User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 152

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. anthonyg
    Dec 1, 2008
    8
    First of all there is NO way this game deserves a 0-yes, there are camera issues but not bad enough to warrant a zero. This is a beautiful looking and fun addition to the Tomb Raider series.True, it doesn't move the series forward in any dramatic way (like the upcoming Prince of Persia) but it is a solid effort---i would say an 8.5---a little too short but there is downloadable First of all there is NO way this game deserves a 0-yes, there are camera issues but not bad enough to warrant a zero. This is a beautiful looking and fun addition to the Tomb Raider series.True, it doesn't move the series forward in any dramatic way (like the upcoming Prince of Persia) but it is a solid effort---i would say an 8.5---a little too short but there is downloadable content to look forward to---this is a fun game if you are a fan of the series or even for newcomers. Expand
  2. AndrewM
    Jan 29, 2009
    7
    A poor Offering from the team who made the great Legacy of Kain / Soul Reaver Games. TR:U reqlies on you playing previous games, but gives a patchy back story to "help you" get started, which is of no use. The ability to jump off into oblivion when you dont want to frustrates, and though levels are large and design is good, I ended up killing my reself to restart rather then retrace my A poor Offering from the team who made the great Legacy of Kain / Soul Reaver Games. TR:U reqlies on you playing previous games, but gives a patchy back story to "help you" get started, which is of no use. The ability to jump off into oblivion when you dont want to frustrates, and though levels are large and design is good, I ended up killing my reself to restart rather then retrace my steps. I expect a tighter, better story (one that I actually am BOTHERED about and not a "continued from" previous games thread) and better controls & Camera. REDEEMING FEATURE.......its short! Expand
  3. NickR.
    Jul 21, 2009
    5
    The story itself was pretty nice. Simple controls made game play easy. The only drawback was the choppiness of the whole experience. Also the constant puzzle like environments, expect to get lost, ALLOT. If your into a challenge then try out this game. Also be prepared for a short game. Very frustrating, this game is not a personal favorite of the entire Tomb Raider series. In all this The story itself was pretty nice. Simple controls made game play easy. The only drawback was the choppiness of the whole experience. Also the constant puzzle like environments, expect to get lost, ALLOT. If your into a challenge then try out this game. Also be prepared for a short game. Very frustrating, this game is not a personal favorite of the entire Tomb Raider series. In all this game wasn't the best, but still good. Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This review is late is I only replayed the game recently. So many bugs, even after the updates. Its a decent game, but I feel its hardly representative of a true Tomb Raider adventure. Then again, neither was Angel of Darkness. If you want an easy Platinum, go ahead and play this game, but its very frustrating because of the numerous bugs that they STILL have not fixed since its release.This review is late is I only replayed the game recently. So many bugs, even after the updates. Its a decent game, but I feel its hardly representative of a true Tomb Raider adventure. Then again, neither was Angel of Darkness. If you want an easy Platinum, go ahead and play this game, but its very frustrating because of the numerous bugs that they STILL have not fixed since its release. Not its not awful, but saying its a great game is a little biased. They could have done more with the story, characters, and, if you are not looking for treasure, this game can be finished in 5 hours. Buy it in the trilogy or buy it cheap. That way you DO get your money's worth. Expand
  5. May 14, 2012
    8
    Tomb raider underworld is the last part of a "trilogy" started by Crystal Dynamics with Legend. I loved ths game even though it has its faults. Back then when it debuted, I was amazed by the graphics, not because it was realistic, but because after a long time I was getting the same feeling I had with the earlier installements. Each environment has its charm and stands out on its own. ITomb raider underworld is the last part of a "trilogy" started by Crystal Dynamics with Legend. I loved ths game even though it has its faults. Back then when it debuted, I was amazed by the graphics, not because it was realistic, but because after a long time I was getting the same feeling I had with the earlier installements. Each environment has its charm and stands out on its own. I didn't have the feeling of walking a corridor like I had in Legend, I explored, I solved puzzles, I climbed walls like in a proper tomb raider game. Combat mechanic is lacking though, action takes a back seat, in fact there aren't any "boss fights". I never understood why limiting the arsenal to just two weapons, i prefer the older, unrealistic way. Plot-wise the game creates a big set up, but the payoff is.. well it's not satisfying, the biggest problem is that they got stuck in the annoying:"missing mother" storyline, They could explore more the dynamic between some of the characters. Overall this game is a step in the right direction, even though it might become challenging in some areas, checkpoints make the experience less annoying. Good game, it should be cheap by now so give it a try. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    The last-best-real tomb raider!It has almost everything,grand puzzles,great platforming,"open" areas to explore,good story and superb voice acting.Camera is still a bit tricky and the combat is nothing special but nothing is annoying enough to take out from this tomb raider experience!
