Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind makes The Last of Us more relevant and an even better experience than the one we'd have playing only the original campaign.
  2. Mar 17, 2014
    100
    It cannot be stressed enough that this is gaming at its most essential and the genuine emotional power that it carries is exceptional. Do yourself a favour and turn off your phone for a few hours and get lost in the best gaming relationship you’ll likely ever have. Stunning.
  3. Feb 26, 2014
    100
    It is ART, god damn it. And it’s wonderful.
  4. Feb 25, 2014
    100
    If I had to sum up the experience without saying anything concrete about the events, I would say that half was more of the same, and the other half made me like Ellie even more, this was also half that shook my "foundations" and that makes me recommend this DLC without hesitation.
  5. Feb 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is a fantastic piece of content, and Naughty Dog has again raised the bar for all developers who aim to tell character-driven stories. They just don't come better than this.
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is the perfect DLC. It’s not extra padding, doesn’t feel like it but comes across more like closure for a nearly perfect game. Left Behind enlarges the world with seemingly small additions that are so much more than an extra level.
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    100
    The rich environments and the heartfelt, touching story easily make the price-tag seem irrelevant. Left Behind is on par with the main game in all but length, built with great care and attention to detail. It's the best DLC I have ever played and even though I never for a moment wanted The Last of Us to extend beyond its perfect conclusion, Naughty Dog almost made me think that a sequel to this might not be a bad idea after all.
  8. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Some may knock Left Behind for its relative brevity, at two to three hours, but this is one of those clear cases of quality over quantity, and I for one appreciate an add-on that imparts a lot of narrative value to a game like this without overstaying its welcome. It's delightfully ironic that the one game which really didn't need any DLC has received one of the best pieces of DLC in recent memory.
  9. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is how story DLC should be done.
  10. Feb 17, 2014
    100
    Left Behind does nothing new with The Last of Us' tense and exhilarating gameplay rhythm; you're always either in intense danger, or fearfully anticipating the next moment of intense danger. But it tells a different story, one that's more compact and more affecting for it, and it shows that Naughty Dog has serious emotional range. Rarely have I played anything as powerful.
  11. Feb 14, 2014
    100
    With excellent characters, emotionally charged storytelling and tense action set-pieces, deciding whether or not to revisit Naughty Dog's stunning game world really is a no-brainer.
  12. Feb 13, 2014
    100
    Truly wonderful sections of youthful exuberance give way to bleak moments of horror and desperation. Two hours may not seem all that long, but the impact Left Behind has will be with you for hours afterwards.
  13. Feb 13, 2014
    100
    A beautifully crafted addendum to The Last of Us, a game that already stood tall above many of its peers. While it could have benefited from yet more exploration, its impeccable level design utilises its environments to take Ellie and Riley - wonderfully portrayed by Ashley Johnson and Yaani King - on a trip that is not easily forgotten, underpinned by sparing use of Gustavo Santaolalla's beautiful score.
  14. Feb 13, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is a stunning DLC. A little bit short, but still impressive, emotional and incredible. You'll be dragged into Ellie's past with a mix of crushing feelings you'll never forget. And yes, we're still speaking of "just" a videogame.
  15. Feb 21, 2014
    97
    If this is the last piece of story we get from The Last of Us and the franchise ends with one installment, it’s a good way to go out.
  16. A deeply unnerving yet marvelously moving interactive entertainment.
  17. Mar 1, 2014
    95
    Two and a half hours Left Behind has you laughing, get scared, angry and possibly even cry. The story is touching and the ruthless world of The Last of Us comes through even better than in the original game, due to little nuances in the gameplay. Left Behind is the highest quality of DLC.
  18. Feb 21, 2014
    95
    If you loved the main game (and if you didn't, why not?) then you are going to love this too. Go get it, and don't let yourself get Left Behind.
  19. Feb 18, 2014
    95
    It's difficult to find any messy balancing or inconsistencies, which is a tremendous accomplishment in and of itself.
