The Saboteur PlayStation 3

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 115
  2. Negative: 3 out of 115
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattS
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    i like that the game doesn't make you automatically stealthy, you have to actually be stealthy. sneaking into a nazi camp while disguised and systematically taking out the towers, sniper nests, spotlights and more to clear the area is great fun. i actually enjoy the story as well and thought it would be much more cheesy then i was led to believe. for a ww2 themed game, i like the i like that the game doesn't make you automatically stealthy, you have to actually be stealthy. sneaking into a nazi camp while disguised and systematically taking out the towers, sniper nests, spotlights and more to clear the area is great fun. i actually enjoy the story as well and thought it would be much more cheesy then i was led to believe. for a ww2 themed game, i like the pacing and love the art style which gives it a cold schindler's list feel in occupied areas. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    The Saboteur is set during World War 2, in Paris, France. In the game you play as Sean Devlin, an Irish man who likes to drink and he also has a way with women. The story starts off when a man called Luc asks you to join the French resistance, who fight against the Naziâ
  3. GC
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    I admit there are flaws with The Saboteur, but even so I love it! I've played it through once already, and I'm now on my second time round. I keep finding new things to do, and I keep reeling from the sheer beauty of the WWII version of Paris rendered in the game. Oh, and it's great fun too!
  4. MartinW
    Jan 16, 2010
    9
    Slag it all you want, this is an impressive free roaming third person shooter. On my keep list.
  5. PeteD
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    the game takes the best from a lot of games around the glboe and mixes it up nicely, from GTA´s freeroaming, to Red Faction´s mindless and purposeless (although absurdly amusing), Destruction of all the works of man... or nazi for that matter. unfortunately the game does not manage to capture the climbing and general usage of this aspect, like assasins creed II does. the fact the game takes the best from a lot of games around the glboe and mixes it up nicely, from GTA´s freeroaming, to Red Faction´s mindless and purposeless (although absurdly amusing), Destruction of all the works of man... or nazi for that matter. unfortunately the game does not manage to capture the climbing and general usage of this aspect, like assasins creed II does. the fact that sean devlin is a bullet sponge, and nazies arent is a rather clumsy aspect, like the fact that an SS commando has the brain and tactical skill as a child with downs syndrome. the artstyle is terrific, boobs are always nice, and the music is stellar (although i wonder why most of the artists on the radio are from the modern ages. also a few more songs would be nice. all in all, the game is great, but lacks the last oumph to make it fantastic, some more ambition and pandemic would have hit it right on the nail. Expand
  6. WojciechG
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    I was waiting for this title and when I bought it and play first 30 minutes I felt disappointment. This negative feeling was related to the lack of smoothness of controls and movement restrictions (for example pretty difficult climbing). I think this feeling was caused by fact I just completed Infamous that offers much more superior handling. But after 2 hours of play I began to be I was waiting for this title and when I bought it and play first 30 minutes I felt disappointment. This negative feeling was related to the lack of smoothness of controls and movement restrictions (for example pretty difficult climbing). I think this feeling was caused by fact I just completed Infamous that offers much more superior handling. But after 2 hours of play I began to be seduced by the Saboteur. Storyline, complexity and realism of the world of occupied Paris, level of details, cars handling, music and overall atmosphere makes this game one of the best I ever played. Out of any mayn sandbox games I own this one I rank equally to GTA4, but I like to climate much more of the Saboteur. I like Mercenaries 2 that also was gathering my appreciation after long time of play to collect all the trophies, but Saboteur shows that Pandemic considered very seriously the feedback f the gamers from Merc 2 and eliminated the weak points from Saboteur. The Saboteur is the must have for any WW2 and sandbox action adventure games fans. I hope there will be sequel to this title. Expand
  7. tkte
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best sand-box game on the ps3!. The art graphics give the game a fresh feel. The drinving around town is great....once you get the racing cars. The stealth elements, whilst simplistic, works in some of the missions. Overall, a great single player with with good replay value.
  8. WesM
    Dec 8, 2009
    8
    Reviewers are way too harsh on this game. It's nothing innovative, but it's a very inspired and fun game, and a huge, huge improvement over Mercenaries 2.
