Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 10, 2012
    80
    It seems to add just enough to make it worthwhile for owners of last year's game, while still feeling very familiar. The Pins, Country Clubs and Legacy mode are all welcome additions, although they offer differing levels of appeal.
  2. Apr 10, 2012
    73
    At its' core this is a great simulation. But aside from the believable analogue swing it is also an uninspired sequel.
  3. Apr 10, 2012
    80
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is a great golf game that takes the series in a new direction. More direct control of the shots and better physics makes it a lot more demanding, but also a lot more fun.
  4. 70
    On the one hand, Tiger Woods 13 is a game almost too good for current control methods, on the other hand, a misguided experiment in online monetization. There seems to be a perfect game of golf sitting somewhere in the middle. We'll see if they can find it in 14.
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    Tiger Woods 13 still presents a reasonably good golf game, but there isn't much new here save subtly improved PS Move and gamepad controls.
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    70
    Minor tweaks to the swing mechanic improve the rhythm of play but don't do enough to reinvigorate the series.
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    65
    Its most substantial new mode, Tiger Legacy Challenge, is a dull waste, and making the most of the in-game economy is difficult without hardcore dedication to an online Country Club.
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    This is EA Sports' first use of Kinect, and it shows. The peripheral doesn't come close to replicating your backswing with fidelity, and it lacks fluidity and accuracy. The PS3 Move functionality fares only slightly better, but the hiccups in the backswing animation are annoying when you're trying to gauge how much power to use during putting. I don't recommend either of these peripherals over the normal control setup.
  9. This is still a fine package, though. A new Country Clubs feature enables you and your friends to compete against one another and rival clubs, boosting your XP and coin-earning potential all the while, and the career mode is still huge. There's also the new Tiger Legacy Challenge, where you relive Eldrick's career from the age of two right into the future – it's a massive, well-executed addition narrated by the man himself.
  10. Offline, it's a slightly better game than last year. To make it a substantially better sequel you must be willing to be perma-connected to the PSN. That's all fine-and-on-the-fairway for hooked-up Aussie gamers, but it's a sizeable sand trap for the many who aren't. [May 2012, p78]
  11. Apr 17, 2012
    70
    Thrilling in places, but as mechanical and exciting as doing the washing up for most of it. [Issue#217, p.77]
  12. Apr 9, 2012
    91
    Perfection. Tiger 13 is so good it raises the question - what can EA's PGA Tour series do next, shy of personally jetting you to Augusta to play on Amen Corner itself? [May 2012, p.108]
  13. PGA Tour 13 is most certainly a complete golf sim package, but the additions merely refine rather than shine. [May 2012, p.84]
  14. Tiger Challenge is a remarkably addictive mode. For the first time in years we found ourselves guilty of trying just "one more time". And another one, until we got it right. Just so we could get started on the next challenge and repeat the same process all over again. [April 2012, p.96]
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    When I first got my copy of TW 13 (Master's collector's edition), I was disappointed. The presentation could be a LOT better (blurry graphics,When I first got my copy of TW 13 (Master's collector's edition), I was disappointed. The presentation could be a LOT better (blurry graphics, kind of cheap looking menu screen, etc.), so that kind of ruined my first impression. But with that said, after playing the game a few hours I realized that this actually is a GREAT game. I've been playing computer/video game golf since 1994, and this is honestly the first time I've felt that I can't stop playing. The career mode is great, and there are heaps of treats that makes you want to come back for more. Also, I love the swing system. I haven't tried the online modes out yet, so I can't comment on those. Final verdict: A SWEET golf game! Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    Let me start by saying dont be put off by the mixed and negative reviews. First up im not a great fan of yearly releases if this game, I thinkLet me start by saying dont be put off by the mixed and negative reviews. First up im not a great fan of yearly releases if this game, I think there is only so much you can do to a golf game to make it different , but this year I feel EA have done just that. The new swing mechanic is much improved in my opinion. Tempo now plays an important role in your swing, too slow you'll come up short, too fast you'll over hit it. also the ability to change where you want to strike the ball makes for a more realistic game, and thats where I think this game has improved.

    The game , in my opinion, now makes you think more about your shot, and whether taking that aggressive line to the flag is now the right option, seeing as your swing may cause you to come up short or go too far. There are some nice new additions to the game as well, pin packs being one of them, you can earn coins during the game to "purchase" pin packs which can offer boosts to your golder in the way of attributes or more putt previews etc.

    The game I feel is quite addictive, you will want to keep playing once you start as there is plenty to unlock, a nice addition as well is before any tournament you get to play a sponsor challenge or pro challenge to unlock more gear and earn xp points and that also gives you a chance to play a few of the holes on the course before a competition

    There are a few bugs in the game, sometimes you'll go into the bunker and you'll find your ball lie is in fact in the rough, but nothing major. Awesome online options in the way of country clubs as well...EA again have decided to put quite a few of the courses as DLC which I find quite annoying, which is why ive not given it a higher score. If you like golf games i feel this is the best of the series yet.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    4
    Lemme start off by saying I really enjoyed Tiger Woods 12 The Masters. It was a nice addition to the game, and everyone was happy that AugustaLemme start off by saying I really enjoyed Tiger Woods 12 The Masters. It was a nice addition to the game, and everyone was happy that Augusta National finally caved in. With the next installment comes a new swing mechanic, enhanced graphics, and a new "Tiger Legacy" mode. The swing mechanic isn't too different from the old one. It just makes the game harder, the pattern they've been following since TW 05. Plus, the motion controls are kind of broken. Not totally, though. Of course, enhanced graphics always are a plus. The characters look much more believable. And then, of course, there's the ultra boring legacy mode for "everyone's favorite golfer." If the leaked parts of Hank Haney's new book didn't bore you to death, this will. Tiger's been losing alot of popularity, and this mode just feels like an interactive wikipedia page. I don't like controlling a two year old in any video game. Pair all this with EA locking us out of courses once again, they need to do better. It's something, but I'll stick to TW 12. Full Review »