The Tomb Raider Trilogy PlayStation 3

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    The games are pretty good. Legend tries to be very cinematic with a lot of cut scenes and timed events which is great but at the same time the game is buggy and short. I still had fun playing it. On the other hand Anniversary is the very first Tomb Raider ever made but in a director's cut mode. Easyli one of the best Tomb Raiders ever. Underworld is also fun, albeit I would like to haveThe games are pretty good. Legend tries to be very cinematic with a lot of cut scenes and timed events which is great but at the same time the game is buggy and short. I still had fun playing it. On the other hand Anniversary is the very first Tomb Raider ever made but in a director's cut mode. Easyli one of the best Tomb Raiders ever. Underworld is also fun, albeit I would like to have more exploration and less gunfights. Actually this goes for Legend too. But the games are really great and worth a buy, especially in the HD format they now find themselves in. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    Lara Croft has been the queen of video games for 15 years and counting. As I'm beginning to wait for next year on the awaiting reboot of Tomb Raider, nothing can't slow me down by playing a great HD collection just like God of War and Prince of Persia. I love Tomb Raider Legend, Anniversary, and Underworld! It reminds me of how Lara got started since day 1 after the original game wasLara Croft has been the queen of video games for 15 years and counting. As I'm beginning to wait for next year on the awaiting reboot of Tomb Raider, nothing can't slow me down by playing a great HD collection just like God of War and Prince of Persia. I love Tomb Raider Legend, Anniversary, and Underworld! It reminds me of how Lara got started since day 1 after the original game was released in 1996, with the gun-totting Indiana Jones style along with her signature turquise suit and her infamous breast implants which paved the way for fans on why she is considered as a sex symbol to hardcore gamers everywhere. Pick this collection today. It's a great price and a great offer. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    While still a good value and a trio of great games, several problems keep this from being the perfect collection for Tomb Raider fans. Superior versions of these games are already available on another system, however, if you want them all brand new individually, you'll spend more than you would for this package. Tomb Raider Trilogy is really a mixed bag visually, and proof that justWhile still a good value and a trio of great games, several problems keep this from being the perfect collection for Tomb Raider fans. Superior versions of these games are already available on another system, however, if you want them all brand new individually, you'll spend more than you would for this package. Tomb Raider Trilogy is really a mixed bag visually, and proof that just because things can look better on PS3 doesn't mean they do. Although Sony always boasts the power and visual superiority of their console, few developers, including Sony's own in-house teams, take advantage of this power. Like most other PS3 games the maximum resolution here is 720p, and for those with TVs that can support greater resolutions this is a waste. All of these games were previously released on Xbox 360, and while upscaled, were presented at resolutions up to 1080p. The only game in this package released on PS3 before now was Underworld and it looks as great as ever, and is easily the best looking of the three games in this package. All of the gameplay within remains, as far as I could tell, unchanged. There are huge, beautiful environments in which your time will be divided between platforming, puzzles and simple combat. Puzzles are large and really test your brainpower, most of the time. The only problem I have here is the lack of precision in Lara's control. Collision detection is questionable at best, with Lara missing ledges and falling off high places even if you have perfectly lined yourself up before making a movement, however it is not nearly as bad as Anniversary. You will have a good bit of trouble with the final boss due to this but it can be overcome and doesn't break the game. As for Anniversary, in my opinion it looks smoother and shinier than the Xbox version, probably due to better lighting, however, jagged shadows and flat textures really detract from the overall look of the game. Lara's platforming is worst in this game. While not game-breaking it is incredibly frustrating, and the final battle already requires precision timing and skill, add in these problems and you'll find yourself retrying quite a bit through no fault of your own, but because of a system that should have already been fixed twice now. The puzzles take up entire levels this time and are really smart, maybe even requiring a quick peek into a strategy guide every now and then. This is my least favorite of the three. Legend, which was released first, is my favorite. It strayed away from the typical Tomb Raider formula with smaller areas to explore and smaller, more physics based puzzles. Don't take that to mean it has been dumbed-down, its just different, and I think paced better. Lara is at her best here in terms of control and platforming prowess. Puzzles, although smaller, are great fun and boss battles are more akin to third person shooter/action games than the other two that require equal parts strategy, gunplay and puzzle elements. It is basically shooting and dodging with special attacks tossed in for fun. This is easily the worst looking of all three, which is a shame because it never looked this bad on 360. What I think they did, as apposed to taking the 360 versions of these games and further improving them, was take the PS2 versions and upscale the resolution and smooth out textures and jaggies, to a certain degree. Character models are jagged, there is quite a bit of aliasing going on. Shadows and fire are blocky and move strangely. Textures are low-res and flat. To make up for this, a blur filter looks like it was added, I really don't like this, it gives the game a foggy look. All in all, graphical issues aside, this is a good package. These are three very good games at a good price($40). Each adventure is lengthy and fun, with time trials and a ton of unlockables to be found. The package also comes with a 30 minute video and a theme/avatar package on disc. It is a shame that more care was not put into the visuals of these games though. If you haven't played these games before, or if you've sold or traded them and are looking to pick them up again, this is how I would recommend purchasing them. Expand
  4. May 5, 2011
    8
    Great bargain for 2 of the 3 games at least. Tomb Raider Legend and Anniversary are both amazing games, and while Tomb Raider: Underworld isn't very good it is still playable. I played TRL originally on the 360 and never completed it, this collection gave me the chance to and I have to say it was quite good. Anniversary on the other hand I had not played ever so it was all new to me. TheGreat bargain for 2 of the 3 games at least. Tomb Raider Legend and Anniversary are both amazing games, and while Tomb Raider: Underworld isn't very good it is still playable. I played TRL originally on the 360 and never completed it, this collection gave me the chance to and I have to say it was quite good. Anniversary on the other hand I had not played ever so it was all new to me. The controls were pretty much the same in all of them so it was easy to pick up. Underworld's controls felt slightly different then the other 2 TR games, much less fluent and it seemed like Lara moved way too fast. The story was pretty solid in both games Legend was quite short I completed it in about 6 hours. Anniversary took me about 14 hours. Over all if you have not played TR Legend or Anniversary this is a great pick up. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    A classic collection for all old tomb raider fans.Now will only have to wait for a remake version of the great tomb raider 2!A must have for any fan of the series.
  6. Sep 3, 2016
    8
    The Tomb Raider Trilogy is HD remastered version of Tomb Rader Legend, Anniversary and Underworld. Includes trophy support, a XrossMedia Bar theme pack, and Lara Croft and Viking Thrall avatars for use in PlayStation Home. There are also developer diary videos for each game.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    77
    From a compilation or "archival" standpoint, this set is great at showing how much the series has evolved and grown. From a pure enjoyment standpoint, the first two games drag down the overall experience, not through any fault of the developer, but by simply not having benefited from the additional years of gameplay updates that current titles enjoy.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 21, 2011
    85
    Tomb Raider Trilogy is a fun compilation, but the lackluster shooting action draws the final score down. [May 2011]
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    Tomb Raider took a turn for the worse in the last decade, but unbeknownst to me, it rebounded back for a trilogy of good games. This collection gets them all together at a great price that will whet your appetite for the next game.