Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 93
  2. Negative: 12 out of 93
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2014
    8
    This is a pure sequel, everything is pretty much the same that R6 Vegas 1 (with slightly better graphics), the story is pretty bad and sound quite unrealistic, it's a shame for a game that otherwise wants, and succeed, to make you feel like a true elite squad leader, with realistics gunfight, good team management and operational strategy. In fact the story is so bad i would say that youThis is a pure sequel, everything is pretty much the same that R6 Vegas 1 (with slightly better graphics), the story is pretty bad and sound quite unrealistic, it's a shame for a game that otherwise wants, and succeed, to make you feel like a true elite squad leader, with realistics gunfight, good team management and operational strategy. In fact the story is so bad i would say that you don't need to fulfill the first episode, if you want to experience a SWAT (well Rainbow in that case) look alike gameplay, you might as well do it with the nicest looking one, those R6 games definitely offer this nice feeling . Or even Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 if you're looking for good tactical shooters more than just SWAT look alike. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    A bit better from the first game, online is playable now. But basically the same, tactical shooter which doesn't bring anything new or interesting. Only buy if fan of tactical shooters, and still this isn't the best of them.
  3. tobybrown
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    This game is so real that I'm turning into a republican. I
    love killing terrorists. It's the best part of my life, these
    days. Wake up, play some Vegas 2. Think about sex. Play more Vegas 2. Play more Vegas 2. Eat. No. Play more. And more. I think I'm going mad. Thanks Ubisoft.
  4. WillR
    Mar 29, 2008
    4
    The single player is really good, but once you've completed it, the multiplayer just doesn't work! I got a good few eveenings out of this, but sold it after a week, as without multiplayer, it's just boring! Ubisoft need to sort it out and i can't be bothered to wait
  5. DaveLime
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    Absolutely fantastic - right from the start this is superb. They'd be crazy to change such a great formula and i'm perfectly happy to have more of the same - albeit with IMPROVED controls (ability to run, better ducking, improved control over team). Plus it's looking and sounding better than ever.
  6. AnonymousMC
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    I
  7. AndrewH.
    Mar 20, 2008
    8
    Everything is great, but the friendly AI can mess up and make it easier to do the mission solo. The graphics are also sub par for this point in this generation of consoles.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    This game is excellent, not a huge deviation from the original but if you loved the original you'll love this one. It's also perfect for getting away from the COD4 chaos for a while. Highly Recommended.
  9. KieranTC
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    Fantastic follow up to the first game, Vegas 1 fans won't be disappointed.
  10. JamesEzzio
    Mar 19, 2008
    5
    This game is good in some ways, but lacking in many others. First off, the look is horrible, the makers of it need to take a long look at COD4 and take note of how great the visuals are. This games graphics are just not up to par with what should be expected. Second the multiplayer is weak! Why can I not easily invite my dad and friends to join a game and get going?! The single playerThis game is good in some ways, but lacking in many others. First off, the look is horrible, the makers of it need to take a long look at COD4 and take note of how great the visuals are. This games graphics are just not up to par with what should be expected. Second the multiplayer is weak! Why can I not easily invite my dad and friends to join a game and get going?! The single player is fun but don't bother buying it for the multiplayer. Expand
  11. JenniferC.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    Best co-op. My brother and I have played co-op together for many years, on many different games. Now that we
  12. Ryencoke
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    PS3 version is garbage compared to 360's. It only runs on 720p on PS3, and 1080p on 360. Online is garbage on PS3 (As usual). You want to actually play this game right? Get it on 360. Also, Anonymous, get a better internet connection if you can't connect to games.
  13. AnonymousMC
    Mar 24, 2008
    6
    Its a good game but not worth the $60 bucks. The game is exactly like Vegas 1, and when I mean exactly... I mean it should be a $15 dollar downloadable expansion pack for Vegas rather than its own game. The graphics are virtually the same, and now feel sub par compared to other games of this generation. The friendly AI is still a little more of a burden than a blessing... and over all itsIts a good game but not worth the $60 bucks. The game is exactly like Vegas 1, and when I mean exactly... I mean it should be a $15 dollar downloadable expansion pack for Vegas rather than its own game. The graphics are virtually the same, and now feel sub par compared to other games of this generation. The friendly AI is still a little more of a burden than a blessing... and over all its just more of the same. Its a game that's getting overpraised for doing nothing new. Expand
  14. MelH.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    I can't believe it's finally out! you wouldn't believe what i had to go through to get this game. i have 2 gamestops in my town, the first one i called and they said it was ALREADY SOLD OUT! so i rushed to the second store and it was in stock, but there was a line out the freaking DOOR waiting to buy it. long story short, i paid somebody up front to buy the game for me. so I can't believe it's finally out! you wouldn't believe what i had to go through to get this game. i have 2 gamestops in my town, the first one i called and they said it was ALREADY SOLD OUT! so i rushed to the second store and it was in stock, but there was a line out the freaking DOOR waiting to buy it. long story short, i paid somebody up front to buy the game for me. so i paid the normal amount to get the game AND paid some guy $20 just do buy it for me!! anyhow, i have never been so pleased with a game in my life. it was hell getting it and i don't even care. best game of the year, probably best game of the last 2 or 3 years to be honest. Expand
  15. InfamousButcher
    Mar 25, 2008
    2
    it just felt slowpaced, the in game messaging good add but seems botched. still one of the worst experiances in a game yet. (well since the first R6V) too hard to get a game online withyour friends. basically the same game as the first vagas. persionally i hated it. best getting CoD4.
  16. MasJ.
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    R6V 1 was one of the best online games ever for FPS fans. This one maybe had too much to live up to after seeing COD4 but there are things that should have been fixed which weren't. Spawn camping is still possible, server connection drops, a bad lobby system where you spend half the time waiting for a game, and your so-called leet SWAT pro is still flagging around corners. There were R6V 1 was one of the best online games ever for FPS fans. This one maybe had too much to live up to after seeing COD4 but there are things that should have been fixed which weren't. Spawn camping is still possible, server connection drops, a bad lobby system where you spend half the time waiting for a game, and your so-called leet SWAT pro is still flagging around corners. There were cheaters in R6V 1 who had full armor with full mobility and bulletproof heads, can't tell yet whether the cheating has been fixed. Still, its a super fun multiplayer when it works so once a patch comes out it will be a 9/10 game. Expand
  17. S@mS
    Apr 12, 2008
    7
    Having not played the first game I had to admit this one seemed like the ultimate tactical shooter, however after seeing the first game being played it was practically identical in nearly every way. Then after a while it got boring...really boring. Now after about 2 months I never play on it anymore.
  18. IanR.
    May 26, 2008
    8
    I haven't played the first RSV but being a fan of the Splinter Cell series I bought this for my PS3. Playing this directly after playing COD4 I must admit, initially I was slightly disappointed, I think mainly because the controls weren't as fast and fluid as Call of Duty. After a few hours play my oppinion of the game improved, the co-op with the other members of the team is I haven't played the first RSV but being a fan of the Splinter Cell series I bought this for my PS3. Playing this directly after playing COD4 I must admit, initially I was slightly disappointed, I think mainly because the controls weren't as fast and fluid as Call of Duty. After a few hours play my oppinion of the game improved, the co-op with the other members of the team is great, the graphics are good and it's actually a pretty cool game, worth getting. Expand
  19. MsediW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    8
    This game is great, but a repeat of the first one. They could have added :Off line Versus' to make an improvement. The graphics are good as well but not to different from the first. Another improvement they could have made was the was the physics. I agree that they were good, but with the power of the PS3 and 360, they could have made them much better. Also the blood looks like This game is great, but a repeat of the first one. They could have added :Off line Versus' to make an improvement. The graphics are good as well but not to different from the first. Another improvement they could have made was the was the physics. I agree that they were good, but with the power of the PS3 and 360, they could have made them much better. Also the blood looks like paint. But in all sense this game is great. Expand
  20. ChelseaPierce
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    Graphics much better this time around. Obviously a lot more work has been put into the look of the sequel to Vegas. The game looks quite a bit better in the single player story, but it
  21. BarryS.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Go Team, Go! I
  22. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    I love this game. I got on Tuesday for Saint Nicholas Day (I'm German). I'm still in the campaign, and I enjoy it, but its basically just go in, Shoot Terrorists, go to the next room, shoot terrorists again. This doesn't really bother me because other good games have the same thing. The multilayer and terrorist hunt are enjoyable. There are some graphical problems in the game, such as theI love this game. I got on Tuesday for Saint Nicholas Day (I'm German). I'm still in the campaign, and I enjoy it, but its basically just go in, Shoot Terrorists, go to the next room, shoot terrorists again. This doesn't really bother me because other good games have the same thing. The multilayer and terrorist hunt are enjoyable. There are some graphical problems in the game, such as the game being unoptimized which causes frame rate lag. After playing for a while, my computer overheated in game. I restarted my computer, went back to the game to find out my Rank, and Equipment was gone. There goes my 3 days of playing down the garbage. Sad that Ubisoft refuses to update a great game. Expand
  23. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    Marginal graphical improvements over the first game. Still runs and looks like ass compared to 360 version. I got this over PSN not too long ago, and maybe it's because it's running entirely off the 5400rpm HDD, but the framerates are inconsistent and certain sound effects are delayed or garbled. New XP system lets you unlock weapons, armor, and cosmetic crap over time. The AI, bothMarginal graphical improvements over the first game. Still runs and looks like ass compared to 360 version. I got this over PSN not too long ago, and maybe it's because it's running entirely off the 5400rpm HDD, but the framerates are inconsistent and certain sound effects are delayed or garbled. New XP system lets you unlock weapons, armor, and cosmetic crap over time. The AI, both friendly and enemy, is still retarded. While in infiltrate ROE, killing an enemy in the open caused all his buddies to run over to his corpse, allowing me to pick them off one by one. Enemies either magically know where you are or are totally clueless even though you just noisily murdered their friends in the next room. Friendly pathfinding can sometimes get your NPC friends killed when ordering them to a new location as they take the worst possible route. The gameplay is identical to the first game, but it's a formula that works and is fun. If you haven't played the first one, get Vegas 2 as there's no real reason to play it. If you do buy Vegas 2, don't get the PS3 version because the performance is terrible. Get the PC or 360 version if you can. Expand
  24. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    This game was a pretty good game. Everything in the game are fine. The only two i hate about is that the ai is messed up. the graphic doesn't really look as good
  25. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    Great follow-up to r6v. r6v2 is better in some ways, and worse in others. The plot isn't nearly as put together as the first. The mechanics are just as good as the first, and the customization is ridiculously deep. Alot of weapons to choose from and the maps are all really good. They probably could have benefited from a few more months of polishing, but the game is awesome.
  26. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    Good levels of customisation and an easy way to direct your squad make this an entertaining game which I revisit every so often. The story is perhaps slightly one dimensional and cliched, and I feel that there isn't enough stealth when compared to firefights. The most satisfying moments are when you silently eliminate a terrorist with a woosh of suppressed bullets, while your teammatesGood levels of customisation and an easy way to direct your squad make this an entertaining game which I revisit every so often. The story is perhaps slightly one dimensional and cliched, and I feel that there isn't enough stealth when compared to firefights. The most satisfying moments are when you silently eliminate a terrorist with a woosh of suppressed bullets, while your teammates take out the others.

    Certainly not a must buy, but if you want a nice dabble of Special Operations gameplay then it is worth consideration.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Edge Magazine
    70
    With "Denied Ops" dropping the Conflict ball and "Call Of Duty 4"’s snappy splendour drowning any tactical sense, it’s a likeable and distracting continuation, but one that won’t be difficult to usurp. [Apr 2008, p.90]
  2. Games Master UK
    84
    By coming at the city from a different angle and giving an extra richness to be the gameplay, the return to Vegas has been justified. [Apr 2008, p.62]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    If, like us, you found the first game a bit sticky and imprecise to play, you can rest easier with this sequel - this is a crisper experience. [Apr 2008, p.110]