User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 79
  2. Negative: 11 out of 79

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. I play this game EVERYDAY since it came out back in February. The amount of fights available in this game is over 100 not counting the endless amounts of create a characters you can make yourself. The new PRIDE fighting mode is great. For hardcore MMA fans this is the major selling point. Bringing old school PRIDE fighting into this game is so amazing. To relive the old PRIDE fight classics is something that never gets old. The online mode is great. Having fight camps, and the whole online fighting system is about the same as last game only the servers seem much more stable. The amount of downloadable extras including classic fights and extra fights has also been increased since last game. My favorite part of this game is the submission system. I had so much trouble in past UFC games with the submission system and many others had the same. IT was very frustrating to even attempt a submission prior to this game. I love going for the submission now. Its easier and a much needed overhaul. I really can't find anything wrong with this game. I play it daily for the last 3 months and Its always a fun new experience every time I start to play. I would HIGHLY recommend getting this game. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    A good mindset to start this game with is to know what you're buying here: an MMA game. Calling it a "fighting" game may give people the wrong idea of what to expect. This game doesn't rely on fist/foot striking alone, it also incorporates a strong emphasis on wrestling skills and grappling. The Good: Improved Career Mode, responsive controls, improved submission system, graphics in the ring have improved, many modes to play through, acceptable Create-A-Fighter (CAF) options, and online mode adds nearly endless re playability. PRIDE competitions integrated into the whole package, even career mode.

    The Bad: Unorganized and overly-fragmented menus (especially in Career Mode), menu layout leads to a lot of unforgivable load times, load times are lengthy and over abundant in general, in-between matches the load-screen and video portions of presentation are low-resolution, character-select screen has multiple rows of fighters which is not explain by the game in any way because there is no game manual (not even a digital on the disc manual), Online Pass so you can't bring this to a friends house and play the online portion, character select screen avatars and character models look cheap and cartooney.

    That's my UFC 3 experience. Looking up, it seems I had more bad to say than good. But that's only because the good stuff didn't need alot of explaining. Despite the frequent and unnecessary load times, and lack of basic explanations on some of this games layout, this games shines. The quality of the fighting is what's most important here, and this game gets few complaints from me in that department. The only complaint I have is that despite the fact ground grappling controls have been simplified, there is still a very steep learning curve involved when compared to the "stand-up" fighting.

    Career modes menus are poorly laid out and in effect, lead to extra load times that could have been avoided. But I found this mode to be very addictive. I'm playing career mode every night with my CAF, and I don't know when I'm going to stop. Career mode has been simplified compared to 2010, but has been left with just the right amount of depth to feel valid. It doesn't feel "dumbed down" it fells just right. The mode has you collecting "Cred" which is basically the points you earn after each fight. Cred is used to power up your characters stats and abilities.

    I'm having a blast with this games career mode, and playing online with my friends. It's a solid effort, but I'm expecting them to step up the presentation for the next installment and work on streamlining those menus. For example: Have my cred meter displayed when I'm in the Shop so I know better what sponsorship. decisions I need to make. Don't hide the 2-3 load screens away. I got 10 sponsors to rotate and develop, and I can't remember every shuffle I need to make every time. Combine the Store and the sponsorship customization options into one menu please.

    Bottom line: This game delivers awesome MMA action, you will not find a better video game MMA package anywhere else. It has some presentation issues, but not enough to truly dismiss this as a bad game. Recommended to anyone looking for some MMA action on their PS3.
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    The best aspects of 1 and 2 put into one great game. The ground game is not overly complicated like 2 but is not as simple as 1. The revised submission is much better than "shining" until your skin falls off. Graphics are fantastic, and the training "mini-games" make improving your fighter a lot of fun. The new highlight reel creator will definitely take up a few hours of your time. All in all, you can tell they listened to their fans have created a great game with a wide range of characters from UFC and Pride. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    Many areas of the game systems are broken, or just downright unpolished; Single player training exercises fail to register player input, sparring partners who just stand and do nothing, the wrong video clip displayed for moves and constant online disconnects, and far more than I can be bothered to mention. I purchased the two previous titles in the series but this will be my last unless the publisher and developers change. To add insult to injury, much of the games content will be released as DLC, to help bail out the ailing THQ who are close to going into receivership and given their efforts to publish an MMA game it's no surprise they are in dire financial straits.

    For me personally I have no reason to recommend this to anyone who may already own one of the earlier versions, itâ
    Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    Best Fighting Game Ever!
    Well, Best fighting simulation for sure. Play on Sim mode with HUD indicators off for added immersion.
    The game gives you enough visual cues to do well without the HUD. I guess it would be smarter to leave them on for competitive online play, to not get caught with a submission or get TKO'd after dominating a match. While playing the CPU I don't mind come from
    behind victories I only play on the hardest settings. Their is a counter for everything, This game is very balanced. The ground system is much improved from past iterations. Stand up is crispy & clean. As an mma fan since my teenage years I am ecstatic about pride mode & some very noticeable pride fighters lacking from the roster (Igor Vovchancyn, Kazushi Sakuraba, Fujita, Fedor, Ufc & Pride Ken Shamrock) A few of these fighters would have brought unique style Imagine Super Mario Stomping the **** out of someone with Sakuraba in Pride.

    Still many dream matches can be had pitting UFC fighters into pride rules or vice versa.
    Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    I'm torn. If you don't own a UFC game and want one, then this is worth a 59.99 purchase. Pros: expansive roster; accessible yet challenging user-interface; and more importantly, just plain FUN! But that's really it. There aren't a lot of pros so much as there are fewer cons. For example, I like that I don't waste nearly as much time customizing apparel to get cred bonuses (though you still waste time; it be nice if there was a setting to toggle to have this done automatically to maximize cred forever). But again, removing a con is not the same as adding a pro. Cons: the menus and load-times are light-years beyond 2010--so much so that I was going to put them in the 'pro' column. But then I timed how long it takes for me to pop in 2k12 or Madden and be playing a game and how long it takes for me to pop in UFC 3 and throw my first punch and...yeah menus and load-times are still a 'con'. THQ's mma game is ironically in the same state as the UFC itself: awesome, greatly evolved but still glaringly in the nascent stages of development. The only difference is that as a fan of the UFC, I'm excited to be apart of this evolution as a fan and also proud of how far the sport has come But as a consumer of the game, I'm impatient and a little dissatisfied...though the satisfaction ebbs as soon as I lock on a triangle and switch to an armbar...then returns again as I spend the same amount of time waiting through load screens as I did fighting my opponent (not really but it sure seems that way some times). The first hour, I was afraid to navigate lest I initiate yet another loading screen. It seems like everything you do triggers a load screen. If you love the UFC and don't own the previous iteration, then this is worth the full price but don't expect the polish of a Madden, FIFA, MLB The Show, or NBA 2K. If you don't love the UFC and just want a good fighting game, I'm sure there are others that worth far fewer of your dimes. The toughest call is if you own 2010...; is it worth upgrading? The game just isn't that much different in a good way to warrant a full price up-grade in my opinion. I would rather have paid 5-10 bucks for a roster update or maybe even 15 if it came with added commentary. UFC 3 stripped away as much good as it added. I like the new submission system and the PRIDE mode is as fun as it is nostalgia inducing. And combat is more fluid but still feels essentially the same. Gone are the Blu Ray quality fights (or maybe I didn't navigate through enough menus to find them) on the PS3 edition as are the career mode interviews. In retrospect a more prudent purchase would be a roster update (not available unfortunately) and to wait for UFC 4, complete with Strikeforce, UFC on Fuel, FX, and FOX shows, and even more fluid fighting (elusive running aside, think Condit's combos against Diaz).If you've already paid 100+ dollars on previous UFC games, no matter how much it fixes, UFC3 just doesn't add enough to warrant more than 30 dollar purchase in my humble opinion. In the amount of time I spent going through load screens, perhaps I could have crafted enough simulacrums of fighters to make my own roster update. Sigh... Live and learn. As a brand new game, this is a fun and solid 8. As an update to a game (or games) you've already paid 60-120 dollars for, this is a bit of a disappointment. Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Simply spectacular. They pulled the best things out of the Undisputed 09 and 10 and put them together. They answered the fans hate over the past submission system and turned it into strategy instead of button mashing. Leg kicks are now important being able to TKO an opponent with them. Better game physics, graphics, and new character animations. Brilliant replay and ingame video creation. Couldnt be any better then asked for. Well done THQ well done. Expand
  8. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    First of all, I do not own one of the previous UFC games, so it's hard for me to assess the actual improvements. What I can say is that I have rarely been this pleased with a new game release. The game may have its flaws, such as long loading times and the repetitive and slightly boring career mode, but overall this game is nevertheless awesome: a ton of content, great gameplay, immersive atmosphere and no bugs that would be noteworthy. Expand
  9. Apr 9, 2012
    9
    To put it simply, quite easily one of the most improved sports games in recent times. The first UFC game was promising and gave THQ the foundations to push on, however I felt slightly let down by the second installment but third time round they tick all the right boxes and deliver a knockout of a game! The overall game mechanics are what we have come to expect but they have been tweaked and enhanced to deliver an even more realistic and engaging experience. Most notably is the new submission system which initially can take a bit of getting used to but once you get the hang of it it's straightforward - now, when you attempt a submission a mini game appears on screen in the shape of an octagon where you chase your opponents bar round it whilst trying to contain it. Other new features include the inclusion of PRIDE, a very worthy addition and in some ways more fun than UFC. There's also a new stamina system as well as new clinch controls. Added to that there are new transitions and new ground positions within the cage and a damage recovery between rounds. There's little things such as new KO animations which add more realism and the striking system has between redesigned. You also have the choice of which controls you wish to use Traditional or Simplified (basically Pro and Amateur controls.) They all make for a much stronger game but more importantly a much more authentic experience. The gameplay as you can imagine benefits from all these major improvements as you can very rarely now dominate a fight only to be amazingly flash KO'd, but you can now really plan out your plan of attack. The career mode has also been overhauled and is very engrossing where you nurse your fighter up from the very bottom to the top overcoming soe of the best names in UFC/PRIDE along the way whilst improving your ability to which style best suits your fighter. It's great fun and hugely enjoyable. Graphically the game excels due to these factors and you will be impressed as each fighter's own persona has been maximised to a tee. The commentary as always is fabulous. Online is as ever addictive and you don't need me to tell you much in that department as you very much know what to expect. As a package UFC Undisputed 3 is the best installment in the fighting franchise to date. It rediscovers some fine form and not only delivers an absolute knockout of a game but one of the best sports games around! It's also easily the most accessible of all 3 of the games as you can get to grips with it within a few hours of starting. All the enhancements and improvements as well as the tweaks and redesigned elements make this one of the best games of the year and also enables the UFC franchise to tale huge strides forward. Combine that with a superb roster full of all your favourite UFC names past and present with the likes of Anderson Silva, Jon Jones, Rampage Jackson, George St Pierre and Brock Lesnar all on show as well as DLC, you really cannot go wrong! Awesome! Expand
  10. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    UFC 3 After a year out the ufc series returns stronger faster longer than before the extra time spent in production shows as overall apart from the odd long loading time everything about the game now oozes quality. From a good range of difficulties beginner to expert and above and a good range of indepth tutorials for all the game modes. there are now two career paths player created Caf or Pro ufc fighter career although pro fighter does not take there base set of skills with them which kind of defeats the object of playing a pro fighter career but still a good addition. fighter creation is now more indepth with club banner tattoos snd emblems for clothing all fully customisable. there is also a video editor which while ok significantly slows down the games loading times if left on for every match. Best to switch video recording off unless you actually want to use it. a 50 second clip took over 1hour 20mins to compress and convert for upload way too long. the editor needs improving for next years title. slightly limited Camera angles for the editor (no free cam) and the game itself cam angles are ufc 2010 or 12, no broadcast far wide near over shoulder cam options maybe these can be added ln next year. Online while suffering from the curse of release week difficulties of every ufc title so far is up and running and working fine i played 10 matches thruout the day with no lag and no disconects. the fights were smooth button inputs were not delayed. surprisingly good even on a 2bar connection. So overall if u like fighting games add thisyoure collection. Kudos to thq for taking a year out to make the necessary improvements. And also for having a dedicated team for the online. As close to the real thing as it can get. ufc3. Expand
  11. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Awesome game with tons of features and a great roster of fighters. It also has new Pride Fighting features, which add some great variety from the traditional octagon style MMA. A must buy for any MMA fan, it's by far the best UFC game yet!
  12. Feb 26, 2012
    5
