Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    90
    Each episode makes me care more and more about these characters, so the events of Long Road Ahead make it the most impactful episode to date. It's a disturbing, depressing and entertaining entry in a journey that's been nothing short of excellent so far.
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    85
    Moral dilemmas hit close to home in Long Road Ahead, the latest and grimmest episode in the Walking Dead adventure series.
  3. Aug 30, 2012
    96
    This, dear readers, is art, pure and simple. This is what the video game medium allows us to do. This is cinematic gaming at its absolute best-a direct, personal, jarring, dark narrative. Savor it while you can, before the zombie apocalypse brings an end to all things.
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    85
    The gameplay has some rough edges, but as an interactive story, this is an experience that shouldn't be missed.
  5. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    A long road Ahead continues the work of maturity that developers are giving to the series. If you love comics or TV series is a must-buy.
  6. Sep 14, 2012
    88
    The third episode of The Walking Dead series still manages to amaze and upset us, giving emotions that even the pilot was able to.
  7. This is more interactive adventure than traditional 'game', and a brilliant example of the benefits of narrative-driven gaming experiences. With a cast we're becoming more and more invested in, and scenarios of increasing moral complexity, the end of the world is fast becoming one of our favourite places to be.
  8. Oct 2, 2012
    86
    The first sign of weakness in the otherwise excellent series. [Issue#223, p.87]
  9. Aug 30, 2012
    88
    Quietly, The Walking Dead continues to perform like a potential game of the year.
  10. 85
    Even with a few minor technical issues, Long Road Ahead raises the bar for emotionally deep, thought-provoking narrative in a video game, and may be the best episode yet.
  11. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    Long Road Ahead is still fantastic, and it sets up the conclusion to this series nicely. Buying and playing this episode is a no-brainer (no pun intended).
  12. When we say "we", we mean "we" and not "you", because every player up until now has built up different relationships with different characters through the many choices they have had to make. This time your companionship will leave the motel by train. [October 2012, p.78]
  13. Sep 17, 2012
    85
    As good as the previous ones, especially story-wise. I can't help feeling disappointed by the amount of glitches and badly executed lip syncs though.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The game's going downhill since episode 2.
    While they say your choice matter, in fact, it does not. None of your actions really affects the gameplay, it only slightly affects dialogues you get.
    Also, killing most of the characters the player got attached to and replacing them with new ones does not do the game any good - the player's interest in the story dies along with those characters.
    The game has some bugs, as well, and while some bugs are just slightly annoying, other bugs just freezes the game.
    With all that being said, this episode not only the worst episode of all 3, it's mediocre game at best.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    I agree with Skepticalguy90 and Lolomlas although I believe a 2 is a bit harsh. I give it a 4. The game was not as advertised, and the choices you make in the game change the dialogue only. Now, some things could come into play later, but it still is not enough to convince me that the game is tailored to how I play. Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    2
    Honestly, I tried to come into this game with an open mind, but after playing it was largely disappointed. The biggest thing that Telltale games has promoted is that choice matters. Despite all the hype around this idea, the reality is choices do not matter in this game. You can make decisions that seem to affect things, but at the end of the day, all the players end up in the exact same place in the storyline. Had a lot of potential, failed to deliver. Full Review »