Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5115 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaimeS
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This game is simply extraordinary. I was worried online would not be good because its their first time having multiplayer, but naughty dog nailed it to create a very addictive multiplayer. The offline is great as well. I dont usually play the story lines, but this one i had to play. Cut scenes are not short but also not near as much as MGS4 as some people would claim(maybe because they This game is simply extraordinary. I was worried online would not be good because its their first time having multiplayer, but naughty dog nailed it to create a very addictive multiplayer. The offline is great as well. I dont usually play the story lines, but this one i had to play. Cut scenes are not short but also not near as much as MGS4 as some people would claim(maybe because they haven't played it). Naughty Dog has really stepped it up. For that i will consider their games they will release. Expand
  2. RobO
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Clearly one of the best third-person shooter games I've ever played...! Everything from the single-player to the multiplayer is nearly perfect. This is a must buy for all PS3 owners. This game is just so much fun.
  3. CodyB
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    I just finished this game and it is definitely in my top 3. Possibly my all time favorite game. I will decide that when I play through it again. Graphics, story, gameplay, acting, presentation... they really went all out on this game. So far it is the game of the year. I can't imagine another game coming close to this... and I am a HUGE Modern Warfare fan.
  4. HarveyB
    Oct 26, 2009
    8
    This game is good. not as great as people are making it but still very good. it is like the first Uncharted except the graphics have taken a jump alongside a better story. it mixes the gameplay of gears of war along with the climbing of assassin's creed and tomb raider and then blends it with cinematic perfection of Metal Gear solid 4. this game won't see sales like Halo 3:ODST This game is good. not as great as people are making it but still very good. it is like the first Uncharted except the graphics have taken a jump alongside a better story. it mixes the gameplay of gears of war along with the climbing of assassin's creed and tomb raider and then blends it with cinematic perfection of Metal Gear solid 4. this game won't see sales like Halo 3:ODST which is also a good game but still worth checking out at least until Mdern Warfare 2. rent the game, beat single player and play some multiplayer before MW2. Expand
  5. AlexV.
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    A Wonderful experience, but was this a game in the classical sense of gaming? The game and story and action will grab you by the balls and only let go on those brief breathing moments. The presentation and voice-acting is the best we have ever seen in gaming history and raises the bar beyond a point many developers will ever reach. But, there is always a but, is this what we want to see A Wonderful experience, but was this a game in the classical sense of gaming? The game and story and action will grab you by the balls and only let go on those brief breathing moments. The presentation and voice-acting is the best we have ever seen in gaming history and raises the bar beyond a point many developers will ever reach. But, there is always a but, is this what we want to see when we imagine us the future of gaming? Straight up linear gameplay with only little choices left to the imagination of the one holding the controller? I'm still not sure. Nevertheless, Uncharted 2 a game that will undoubtedly be thé game of 2009 and every self-respecting gamer should play. A new standard for interactive entertainment has been set. And in my opinion will only be rivalled by the third part of Naughty Dog his golden franchise. An instant classic which raises the debate what gaming is all about. Expand
  6. HowardC
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    This game is a truly majestic take on gaming! I loved the first game, but this one was jaw droppingly good at everything you could want from a game, gameplay, graphics, voice talents, cutscenes tieing seemlessly into gameplay, combat was so much fun, hauling people of the sides of mountains! Then between all the action stopping to look out at the mountains and scenery that could be real This game is a truly majestic take on gaming! I loved the first game, but this one was jaw droppingly good at everything you could want from a game, gameplay, graphics, voice talents, cutscenes tieing seemlessly into gameplay, combat was so much fun, hauling people of the sides of mountains! Then between all the action stopping to look out at the mountains and scenery that could be real pictures! Terrific action set pieces like no other game I've played! Special mention to how beautiful Nepal looked even when ravaged and the little touches of Nate and the Nepalese villagers interaction were special, not to mention how well the main characters interacted in general! Phew, and that's without the excellent quality multiplayer! Expand
  7. JacobZ.P.
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    If you love Indiana Jones over the top adventure, good humor, an awesome story with some really fun gameplay, this is a game for you. Make sure you pick up the first one though, because Uncharted: Drake's fortune is almost just as rememerable, but this is a game that friends and families should experience. 10/10
  8. Laszlo
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    The game is a technical marvel and sets a new standard for action games. However it takes a few hours till it gets really amazing. The Train and convoy levels were the most fun IMO. Overall I prefer more atmospheric games like TOMB RAIDER UNDERWORLD.
  9. SuperSlasher
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way Absolutely without a doubet the most awesome game I've ever played, and I've played a alot of games way back to Goldeneye on N64. The atmosphere, graphics, puzzles, adventure, voice-acting, musical score, surprises, storyline, humor, etc., etc., etc. are simply unparalleled on any platform! So rich & delicious it's like French Food. Completely satisfying in every way imaginable. Shall I tell you how I REALLY feel? Haha Expand
  10. TroyR.
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game. Believe the hype. What keeps this from being a '10' is that I only wished the cover/roll system was a [i]little[/i] better. When I was moving Drake deliberately, the cover system was smooth and awesome. When I had to creative with them in an intense firefight, I often died (especially on Crushing difficulty). Still, it's a reach to even point that out as a Fantastic game. Believe the hype. What keeps this from being a '10' is that I only wished the cover/roll system was a [i]little[/i] better. When I was moving Drake deliberately, the cover system was smooth and awesome. When I had to creative with them in an intense firefight, I often died (especially on Crushing difficulty). Still, it's a reach to even point that out as a flaw in an otherwise pitch-perfect gaming experience. Expand
  11. KevinC
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    One of the best games available on the PS3 and probably across all consoles and platforms in this generation. The single player is given alot of emphasis even though there is multiplayer included, which is very rare in games today as developers just toss away the storyline all together sometimes. The graphics are mindblowing, that word pretty much sums it up. Although there are minor One of the best games available on the PS3 and probably across all consoles and platforms in this generation. The single player is given alot of emphasis even though there is multiplayer included, which is very rare in games today as developers just toss away the storyline all together sometimes. The graphics are mindblowing, that word pretty much sums it up. Although there are minor quibbles like clouds not moving and things like that, overall the graphical presentation is astounding. The sound effects and voice acting are top notch and basically what all other critics say, movie-like. The cast is very likeable and memorable that even if someone who never played uncharted 1 will catch on. The gameplay is silky smooth compared to a lot of other third person action adventure games and the replayability is great with the coop and competitive multiplayer, though a few more maps/ levels and options would greatly improve the feature. Overall if you have a Playstation 3, get this game! Expand
  12. AlekseyC
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    greatest game since uncharted 1 across all platforms. Rapes gears any day. The story is amazing the 3rd person shoosting is amazing. Beat it twice and got the platinum throphy within 2 weeks. I don't go for platinums unless I like a game and uncharted is the only series ive ever beaten more than once. It'll blow your mind.
  13. DraganaK
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. The story, gameplay, graphics, sound, level design, controls, and multi-player options are all top notch. You're really doing yourself a great disservice as a gamer if you do not at least try out this game.
  14. Viorel800022
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    It
  15. CranstonB.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to What is up with the PS3 lately. It's really coming out with top notch games. I own both and have not bought a game for the 360 in 10 months. Uncharted 2 has got to be the best, most polished game I have ever played. I can't remember the last time I wanted to start a game over the minute I finished it. That's exactly what I did with Uncharted 2. People. NOW is the time to buy a PS3. Infamous, Demon Souls, Uncharted series, Killzone, God of War. Sheesh. How could you NOT want one??? Expand
  16. MichaelH.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    That's actually a 9.5 but since i can't put it ill stick with 10. This game is mind-blowing in every way; the graphics, storytelling, the characters it just gets about everything right, but it's not perfect because no game so far can be perfect; yet. I fully recommend this game and also recommend that you keep a close eye on Naughty Dog.
  17. BrianB
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Probably the best game ever made! No other game comes even remotly close to this, exept maybe drakes fortune. Everything about this game is top noch. Even the multiplayer is fun and i dont like playing online games! This is what all games should strive for in terms of quality. Naughty Dog is the best !
