Transformers: Dark of the Moon PlayStation 3

Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
Buy On
  1. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jul 29, 2011
    44
    Uninspiring, repetitive and dull. [Sept 2011, p.104]
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    40
    It seems like the developer ran out of the time before they could iterate upon last year's Transformers: War for Cybertron. This game winds up being a product of significantly lesser quality than it predecessor.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 14, 2011
    40
    By no means a disaster, but it captures none of the majestic, mechaphiliac idiocy of the movies. [Sept 2011, p.117]
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Aug 2, 2011
    40
    This quick-and-dirty movie game lures fans in with the promise of another quality Transformers adventure; sadly, Moon offers much less than meets the eye. [Sept 2011, p.86]
  5. 40
    The only way I can truly describe it is it's like going out to dinner at an ok restaurant for the first time. The food wasn't bad enough that you wanted your money back, but it wasn't enough that you would recommend it to anyone.
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    40
    Incoming movie? Quick, get me a game out there! That's how one could summarize Transformers: Dark of the Moon. With super linear TPS phases and a failed racing gameplay, this episode only has its Mecha license and steam-venting ability for itself. AI's a mess, most of the original sequences aren't really convincing, and its production values are clearly not on par with the rest of the game products of today.
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    Sorry, High Moon Studios. You need time to make a good game. Transformers: Dark of the Moon is rushed out, and it shows.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    First things first don't but this game. I rented it today and I beat it today. Its very short and unless you're a mega Transformers fan I'dFirst things first don't but this game. I rented it today and I beat it today. Its very short and unless you're a mega Transformers fan I'd say rent this game. The game play is a bit sluggish and the graphics are bland at best. Some of the character models look pretty good and it's always fun to see them go from robot to vehicle. The environments look pretty bad with the scale of buildings and vehicles feeling way of. The game really is just for those that didn't get enough of War For Cybertron, which is an amazing game. This game had huge potential it had some great game play and a great variety, but the character movements felt too sluggish most of the time and some of the boss fights became overlong and tedious. It was still great to see characters you love and a story that fits well into the movie. Bottom line if you like Transformers you'll like this game, just expect some minor frustrations from slow characters and poor graphics. Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    Totally mediocre game. As a Transformers fan it was mildly enjoyable being able to play as some of the characters, but the robot forms feltTotally mediocre game. As a Transformers fan it was mildly enjoyable being able to play as some of the characters, but the robot forms felt too sluggish for it to be fun. In the movies and cartoons and anywhere else you see them they're very nimble in their robot forms. Even though they're huge they don't move like they're huge. In this game you move like you're a giant robot. You can only move at one pace, the jumping feels very clumsy and most unforgivable of all there's no dodge button. I will admit I enjoyed watching the transformations between forms and the vehicle forms were fun when you're in an open area, but even if you absolutely loved this game I'd still recommend renting it as it's extremely short. I beat it in just a few hours and I'm not exactly an expert game player. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Clearly, you need to be a major Trans Fan who loves all forms of TF media (Loved the classic cartoon, animes, comics, and even the movies) toClearly, you need to be a major Trans Fan who loves all forms of TF media (Loved the classic cartoon, animes, comics, and even the movies) to appreciate this. And as one of 'em, I truly enjoyed the game as much as War for Cybertron even as the latter is the best of 'em. Full Review »