  7. Sep 23, 2011
    4
    This game takes one step forward and two giant leaps back. I'll get the positive things out of the way first, the grappling hook behaves much better than previous games, the graphics are quite good (when still) and there are some genuinely clever puzzles to be solved. Now for the bad stuff... the camera almost never wants to cooperate with you, the frame rate stutters frequently, theThis game takes one step forward and two giant leaps back. I'll get the positive things out of the way first, the grappling hook behaves much better than previous games, the graphics are quite good (when still) and there are some genuinely clever puzzles to be solved. Now for the bad stuff... the camera almost never wants to cooperate with you, the frame rate stutters frequently, the controls for the platforming segments are clumsy and broken, the combat is still terrible (as it was in previous games) put all those things together and you have one bad game. Despite pretty graphics and clever puzzles, the poor execution of the other gameplay elements prevented me from enjoying this game. Expand
  8. BartR
    Dec 1, 2008
    4
    The game is wonderful, when it works. It is plagued by constant bugs and glitches, many a time rendering your game unplayable, and having to restart a level completely. I have gotten stuck without possibility of a fix twice now, and promptly returning the game back to GameFly. Too frustrating of an experience, and I can't believe these things passed QA.
  9. MariaC
    Dec 9, 2008
    10
    The camera can sometimes be a challenge, but don't be fooled by the incompetent players and reviewers. The controls are fine and this game is in no way too difficult. It seems these days people have forgotten how to play games and expect everything to be presented to them on a gold platter. With the exception of the mediocre combat (which is still entertaining) there is isn't a The camera can sometimes be a challenge, but don't be fooled by the incompetent players and reviewers. The controls are fine and this game is in no way too difficult. It seems these days people have forgotten how to play games and expect everything to be presented to them on a gold platter. With the exception of the mediocre combat (which is still entertaining) there is isn't a single dull moment, and many OMG moments follow in rapid succession while going through this beautiful game. Forget about the comparisons to a certain game, this is what Tomb Raider has always been about, and it does is extremely well! Expand
  10. ashmenu
    Jan 17, 2009
    8
    I didn't finished it but for the moment i like it a lot. huge and beautifully designed levels, had the same feeling as in the first one or in shadow of colossus, fellin of loneliness and littleness... that's what i wanted from tr, the essence, a trip to misterious reality-like monuments and even if the story or cinematics look stupid, it's good.
  11. KorwynCronen
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    building this game on the very same system the whole series was born. and building it on another system with extra exclusive DLC. What do you take PlayStation gamers for, you money slave. I once liked this series but no more. I will never even consider getting any Tomb Raider game ever again, not on PlayStation system, not on any other system. Hope Microsoft paid you well enough to ditchbuilding this game on the very same system the whole series was born. and building it on another system with extra exclusive DLC. What do you take PlayStation gamers for, you money slave. I once liked this series but no more. I will never even consider getting any Tomb Raider game ever again, not on PlayStation system, not on any other system. Hope Microsoft paid you well enough to ditch some of your loyal customers. Good luck selling your games Eidos. Expand
  12. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    (About the PC version)
    This Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't
    (About the PC version)
    This Graphics are just unbelievable. I have a lot of games in my PC, most of them are much more recent than Tomb Raider Underworld. But no one matches Underworld Graphics. The graphics are so good that sometimes it's hard to pay attention in gameplay. You just stay and watch, watch, watch. And it's so light. The problem of the game is rush storyline, and we can't absorb Lara's personality and empathize with her. The jump system sometimes is annoying, and don't obey you. Even with perfect jumps, and even when you have absolutely sure it won't miss.... the jump fails and you watch Lara die. If you like loneliness exploring game. Solitude, and drool over scenarios, sound, atmosphere. You can't miss this game. It's awesome.
    Expand
  13. Apr 28, 2014
    4
    This game would be perfect... if it didn't have as much puzzles. i HATE puzzles. on the other hand, the combat is really fun, and the new ' hanging and shooting' mechanic is great. All that is bad is the puzzles. I can't really say much else.
  14. JVC
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    The story ties everything nicely and focuses on putting Lara back to the core of Tomb Raider: exploration. Her skills are great and controls well, without looking abnormally superhuman. Her acting and personality is maintained, as what was started with Crystal Dynamics. Graphics look top-notch and the little details blow your mind. The way she gets her clothes wet, the way she gets soiled The story ties everything nicely and focuses on putting Lara back to the core of Tomb Raider: exploration. Her skills are great and controls well, without looking abnormally superhuman. Her acting and personality is maintained, as what was started with Crystal Dynamics. Graphics look top-notch and the little details blow your mind. The way she gets her clothes wet, the way she gets soiled after exploring, the way she movies especially whilst free-climbing, it all looks great. Music is top as usual, with ambient sounds that flourish at the right moments. Gunplay can be improved but its not really the focus of the game, is it? Lara indeed needs to update herself but staying as she is isn't necessarily a bad thing. Tomb Raider has that quaint experience that reminds me of old games, executed in today's technology. Expand
  15. MartinK
    Dec 3, 2008
    7
    The game is a must for Tomb Raider fans. Great graphics, great puzzles, and it's back to tomb raiding from start to finish. However, I have to agree with some of the reviews. The combat system is not the best in the world, and the camera is just a pain in the butt at times. Still it's a captivating game, for those of us who loves the franchise.
  16. alexalex
    Jan 29, 2009
    7
    This is not a bad game, it's just not a great game. The usual Lara camera and control issues arise and the combat is just not much fun (the hammer is good though). However, TR is about the running and jumping and these generally work well but go from blatantly obvious to obscure beyond belief. I suffered a few glitches and crashes which I don't expect from the PS3 and controls This is not a bad game, it's just not a great game. The usual Lara camera and control issues arise and the combat is just not much fun (the hammer is good though). However, TR is about the running and jumping and these generally work well but go from blatantly obvious to obscure beyond belief. I suffered a few glitches and crashes which I don't expect from the PS3 and controls don't map properly when you chance them but I can let those little slips past. I fun this game fun and you will like it if you are a fan. Expand
  17. wakey
    Mar 16, 2009
    2
    Its boring, the only game I have known where you dont fight a boss at all during the whole game, I was lookig forward to the game and ended up being so dissapointed in it even the end is a video cut scene, I should have bought a video of it.
  18. DaveJ
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    Amazing game, beautiful graphics, stunning sound, loads of OMG moments. buy it
  19. Dr.Ghettoblaster
    Jun 15, 2009
    9
    The game does have OCCASIONAL camera and bug/glitches....but I will say these are a very small minority in the game and the media has blown them up to be huge when in reality they're not. The game was awesome and I loved TR 1, 2, Legend, Anniversary, and now Underworld.
  20. MarkS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    0
    This is an excruciatingly frustrating game. The camera is always moving and jerking during combat and when trying to jump it gives you horrible angles which force you to do a "guess" jump. I rented the game off gamefly and was able to get to the "God of Thunder" level after almost 8 hours of playing and then gave up. The game is way too hard, not because it's cleverly challenging but This is an excruciatingly frustrating game. The camera is always moving and jerking during combat and when trying to jump it gives you horrible angles which force you to do a "guess" jump. I rented the game off gamefly and was able to get to the "God of Thunder" level after almost 8 hours of playing and then gave up. The game is way too hard, not because it's cleverly challenging but because the camera, the controls, and the buginess make it almost unplayable. Expand
  21. FDM
    Jul 22, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bom jogo. Recomendo para quem gostou dos 2 últimos jogos da série. Possui gráficos medianos em relação as pessoas e monstros que aparecem porem os senários são magníficos. Dão um show a parte, principalmente quando se está em locais onde há predominância de florestas, rios, mares, que são super detalhados. A Câmera as vezes atrapalha mas nada que um bom comando nos analógicos e após uns minutos que possa fazer acostumar com os problemas ali apresentados. Então, está ai, recomendado para todos que gostaram dos jogos anteriores da serie. Expand
  22. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    It's a direct sequel to Legend. The storyline has improved from mediocre to average. The gameplay stays roughly the same as Legend & Anniversary with a few new bells and whistles. Visuals and music are excellent. The game feels darker and edgier. Not as fun as Legend.
  23. Feb 23, 2015
    6
    I finished The Last of Us and was jonesing for more. Tomb Raider underworld kept popping up so i rented it with playstation now. I immediately noticed the outdated graphics, even thinking it looks a lot like the quality in ps2 games...which later I found it is a ps2 game. There has always been something stopping me from playing tomb raider games, but this one i actually got into. I loveI finished The Last of Us and was jonesing for more. Tomb Raider underworld kept popping up so i rented it with playstation now. I immediately noticed the outdated graphics, even thinking it looks a lot like the quality in ps2 games...which later I found it is a ps2 game. There has always been something stopping me from playing tomb raider games, but this one i actually got into. I love scuba diving and exploring in the game. The fight scenes aren't overly complicated and there is a lot of ground to cover. On the other had the camera is horrible and the whole thing is super glitchy. If you grew up playing old consoles like I have, the crappy camera and glitches are kind of nostalgic, but once the nostalgia fades you are left with a game that could use a lot of improvements, but TONS of potential. I can't wait to see what the next tomb raider will be because i am positive that they will improve on all the bad points. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. While it doesn’t propel the series forward to new heights, Underground is certainly an exciting and challenging Tomb Raider game worthy of Lady Croft’s sizeable talents.
  2. The more I played the game, the more frustrated I got with the camera, controls, and collision detection. Had those technical issues been resolved, Eidos would've had a great game on their hands.
  3. I still don’t understand how Lara can use her guns underwater or why she insists on kicking priceless vase’s, but niggles aside Tomb Raider Underworld is actually pretty fun in places. It’s just a shame that this so called update was is so horrendously out of date in comparison to something like Uncharted which trounces Underworld at every turn.