The Sims 3 PlayStation 3

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    The console version of the PC megahit lacks fluidity, though it's still fun in its own right.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    65
    The Sims 3 commits the greatest crime a game possibly can: I want to have fun, but it just won't let me.
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    50
    It's true that key gameplay elements are still there, and its gameplay options guarantee dozens of hours of play, but its unbalanced pace and its noteworthy technical flaws result in a tedious experience, and make its virtues dilute.
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    70
    Despite some interesting additions to the game's formula and the series' lasting charm, the console version of The Sims 3 takes about as many steps back as it does forward. For PC veterans of the series, there's not much reason to take the dive, unless you want to experiment with karma and the in-game achievements. For the curious who can't or won't play the PC version, however, The Sims 3 maintains enough of the series' high points to be worth a look.
  5. Jan 6, 2011
    70
    At last: a console version of The Sims without a crappy control scheme. The Sims 3 may be not as extensive and flawless as the PC version, but is still a nice translation of the original concept that made The Sims great in the first place.
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    The console version of Sims 3 isn't bad, but it's better on the PC. The control scheme is surprisingly good, and that well-known Sims formula is as good and addicting as always, but the problem is, you have to wait so much longer for everything to happen on this version. There's a lot of unnecessary loading screens in this game, and the menus can prove slow sometimes. But it's a good game that should keep many playing for a long time.
  8. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 23, 2010
    70
    Role-playing elements and a bizarre karma system lubricate the works, and its easy to get sucked into completing one more challenge, getting one more promotion before quitting a session. [Holiday 2010, p.74]
  9. 70
    The long-running series' third outing makes the leap to consoles with style. It's impressive how EA have managed to cram in almost every aspect of the PC game, without having to make any notable compromises. The controls take some getting used to, and the game frequently has to load, but Sims-fans will be happy to know that this is the best console-outing the series has offered yet.
  10. Oct 28, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This game has many pros but only one con. I may never see my ps3 again. You see, my sister is a casual gamer, which means she games justThis game has many pros but only one con. I may never see my ps3 again. You see, my sister is a casual gamer, which means she games just enough to where its fun to watch her play. But, now the tables are starting to turn. She giggled when ever they did something cute, took at least an hour to make and edit one character, and added some pretty lofty life goals that will take days of play time to accomplish. In short, if you're looking for a game for a female gamer, this game is perfect. That is the only con, this game is fantastic otherwise. Less of a game and more entertainment. Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    This game is fantastic! This is the best Sims has ever been on console... Karma Powers rock!!! I've played Sims 3 on the PC and I've playedThis game is fantastic! This is the best Sims has ever been on console... Karma Powers rock!!! I've played Sims 3 on the PC and I've played other versions of the game on handhelds. I've also played Sims 2 on console. By far this is the best translation of a Sims game from PC to console. They got it all right. There is a new feature in the game where you can use Karma powers. This changes the game dramatically. You can "get lucky" in a matter of minutes now. You can curse someone you don't like...and ...well...I'll save a few surprises. This adds a whole new level to the Sims unpredictability. This new Karma power stuff is new and available in only the console versions. Also for all trophy and achievement whores out there...you have plenty of awards. I would say about half are pretty easy to get...the other half will take some time. Good stuff EA! Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    8
    The game is a lot of fun and very addictive for those without access to a capable PC. Be warned, however, as there are some sizableThe game is a lot of fun and very addictive for those without access to a capable PC. Be warned, however, as there are some sizable disappointments, one household per save being the biggest. That said, I have to disagree with the critics who complained about long load times. I find the load times to be completely acceptable, although perhaps a bit too frequent. The core gameplay is rich, but I think replay value might depend heavily upon future dlc, hoping we get any. All in all, a strong title that leaves a bit to be desired. Full Review »