  18. RyanS
    Oct 30, 2009
    8
    This is a great game, but don't let anyone fool you, It is NOT the best game of all time (or generation even)... The Single-player experience if great, but for an adventure game, is pretty linear. It is pretty lengthy, but the scenarios seem kind of blended together (you have at least one teamate leading you around for most of the game). The multiplayer is unique, with the perk This is a great game, but don't let anyone fool you, It is NOT the best game of all time (or generation even)... The Single-player experience if great, but for an adventure game, is pretty linear. It is pretty lengthy, but the scenarios seem kind of blended together (you have at least one teamate leading you around for most of the game). The multiplayer is unique, with the perk system, to the gunplay. My biggest gripe is the inconsistancy and how the maps fail to utilize height advantage. Certainly a must have for PS3 owners, who have to be itching for a game to play lately... But doesn't come close to the metascore champion of the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Solid game, but doesn't deserve a 97 metascore... Expand
  19. ColeP
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Incredible game: awesome story, amazing characters, great humor, unprecedented graphics, and a multiplayer experience that has a non-mulitplayer guy excited to keep playing it! Everyone should give this game a try!
  20. sasanJ
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    The best game I've played on PS3 after MGS 4.Everything about this game is great.Animations are the best you've ever seen in a video game.Water effect is even better than the first game.Cutscenes are really part of the game and there are no borders betweean gameplay sequences and cutscenes.The only problem with gameplay is that platformer sections are linear but still better The best game I've played on PS3 after MGS 4.Everything about this game is great.Animations are the best you've ever seen in a video game.Water effect is even better than the first game.Cutscenes are really part of the game and there are no borders betweean gameplay sequences and cutscenes.The only problem with gameplay is that platformer sections are linear but still better than first game. Well my score is 9.8 but you guys in metacritic don't have it!So lets say 10!Enjoy it Naughty Dog!!!I'm waiting for Uncharted 3 Expand
  21. JoubertN
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    Gorgeous cinematic experience, nail biting moments; there's not as scary a moment as in Uncharted 1, where the zombies attack in the dark (or maybe it is just because I played it at night). Best game I've played.
  22. DavidD.
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    This game is Great! But what amazes me is how many people say that there are a lot of things wrong with the game but still give it a 10. A ten is reserved for the most perfect games. This is not a perfect game. You have to separate enjoyment and perfection. Uncharted 2 is a very very enjoyable game. The pro's are the real time rendering and just awesome graphics. Amazing acting. This game is Great! But what amazes me is how many people say that there are a lot of things wrong with the game but still give it a 10. A ten is reserved for the most perfect games. This is not a perfect game. You have to separate enjoyment and perfection. Uncharted 2 is a very very enjoyable game. The pro's are the real time rendering and just awesome graphics. Amazing acting. Loved all the cut scenes and interaction between the characters. That includes all the in game interaction. But as some have said, this game seemed like it borrowed a lot from other games. Personally I think it was borrowing a ton from the last couple of Tomb Raider games. Right down to the whole Tibet level. I know a lot of people wont like me saying this but I think many people wont give credit to what the last tomb raider did. The story in this game was average. By comparison, Tomb Raiders story carried over from Legend to Underworld was a lot more entertaining. I also thought the controls should have been a bit more precise and tight. Please don't take all of the negative by me and think I did not like the game. I loved the game and I am going to go get the first Uncharted. I am just pointing out things that are rarely mentioned by anyone. Expand
  23. vineetb
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    stellar graphics, superb gameplay, & brilliant characters.uc2 is realy one hell of a game. all my kudos to the devlopers
  24. mobius
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play great story. belivable charactors, great set peices, i own a xbox 360 aswell as a ps3 slim and i pity my 360 buddys for not being able to play such a fantastic game. just a note to my 360 buddys who think the xbox has its own exclusives, think again as those 360 exclusives all appear on the PC, i should know as i have a gaming PC, the thing that the PC and the xbox cant do is play exclusive titles that you find on the PS3. infact has the 360 and the PC play the same games im gonna trade in my 360 and just keep the PS3 and PC. Expand
  25. NickG
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Excellent.Haven't been this impressed since MGS4.This game is inarguably the best out this year.An extreme "miss-out" for Xbox users.
