Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Feb 2, 2012
    100
    If video games aren't art, then ICO & Shadow of the Colossus Collection is not a video game. It's a staggering compilation of two of the most creative, intimate and emotional pieces of interactive entertainment ever conceived.
  2. Enduring masterpieces. [Nov 2011, p.108]
  3. Oct 9, 2011
    100
    Team Ico has set the bar for many aspects of this industry, and it now can claim a new title: the Ico and Shadow of the Colossus Collection is the gold standard in game collections. This is the way to bring classics back to life.
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    100
    The Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection does an excellent job of re-mastering the original games, but its greatest success is that it does so without the tweaks ever taking centre stage; it is the original games that make the package so essential.
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    Playing through these games again made me thoroughly jealous of anyone who has yet to experience either title. The Ico and Shadow of the Colossus collection is a disc that deserves to be played, replayed, and displayed with pride.
  6. Sep 28, 2011
    100
    It's a rare game that can make you love the thing you're supposed to be killing, but then there really isn't anything else like Ico and Colossus.
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    100
    Easily worthy of a score equal to what both games scored individually. Especially with all of the enhancements and extras included, on top of the remastering itself and $39.99 price tag.
  8. Sep 26, 2011
    100
    Whether you're new to this unique pairing or you've played one or both before, this splendid collection is pretty much a compulsory purchase.
  9. Sep 9, 2011
    100
    Simply put, this is a unique gaming gem that comes around only once in every 10 years. Every PS3 owner should be proud to add it to his or her collection.
  10. Sep 8, 2011
    100
    There's no instant gratification to be had here; no head-shots, explosions or levelling up. Nor is there witty dialogue or a traditional narrative to cling onto. But invest in each world - in the castle and Yorda, and the Forbidden Lands and Agro - and you'll be rewarded with an experience that will stay with you for a very long time. For under £30, you'll be picking up two of the most important games ever made.
  11. Oct 11, 2011
    98
    Both start off with a light story and focus on brilliant gameplay, but their respective closes end with more emotion and character than you'd find most anywhere else. If you've yet to experience either, you owe it to yourself to rectify this at the earliest convenience.
  12. Sep 8, 2011
    98
    Yes, the controls in Ico and Shadow of the Colossus are rusty by current standards, but the basic mechanics aren't what made these games landmarks in the industry. These sad and compelling masterpieces create immersive worlds, interesting characters, and memorable journeys. That hasn't changed in the intervening years, and playing through them again in this unbeatable package only serves as a reminder that no other developer can imitate Team Ico's singular style.
  13. Sep 8, 2011
    96
    It's hard to find a pair of games held in higher regard than Ico and Shadow of the Colossus. Famito Ueda and his colleagues at Team Ico drew two master strokes that not only illustrated the fundamental difference between Eastern and Western design, but also captured the former at the pinnacle of its influence.
  14. Oct 10, 2011
    95
    I won't say ICO or Shadow of the Colossus are perfect games, but I will say unequivocally that they are so important that they should be played by everyone. Thankfully, Bluepoint and Sony are giving people the best way to do so.
  15. Oct 9, 2011
    95
    ICO and Shadow of the Colossus are two of the greatest games ever made, and they're still as emotionally gripping and visually astounding as before. This is the closest you'll get to perfection in 2011.
  16. Sep 29, 2011
    95
    If you own a PS3, you must purchase The Ico and Shadow of the Colossus Collection.
  17. Sep 14, 2011
    95
    With the right price it is possible to buy two masterpieces of the videogame culture playable with a HD resolution and collecting trophies.
  18. Sep 13, 2011
    95
    What surrounds these upgrades is an air of amazing accomplishment; it pervades every second of your journey and continually reminds us why we love originality in the world of interactive entertainment. The only other downside is this- after playing, you'll probably cry at the thought of a long wait for The Last Guardian.
  19. Sep 9, 2011
    95
    A different HD update. The rest of them take games that were great at their time, but now have been surpassed by their sequels or new fanchises. But Ico and Shadow of the Colossus are still masterpieces by today standards, as are such special games that would stand among the best of the year if made from scratch and released today. A must-have for all who consider themselves passionate about videogames.
  20. 95
    The masterpieces contained within the Ico & Shadow of the Colossus Collection get a glorious HD makeover in an experience that is as rewarding, deep, and fresh as it was all those years ago on PlayStation 2.
  21. Sep 8, 2011
    95
    I really can't think of any other games that I'd recommend more. The originals are both so lovingly crafted and inspiring that I think gamers 50 years for now will still be talking about them. No, they're not perfect, but they're both fine examples of brilliant game design, and they both put forth an experience you won't soon forget. Please, play these games.
  22. Nov 27, 2011
    94
    They're absolutely, without a doubt, worth buying. [Issue#210, p.78]
  23. Oct 11, 2011
    93
    If you've ever been on the fence about these games, this collection is a must because it is the best version of them there will likely ever be. Even if you've got either of them, or both, this is still a must-buy because playing them in the remastered format is almost like playing them again for the first time.
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    92
    Team ICO fans are well supplied with ICO & Shadow of the Colossus HD Collection. Two of the best PlayStation 2 games in a single Blu-ray disc with HD graphics and 3D support.
  25. Sep 18, 2011
    91
    Both ICO and Shadow of the Colossus are fantastic games which will be remembered as such for many years to come. If you haven't played them before, you owe it to yourself to pick this collection up as soon as possible.
  26. 90
    High Def remake is one of the shiniest gaming jewels – this conversion is an extraordinary and unique game that is a must have for any PlayStation 3 owner. [Nov 2011]
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Interaction with Yorda (in Ico) and the moments of befelling the colossi still hold the unique feel they had 2001 and 2005. [Nov 2011]
  28. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    ICO and Shadow of the Colossus stands out from the crowd, offering a deep and engaging story that keeps you going until the end credits. Not as groundbreaking in 2011 as when they first came out, but still with a unique and emotional gameplay. Pure quality - now in HD.
  29. Oct 10, 2011
    90
    This is an opportunity to play again to play again two of the best games of the last generation. This time in HD.
  30. Both games are certifiable classics, and the HD visuals amplify all of the emotion Team Ico tenderly weaved into them. [Nov 2011, p.80]
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 426 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 74
  2. Negative: 6 out of 74
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Let me start by stating the facts: not everyone will understand these games, not everyone will enjoy them, and there's nothing wrong with that. Certain people can't watch a movie unless it has explosions, certain people can't watch Public Television because it educates rather than entertains, and certain people will pick this up on the recommendation of another and feel 100% cheated because it doesn't involve wanton killing, busty women, rampant foul language and guns.

