Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 13 out of 14
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    55
    Survival Instinct left me feeling empty. It’s less of a story arc and more of a montage of “Here’s what Daryl and Merle did before Season One.” Unfortunately, technical problems and frustrating design decisions prevent its one redeeming feature — the survival gameplay — from reaching its potential.
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    45
    It’s boilerplate first-person shooter mechanics paired with dated visuals and cool ideas that never develop into cool experiences.
  3. You can send out fellow survivors on scavenging missions, the downside of this is that they can fail or , even worse, die. Unfortunately the number of goods they collect is so abysmal you won't care if they make it back or not. [May 2013, p.88]
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    30
    What could have been a great game has turned out to be the exact opposite: a rushed effort, supported with ugly graphics and boring gameplay. Granted, Michael Rooker and Norman Reedus' voice acting is pitch perfect, but that's hardly worth spending fifty dollars for... isn't it?
  5. May 13, 2013
    30
    This game tries to ride with the same horse as Telltale. Although the names are identical, the games themselves are just the opposite of one another. This is utter garbage in every single meter. Steer away. [May 2013]
  6. May 7, 2013
    30
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is an appalling, unpolished mess. Gameplay is dull and buggy, there’s very little attempt at a plot, the characters are unlikeable, and bar a couple of interesting mechanics, everything feels rushed and dated. The likenesses and voices are accurate, with Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker reprising their roles as Daryl and Merle respectively, but that isn’t enough to rescue this abomination from the shallow grave of wretchedness that it has dug for itself.
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    20
    As awful as Survival Instinct is mechanically, the really depressing thing about it is that it offers no meaningful information or commentary on the characters it revolves around. Yes, Daryl and Merle's lives are a bit more fleshed out, but nothing you learn is anything you couldn't have gone the rest of your life not knowing.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 46
  2. Negative: 22 out of 46
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Got this game first thing today at gamestop and its all I hoped it would be, the game is amazing! I have played for about three hours now and I can't put it down! Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    I am giving a 9 cause yes, THE GRAPHIC ARE A BIT OUT-DATED. Now that is out of the way we can get into the great things about the game. First being hunting zombies while they are hunting you. I go so many eerie thrills when a horde was on my heels. Second being the sense of realism, outside of the scavenging. You are not a superhero so going against a horde with a melee weapon is suicide and firing guns really only help if you are on your way out due to how many more walkers it will draw in. the third being the sense of choice, from who you save to what weapons you give out. I am still torn that a gave my uncle a lead pipe so he could gather supplies, just to have him lose it to the winds when he turn into a zombie. This is a great game as long as you don't expect it to be left 4 dead and play it by The Walking Dead's zombie rule-set, case in point. Collapse
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    I am going to review this game in point form +Prolouge to the show +A fairly new style of gameplay +fun weapons +somewhat scary -Outdated graphics -fetch this get that -headshots only -if you run for to long he stops and cries -short,left me like thats it? -story? what story? i dont recall a story!(story besides being based on show sucks). But really this game does deserve some hate but not as much as it gets people come on. I give it a 6.7 Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    While it's not a good game I wouldn't exactly call it a cash in, as it's clear that developer Terminal Reality did try to make a good game. Unfortunately they didn't succeed. The evidence that they did actually try is in the games features. As far as presentation goes the game suffers. Graphics are ugly, dated, and really do look like they belong on the PS2. The sound ins't much better, voice acting is generally pretty good and the fact that they got Norman Reedus and Michael Rooker to reprise their roles from the TV show is a great addition. But even their performances leave something to be desired. The story is decent but falls flat in the end as it never really does anything exciting. There are some moments that will bring a smile to any fans face, but their aren't enough of them. One moment the developers kept mentioning was how the game was gong to show you how Daryl received his crossbow, calling it "a big excalibur like moment". Well they lied, you do eventually get Daryl's crossbow, but it's just Merle giving it back. It lacks what I was expecting to be a pretty big moment. Speaking of Merle I was disappointed with how little he was in the game. So the story and presentation fall short, and unfortunately so does the gameplay. It's a first-person survival game. You'll have to manage supplies and survivors; scavenging for things like fuel to keep your car running and sending your group out on supply runs that they may not come back from. There's a surprising amount of player choice put in the game. You have to choose which survivors go with you, as there is only so much room in your vehicle. Speaking of vehicles, which are necessary in order to get to your next objective, you have to choose between vehicles that can either carry more supplies or survivors. On your way between missions your car could break down or run out of gas, or you could come across a road event. These optional events can give you access to new supplies, but can also get you eaten by walkers. You also have to choose which path you want to take to get to these missions, sometimes you can even choose between two different levels to play-through increasing replay value. This all sounds great, and it is in theory, but it's the core gameplay that brings the whole experience down. It's just not much fun to play, and can be down right tedious at times. Levels have you relying on stealth rather then you running-and-gunning your way through them. As a matter of a fact shooting guns will get you killed because it attracts tons of walkers to you so you have to rely on melee combat, but unfortunately melee combat is crappy. It takes to many hits to kill a walker, and while your hitting them they just stand there and take it. It's stupid, tedious, and boring. While shooting is generally not the focus, there are sections that practically require you to use guns because they send swarms of walkers after you. These sections are frustrating because the game puts a focus on avoiding large groups of walkers, and when they throw you in the middle of a small herd it can lead to a lot of cheap deaths. I could go on and on about how much Terminal Reality tried to make a good game but didn't succeed, but I think you get the point. It's worth a rental for Walking Dead just to see what it has to offer, but in the end it's a disappointing game that isn't worth your money or The Walking Dead name. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    3
    Un compañero del colegio me prestó este juego porque, según él, estaba muy bueno. Mi reacción: uno de los peores juegos que he jugado jamás, si bien me gusta mucho la serie "The Walking Dead" éste título es una vergüenza total: pésima jugabilidad, gráficos malísimos, no hay un desarrollo que valga la pena; en general: injugable. Prefiero jugar "The Walking Dead: The Game", aunque no lo he jugado se ve venir que es todo lo opuesto a esta PORQUERÍA. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    2
    Probably not as bad as it originally seems to be, but still... Worst game you've played in a long time. Every idea is badly implemented. Technically it's laughable and it gets a "2" and not a "0-1" because of some good ideas (not their execution) and some jump scares. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    i been waiting for this game to come out and i thought awesome but i played it i said wtf this was most worst game i played it made duke nukem forever better. this tiresome zombie all look the same they used basically 6 zombies type used them as repeat clone them nothing more i wish i never preorder this game myself i am going to return it no fooling this 6 hours worth of rubbish the graphics suck they should of made better job of it. actors doing brothers where good dont mind them cause they rule on the walking dead show they should took them alot of time just scrap the entire game re do it from scratch would been better then this.............

    The no co op the no online multilayer they gave us herd mode which rubbish enough sand box less then sandbox less room to battle em


    ending suck it ended no real ending just goes to black and rolling credits return this game that it
    Expand

See all 46 User Reviews