    There are some great improvements in the game but they seemed to leave out quite a bit. Theres no connection in career mode. No rivals, no joe rogan interviews, pre fight, post fight, nothing. They worked alot on the fighting part but they make this game feel like a arcade style game. You lose connectivity towards the created fighter you made. No personality in your fighter you just train once or twice and then fight. Once you do that youre back to square one. If you couldnt be affected by the deeper parts of the fights and like the bare minimum, i suggest this game. But for people like me who like stories to the fighter i make or, the realistic obligations you have as a mma fighter then maybe hold out for the next one Collapse
  13. Mar 30, 2012
    1
    I think it's amazing that in this day and age with high tech gaming systems this game can still go from loading screen to loading screen within what feels like a 30 year time period. So many loading screens, why? Gets very boring very quickly.
  14. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Best fighting game I've ever played. Great game!! All the fighters seem to be realistic as far as talent and moves. The only thing I see is that the ground game could be a little easier to do imo. On the hardest level, its very hard to get up off the ground or to get away from someone if they are mounted!
  15. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    For mma fans, a great game, for non-mma fans, awful game. I´m a mma fan and i liked, the graphics on fighters are much better than ufc 2010, career mode is good, multiplayer ok, but i didnt like the new grapling mode.
  16. Feb 17, 2012
    0
    Lame game. Not fun at all. It gets boring very quickly. If you have the means to purchase a game, please, don't let it be this one. It's dumb, repetitive, and uninteresting with almost no new features.
  17. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    UGH! This is UFC 1 & 2 all over again, with copied EA MMA submission-sytem that they actually failed at.
    Submission is NOT a cat & mouse game!!!
    -Too many glitches.
    -Online is unplayable!
    AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!
  18. Apr 20, 2012
    6
    While it is a big improvement from the previous UFC games. It still seems to be missing something. When most gamers look to grab a game and play it they look for replay value and how amusing the game is. And while UFC is appealing for the first couple matches it gets quite old as time goes on. There is no replay value and after a few fights you will be sure to put it in the old game collection and let it collect dust. The controls for new players take time for players to fully learn which can be quite frustrating. While the gameplay improvements are noticeable from the others, its not one of those games that i will brag about to friends or co workers. With that being said i give the game a lower rating since the game has little to no replay value. it is not worth the price or the time. Expand
  19. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    This game took a turn of which I was hoping it wouldn't. It focused on fighting, rather than being a fighter. I missed the Joe Rogan interviews and the on-camera sparring sessions, they made the career mode feel authentic and it created a lot more immersion. However, I can look past that considering the amazing improvements that the game has brought on. Knock outs feel much better when you can beat down your unconscious opponent for a few seconds afterwards. The god-awful submission system of the past game has been fixed, which was the whole reason I bought the game. PRIDE mode is great fun and it also shows another side of MMA that UFC fans might not have seen before. Can't wait to see what EA has in-store for the next game, though I'm a little concerned due to EA's past of having an absurd amount of DLC and always on DRM. Expand
  20. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Had to come back and rate this game because EA Sports UFC not only made me return to this game, but also made me realize what an amazing gem this is. It will unfortunately be many years before MMA fans will get to experience anything close to this. I don't play online, but if you would enjoy building a fighter from the ground up, training and experiencing his fight career, this is the game for you! Expand
  21. Feb 26, 2012
    0
    There are some great improvements in the game but they seemed to leave out quite a bit. Theres no connection in career mode. No rivals, no joe rogan interviews, pre fight, post fight, nothing. They worked alot on the fighting part but they make this game feel like a arcade style game. You lose connectivity towards the created fighter you made. No personality in your fighter you just train once or twice and then fight. Once you do that youre back to square one. If you couldnt be affected by the deeper parts of the fights and like the bare minimum, i suggest this game. But for people like me who like stories to the fighter i make or, the realistic obligations you have as a mma fighter then maybe hold out for the next one Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    85
    UFC Undisputed 3 rectifies many issues of previous installments, combines depth and simplistic gameplay successfully and contains more content then you'd expect from a new game in a sport franchise. It nears perfection in the MMA-genre, but there's still enough room for improvement.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    85
    Simulates brutality so every blow feels heavy and real. [Apr 2012, p.100]
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    90
    The undisputed champion of the genre. This time it's more accessible to beginners and offers an improved career mode, some tweaks to the combat system, as well as the famed PRIDE organization. [April 2012, p.76]