Two Worlds II PlayStation 3

Two Worlds II Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking place shortly after the events portrayed in the first Two Worlds, The Temptation takes place in Eastern Antaloor, in the regions surrounding Oswaroh and the Drak'ar desert. Featuring as much content as the original, Two Worlds: The Temptation will feature more intricate missions,Taking place shortly after the events portrayed in the first Two Worlds, The Temptation takes place in Eastern Antaloor, in the regions surrounding Oswaroh and the Drak'ar desert. Featuring as much content as the original, Two Worlds: The Temptation will feature more intricate missions, improved voice-overs and animations, retooled horseback riding, completely revamped combat, and a new game engine that delivers visuals that have to be seen to be believed. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Dec 16, 2010
    89
    One of the biggest surprises of this year. This game has many, many different quests, possibilities, a great and big world to play in. Fans of the The Elder Scrolls franchise, this is the best alternative you can get!
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    85
    No doubt, Two Worlds 2 is a great role-playing game with a fantastic presentation, an enormous world and an innovative magic-spell system. But on the other side, the inventory is very confusing and the characters are missing some details. Also there are also lags in the PS3 version.
  3. Feb 3, 2011
    80
    There is plenty of game to warrant your $60 and the flavor of the franchise is written all over it.
  4. Feb 8, 2011
    74
    Two Worlds II takes a big step in the right direction. They've still got to catch up to the rest of the development world when it comes to technical elements, and a better story with more interesting characters would vault this franchise into the 8+ realm.
  5. Feb 3, 2011
    70
    It's not a perfect sequel, but for those who remember the original Two Worlds, it's an adventure that is finally worth most of its weight in loot.
  6. Play UK
    Mar 21, 2011
    64
    A bit of a technical mess. [Issue#203, p.86]
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 24, 2011
    20
    There's not enough room here to say how much I hate this game. I could write a novel about why Two Worlds II is the worst thing to happen to the fantasy RPG genre since encumbrance systems. [Apr 2011, p.114]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. dpc
    Jan 30, 2011
    10
    First off, change the camera sensitivity to "1" and you're all set. The negative reviewer clearly doesn't have the smarts to customize theFirst off, change the camera sensitivity to "1" and you're all set. The negative reviewer clearly doesn't have the smarts to customize the game - which is why I give this a 10. You really can customize your experience any way you like, more than many RPGs I've played. Plus, it's charming in a goofy sort of way. Yes, the voice acting is horrendous. Yes, the story is derivative. But the gameplay and the rest of it is a lot of fun. And I agree with the comment about the major game sites not reviewing this. I was eagerly awaiting reviews before I bought it, but they lamed out and raved over Dead Space 2 and Mass Effect 2. No one could have played for a couple hours and reviewed? Expand
  2. May 2, 2011
    10
    I would like to write before, but this game is like good wine: you should wait a little to appreciate all aspect. After more than 30 hoursI would like to write before, but this game is like good wine: you should wait a little to appreciate all aspect. After more than 30 hours spent to reach nearly the half of the game I'll explain why a 10.0 is reasonable score.

    Fighting: you can personalize your fighting technique very easily; sneak like Assassin creed, fight like a good old school hack and slash, sniper enemy with bow, override the enemy attaking'em with a band of necris and a powerful helbard...

    Spell making: I can create my own spells, and they work well; the same for alchemy ( but I prefer a warrior mage )

    Wonderful world: you can explore everithing also if you have no active quest, you'll find always something.

    God mode: is not a cheat, but if you spend some time on spell making and crafting you can became truly powerful.

    Custom class: why the hell a mage can't be a good swordsmen ? In many games you have to choose: brain or muscle, muscle or dextrity ecc. here you can have a mage that hit hard with swords.

    Statistics: belive me playing using an heavy sword with 0,8 mt of range is different that use a wooden stick ( not a magic rod ) whith 1,7 mt. of range; and belive me sometimes the best choiche is not so obvious.

    Shops: try to stand in front of a shop during the night until the morning ( game time ) when the sun is high enough you'll see the shoptender arrive to open the shop.

    Old school game: a classic PC RPG on a japan console, this is something new and something that could add a lot of lifecycle to PS3 it's from the first summoner on ps2 that I didn't see anything similar.

    Bug: yes is not bug free, but actually I've so much things to do that I can bearly notice'em.

    So If you are a fanatic of technical issues you might not agree with my score, but if you are looking for a good game after spending a lot of time on it you will appreciate all aspect of this game.

    At last the main story is not so important ( so far ) but is more important the story itself or the way it is written: take the Divina Commedia is a masterpiece not a SCI-FI paperback also if the story can fit to both gendres.
    Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    First off, I hate it when people don't adjust settings before they review a game. It's narrow-minded and petty to rate a game poorly beforeFirst off, I hate it when people don't adjust settings before they review a game. It's narrow-minded and petty to rate a game poorly before adjusting the settings to your preference. Some people may say the settings should be good to begin with, but guess what; people are different. Some people like Easy mode, some people like Hard mode, and in Two Worlds 2, some people prefer different camera sensitivity.

    I dislike lobster-hand, but in all honesty I dislike small games more. The extra time and money taken out of erasing lobster-hand no doubt was channelled into making more quests, and this is a tradeoff I'm glad to make.

    I'd compare this to a mix of Sacred 2 and Oblivion, both excellent games, but both with a few flaws that hold them from perfection. While Two Worlds 2 isn't perfect, nor quite as large as Oblivion it seems, it's still excellent.
    Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2011
    7
    i have to admit that my original review of this game (a zero) was a little harsh. this game make a horrible first impression. the camera isi have to admit that my original review of this game (a zero) was a little harsh. this game make a horrible first impression. the camera is broken no matter how you set it, the dialog is horrible, inventory management is cumbersome at best, and switching between weapon sets mid combat is useless. at first glance this game will piss you off if you just spent $60 on it. however, if you give it a couple of hours it will really start to grow on you. i have spent approximately 12 hours playing this since i couldn't bring myself to lose money on a return, and i have to say i am pleasantly surprised. it has an interesting since of humor. the map is enormous and the quest ive completed so far have been fun enough. all i can say is give this game a chance, it does get considerably better after the fist couple of hours. Expand
  5. May 9, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like Napoleon Dynamite, Two Worlds II is a somewhat awkward conversationalist, and not quite the ninja warrior it dreams of being, but it grows on you after spending time with it, despite it's quirks.

    The game simultaneously shines and blunders...graphics are good enough, but tend to pop in, the open-ended manner of tailoring your character, and ability to switch on the fly between sets is fantastic, but the combat itself is rather clunky and the controls aren't as smooth as they could be, voice acting is serviceable for the most part, but dips into the absurd occasionaly; the crafting, alchemy and spell creation systems are deep and rich, but not explained terribly well.

    These small bumps in the road permeate nearly every aspect of the game..(even the manual, amusingly had the odd German word in it that got missed here and there.)

    Still, one senses the great game trying desperately to burst forth..the world is large, the art style is more unique than your standard fantasy-fare, there is a lot of side activities to do, and for every "fetch and kill" quest, there is an original one.
    There are good many hours to be spent here, which is appreciated in an age when games are getting shorter and shorter, and release day DLC is becoming common.

    If the developers can fix the major flaw, and bring the combat up to the level of a Demon's Souls, (or even a Fable 3), and polish up all the minor hiccups the game is festooned with, then a potential sequel could easily contend with the RPG big boys. This game however, is a 7.5/10...it's endearing in it's way, but the flaws can't be ignored.
    Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    6
    The graphics are bad, the camera is not very good and the controls and gameplay aren't very good either. There are also a lot of technicalThe graphics are bad, the camera is not very good and the controls and gameplay aren't very good either. There are also a lot of technical glitches. Then why a 6? Because the world does have it's charm and something inexplicable always made me come back to Two Worlds II Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2012
    1
    I played the game in FRENCH and the overdubbed is ABSOLUTELY atrocious. I never heard such amateurish actors that made that game unplayable !I played the game in FRENCH and the overdubbed is ABSOLUTELY atrocious. I never heard such amateurish actors that made that game unplayable ! I changed to English. Same thing, just very slightly better. For a RPG, poor dialogue just kills the game which seemed interesting none the less. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.