Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 625 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ellie returns as new light is shed on her relationship with Riley, her best friend from the military boarding school in which they both grew up. After inexplicably disappearing for weeks, Riley reappears in Ellie’s life with a surprising revelation. The two sneak out of their school for the last time, leading to a series of events that might forever change their lives. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    100
    Left Behind makes The Last of Us more relevant and an even better experience than the one we'd have playing only the original campaign.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    100
    Left Behind is how story DLC should be done.
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    95
    Two and a half hours Left Behind has you laughing, get scared, angry and possibly even cry. The story is touching and the ruthless world of The Last of Us comes through even better than in the original game, due to little nuances in the gameplay. Left Behind is the highest quality of DLC.
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    Left Behind offers the same emotion and intensity as The Last of Us, focusing on Ellie's relationship with Riley. Even so, the unbalanced relation between length and price may induce some players not to buy it.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    88
    The Last of Us is one of the best games in recent years, and Left Behind keeps all of its virtues fresh. Riley is a great character and Ellie will be recorded in your heart. The only problem is that it is expensive for this duration of less than three hours.
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    A bonus to the ingenious game is atmospheric, and although it brings nothing original, a return of the likeable heroes along with great gameplay is perfectly fine, even though it lasts for a couple of hours.
  7. Mar 21, 2014
    60
    The Last of Us: Left Behind is an extension that continues in the same vein as the original. The combat system is tight and the production is impressive. The adventure is however plagued of much padding, and a story that is more ambitious than actually good. The weaker section of the two in the series but worth a look if you feel you did not get enough last time.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 118
  2. Negative: 19 out of 118
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    Some people said there's no sense on putting Ellie helping Joel and Ellie and Riley having fun in the same DLC. I'd rather say this was a perfect idea. Ellie and Riley were like sisters (if you played the DLC, you'll know they're more than friends) and one cared about the other, something that friends in real life usually don't. It compares Ellie's past friendship with her relationship (more like father-daughter) with Joel and tell us how far would Ellie go for somebody she loves. Ellie is more human the most of the real humans.
    I'd give it a 11/10, but that's not possible. So... 10/10, a masterpiece DLC for a masterpiece game
    Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I should be giving this DLC a 9, but am scoring it higher because ND should be rewarded for the risk they took with regards to its pacing and content.

    After playing the Tibetan village scene in Uncharted 2 I realized that ND was capable of creating a AAA game with a minimal amount of combat where the main focus was dialog and exploration. This is the closest they've come to making one.

    The first 75% (around two hours) of Left Behind are nothing short of superlative. Having read the prequel comics I was ecstatic about the game's references to events in these, as I was to the fact that the protagonists are strong-willed non-sexualized young women. There's plenty of dialog yet it never seems forced or artificial, and there are many serious conversations about the characters lives and where they're heading.

    Like its story the game is beautiful and a few seconds into playing it my jaw had dropped as I was once again astonished at the level of graphics ND are able to get out of hardware bordering eight years of age, let alone the detail in their environments.

    For me however, the reason these first two hours stood tall above almost all AAA games I've played until now was the amount of combat: there were two encounters with infected and no encounters with humans. And this was perfect.

    They were segments in TLoU that nailed this (The opening section of the Fall chapter, the university, the sewers and the neighborhood) and are in fact my favorite parts of that game but overall I felt that TLoU had too much combat.

    Clearing room after room of zombies and goons is not fun, and in a devastated world I don't expect there to be many of each. This plausibility issue was my my chief problem with TLoU and the last 25% of Left Behind.

    There's too much combat in the DLC's penultimate chapter, and like TLoU ND still hasn't let go of one of their biggest sins: a difficulty spike at the end of a game. It's frustrating, ruins the pacing but above all signals to the player that game is coming to an end, causing instant loss of immersion.

    But as I mentioned at the beginning I forgave ND for these issues as they are SO close to creating a game with a focus on dialog and exportation. A game where combat is intense but rare.

    I only wish the DLC had lived up to its name, and left behind ND's addiction with combat completely.
    Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    A fantastic insight into Ellie's backstory. Some great combat sections and a few genuinely touching moments. Its short, but remember, its quality over quantity. Some people obviously don't know the meaning. And to the idiot's questioning why the last of us got 10's and was so highly rated, it received these rating's because it deserved to. These same people most probably haven't even played the full game, let alone this DLC. Expand
  4. PCR
    Feb 26, 2014
    9
    Left Behind reminded me why I loved The Last of Us so much. It was easily my favorite game of 2013, and possibly my favorite game of all time. When the first and final single-player DLC, Left Behind, was announced, I couldn’t wait to jump back into the incredible world that Naughty Dog created.

