Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join five new characters as they struggle to survive in The Walking Dead: 400 Days
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    89
    The ending’s a bit too simple (Wait, if they’re hiding from people, why would they do that?) and I don’t love the characters like I loved Lee and Clem, but the action and drama show that Telltale still has it and isn’t satisfied to pump out exactly what the developers did last year.
  2. 86
    Should you pick up 400 Days? Yes! What are you, crazy!? This is a phenomenal new experiment in storytelling that redefines the types of stories that can be told in video games.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    84
    400 Days is a nearly constructed collection of short stories that follow the macabre sentiment established by The Walking Dead. Will its cast be part of the eventual second season? Or is 400 Days merely intended to establish a mood and setting? Do the choices I made really matter in the grand scheme of Telltale’s story? I have no idea, and that's precisely what makes it so attractive and potentially valuable.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    As this DLC ups the shock factor, it makes it clear when season two rolls around that Telltale has no boundaries, and you should prepare your emotions accordingly.
  5. You could see 400 Days as a great dessert after an exquisite meal. Or maybe as an appetizer for a second course, because we were left wanting much more, even though this DLC does not quite reach the same heights as the original series. [September p.90]
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    70
    The individual stories are crafted with the same level of care as the main series, but divorced from a larger, more personal tale, these scattershot scenes show their hand as unused B-sides. More ambitious, but less focused than Season One, 400 Days feels like its setting: a serviceable pit-stop on the way to a (hopefully) brighter future.
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    70
    If you go into 400 Days expecting the same intense, emotional, roller coaster of a ride that Season 1 produced then you could be disappointed. With characters leaving almost as quickly as they are introduced there’s no time to get any sort of attachment, particularly when playing as a different person in each chapter. Keep your expectations in check however and there’s still plenty to get out of 400 Days, with an ending that could tie into the next season, this is still a worthy chapter in the series.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 4 out of 32
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This game picks up right where the 1 season left off for me-and that's with an amazing set of stories. I felt right into the game with theThis game picks up right where the 1 season left off for me-and that's with an amazing set of stories. I felt right into the game with the first story I chose. In this episode of 400 Days, you can choose which character story you want to start off with and go on from there. The comic book graphics seem to look even better than Season 1. And the control mechanics are the same as before. It was over before I started which wanted me begging for more. But, that's what I like about this Walking Dead game. It makes you anxious for the next episode to play. I loved everything about 400 Days and look forward to more episodes in the future. I give this episode a 10/10. Collapse
  2. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    I understand the frustration that some players may have experienced when playing this DLC. But I assure you that this DLC is worth everyI understand the frustration that some players may have experienced when playing this DLC. But I assure you that this DLC is worth every dollar/pound/euro spent on it!
    This DLC as the job of bridging the gap between the end of Season 1 and the beginning of Season 2. Despite the fact that Season 2 has not yet come out, this is a job well done!
    Although it isn't as great as Season 1, this DLC is capable of delivering us new and interesting characters and a somewhat odd timeline, on which actions from Season 1 will, directly or not, affect our journey through this DLC, and on which our choices for this DLC will affect the ending and therefore the beginning of Season 2.
    Expand
  3. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a bittersweet, 90-minute journey, that brings you through the climactic points of five different individual'sThe Walking Dead: 400 Days is a bittersweet, 90-minute journey, that brings you through the climactic points of five different individual's stories. The game starts out at a truck stop message board, where you have the opportunity to engage in these five stories in whichever order you like.

    Each adventure is marked on the notice board by a name and picture of each character. Telltale has done a very good job in choosing a variety of personalities for these individuals and no two are alike. Each story is engaging and will have you at the edge of your seat for most of the 90 minute play-through. The different settings allow Telltale to add scope to their Walking Dead universe and never feel dull or boring. You'll be chased by bad guys into the middle of nowhere, be entangled in a love triangle while trudging through a spooky forest, get a sense of a post-apocalyptic community while inhabiting an abandoned rest stop, catch a free ride to the prison on a prison bus, and make your way to your grandma's house while meeting an interesting person on the way. All these stories take part in the 400 day timeline from the first few days of the start of the zombie invasion to the last few days. There is so much variety here that keeps each and every story interesting.