  9. navisb
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    great game with a rare atmosphere. it's the best gta-like i've ever played with something similar with the universe of "mafia'
  10. DanielW
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    The game has a old black and white cinema mixed feel with a modern twist which makes it appealing to people who want a enjoyable story. The game play is average and the controls could be improved but are on par with most games. The game is very enjoyable and a lot of fun. Overall I would recommend it to anyone who isn't wrapped up in only flavor of the month games.
  11. JP
    Dec 18, 2009
    8
    this game is really fun. i love blowing up crap and killing nazis its a great game!!
  12. mavenmaven
    Dec 19, 2009
    8
    if u like blowing crap up this is your game. its great!!
  13. RichardB
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    I am also sick of AC2 and Uncharted getting higher scores than Saboteur essentially they are blockbuster movies like Indiana Jones whereas this is a very good low budget B movie Sure, I played and enjoyed AC2 but it isn't better than the saboteur...in fact, it's boring and so is Uncharted for the final few hours plus the monsters are stupid GTA 4 was good too but massively I am also sick of AC2 and Uncharted getting higher scores than Saboteur essentially they are blockbuster movies like Indiana Jones whereas this is a very good low budget B movie Sure, I played and enjoyed AC2 but it isn't better than the saboteur...in fact, it's boring and so is Uncharted for the final few hours plus the monsters are stupid GTA 4 was good too but massively over-hyped, i am told GTA 3 was much better so saboteur wins for me, i finished the game, completed the side missions then started the game again because i liked it so much so 10 out of 10 Expand
  14. DS
    Dec 15, 2009
    8
    Some have said that it's a pale copy of "Godfather", GTA and Assassin's Creed ... maybe ... Can those people just explain why each game must be compare to another ??? When i play a game i personnaly search for fun !! With the Saboteur, i love the atmosphere, I love the freedom taken with the historical fact, I like the quiet side of the hero, his disrespect displayed. It seems Some have said that it's a pale copy of "Godfather", GTA and Assassin's Creed ... maybe ... Can those people just explain why each game must be compare to another ??? When i play a game i personnaly search for fun !! With the Saboteur, i love the atmosphere, I love the freedom taken with the historical fact, I like the quiet side of the hero, his disrespect displayed. It seems that for the reviewers, the graphics are inseparable feature of a good title, for short, GTA is a big shit and Assassin's Creed is the most fun games that has emerged ! II have not tried to analyze this game in order to find errors, inconsistencies or glitches, I've just played. Like everyone, I have seen some erratic behavior and a weak AI, but I still loved and nothing has altered my pleasure. Pity that demo is not available! Expand
  15. CamT
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    I really liked this game. It is a free roamer in which you kill nazis. Its got innovative things, like how the city is in black and white if the Nazis control it, and in color if its de-nazi-fied. I really don't understand why it got such harsh reviews. Its a good game, definitely worth a rent. I haven't ran into any glitches. I wish reviews were based more on how the game is I really liked this game. It is a free roamer in which you kill nazis. Its got innovative things, like how the city is in black and white if the Nazis control it, and in color if its de-nazi-fied. I really don't understand why it got such harsh reviews. Its a good game, definitely worth a rent. I haven't ran into any glitches. I wish reviews were based more on how the game is instead of the company behind them. The graphics in this game are good, but the aren't as good as assassins creed II. Not like that should matter, in my opinion, its got more replayablility than ACII. I played AC about half way through the campaign and got bored. This games got many different things to do, from stealing cars, killing strippers, blowing up buildings, or blowing up flying baloons. Anyway, i gave it a 10 because of its playability and storyline. I hate how so blind some critics are. If this game came out 2 years ago, it woulda been a best seller, but now everyone is pushing for graphics over gameplay. Expand
  16. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    This is a huge, open world game set in WWII Paris. The main character is a very likable Irish race car driver turned resistance fighter. Gameplay consists of driving around Paris and the surrounding countryside, planting bombs on various Nazi installations, and engaging in plenty of shootouts. Unlike some open world games, there's a gigantic amount of stuff to do here, with your primaryThis is a huge, open world game set in WWII Paris. The main character is a very likable Irish race car driver turned resistance fighter. Gameplay consists of driving around Paris and the surrounding countryside, planting bombs on various Nazi installations, and engaging in plenty of shootouts. Unlike some open world games, there's a gigantic amount of stuff to do here, with your primary story, secondary missions, and well over 1,000 free roam targets to destroy. You can also collect plenty of vehicles to drive, from race cars to tanks, and acquiring new weapons and other things adds a nice RPG aspect to it as well. I also loved the theme music in the game, it really game it an authentic '40s atmosphere. Overall a fantastic game. Expand
  17. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    Somewhat underrated game. GTA clone set in Nazi occupied Paris. You play an Irish race car driver turned French Resistance fighter seeking revenge. Interesting personal story, interesting characters, but their voice acting, except for the main character, is pretty bad. Dialogue is pretty good, though. Unique graphical direction where Nazi occupied Paris is rendered in black and white.Somewhat underrated game. GTA clone set in Nazi occupied Paris. You play an Irish race car driver turned French Resistance fighter seeking revenge. Interesting personal story, interesting characters, but their voice acting, except for the main character, is pretty bad. Dialogue is pretty good, though. Unique graphical direction where Nazi occupied Paris is rendered in black and white. As you complete missions and destroy Nazi targets, color returns to portions of the city which lessens the amount of soldiers on the streets and makes it easier to get away when in trouble. Getting away when in trouble, especially when in a vehicle, is super hard as troops are all over the street. Sometimes I had to travel to an extreme opposite side of the map just to escape when under a high alarm level. Since there is no fast travel, I then had to drive all the way back across to trigger the next mission. Stealth is difficult and rewarding, but it's so much easier to take the guns blazing approach. Controls with the sticks on PS3 felt off. I adjusted the sensitivity for a while and things still didn't feel right. This game succeeds in the hit and run style combat a la Red Faction: Guerilla. Missions allow you to bust in the doors shooting, turn a fixed gun on your target, sabotage a car and ram it into enemies, or sneak across rooftops disguised as a Nazi. The side missions are varied and interesting, but there isn't much to do outside the main story. Frankly, I'm glad there aren't a plethora of half hearted mini games like other open world games. The weapons and vehicles are fun, the city layout is well designed and varied, the countryside is also interesting, there's a lot to blow up and see, and the game is a decent length. Once it's done though, you'll have little reason to keep playing unless you want to grind for achievements. Expand
  18. BillPaxton
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    The Saboteur lets me go all Inglourious Basterd on dem Nazis in a Sin City environment. GTA eat your heart out.
  19. GarlA
    Dec 11, 2009
    8
    I, like many other games am annoyed. Annoyed that a game like Assassin's Creed II has been given a pass by most reviewers. Whereas a game like this does not. AC2 provides the same boring, repetitive gameplay, more repetitive tasks than the last, and this somehow justifies the swollen perfect scores the original received. The bold truth of it, is that The Saboteur does everything ACII I, like many other games am annoyed. Annoyed that a game like Assassin's Creed II has been given a pass by most reviewers. Whereas a game like this does not. AC2 provides the same boring, repetitive gameplay, more repetitive tasks than the last, and this somehow justifies the swollen perfect scores the original received. The bold truth of it, is that The Saboteur does everything ACII does, but better, except on one point (the most important for reviewers): Graphics. The missions are more varied, there's more free targets that provide their own challenges (How are you going to blow up that guard tower without being spotted? What about the propaganda speakers on the side of that building).The story and characters are actually interesting, and happily (for me), the main story doesn't take long to complete. You see Saboteur lets you be your own man: What kind of saboteur would ignore half the free targets, just to concentrate on the main missions? Ask the reviewers who gave it less than a 7. Climbing is more rewarding. ACII does all the work for you, so whilst it looks fantastic, nothing beats the reward in making your way to the top of a building, and scampering along the roof-tops to your target. Or planning your escape along the zip-line-like telephone wires. Stealth and escape are also big parts of the game. I haven't been so into stealth and costume change since the original Hitman. It's exciting! As is escaping, by ducking into a brothel, or simply kissing a girl after going around a corner. I touched on graphics earlier. And whilst outright it's no where near as good looking as ACII, that only extends so far. Character models are much more detailed than AC, and the stylish Black and White (indicating a Nazi-strong area) visuals help put asside any graphic fidelity issues. Coupling he visual style is the music, and ambient sound. You're in Paris in the 40's, and it's beautiful. I've given this an 8, because unlike the majority of people reviewing ACII, I am neither 12, or have only played the game for a couple of hours (after which the boredom and remorse of being tricked by Ubisoft again, sets in), and I believe in a true 1-10 scale. The game has it's flaws, but you can work with them, and it;s by no means perfect. I will be playing this game long into 2010, ages after I'm done with other open world games. Expand
  20. OranguDan
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    It may not do things as well as other AAA titles but what it does do is allow you to kill Nazis in droves and in imaginative ways. What more could you want? If you wanna real giggle then see what happens when TNT meets the local farm animals ;o)
  21. Sep 30, 2010
    8
    Not the best of games but if you go into it not expecting much i think you'll be satisfied. I bought it for $15 and i think that's a steal, for the amount of time you can get out of it. there are definitely things that could be improved, such as the driving system, I found myself deeply frustrated being stopped dead in my tracks by a small tree or shrub when trying to run from theNot the best of games but if you go into it not expecting much i think you'll be satisfied. I bought it for $15 and i think that's a steal, for the amount of time you can get out of it. there are definitely things that could be improved, such as the driving system, I found myself deeply frustrated being stopped dead in my tracks by a small tree or shrub when trying to run from the Nazi's. Also the climbing is slow and tedious but for the price you can get this game now i think its easy to overlook those annoyances. The game is gorgeous and there's great satisfaction in completing missions to have the world revert back to colour. Expand
  22. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Such a great game! Awesome story, BEAUTIFUL artwork and lots of options. I definitely got a sense of anticipation during some of the final missions, EXCELLENT storytelling. There were more than a couple bugs and map holes (which got REAL obnoxious during the escape with Skylar) which soured the game for me a bit, but for the most part it ran smoothly. The ending was kind of abrupt andSuch a great game! Awesome story, BEAUTIFUL artwork and lots of options. I definitely got a sense of anticipation during some of the final missions, EXCELLENT storytelling. There were more than a couple bugs and map holes (which got REAL obnoxious during the escape with Skylar) which soured the game for me a bit, but for the most part it ran smoothly. The ending was kind of abrupt and anticlimactic, but overall a thrilling game. Expand
  23. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    I was torn between an scoring this 8 or 9, obviously I decided on a 9 simply because I loved this game so much.

    I've seen too many people comparing this to Assassins Creed 2 based on the stealth aspect and especially the climbing of buildings, yes the climbing in Assassin's Creed is faster and more fluid but the climbing in The Saboteur is much more realistic which is exactly why I
    I was torn between an scoring this 8 or 9, obviously I decided on a 9 simply because I loved this game so much.

    I've seen too many people comparing this to Assassins Creed 2 based on the stealth aspect and especially the climbing of buildings, yes the climbing in Assassin's Creed is faster and more fluid but the climbing in The Saboteur is much more realistic which is exactly why I enjoyed this game so much, the realism. As far as the stealth part of the game, that too is more realistic & takes more effort than in the Assassin franchise.

    The story line in The Saboteur is excellent, aside from only a few instances (Dr, Kwong to be specific) the voice acting is superb, the layout of Paris feels sprawling & real, & the graphics are fantastic for a 2009 game.

    There are so many towers, speakers, searchlights, generals, etc. etc. etc. to shoot, blow up or "sabotage" I admit that I myself was a little taken aback by it all, for a moment it seemed a tad tedious but then I realized that for 1) I was focusing way too much on destroying every Nazi outpost in one fail swoop & 2) that is exactly how Nazi occupied France would have looked. Once I started focusing on the story line I became amerced in this game & all those towers & speakers came down naturally.

    There are a few tiny glitches in the game but it seems that some people nit-pick way too much about the little things. I have yet to play a game that was perfect & without some flaw. This is an excellent game for anyone whom likes open world, history, a good story & a lot of fun.
