User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    King of Fighters XIII is probably the best 2d fighting experience you can have in the current generation, and one of the best 2d fighters ever created. Not only has the overall package been extremely improved in both quantity and quality, with tons of modes, new characters, beautiful stages that will remind you of the best SNK games on NeoGeo, new systems that actually add a lot of depth to the game (drive cancel, extra versions of special and desperation moves, and many other things) but the game has also a good netcode that, so far, hasn't let me down a single time. KoF13 has already been a favorite in the competitive scene for some time, and it's likely to gather a decent following in order to build a sizeable community in the future. The 4 CD soundtrack provided by Atlus USA surely helps to improve the value of an already exceptional game. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    while i was burned by kof12's lack of contents and poor online, i must say that kof13 is really different, to the point of being completely different both regarding gameplay and available modes. if kof12 had practically nothing aside from arcade, versus and practice, here we have a great story mode with multiple paths, a nice arcade mode with dialogues between matches, versus, time attack, survival, tutorial, training, missions, a great color edit mode and a competent online mode that is surely on par with most other beat'em ups.

    the new features, like special versions of moves and supers are also welcome additions, and i think anyone remotely interest in this genre should buy this gem asap
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    i loved kof98um and 2002um, but 13 seems to be far better because of its new systems... the ex moves are really a big improvement, and the neomax move are really satisfying when you manage to pull them off during an actual fight. movesets are also far more expanded compared to kof12, and the story mode is packed with old characters like heidern or vanessa and brings the story of ash crimson to closure. to my surprise, the online mode worked very well in my experience, especially with people with at least 3 connection bars. it's not blazblue level, but it's definitely on par with super street fighter 4 ae or mvc3. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    In the era of casual fighting games with ridiculous comeback mechanics this game comes to save the day and show us how real fighting games should be: in the old school format, this game rewards skill and if you want to be the best you must to earn it, this game improves a lot since the last game, the net code is good (not perfect) more characters and more depth in the fighting system, Thanks to SNK to bring us a great experience of how a true fighting game should be. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    9
    Are you kidding me? I feel like I could just sit there and play this forever because the characters and balance just keep me glued to the tv. It's more than the sum of it's parts, and much better than 12, although that was kinda fun too. There's something 'friendly' about this game.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    Easily the best fighting game of this generation and an enormous improvement over XII. The mechanics in this game truly allow you to play characters the way you want to play them and there's no shortage of things to learn. Tons of single-player modes and features, respectable cast of characters, excellent soundtrack (which can be changed to play certain KoF XI/2002 songs), beautiful sprites, etc. etc. If there was ever a game to support balanced high-level competitive play, this is it. The only cons I can think of are the netcode and accessibility for new players. Find a 3-4 bar match and you're set, but 1-2 bars is unplayable as one would expect. As for accessibility, you'll notice this as soon as you enter trial mode. The game requires a hefty amount of execution to pull off some of the flashier combos and you're gonna have to do some studying if you want to get good (There are some great tutorials online made just for this). Overall, it's a must-buy for any serious fighting game fan or just someone looking to mash it out with friends. If you liked Capcom vs SNK 2 or any previous King of Fighters game, you'll love this. Collapse
  7. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This game made me forget about he debacle that was KOF XII. This is what KOF should have been and it's what I hope KOF will be in the future. This is probably one of the best playing and best looking fighting games I've played this year. This game is chock full of energy and brilliant character designs. It features a deep fighting systems and a variety of playmodes. I would not hesitate to recommend this game to any fan of fighting games, letalone 2D fighters. Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    KOF XII is the best of its series. A lot of characters, modes and unlockeables.

    It is not for begginers and dont gget yyourrself impressed with the 100% combo hit from the traillers and demonstrations. Most of them are not for human, but can give you an idea of how complex the combos can be worked.

    The online game is somewhat acceptable, and the option to record helps you study where
    you failed. Of course you cannot download other's battles, that would be a good feature to study even more the game. Expand
  9. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    this is my favorite fighting game! if you are looking for a fantastic fighting game mixing elements of fantasy and anime, this is your game. it has many charismatic characters, a lot of option choices of characters, balanced and beautiful strokes, a good story, and has also Kyo and Iori! You will not regret playing!
  10. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    Easily the best fighting game of this generation and an enormous improvement over XII. The mechanics in this game truly allow you to play characters the way you want to play them and there's no shortage of things to learn. Tons of single-player modes and features, respectable cast of characters, excellent soundtrack (which can be changed to play certain KoF XI/2002 songs), beautiful sprites, etc. etc. If there was ever a game to support balanced high-level competitive play, this is it. The only cons I can think of are the netcode and accessibility for new players. Find a 3-4 bar match and you're set, but 1-2 bars is unplayable as one would expect. As for accessibility, you'll notice this as soon as you enter trial mode. The game requires a hefty amount of execution to pull off some of the flashier combos and you're gonna have to do some studying if you want to get good (There are some great tutorials online made just for this). Overall, it's a must-buy for any serious fighting game fan or just someone looking to mash it out with friends. If you liked Capcom vs SNK 2 or any previous King of Fighters game, you'll love this. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    90
    The King of Fighters XIII comes back as the leader of technical fighting games. A lot of single player modes, characters and the good online experience but first of all a solid and difficult gameplay make this last release a must buy for all the fans.
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    70
    While many, many improvements have been made over its predecessor, The King of Fighters XIII is not without its faults. One of the biggest requests from fans was that of better netcode. The King of Fighters XII was known for its downright terrible and horrendous lag. SNK has stated multiple times that XIII will feature a better online experience but I can't say they've made good on that promise. While input latency has definitely been cut down, it is still quite noticeable.
  3. The game looks crusty. The sprites introduced last year are pixilated and their animations limited. Plus the game lacks any creative flourishes during the massive super moves. We love the idea of a stunning 2D fighter, but there's no technical or artistic creativity here. Note to SNK – invest some money to make it look like a cartoon made by a ninja Walt Disney. [January 2012, p.76]