If you already took the plunge on Wii, I can't say the additives are worth a second dip, but if you have yet to partake, there has never been a better time. For the price tag, this is one wild ride you will not regret, so long as you are not easily offended in any way, shape or form.
  17. Nov 2, 2011
    80
    Brilliant example of a sadly forgotten subgenre. Overkill is a Gun Game with a lot of entertainment to offer, full of personality and terribly fun. It's too easy and could have more content, but it's a great offer for fans of shooting at the screen.
  18. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    As long as you're not offended by strong language and an extreme amount of blood (trust me, this is one of the most obscene games I've ever played) Overkill should be added to your collection as soon as possible. For a lightgun shooter you'll get a great deal of time from the main campaigns, and there are plenty of unlockables and multiplayer modes to keep you coming back.
  19. Oct 25, 2011
    80
    If you played the original Overkill on the Wii, I'm not convinced the extended cut is worth paying for again, even with its forgiving $40 price tag. Despite being by far the superior version of the game, the upgraded HD visuals don't overcome Overkill's age and wouldn't have been impressive back in 2009.
  20. Oct 25, 2011
    80
    The House of the Dead: Overkill: Extended Cut adds more content to a raunchy, entertaining romp. If you got tired of Detective Washington's non-stop cursing while playing it before, you'll find no reprieve here. But if you've never experienced it, or you're hankering to test drive it in HD, it's well worth your while.
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    79
    House of the Dead Overkill Extended Cut is a glorious game, full of thrilling and memorable moments, and a good port from the Wii original that integrates well PlayStation Move control. It also takes a leap in graphics, although some of its elements remind us this was a Wii game.
  22. Nov 26, 2011
    77
    Dead Space: Extraction is still my favorite on-rails light gun shooter for the PS Move, but The House of the Dead: Overkill - Extended Cut ranks right up there as one of the best arcade shooting games you can play on the PS3. Even if you don't have a plastic gun to snap your Move motion controller into, the sensation of blasting away the mutant hoards is undeniable and gratuitous fun. And the whole grindhouse presentation only make the game that much more mutha-F'in fun.
  23. Oct 31, 2011
    76
    A great title for the weak Move library and a solid rail shooter.
  24. Oct 27, 2011
    76
    I had some difficulty keeping the Move correctly calibrated and the adventure is all over in only four or five hours, but the game remains good clean entertainment...okay, not clean. But you get my point.
  25. Oct 26, 2011
    76
    This is easily one of the stronger Move titles, though that's not saying much with the peripheral's current line-up. As it is, Overkill is a foul, brutal, and loveably twisted game that's surprisingly varied, has a good amount of content, and, most importantly, is fun to play with a friend.
  26. Oct 25, 2011
    76
    Just because House of the Dead: Overkill is brutal, that doesn't necessarily mean it's not funny. For those who want challenge, not just flair, there's the crazy Director's Cut mode. Recommended for every B-movie fan, provided they don't have the Wii version.
  27. Dec 1, 2011
    75
    A decent lightgun game. [Issue#212, p.94]
  28. Nov 16, 2011
    75
    It's still rough around the edge, but House of the Dead: Overkill Extended Cut proves to be a package that is great value for money, especially if you haven't already played Overkill on the Wii.
  29. Nov 14, 2011
    75
    The House of the Dead: Overkill Extended Cut is a good and fun rail-shooter with an insane story. Recommended for fans.
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    75
    Since this is obviously an "M"-rated title, it's a great way for classic players to feel like kids in an arcade… but grown up and filthy enough to get into a grindhouse flick and see some nasty stuff go down.
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    75
    I know that it sounds like I'm giving you two very different pieces of advice, and I am, but it's not as duplicitous as it sounds. House of the Dead: Overkill is a great game that you should play. If you already have, you're not missing anything by skipping the Extended Cut.
  32. Oct 24, 2011
    75
    One of the best reasons to own a PlayStation Move in months, but that's more a reflection of the weak Move lineup than the game being anything other than a solid light-gun shooter.
  33. Nov 7, 2011
    72
    For those who haven't played Overkill on the Nintendo Wii: this is a nice little zombieshooter you won't regret fishing out of the bargain bin. For those who have: you'll find a slightly better looking version of the same game here, with a few extras that don't manage to add anything significant.