    Expand
  24. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    I must say, i bought this game, and contrary to popular opinion it isn't a bad game. My only complaints are as follows. 1 : (As pointed out) Stealth is pointless. 2 : The city seems unlived in. Granted their are civilians and soldiers but it feels like they're few and far between making it seem 'empty'. 3 : The voice acting is awful. But laughable, awful so it doesn't really retract fromI must say, i bought this game, and contrary to popular opinion it isn't a bad game. My only complaints are as follows. 1 : (As pointed out) Stealth is pointless. 2 : The city seems unlived in. Granted their are civilians and soldiers but it feels like they're few and far between making it seem 'empty'. 3 : The voice acting is awful. But laughable, awful so it doesn't really retract from the game itself. Apart from that, i enjoyed this game alot as a fun open world game. Don't take it too serious and you'll get on fine with it. Collapse
  25. Jul 28, 2013
    9
    Summary
    +Brilliant setting bringing home the harshness of living in an occupied country e.g. during free roam you will see people being executed
    +Great Gameplay blending in the combat of GTA4 (but with more refinement) with the climbing system of Assassin Creed +Interesting Story +Good variety of weapons that allow you to adopt various tactics to help beat the Nazis ? The use of
    Summary
    +Brilliant setting bringing home the harshness of living in an occupied country e.g. during free roam you will see people being executed
    +Great Gameplay blending in the combat of GTA4 (but with more refinement) with the climbing system of Assassin Creed
    +Interesting Story
    +Good variety of weapons that allow you to adopt various tactics to help beat the Nazis
    ? The use of greyscale in areas where the resistance isn’t strong, is debateable over whether it enhances gameplay
    ? The use of over 1100 Nazi Targets to destroy is overwhelming, but them again you don’t need to destroy all of them by any means
    -Poor Ending
    -Limited interaction with characters making them less interesting

    Full Review
    Some reviewers argue that the Saboteur is just a mixture of features from Assassin Creed and GTA. However the game is far better executed than that. The combat is like GTA4 only polished and refined. The cover system is better polished which is needed particularly in missions where you are not on rooftops. This is enhanced by the two weapon limit mechanic (possible taken from Halo) which while some may argue is too limiting, for me it helped improve the level of tactics used in combat, (I would advise using a Terror Sniper Rifle and the Viper SMS allowing for long range and mid-range effectiveness). However unlike GTA where you just shoot stuff over and over again, in the Saboteur sneaking is important, in particularly the use of disguises (like Hitman) in combination with sneak takeout’s and climbing to rooftops (like in Assassin Creed). Such sneaking provides choice in how to complete missions, either by sneaking or by run and gunning. This level of combat is particularly enhanced by the use of unlocking enhancements by completing certain challenges e.g. if you sneak kill 5 generals, you unlock the ability of silent sneak kills, making sneaking while in disguise easier. All the upgrades in combination with great combat make the Saboteur have one of the best combat systems ever fitted to a game.

    With regards to the story there is nothing really ground breaking as it is your standard revenge story. This begins with Dierker killing Sean’s (your character) best mate (Jules). This in combination with the Nazis invasion of France, force Sean and his companions to leave Saarbrücken area and hide out in occupied France. From them on Sean must fight alongside the Residence and eventually a British secret service, in order to discover the location of Dierker. While possible lacking originality the story is enhanced by the setting. This interesting setting of Nazi occupied France (while not historically accurately) provides a fresh setting in the gaming world. Such enhancements are made further by the use of interesting characters. The most interesting of these characters is obviously Sean, who while some have claimed he is a dull stereotype as a drunken Irishman, in fact is a well-executed character with great levels of emotion and determination, and comical one-liners e.g. when running over Nazis “that when f***ing well”. The other characters are also well executed with each having unique personalities, e.g. Veronique (Jules sister) gradually begins to forgive Sean for getting her brother killed, as she becomes more devoted to fighting for the freedom of France. There only two major problems with the story. The first is how the character interactions are limited, making the cut scenes less dramatic as you don’t care for these characters as much as you should. The second failure is the final boss battle with Dierker, which isn’t fun at all. While they try to make Dierker death satisfying, it only amounts to disappointment. Nevertheless despite its flaws the story is interesting and provides a real sense of despair, particularly when the missions getting harder towards the end.

    Possible the greatest source of debate in this game is the use of having sections of the map in greyscale (with elements of red e.g. blood) to indicate weak residence in the area. While some have argued this makes the game look ugly, in my opinion it really enhanced the game, as not only did it provide a sense of progression, for by doing side missions (which are a lot of fun) these areas become colourful. Furthermore the greyscale, provided more than a mere paint job, because in such areas in become noticeable more difficult to escape Nazis. The next area of debate is the use of over 1100 Nazi installations for you to destroy. I don’t have much of a problem with this because while it may feel like padding, you only need to destroy some installations to gain enough contraband to buy unlocks etc.

