Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
Buy On
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 6, 2012
    70
    More than enough for hardcore fans to justify the purchase. [Jan 2012, p.83]
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    70
    Without a doubt, Capcom has successfully re-marketed what should have been a series of downloadable content packs into a fully-fledged disc release.
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    70
    Despite whatever disagreements may come from its adjusted gameplay, Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 can still be a fun game, and even more so with its amended online components.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 3, 2011
    70
    Everything this kind of expansion should be. [Christmas 2011, p.97]
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 36
  2. Negative: 7 out of 36
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I bought MVC3 on opening day and was very disappointed with it, mainly because of the online compared to super street fighter4. Well CapcomI bought MVC3 on opening day and was very disappointed with it, mainly because of the online compared to super street fighter4. Well Capcom has brought out UMVC3 and I must admit that this is a solid game all round. Online is allot funner to play because now you can actually spectate matches instead of just waiting around in the lobby for matches to be over. The 12 new characters that they added are extremely cool to play with especially Iron fist who plays like a super hero version of feilong. I have been waiting for a fighting game that could take me from SSF4 for a long time and it looks like Capcom has done that for me with UMVC3. The game controls are easy to learn but UMVC3 gets very difficult when you compete at a competitive level so just be aware of that, definitely a game that makes you spend alot of time in the lab but the results are worth it if you are into fighting games. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    What a waste of money! All of the things they could have done right with this game, and what do we get? They actually buff several top tierWhat a waste of money! All of the things they could have done right with this game, and what do we get? They actually buff several top tier characters and nerf a couple bottom tiers. And in typical capcom fashion, they nerf wolverine to the point of uselessness rather than taking out the things that made him overpowered. And who asked for mashable hypers?! What exactly will that add to the gameplay?! And the new characters are just as scatter-shot as the balancing, there are some great picks (Vergil, Strider, Ghost Rider) some okay picks (Doctor Strange, Nova, Hawkeye) and WTF picks (Rocket Raccoon, Nemesis, Phoenix Wright). Don't even get me started on the "new" stages. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Ultimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game with 12 new characters and some new tweaks for added to the game-play it's a fun game none theUltimate Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game with 12 new characters and some new tweaks for added to the game-play it's a fun game none the less, but I hope there isn't I another version of this game though like super ultimate marvel vs capcom 3 arcade edition. Full Review »