Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The long-awaited home console port of the classic Simpsons arcade game is finally here! Join three of your friends as you chase down Smithers and Mr. Burns on the epic quest to save Maggie. Battle your way through 8 classic Springfield locations in this hilarious blast from the past!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    If such an arcade-cabinet had existed near my home 20 years ago, my parents would still be paying off the debts I would have accumulated by feeding it quarters. Even if you take into account the shortcomings, The Simpsons Arcade is along Turtles in Time as one of the best Beat 'em ups out there.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    For those not weaned in the coin-op heyday, The Simpsons Arcade might feel too repetitive and too short. However, for those of us who were, The Simpsons Arcade is an absolute blast.
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    80
    Thankfully, the source material is the finest of its kind, and adapts enough modern bells and whistles to make the game well worth your while.
  4. Just like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Simpsons Arcade Game is only for the most hardcore fans and nostalgic players who used to spent as much money on playing this game in the arcade as Homer does on donuts. [March 2012, p.99]
  5. While it's far from an essential download, this beat-'em-up offers old-school fun to the hands of Simpsons fans. [Apr 2012, p.87]
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    66
    As a solo game, it's very repetitive. [Apr 2012, p.103]
  7. Mar 28, 2012
    54
    It's boring, the AI cheats and it's too expensive for something that can be finished in half an hour. [Issue#216, p.85]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    Say whatever you want. I really don't understand why critics are considering this hd port is a failure. Why would it be, really? It's the same old game which we spent hours and quarters playing. THE SAME. Better, actually; since it offers improved graphics and a couple of extra features. It's a great, classic game that filled me with nostalgia today. I'm in my 30s right now and I used to play this when I was 12. And I remember that I used to day dream about having this arcade game at home - which was made possible, today, after 20 years. This is something money can't buy, folks. Worth every cent and second. Will be playing this for a long, long time... Expand
  2. May 28, 2012
    7
    Awesome game back in the day.
  3. Soy
    Jun 28, 2012
    7
    It should just be considered a minor miracle they got the licensing issues ironed out to get this out after so many years. Sure the replay value is almost nil, but it's a fun blast to the past for those of us who sunk quarter after quarter in this sucker back in the day. $5 would've been a better price point, but it was still worth it for the nostalgia. HD-upgrade? Remember Turtles in Time: Re-Shelled? Yeah, let things be. Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    5
    I remember playing this game at the arcades, It is a very simple game, with little attack options. This version is more of the same, and yes, it has not aged as well as I initially thought. However, it has a few fun moments. Collapse
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    5
    The game has not aged well at all. Being a fan of old school beat em ups like turtles in time or streets of rage, this can't even compare. Bland repetitive enemies, uninteresting locations, and one button no combo combat make this arcade game a pass. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    This game is too fun, but actuality he needs a HD graphics, why a port? anyone like a port.
    My 3 points is for the game, not the port, only
    what the old game was. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    I was very disappointed in this. Its not a port its literally playing the old game on your ps3. theres no up ressing or anything. you could argue that it still has the same sense of gameplay as the original one we all remember fondly from the arcades. But Allas I dont think it does. Expand