  20. 95
    While excellent, Left Behind definitely could have been longer, but with such a well crafted little story, it’s hard to fault the game for not giving me some more monster killing filler.
  21. 95
    Left Behind is worth the wait, worth every penny you spend on it, and worth the two-hour plus investment of time you put into playing it. It’s even worth playing The Last of Us in its entirety again before loading up Left Behind for the first time so you can get the most out of the atmosphere, gameplay, and connection to these deep characters.
  22. Feb 19, 2014
    92
    It doesn't just add a few extra chapters to the existing campaign, or some new weapons and skins like so many other DLC add-ons. Instead, it adds some actual meaning, gives us a new way to play and an intimate look into Ellie's poignant past that is essential to any fan of the series.
  23. Feb 17, 2014
    92
    Left Behind does a great job to complement a game that seemed impossible to improve. Even if there are few new mechanics, it's hard to complain when you have such a solid base from where to build an interesting setting.
  24. If you want to explore Ellie's tragic past further, Left Behind is the right place. Naughty Dog nailed how a DLC should be with this tragic and memorable background story.
  25. Mar 22, 2014
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  26. Mar 11, 2014
    90
    A fleshed out Ellie story that brings you right back into the rich, dismal world Naughty Dog has crafted so thoroughly, The Last of Us: Left Behind is the DLC fans of the original never even knew they wanted.
  27. Mar 1, 2014
    90
    This blazingly intelligent and thoughtful addition makes me absolutely certain they could do it again if they tried.
  28. Feb 20, 2014
    90
    Left Behind delivers more emotions that many mass-produced stories about saving the world. Naughty Dog has created a great script and delivered extremely likable and realistic main characters. This DLC offers something more than emotional storytelling - stealth levels are really great as well. Simply put - it's a must have for all fans of The Last of Us.
  29. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    The Last of Us: Left Behind captures everything that is great about The Last of Us and distills it down into a tight two hour journey.
  30. Feb 18, 2014
    90
    What ultimately makes Left Behind special is the same thing that made The Last of Us one of the best games of 2013: characters we can relate to, care about and invest in. It’s well worth the pain of one more goodbye.
  31. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Short but sweet. $15 is a tall ticket for three hours of content, but this content is just as beautifully crafted as the original game was. More importantly, it gives fans of The Last of Us another chance to revisit its world and further explore the life of Ellie. For the first time they'll see her in her element, with her guard down, letting you connect to her fully.
  32. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    While it is a bit short, this DLC pack offers some excellent gameplay and the chance for gamers like myself to fill in a few of the gaps in one of their favorite games of all time. Actually, I think this may be the only time I have spent more than 15 minutes at the mall and haven’t wanted to tear my hair out by the roots or sob quietly in a corner.
  33. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    The narrative is incredibly dense and spectacularly written. There's no big bang finale here, but what's really important here is the experience, and what will be left of it when credits roll. Chances are, a lot to think about.
  34. 90
    If you're a fan of The Last of Us, you should download Left Behind immediately. The expansion exudes quality, and lives up to the high standards set by the base game in every way. Naughty Dog are the kings of the cinematic gaming experience, and unique in their ability to create believable and human characters that we empathize, laugh and cry with. Left Behind confirms that without wavering.
  35. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Left Behind offers the same emotion and intensity as The Last of Us, focusing on Ellie's relationship with Riley. Even so, the unbalanced relation between length and price may induce some players not to buy it.
  36. Feb 13, 2014
    90
    This is a touching, intelligent, and largely refreshing extension to the core escapade, and while it’s not exactly brimming with narrative revelations, it’s still a beautiful story that you shouldn’t let pass you by.
  37. Feb 13, 2014
    90
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is at its best when it focuses on the quiet, somber moments between our on-screen heroines. And while it may feel more like an expansion rather than a necessary addition, Left Behind’s narrative still feels important.
