Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 100
    There are very few games which are able to buck trends with aplomb and do it this gracefully. Pick it up when you can and give it the time it deserves.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    The word unique gets thrown around a lot in gaming, but The Unfinished Swan is truly unique, an experience not to be missed. It will show you that games don't need combat to be engaging, and they don't need color to strike a chord with your imagination. Simply put, this is one of the best games of the year, and my very favorite gaming experience of 2012.
  3. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    A must-play for any PlayStation owner, The Unfinished Swan is a short but brilliant exercise in broadening perception, and utilizing simplicity.
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    The Unfinished Swan is the second generation-defining downloadable from Sony in eight months. Giant Sparrow's debut is a confident, creative tour-de-force – and it's one of the most imaginative adventures you'll ever play.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    95
    The first truly brilliant PSN game since Journey blew everyone's mind last year. A unique experience you won't forget any time soon.
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    95
    The latest in an outstanding crop of indie art games that we've seen this generation, The Unfinished Swan lives up to that legacy and provides yet another sublime experience that transcends the usual confines of video games.
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    91
    If you're a sucker for artsy indie games that tell an interesting story and feature unique gameplay, then you'll certainly love The Unfinished Swan. If you're not quite sure what you're getting in to, than wait for the demo or check out the trailer at the very least. Either way, The Unfinished Swan is a PSN game worthy of your attention.
  8. 90
    Surreal creation brings a unique experience to gamers and presents itself as a carefully polished precious stone. [Dec 2012]
  9. Absolutely enchanting from start-to-finish, Swan is a real treat and a prime example of why bigger isn't always better. [Holiday 2012, p.77]
  10. Nov 15, 2012
    90
    The Unfinished Swan is more than just black and white. The Unfinished Swan is simply a fantastic fairytale adventure. [Nov 2012]
  11. Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Succinct, smart, tight, fresh, mature and beautiful. One of the year's standout titles. [Dec 2012]
  12. Nov 10, 2012
    90
    The Unfinished Swan is best seen as an interactive bedtime story. There are no enemies to kill, the threats to Monroe's safety are few and far between and there's nothing too taxing to figure out, but that's not what this title is all about. If you sometimes tire of the triple A titles and enjoy seeing what else the medium of games can offer, or you have enjoyed creations like Journey over the past few years, then Unfinished Swan should be on your list of games to purchase.
  13. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    There's a reason you'll finish it in a day: because you won't be able to tear yourself away.
  14. Oct 18, 2012
    90
    I loved The Unfinished Swan. It's the sort of experience that requires us to further refine the definition of the term "video game." While there are certainly elements of play here, I don't think that Swan qualifies as such. Instead, it slides in along the likes of Goodnight Moon and the Shel Silverstein library as the latest modern classic in the realm of children's fiction.
  15. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    The Unfinished Swan is one of the best titles available for PS3, with its minimalistic graphics and its sublime soundtrack. Do we have finally a good reason to buy a Move controller? Yes, indeed!
  16. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    Just like a bed time story, The Unfinished Swan guides us into an experience so powerful yet delicate that is easy to be surprised every time we are in a new level. Visuals and score mixed together with core mechanics that change every chapter and deliver us one of the must have indies of the year, and a black & white prologue inked with golden touches that must be played to believe it.
  17. 90
    The Unfinished Swan is a fairy tale told beautifully through the cooperative effort of the game's graphics, sound, and intuitive gameplay. Polished beyond belief, its hard to believe that this Picasso is going for a PSN price.
  18. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    Tragic, powerful and thought-provoking, but also intelligent, witty and beautiful - Giant Sparrow's debut is begging to be played.
  19. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    The Unfinished Swan is short and the challenges you face in the two-hour game aren't all that challenging -- but they don't need to be. This is a storybook for you to open up and get lost in.
  20. Oct 17, 2012
    89
    The Unfinished Swan is a treat for the senses, with thoughtful music and a poignant, elegant, and ever-so-slightly enigmatic story with tinges of the bittersweet, as well as humor and hope. This is the sort of game that offers up that rare spark of ingenuity that manages to thread both its form and function between narrative, aesthetics, and game design.
  21. Oct 15, 2012
    89
    Giant Sparrow delivers one of the most unique games of the year. Sadly, The Unfinished Swan is a little too easy for its own good. Players can easily blow through the game in a couple hours. Still, the game's story is strong enough to keep you engaged from beginning to end. You've never seen anything like The Unfinished Swan before!
  22. Oct 27, 2012
    88
    The Unfinished Swan is not a common game but definitely a work of art. A pearl of game and visual design that no one must leave behind.
  23. Oct 25, 2012
    88
    You'll quickly forget about the short length of The Unfinished Swan when you step into the wonderful world of the game. It is an imaginative journey where the level design surprises you time after time.
  24. Oct 15, 2012
    88
    It is astounding to me that such a small team can create a game that is as moving and inspiring as The Unfinished Swan. It is the kind of game that big game studios won't make, to their loss.
  25. Oct 15, 2012
    88
    The Unfinished Swan delivers an original, enjoyable, even touching experience.
  26. Nov 26, 2012
    86
    Unlike anything else out there: beautiful and inventive. [Christmas 2012, p.100]
  27. Oct 22, 2012
    86
    While the talented (and surprisingly small) team of developers at Giant Sparrow deserve immense credit for their efforts here, I think Sony also deserve a pat on the back for publishing unique art-house titles like this.
  28. Nov 6, 2012
    85
    The Unfinished Swan isn't exactly a masterpiece, but at least it aspires to mastery. There are few titles that take such obvious risks and attempt to give an increasingly mainstream population of gamers an inspired, original adventure.
  29. Oct 18, 2012
    85
    Instead of a game, The Unfinished Swan is an experience… which will be enjoyed for most users but left apart by some others.
  30. Oct 17, 2012
    85
    The Unfinished Swan is a wonderful experience that drew me into its world and never lets go. I am still thinking about it long after finishing it, and that says a lot. The impact it leaves is memorable, and it will go down as one of the most unique experiences I have had this year. I recommend anyone who enjoys stepping outside the box of traditional gaming give it a chance. You will be surprised just how much it sticks with you long after the credits roll.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Unfinished swan is representative of its own theme
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    This is the most intuitive unique game that's come out since Journey. You're in an all white space and to figure out where you can go you haveThis is the most intuitive unique game that's come out since Journey. You're in an all white space and to figure out where you can go you have to throw paint randomly out there until stairs, hallway, etc are revealed. It's a blast figuring out these puzzles. I recommend this to anyone who likes fun. Full Review »
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    4
    I reckon the idea is really creative and original, but I felt sick after 3 or 4 hours of playing. You need to keep moving the camera around,I reckon the idea is really creative and original, but I felt sick after 3 or 4 hours of playing. You need to keep moving the camera around, and everything is 2-colors, I think that's the main reason for the dizziness. So I can't say I enjoyed too much. Full Review »