    Nevertheless this game is amazing and one I wished they would make a sequel too, possible set in Vietnam, where you could fight for the Vietcong or the USA. However this is unlikely to happen as the Saboteur was the last game developed by Pandemic Studios.
    Expand
  26. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    The Saboteur is a very unique sandbox, and a very impressive one. The game offers an excellent story, with fantastic voice acting all the way. It has a great deal of depth and is well polished, with spectacular graphics. The open world itself is very well designed, with varying locations, including the freakin' Eiffel Tower, which you can climb! However, the missions are EXCRUCIATINGLYThe Saboteur is a very unique sandbox, and a very impressive one. The game offers an excellent story, with fantastic voice acting all the way. It has a great deal of depth and is well polished, with spectacular graphics. The open world itself is very well designed, with varying locations, including the freakin' Eiffel Tower, which you can climb! However, the missions are EXCRUCIATINGLY repetitive, and the black/white screen is very disorienting. The issues are glaring, but with the fun you'll have trashing Paris, they're easy to look past. Expand
  27. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    This game is actually really enjoyable, with a well constructed story that differentiates from the stereotypical shooter style expected around this period in history. The missions in the game certainly do become repetitive and trying to actually get around stealthily with a disguise can often be a frustration to put it lightly, but for the most part it is a game I find myself continuallyThis game is actually really enjoyable, with a well constructed story that differentiates from the stereotypical shooter style expected around this period in history. The missions in the game certainly do become repetitive and trying to actually get around stealthily with a disguise can often be a frustration to put it lightly, but for the most part it is a game I find myself continually wanting to play. The Saboteur is a game well worth giving a go. Expand
  28. Dec 20, 2015
    9
    I finally bought Saboteur after occasionally coming across praise for it and I thought it was excellent, one of my best PS3 game experiences to date and something that I want to keep and reminisce about in the future. I really enjoyed the story and the characters and for me it was quite a strong emotional experience as it approached the end which itself was superb. Collecting the vehiclesI finally bought Saboteur after occasionally coming across praise for it and I thought it was excellent, one of my best PS3 game experiences to date and something that I want to keep and reminisce about in the future. I really enjoyed the story and the characters and for me it was quite a strong emotional experience as it approached the end which itself was superb. Collecting the vehicles is great fun as is unlocking the perks and receiving rewards and buying and collecting the weapons. There are even a couple of enjoyable mini-games of bird shooting and knife throwing with the latter unlocking a very nice car if you've installed the freely downloadable DLC available from PlayStation Store. What is there not to like about driving 40s era vehicles whilst listening to jazz and blowing up Nazi targets with dynamite. I did find the steering strange which looks as though it might've been designed to accommodate both digital and analogue input but it's not unique to this game and I've experienced worse. The climbing can be slow until you realise that you can speed it up by mashing the X button and once you've become confident enough to jump onto wires you can use them to move from one block to the next. I think it's a shame when games like this receive such mediocre reviews because it ultimately ends up killing the franchise and in this case the developers. Expand
  29. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I must say, i bought this game, and contrary to popular opinion it isn't a bad game. My only complaints are as follows. 1 : (As pointed out) Stealth is pointless. 2 : The city seems unlived in. Granted their are civilians and soldiers but it feels like they're few and far between making it seem 'empty'. 3 : The voice acting is awful. But laughable, awful so it doesn't really retract fromI must say, i bought this game, and contrary to popular opinion it isn't a bad game. My only complaints are as follows. 1 : (As pointed out) Stealth is pointless. 2 : The city seems unlived in. Granted their are civilians and soldiers but it feels like they're few and far between making it seem 'empty'. 3 : The voice acting is awful. But laughable, awful so it doesn't really retract from the game itself. Apart from that, i enjoyed this game alot as a fun open world game. Don't take it too serious and you'll get on fine with it. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. The characters are interesting, and so the story is more rewarding than you would imagine. Yes, there are some control issues, but they aren't terrible enough to disregard the game.
  2. Pandemic delivers one of their best efforts, offering an experience that innovates both the sandbox and WWII genres. It’s not without its flaws, but its slick action, cinematic style, and colorful characters rise above its shortcomings.
  3. Pandemic's effort is commendable, but The Saboteur feels like it had a saboteur of its own lurking in the code. No matter how many times I came back to The Saboteur, or how badly I wanted to love the game, the unrefined gameplay became less, and less tolerable.