  34. If you played Dead Space: Extraction, you know what to expect here. Just add some Hilbilly music and women with ridiculously big breasts and you've got the picture. A nice tribute to B movies that ends up being a B game. [Nov 2011, p.76]
  35. Jan 9, 2012
    70
    Not the greatest lightgun game we've ever played, but an amusing and suitably impressive shrine to bad taste. [Jan 2012, p.103]
  36. Dec 27, 2011
    70
    The best Move game I came across. I was surprised with how much fun I had remembering the light gun arcade machines I used to play as a kid. The game also supports the Dualshock but don't bother with it, 'cause if you remove the motion controller from the equation, you're left with something old, ugly, short and rather pointless. [January 2012, p.65]
  37. Dec 11, 2011
    70
    A great railshooter, with lots of unlockables and mini games.
  38. Nov 29, 2011
    70
    House of the Dead Overkill: Extended Cut is a graphically enhanced version and slightly superior of the Nintendo Wii game launched two years ago. The combination with PlayStation Move makes perfect sense.
  39. Nov 11, 2011
    70
    With very little to compete against it on the PS3, Overkill is the best on-rails shooter for the platform. The shooting itself is easy to master and rewarding, even more so when coupled with a partner, but the overall lack of original content will still put off a few potential customers.
  40. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    Pure grindhouse and stupidly fun. Not very recommended if you already played it on the Wii, but if not you will probably like its irreverent and adolescent attitude.
  41. Nov 7, 2011
    70
    This is one of the best Move titles you can get. It is however a pity that there's a lack of online co-op. People that have played the Wii version before, won't be interested in this game.
  42. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  43. Oct 25, 2011
    65
    For those fresh to Overkill's saucy blend of violence and crude humor, The House of the Dead: Overkill - Extended Cut is a fun little game that will soak up a few hours and provide some laughs along the way. Those who have been to the rodeo before, however, don't need to get on the horse again.
  44. Nov 30, 2011
    60
    House of the Dead: Overkill – Extended Cut is just fun to play, which is likely what Headstrong was going for, and what arcade players are looking for.
  45. Nov 11, 2011
    60
    If you want something simple and a little bit stupid to play along with friends - and you've got a couple of PlayStation Move controllers spare - there's no better option on PS3 right now. It's like a good Chinese dinner you know, with the sweet and the sour.
  46. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    Still one of the best lightgun games never to see the inside of an arcade, but it's still no classic and the new additions are of questionable worth.
  47. Oct 27, 2011
    60
    House of the Dead: OVERKILL Extended Cut so relishes wallowing in its own filth, that at a point it's easy to start questioning whether the stuff that's terrible about it is that way on purpose. (Spoiler: some of it is, some of it isn't.) It's the most shameful of guilty pleasures, brain-dead and proud of it, best suited for those with a lust for the minutiae of cinema's seedier side.
  48. Oct 24, 2011
    40
    As a grindhouse-esque story House of the Dead: Overkill - Extended Cut doesn't impress much. Neither does it as an on-rails shooter, or as a fun experience. However, with a friend this can remind you of gaming sessions of old at your local arcade, and that's at least something.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    loved this game on the Wii and love it even more on the ps3 with the ps move and in 3d and lots more new stuff. we now have 2 new wepons and 2 new levels and 2 new game modes . i played this at a friends house in 3D and was just wowed by it and this was my deciding factor on buying a 3D TV . its just insane having zombies rush you in 3d and the game does it amazingly well and makes great use of the 3d effect. this is also one of the best rail shooters ive ever played .i was just crazy addicted to this game for a month and when i get my 3d tv i will be playing this game abunch more again. the story and voice acting is fantastic and is very on par with robert rodriguises grind hosue movie Planet of Terror. sega has now upgraded this game to HD as well and it looks much better plus some of the bosses are abit more of a challange now . this is how you make a already great game even better . i can only hope they make House of the Dead game for the PS3 now. Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Lots of zombie-blasting fun, but make sure you use the Move controller with a gun attatchment, because the controller by it self kind of sucks. I personally use the Sharpshooter and it's great. The dual shock isn't even worth trying in a game like this. Full Review »
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    One of the bests games in the serie for me Sega need to release a continuation of this series I also enjoyed and may have a strong connection with others in the series mostly good humor of our Agent Washington haha. Full Review »