    Not only is there a variety of places and times, but the most important part of this game are the choices and actions you partake in, which weigh heavily on the outcome of each character's life. In each story there is at least one instance where those decisions won't be easy and your gut reaction might not be the right reaction. However, that is what this game is all about...it is true to life, where our actions could lead to a devastating outcome. You may find yourself stuck between making a morally good decision or a necessary decision(not always the same). You may determine the fate of characters that you have briefly gotten to know. That is what makes this game great. Many of these decisions evoke an emotional response, which is rare.

    If you have played The Walking Dead: Season One, you will feel right at home with the controls and game-play. The way you choose dialogue, control each character's movement, and engage in combat through quick-time events have not changed. The voice acting and script are phenomenal and as engaging as ever. However, there is the occasional dialogue where the lip syncs are off and some slowdown. Nevertheless, the game and story do not suffer from these minor hiccups. You might not even notice most of them. My biggest qualm with this game is the amount of time(or lack there of) it takes to play through these stories. In my first play-through, it took me about 90 minutes to complete the game. It was a little disappointing considering the amount of questions this game left unanswered, but that is exactly what Telltale wanted. Yet, there is no question that you will replay(as I have already done) each of the stories to see what you did wrong and what could have been.

    A game like this, that makes you question your judgement and connect emotionally to the stories, is what made the original Walking Dead game great. The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a crumb in the bigger cake that is to be released with Season 2. It acquainted you with the characters you will see in Season 2 by throwing you into the pivotal moments of their lives. It makes you crave for more like an impatient toddler who received a free sample of chocolate and now wants the whole candy store. In that sense, Telltale has completed what they set out to do and has made an extraordinary buffer between Season 1 and Season 2. If you call yourself any kind of Walking Dead fan, you need to pick this decaying puppy up.
    Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    In the age of next-gen graphics, online-mutilplayer and twitch reaction shooters we can thank Telltale Games for helping to keep one of myIn the age of next-gen graphics, online-mutilplayer and twitch reaction shooters we can thank Telltale Games for helping to keep one of my favorite genres alive; the adventure game. Telltale has obviously mastered adventure gaming, anyone can plainly see this with last years hit, Walking Dead, which won multiple GOTY awards. Now they're looking to continue their hot streak with 400 Days, but can Telltale catch fire-in-a-bottle twice?

    See the full review at www.GameFan365.com
    Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead 400 Days is another brilliant addition to the Walking Dead series from Telltale Games.Once again they have managed to createThe Walking Dead 400 Days is another brilliant addition to the Walking Dead series from Telltale Games.Once again they have managed to create brilliant characters and put them and the player into very tense but also very emotional situations.In this add on there are 5 characters each with a little story, whats brilliant about them is that they last about 15 minutes each and in that short time i cared for them and wanted to see them through their situation.This is because of various factors form the brilliant voice acting, well thought out situations but also the well thought out decisions you have to make.Ex. Kill a person as they tried to steal your groups supplies or let him go but run the risk of him coming back with his group and possibly killing you all.You feel the tension and stress while making this decision and thats what is brilliant about this game, it feels real!.Its only downfall is that not all of the stories have this affect others are not as strong in these terms and therefore feel inconsistent.But none the less 8.5/10 Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    I consider this as a 'Summer Special' considering the game has an almost Television format. This special DLC was pretty much what I expected.I consider this as a 'Summer Special' considering the game has an almost Television format. This special DLC was pretty much what I expected. It wasn't very long, it was quite overpriced considering it's length. But it was still very fun to play, left some mystery at the end and left me pumped for Season Two of The Walking Dead Video Game! Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    What was the point of this? TWD was all about developing a personal connection to the characters. 400 Days is a measly 10 mins with 5What was the point of this? TWD was all about developing a personal connection to the characters. 400 Days is a measly 10 mins with 5 different characters and by the time the credits roll you don't give a damn about any of them. This was nothing but a Telltale Games money grab while people wait for Season 2. Absolutely pointless. 10/10 for Season One. A big fat ZERO for 400 days. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews