Thomas Was Alone Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thomas won't be entirely alone, he'll be joined throughout by the awesome Mr Danny Wallace (XFM, Yes Man and Assassin's Creed) who will be narrating his adventures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    100
    Thomas Was Alone gives an all-encompassing experience that’s nestled inside a marvelously crafted world of stories, friends, and jumping.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    90
    When the curtain finally closed on Thomas Was Alone, I couldn’t help but feel touched. Despite being two-dimensional in appearance, the game’s cast of characters exuded more personality and depth than that of some games propped up by millions of dollars of development funding.
  3. May 1, 2013
    90
    While a few technical hiccups do occasionally spoil the party – there’s a touch of latency in the jumping controls and the odd little bug that makes matters a touch confusing – there’s so little to fault in Bithell’s striking debut. This is a game to admire, to enjoy and evangelise; a thoroughly English slice of indie magic that is every bit as accomplished as anything with a budget and a team. If this truly is the year of the indie, then long may it continue.
  4. A winning piece of minimalist game design that manages to do a lot with a little in an industry which far too frequently achieves the exact opposite, and it deserves much praise for that.
  5. May 1, 2013
    80
    Between the jokes, the writing and the soundtrack — which alternates between dissonant scratches and transcendent melodies per each scene — it hooked into my emotions.
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    80
    At its core, Thomas Was Alone is a celebration of the differences between people, and as a celebration its puzzles are far more concerned with offering a hurdle to overcome rather than obstacles to fail. It's a subtle difference, but an important one.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    It may add up to less than the sum of its parts but in terms of storytelling and presentation this indie favourite has much to teach mega budget retail games.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Thomas Was Alone is a must own for PS Vita and PS3 owners. Its price is small and the 100 levels will keep you engaged for about 4-5 hours.Thomas Was Alone is a must own for PS Vita and PS3 owners. Its price is small and the 100 levels will keep you engaged for about 4-5 hours. Each character gets their moment in the spotlight and I never felt robbed of anyone’s impact on the story. The in-game narrator and soundtrack help flesh out its perfect presentation and other games in this genre could learn a lot from it. Simple platforming and fun puzzles make sure you're never going to rage quit the game and miss something important to the story. This is the type of game that makes me proud to be a gamer. It makes me feel good that I can connect with a red rectangle named Thomas and cringe and cheer as his hopes and fears come true.  Thomas Was Alone is a story about friendship and adversity but I got something much deeper from it about human self-reflection and how people can connect with anything.  I realize now that Thomas was not alone, Thomas was with me. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2015
    10
    Thomas Was Alone is beautiful. Plain and simple. Beautiful visuals, beautiful characters, beautiful levels, beautiful music, beautifulThomas Was Alone is beautiful. Plain and simple. Beautiful visuals, beautiful characters, beautiful levels, beautiful music, beautiful narration, beautiful... well... everything!

    The music in particular is downright incredible. David Housden is a f*cking musical genius. The last track of the game, known as "Freedom" is my favourite videogame song of all time. Give it a listen on Spotify, you'll love it.

    The gameplay is great, the jumping is amazingly fluid, and if you miss a jump, it's your own fault. Never the games fault.

    True, this isn't a game for everyone. If you play games for gameplay, you won't find much here. This is not your typical "game". This is the proof that videogames CAN be art, if you try to make it art.

    Thomas Was Alone is a game I hope that everyone will get to play at least once in their life, just to think about what friendship mean, and what it feels like to be alone.

    (Oh, and that music! Holy god, THAT. MUSIC! David Housden is amazing.)
    Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Brilliant game, that really shines as you play through it. Yes the graphics are simple, but the gameplay is spot on and driven by a powerfulBrilliant game, that really shines as you play through it. Yes the graphics are simple, but the gameplay is spot on and driven by a powerful and well told story, this is a true gem. You get a really good platformer, mixed with some good puzzles and beautiful narrating.

    It has true Cross-platform support, meaning cross-save and cross-buy for your PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Vita.
    Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Simple and touch history, pleasant characters, good platformer and hilarious quotes, a well spend time to anyone looking relax, have fun andSimple and touch history, pleasant characters, good platformer and hilarious quotes, a well spend time to anyone looking relax, have fun and pass some time. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2014
    8
    Its amazing how much character you could give blocks, I was absorbed in the simple puzzles combined with great narration. I recommend this toIts amazing how much character you could give blocks, I was absorbed in the simple puzzles combined with great narration. I recommend this to anyone bored with the norm in gaming and wants to try something truly unique. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2014
    7
    A rather basic and simple 2D platformer that is made enjoyable thanks to it's fantastic characters and story. The game just has a way ofA rather basic and simple 2D platformer that is made enjoyable thanks to it's fantastic characters and story. The game just has a way of pulling you into it's world thanks to the excellent atmosphere, charming narration, and humorous writing. It did not take me long to find out that the game was making me care for these characters.

    The presentation is minimalistic to a fault. While it's true the game doesn't need fancy graphics to suck you into it's story, the basic presentation combined with the short and simplistic gameplay end up making this feel like it could have been a free flash game on a website like Kongregate or something, and not necessarily one you should be paying for. You can beat the experience in a few hours, and it never offers any real challenge in it's puzzles or platforming. Still, I in no way regretted spending time with the game at all, and it's still an incredibly enjoyable experience.

    Truthfully the strength of this game is not necessarily in it's gameplay or presentation. It is in it's ability to make you care about the characters and their fates, as well as make you laugh. This one is more about the experience. There's nothing wrong with it outside of some issues with the cross-save system, and the gameplay remains fun throughout, but the real depth here is in the story. So while that does hurt it as a game, it doesn't ruin the overall package. There's a great adventure here, and it's one you won't regret spending a penny on. My total score for the game is a 7.5/10=Good.
    Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2014
    0
    This game tries way too hard to be this cutesy quirky minimalist thing, giving its blocks (read: spoon-fed by the pretentious BritishThis game tries way too hard to be this cutesy quirky minimalist thing, giving its blocks (read: spoon-fed by the pretentious British narration) forced cutesy quirky personalities while you solve really tedious block puzzles. You have to individually get ALL the blocks to their destinations, meaning you'll retread the same ground over and over. I do not understand why critics seem to universally adore it—I actively hate this game. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews