Tiger Woods PGA Tour 14 PlayStation 3

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 20, 2013
    50
    At its core, this is the same game we've played before. [Issue#135, p.112]
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    Satisfying gameplay is the crux of the Tiger Woods franchise. All the new modes in the world wouldn't matter if it didn't feel so amazing to actually play. Luckily, Tiger Woods PGA 14 stays true to the core gameplay, and adds a very worthwhile mode with Legends of the Majors. All of the other new bells and whistles are either mediocre or long overdue.
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    69
    A number of nagging problems and annoying glitches mar an otherwise good product. Much of the promotion surrounding this latest Tiger promised a much more difficult and realistic golf experience; perhaps this is why EA has graced us with numerous unnecessary loading and saving screens, broken sounds, and a lot of time angrily staring at Pebble Beach’s beautiful sandy beaches.
  4. What this package lacks in character, it makes up for in fan service, content and incredible mechanics. [May 2013, p.104]
  5. May 27, 2013
    61
    As always, one for the dedicated. [Issue#231, p.83]
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    The most damning thing to say about Tiger Woods 2014 is that it gives you no reason to upgrade from prior versions. With a bevy of overpriced DLC and scaled back modes there isn't a whole lot to recommend in this entry compared to earlier ones.
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    70
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 14 offers a comprehensive golfing experience for enthusiast swingers that don't fancy braving the unpredictable weather. However, while there are a number of refinements included as part of the package, it's difficult to justify the asking price if you already own last year's entry. There's no doubt that this is the best instalment in the franchise yet, but the ongoing debate regarding the necessity of annual updates rolls on.
  8. There is a lot of reading material if you are interested in some of golf's most legendary feats, but you can stow away any hopes of seeing such performances in the game itself. Tiger Woods PGA Tours seems to be desperate for the next generation. [May 2013, p.92]
  9. Mar 29, 2013
    73
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 2014 remains the best option if we want some practice with a sport as classic as golf. This time, its main shortcomings are the lack of innovation and the weak graphics, more so given the quality of the ambiance.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    I find this game to be unplayable.
    1) After any change of settings or even finishing a tournament, it takes forever to save the user
    I find this game to be unplayable.
    1) After any change of settings or even finishing a tournament, it takes forever to save the user settings. This can range from 2 minutes to "forever" (I turn off the PS3 after 10 minutes).
    2a) The manual does not describe the fact that the listed club distance is not actually the distance that a swing will cause I learned by searching forums that a "full swing" will cause the ball to travel to the aim point, not the listed distance.
    2b) The manual does not describe how to cause ball spin after it is in flight I learned of the existence of this feature by watching a YouTube video on how to play the game.
    2c) What else does the manual not describe???
    3) In practice mode for the first amateur tournament, I can't move the aimpoint very far for a wood or iron, and can't move it at all for a putt. What good is a practice mode if it behaves differently than the real mode I'm trying to practice for?
    4) After finishing the first amateur open tournament, but not winning it, I can't enter the US open because I didn't qualify. However, I also can't re-play the amateur tournament to attempt to win it. If you don't win your first tournament on your first try, you have to delete your golfer and create a new one to try again. That's really lame.
    5a) I tried to use the Move controller, but the game won't let me unless I also have an Eye Camera. There is nothing in the manual that specifies this requirement.
    5b) While using the Move controller (after going out a buying an Eye Camera), every few minutes the game pops up an error message telling me that my controller is no longer connected. This is because while using the Move, my main PS3 controller is not being used, so it times out. Ridiculous.

    Overall don't waste your money or time on this lousy piece of software.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 11, 2013
    3
    I've been playing tw since it began. It has it's up and down years. Last year was great. You could play the game without having to dish outI've been playing tw since it began. It has it's up and down years. Last year was great. You could play the game without having to dish out more money to play all courses. This year the average price to buy a course has gone from coins to greenbacks. With a 5 buck average. 4getaboutit! Game play online is like watching paint dry. You can't see what another player is doing. Other player shot count is gone. Another player comes up on the screen and just stands with their back to you no continuing motion. The average time to play 18 holes is 30 min. What happened EA? Ooop's I know. Less content than last year. Pay to play more courses. Laugh all the way to the bank right EA. Maybe you have some patches coming and offer more ways to obtain items. I can only hope! But you really dropped the ball on 14 and it's in the deep rough. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    7
    This is one of my favourite game series, and one that I buy every single year, good or bad. So far 2014 is pretty good. I don't like motionThis is one of my favourite game series, and one that I buy every single year, good or bad. So far 2014 is pretty good. I don't like motion gaming, so I have no idea if that works well or not. If I want to swing a club, I will play real golf. Also, I have the historic edition, so I may not have some of the DLC issues that other people mentioned yet, but again, I love this series and have no problem paying for additional courses or content if need be. The gameplay is largely the same as last year, with the graphics and menu fonts changed slightly. There is some added commentary, but you'll hear a lot of the same stuff as before. The biggest thing I read in previews, was that the putting was so hard. They have gotten ride of the putting circle, and instead force you to read the greens, line it up, and get 1 putt preview per hole, to see how you did. This was tricky for the first 9 holes that I played, but once you get used to it, you can make putts pretty easily. The first round I played was with Graeme McDowell at Augusta and shot 68. The first round I played with my character, I shot a 55 in the US Amateur. I was happy to see in creating my character I was rewarded with 50,000 XP points off the bat for having a PGA Tour 2013 profile on my hard drive. Always nice to be rewarded in game for your loyalty to the series. In the past, I would hit errant drives or wedges on occasion, but this year, it seems pretty hard to the ball. 90-95% of the time I am in the fairway and get GIR. I love this game, and all of the features, but wish they would make it harder from year to year. Anyone who has played Tiger Woods the past 2-3 years could pick this up and shoot under par with no real issues. The only problem I have with this series every year is the load times. It seems no matter what they do, it always takes forever to play 18 holes, and the wait between holes really kills your momentum. Also, when changing clubs, or clothes and accessories for your character, it takes AGES to save the changes and move on, almost to the point where I don't even want to make any equipment or clothing changes. Overall, with the addition of all four majors, the legends mode, better online play, new pro golfers, LPGA mode, revised putting, and as always, Augusta National, this game is worth getting. If you are looking for some groundbreaking changes from the previous year, you're going to be disappointed. Full Review »