User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 171
  2. Negative: 33 out of 171
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewM
    Jan 29, 2009
    7
    A poor Offering from the team who made the great Legacy of Kain / Soul Reaver Games. TR:U reqlies on you playing previous games, but gives a patchy back story to "help you" get started, which is of no use. The ability to jump off into oblivion when you dont want to frustrates, and though levels are large and design is good, I ended up killing my reself to restart rather then retrace my A poor Offering from the team who made the great Legacy of Kain / Soul Reaver Games. TR:U reqlies on you playing previous games, but gives a patchy back story to "help you" get started, which is of no use. The ability to jump off into oblivion when you dont want to frustrates, and though levels are large and design is good, I ended up killing my reself to restart rather then retrace my steps. I expect a tighter, better story (one that I actually am BOTHERED about and not a "continued from" previous games thread) and better controls & Camera. REDEEMING FEATURE.......its short! Expand
  2. NickR.
    Jul 21, 2009
    5
    The story itself was pretty nice. Simple controls made game play easy. The only drawback was the choppiness of the whole experience. Also the constant puzzle like environments, expect to get lost, ALLOT. If your into a challenge then try out this game. Also be prepared for a short game. Very frustrating, this game is not a personal favorite of the entire Tomb Raider series. In all this The story itself was pretty nice. Simple controls made game play easy. The only drawback was the choppiness of the whole experience. Also the constant puzzle like environments, expect to get lost, ALLOT. If your into a challenge then try out this game. Also be prepared for a short game. Very frustrating, this game is not a personal favorite of the entire Tomb Raider series. In all this game wasn't the best, but still good. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    6
    This review is late is I only replayed the game recently. So many bugs, even after the updates. Its a decent game, but I feel its hardly representative of a true Tomb Raider adventure. Then again, neither was Angel of Darkness. If you want an easy Platinum, go ahead and play this game, but its very frustrating because of the numerous bugs that they STILL have not fixed since its release.This review is late is I only replayed the game recently. So many bugs, even after the updates. Its a decent game, but I feel its hardly representative of a true Tomb Raider adventure. Then again, neither was Angel of Darkness. If you want an easy Platinum, go ahead and play this game, but its very frustrating because of the numerous bugs that they STILL have not fixed since its release. Not its not awful, but saying its a great game is a little biased. They could have done more with the story, characters, and, if you are not looking for treasure, this game can be finished in 5 hours. Buy it in the trilogy or buy it cheap. That way you DO get your money's worth. Expand
  4. MartinK
    Dec 3, 2008
    7
    The game is a must for Tomb Raider fans. Great graphics, great puzzles, and it's back to tomb raiding from start to finish. However, I have to agree with some of the reviews. The combat system is not the best in the world, and the camera is just a pain in the butt at times. Still it's a captivating game, for those of us who loves the franchise.
  5. alexalex
    Jan 29, 2009
    7
    This is not a bad game, it's just not a great game. The usual Lara camera and control issues arise and the combat is just not much fun (the hammer is good though). However, TR is about the running and jumping and these generally work well but go from blatantly obvious to obscure beyond belief. I suffered a few glitches and crashes which I don't expect from the PS3 and controls This is not a bad game, it's just not a great game. The usual Lara camera and control issues arise and the combat is just not much fun (the hammer is good though). However, TR is about the running and jumping and these generally work well but go from blatantly obvious to obscure beyond belief. I suffered a few glitches and crashes which I don't expect from the PS3 and controls don't map properly when you chance them but I can let those little slips past. I fun this game fun and you will like it if you are a fan. Expand
  6. FDM
    Jul 22, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bom jogo. Recomendo para quem gostou dos 2 últimos jogos da série. Possui gráficos medianos em relação as pessoas e monstros que aparecem porem os senários são magníficos. Dão um show a parte, principalmente quando se está em locais onde há predominância de florestas, rios, mares, que são super detalhados. A Câmera as vezes atrapalha mas nada que um bom comando nos analógicos e após uns minutos que possa fazer acostumar com os problemas ali apresentados. Então, está ai, recomendado para todos que gostaram dos jogos anteriores da serie. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    It's a direct sequel to Legend. The storyline has improved from mediocre to average. The gameplay stays roughly the same as Legend & Anniversary with a few new bells and whistles. Visuals and music are excellent. The game feels darker and edgier. Not as fun as Legend.
  8. Feb 23, 2015
    6
    I finished The Last of Us and was jonesing for more. Tomb Raider underworld kept popping up so i rented it with playstation now. I immediately noticed the outdated graphics, even thinking it looks a lot like the quality in ps2 games...which later I found it is a ps2 game. There has always been something stopping me from playing tomb raider games, but this one i actually got into. I loveI finished The Last of Us and was jonesing for more. Tomb Raider underworld kept popping up so i rented it with playstation now. I immediately noticed the outdated graphics, even thinking it looks a lot like the quality in ps2 games...which later I found it is a ps2 game. There has always been something stopping me from playing tomb raider games, but this one i actually got into. I love scuba diving and exploring in the game. The fight scenes aren't overly complicated and there is a lot of ground to cover. On the other had the camera is horrible and the whole thing is super glitchy. If you grew up playing old consoles like I have, the crappy camera and glitches are kind of nostalgic, but once the nostalgia fades you are left with a game that could use a lot of improvements, but TONS of potential. I can't wait to see what the next tomb raider will be because i am positive that they will improve on all the bad points. Expand
  9. Jul 23, 2016
    6
    Story is good. It follows after its preceding game, Tomb Raider Legend. Gameplay is nice, amazed by the graphics back then especially on the Indonesia level but its short. The average time completion of a level is like 30-1hr and how many levels are there? 6-7? Good game, could've been better.
  10. Sep 3, 2016
    6
    Tomb Raider: Underworld is an action-adventure video game, the eighth instalment of the Tomb Raider series. The story continues from the events in Tomb Raider: Legend as a direct sequel, but also addresses unexplained plot elements by association with Tomb Raider: Anniversary. The game was developed by Crystal Dynamics and published by Eidos Interactive.

    + Platforming Sections + Slow
    Tomb Raider: Underworld is an action-adventure video game, the eighth instalment of the Tomb Raider series. The story continues from the events in Tomb Raider: Legend as a direct sequel, but also addresses unexplained plot elements by association with Tomb Raider: Anniversary. The game was developed by Crystal Dynamics and published by Eidos Interactive.

    + Platforming Sections
    + Slow Motion Shot and Thor Hammer
    - Forgettable Story
    - Bugs and Glitches
    - Bad Camera
    - Control Issues
    - One Boring Underwater Level
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. While it doesn’t propel the series forward to new heights, Underground is certainly an exciting and challenging Tomb Raider game worthy of Lady Croft’s sizeable talents.
  2. The more I played the game, the more frustrated I got with the camera, controls, and collision detection. Had those technical issues been resolved, Eidos would've had a great game on their hands.
  3. I still don’t understand how Lara can use her guns underwater or why she insists on kicking priceless vase’s, but niggles aside Tomb Raider Underworld is actually pretty fun in places. It’s just a shame that this so called update was is so horrendously out of date in comparison to something like Uncharted which trounces Underworld at every turn.