  38. Feb 13, 2014
    90
    There’s a brilliant approach to the narrative, while Ellie and Riley’s charm shines throughout, their wonder and imagination matching exactly how you’ll feel as you return to this world.
  39. Feb 13, 2014
    90
    An excellent addition that gives further insight into the chilling world of The Last of Us and its most interesting character.
  40. There are themes within this that I’m simply not good enough a writer to dissect (and I doubt few will do it justice). It’s incredible, considering the broader perception of video games, what Naughty Dog has managed to achieve in certain areas here.
  41. Feb 13, 2014
    90
    With a bunch of collectibles to find, Trophies to earn, and memorable moments to experience, Left Behind is a must-play for fans of the original game. The context it gives alone is worth the price of admission.
  42. Apr 7, 2014
    88
    A fantastic way to extend an already brilliant narrative, and made with a hugely engaging structure. [May 2014, p.69]
  43. Feb 14, 2014
    88
    The Last of Us is one of the best games in recent years, and Left Behind keeps all of its virtues fresh. Riley is a great character and Ellie will be recorded in your heart. The only problem is that it is expensive for this duration of less than three hours.
  44. Feb 13, 2014
    88
    At around two and a half hours long, it's not an epic experience, but another window into Ellie's life. Instead of blunting the impact as I feared, Riley and Ellie's story adds resonance to the original game's ending. For The Last of Us fans, this is a ride well worth taking.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 657 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 119
  2. Negative: 19 out of 119
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, itsA fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I rated 10 on the main game , but this DLC showed me everything... that when a developer gets to be very perfect here comes **** I know not everyone shares my opinion . I 've become very attached to the first game , and never crossed my mind that one day Ellie had a lesbian impulse with her best friend . Playing DLC I noticed that affection between the two girls was natural , but the relationship was intensify. And then suddenly, Ellie kisses Riley . It may be an innocent kiss, but I have my doubts . The problem is that in my opinion totally changed my perspective on the character in the main campaign . Why the hell would do that one DLC ? Okay , there is a fenomenal narrative and scenarios so well made , but the key factor here is not it. Ellie gay ? Is it? A revelation of such importance in a DLC ? This kind of issue should be addressed early on in the campaign. Here we go ..... if Ellie and Riley shared a strong feeling among them , why not Ellie took his own life , knowing was infected and her had only the time as enemy? In my opinion the writer had a serious problem in considering the history in the main campaign or they wanted from the beginning to present Ellie as gay .

    The issue is that the DLC changed my eyesight on the character in the story, I mean, the game played with your conscious presenting two perspectives, when the first was practically defined (creating another completely useless).
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    1
    If you've played Last of Us, you've already played this DLC. No, seriously, you've played it already.

    The narrative of the game is easily
    If you've played Last of Us, you've already played this DLC. No, seriously, you've played it already.

    The narrative of the game is easily noticeable as that's the only real new thing it has to offer. It's a ONE HOUR glimpse into Ellie's past. Remember that friend of hers she talked about, and the incident leading up to her infection? Well, this is it. You get to experience a brief moment in her life before s**t went south. So, what was Naughty Dog's answer to all the boring dialog scenes you have to sit through? Replay some moments of the original game of course! :D That's right folks, you get to enjoy playing that area of the game where Ellie is looking after Joel...again. Granted, it's not exactly the same moments from the original, but close enough that it feels like deja vu rather than deja new. While this part of the DLC may appear to be the foil to an otherwise boring task, rightfully so...that's exactly what it is. It's unoriginal, unnecessary, and it reeks of a cash grab. For all the things that Naughty Dog could have done, they chose to cut corners instead. Sadly, diehard fans and non-paying-for-this-content reviewers are not going to be the people to caution you against a purchase like this. So consider that one can purchase a theater ticket for less and squeeze more time out of the experience than this.
    Full Review »