    Left Behind takes place before the events of The Last of Us. You play as Ellie and are accompanied by your best friend, Riley. This takes place before Ellie ever met Joel. In addition to playing as a slightly younger Ellie in the events that took place before The Last of Us, the game also fills you in on what Ellie was up to while Joel was nearly bleeding to death during the campaign. At first, it may not make sense as to why the game shows these two events together, but it becomes more clear as the game progresses that there is a correlation, mostly emotional, between the two events.

    Playing as Ellie feels a lot different than playing as Joel, as one would imagine. Ellie can handle herself well, but she’s not as hardened of a killer as Joel is, obviously. Ellie dons her trusty switchblade, but don’t let that make you feel comfortable. I found that it’s better to be as stealthy as possible, especially when playing on Hard or Survivor difficulties.

    I absolutely love the relationship between Riley and Ellie that developed over just a couple hours. It made me think about my best friend growing up, and just how special a friendship between two teenage girls can be. It was nice to meet someone that Ellie cared about other than Joel, and it really made me realize why she is so scared to lose someone again. She needs Joel as much as he needs her.

    Final thoughts

    Gameplay: Like I said before, playing as Ellie feels much different than playing as Joel, and it’s definitely more difficult to play as Ellie. However, the combat is very refreshing, and it felt good to kill Infected again.

    Appearance: As expected, environments and all visuals are absolutely gorgeous. I really missed this world, as weird as that may sound. I know Ellie would kill for the opportunity to escape that world as soon as possible.

    Sound: The voice acting performed by Ashley Johnson and Yaani King is superb. Their friendship is absolutely beautiful, and this could not have been fully realized if not for the incredible acting performances. The music is borrowed from the main game’s soundtrack, and is beautiful, as always.

    Bottom line: Any fan of The Last of Us cannot afford to miss this brilliant story expansion. If you have not played the main campaign, please do not play this DLC; it will mean almost nothing to you. However, if you played and enjoyed the incredible universe that Naughty Dog created, do not miss out on Left Behind. At $14.99, it may seem a bit pricey for just over two hours of gameplay, but it’s worth every penny.
    Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    Left Behind keeps the good pacing of TLOU, wisely interleaving calm and tense moments. It has good action scenes, including some new cool combat mechanics (I bet we will see them in the forthcoming new multiplayer DLC). I really buy the silly childish playing part, it's refreshing and useful to set the mood of the player. The narrative quality matches the one of the original game. Clearly, this DLC is good and anyone who liked TLOU will like it. I only have a couple of criticisms: (a) even if it has some genuinely touching moments, in my case it didn't reach TLOU's peak emotional heights; (b) since it's a short experience (2-3 hours), the cost of each playing hour is double than in TLOU: $15/2.5h = 6 > 3 = $60/20h, not to mention TLOU multiplayer additional hours! You know, fan-oriented pricing policy consists in doubling... Finally, a (very minor) disappointment: Obviously, all players who completed TLOU expect some specific event to happen during this DLC. They won't be disappointed in this regard, but I think it's presented in a slightly inconclusive way, I expected a few more details before the scene ends! Do we need now a DLC of the DLC? Maybe at 4x price? ;-) Just kidding! Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    The little gameplay you get is FANTASTIC. However, it's so short I was actually shocked. My biggest problem is, why did we have to play as Ellie in the "present" time? That's what we spent all of The Last of Us doing. I really wish the whole DLC should have played out before TLOU and not just half. Other than that, incredible, but you get like one hour of worthwile gameplay. Lazy. Collapse
  7. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    A poorly written afterthought that was overly reliant on her relationship with her friend. If you played Last of Us, there is nothing new. When I say nothing new I mean nothing period. The game is the same and you know EXACTLY what happens. Nothing is added to the narrative and nothing is helpful in filling out the backstory. This DLC was a waste of time, it was a waste of my time and money and it was a waste of Naughty Dogs time. The only thing that people remotely talk about is that two girls kiss. Its there to either shock you, make you feel good, or to push an agenda, nothing more. This DLC ANGERED me and I am upset that I had to pay for it, regardless of the price.
    The combat itself is all the same. They force you to fight in a large and excessive enemy rush that seems tacked on and unnecessary. Even the often referred to ability to coax survivors into fighting infected is badly programmed at best. The enemies clearly seem unintended to fight one another so it becomes a joke to watch them flail around in a mock fight.
    You'll love this DLC if you fall into the trap of whatever message they seem to think they are trying to share. Pulling at the heart strings of the consumer does not make for a good game or good writing. Otherwise don't waste your time.
    Expand

See all 118 User Reviews