    If you are one of these types of people, it's okay. I'm not going to judge you or your tastes. I'll just let you know that i feel sorry for you, because whatever "eye of the beholder" thing it takes to truly enjoy these games, you don't have it, and believe me, your life is worse because of that. You don't know what you've missed.

    Ico is definitely the harder game to get into, out of the two games in the collection. It will involve you solving puzzles and leading a girl to safety by escaping the castle where the both of you are imprisoned. It will involve her speaking in a language you don't understand, and it will tax the part of the brain that won't help you fire a gun. For those patient enough to brave the journey, you may find yourself with an incredibly emotional experience at the end of the road, and you'll be amazed a video game could make you feel that way. I'm trying to spoil as little as I can for you, and I'm sorry if this sounds a bit paltry, but this is the gist of the experience.

    On the other hand, Shadow Of The Colossus is the most beautifully haunting game I've ever played. It too is about solving puzzles, but the goal in this game is not to figure out how you'll escape a castle, it's how to kill sixteen giant beasts that dwarf you in scale. No other game has made me feel so overwhelmingly powerful by making me feel so insignificant throughout the entire process - the expansive overworld with no enemies or even epic travel music, the loneliness between your character and the horse he rides, it all seems so pointless until you find your next enemy. The silence is the calm before the storm, and that storm is the next giant beast you will have to locate, climb and somehow kill. It will give you a sense of wonder, dread and most of all, it will prove beyond the shadow of a doubt that video games deserve to be called an artistic medium. As I said, it won't be for everyone. But if you find yourself looking for something that could make you proud to own your PlayStation, and you don't mind not shooting a gun or scoring a goal, then you may find yourself in for the best games that the previous generation had to offer. There's a very good reason why the PlayStation 2 was the home of the best franchise titles of the last hardware generation, and that didn't have as much to to with Grand Theft Auto, Resident Evil, Madden, Final Fantasy or God Of War as it did games like Ico and Shadow Of The Colossus. Now, these games have been given a 1080p HD facelift, and given trophies for the player to earn as well. Any individual who considers themselves a gamer, in any sense of the term whether broad or niche, needs to try these two games. You may find that you don't like them, and like I said earlier, that's okay. Caviar isn't for everyone, and one man's delicacy can be another's poison. If you're in the mood for something besides controller McDonalds, though, this is your wake-up call.

    For those who do pick it up and find themselves lost in the most incredible worlds, your curiosity will be rewarded hundredfold. Then, you'll understand why people like myself are so excited for The Last Guardian...and chances are, you will be too after playing through these two games (and especially SotC). Don't pass this up, whatever you do.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2011
    6
    When i first started playing Ico all i could think was "Hello am i missing something here?" It just felt so dated and i'm not just talking about the graphics. The controls are terrible and the camera atrocious but i persevered anyway as i figured there's got to be something here that justifies the fanatical cult following it has. But no, hours of gameplay in and still nothing much exciting happens. Ther's no great innovation or surprise to the level design; You just explore the dull castle until you stumble across one of it's simplistic, unimaginative puzzles or another shadow monster to fight and that's it. I'll admit it's not a completely awful game and the main premise of having to protect another character is a good one but really thats all it has going for it. Ther's simply no way this deserves all the 10's it's been getting. All i can think of is that these people have been blinded to the games shortcoming by nostalgia. Oh,and i know the fanboys will mark me down as unhelpful but don't assume i'm someone who only likes games with big explosions or that i don't get slow moving or deep games because my collection is full of games like Portal, Fallout 3 and Limbo.
    To be honest i havn't played SOTC yet and, you know, i probably never will because Ico has pissed me off so much! I could have bought Dark Souls or Arkham City instead of this!
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    What is needed to be said? This collection contains two artistic masterpieces that capture the imagination. Ico provides wonderful puzzles with a companion tagging along while SotC has some of the most epic and dynamic gameplay around. Ignore the trolls who try to mark this down, the collection is well worth the money! Full Review »