  26. Lazarebeech
    Nov 3, 2009
    7
    This review is on the single player campaign. I have not played the first Uncharted and went into the game with an open mind. I'm not the one to easily fall into the "hype" mode expecting great things. I am a casual gamer and rather a very picky one at that. The last game I found pleasure and worth my time was Metal Gear Solid 4. I have Assassin's Creed and Resident Evil 5 which This review is on the single player campaign. I have not played the first Uncharted and went into the game with an open mind. I'm not the one to easily fall into the "hype" mode expecting great things. I am a casual gamer and rather a very picky one at that. The last game I found pleasure and worth my time was Metal Gear Solid 4. I have Assassin's Creed and Resident Evil 5 which has been sitting on my shelf for months still factory sealed. One of these days I'll have the desire and courage to try them out. Well, on to the review of Uncharted 2. The game was very fun and manageable even on the hardest level. The cinematics, the voice acting, the story, the graphics, and the gameplay were all top notch production values. The unlockables were interesting and a novel idea. However the problem for me was in the gameplay's cover system, shooting, and platforming that prevented the game scoring any higher. Cover System. Very finicky during firefights where I wanted to cover behind a broken down wall however the character kepted on covering in the open on the opposite side whereby I would get killed in the most frustrating way because the cover system is not polished. And this mainly happens around corners. Keep in mind on the "hard" and "crushing" difficulty levels, you will die alot and repeat a section many many times over until you finally figure out a way. On "crushing", you die with just a couple bullets and the screen turns gray and stays gray for a much longer time than on other levels as well as smarter enemies that will flank you and use team work and their aiming is probably better than yours. That is why a good cover mechanic is so important in the hardest level and online. Shooting. The shooting portion was a steep learning curve for me as I am used to the mouse for aiming accuracy. The right thumb pad is not the best for shooters and nothing will ever beat the mouse in ease and accuracy of shots. That's why I usually stay away from shooting games on the PS3. However after I played through the game once, the aiming and shooting became alot more comfortable and yet it can't ever be compared to the ease and accuracy of using a mouse. Platforming. Now this is the part I hated playing. It was tedious and boring with no replay value. Not that it was difficult rather the fact I was wasting my time on such a wasteful gameplay element. There were too many platforming sections. I would rather view more cutscenes then spend another minute on such a boring and brainless aspect of the game. After completing the game on "hard" and "crushing" as well as unlocking everything and buying everything I would not go back to the single player portion of the game for a long time because of the platforming and puzzle solving sections of the game which was a complete waste of my time. And it's not fun playing certain chapters as it is playing the game from start to finish. There would have been more replay value if they had included different endings and different paths however the game is incessantly linear. And because the platforming is so boring and so frequent, replay value is practically nonexistant. Nontheless, this game is solid overall and kept me entertained for the most part. I will definitely try out the multiplayer and there might be a score upgrade. Expand
  27. JohnA
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    There are simply games that deserve a 10. Uncharted 2, GTA IV, Gears of War 1 & 2, Super Mario Galaxy, Orange Box, Bioshock, and Metal Gear Solid 4. Whether innovative or not these games are incredibly fun. Some may say that GTA IV and Gears of War 2 are "more of the same", and even if that is that case they improve on a fantastic formula. We can thank Uncharted and Gears of War for There are simply games that deserve a 10. Uncharted 2, GTA IV, Gears of War 1 & 2, Super Mario Galaxy, Orange Box, Bioshock, and Metal Gear Solid 4. Whether innovative or not these games are incredibly fun. Some may say that GTA IV and Gears of War 2 are "more of the same", and even if that is that case they improve on a fantastic formula. We can thank Uncharted and Gears of War for giving us a little bit of variety amongst our normal shooters. Quite honestly every game shouldn't be a Halo or a Killzone (which is way over-rated still). We can find problems with the above mentioned games but they are rather petty given the quality that is provided in those games. Uncharted 2 isn't the most innovated game, but it hits everything right. The platforming is impressive and smooth as is the shooter aspects. What makes Uncharted 2 better than it's predecessor is simply level design (and online). The level design is astounding and creates for awesome scenarios. Is the story great? No. Are there excessive cliches? Yes. However, I have always felt that stories in games at their best would make a pretty average movie storyline and an absolutely terrible book storyline. If you got a PS3 you need Uncharted 2. Expand
  28. KennyB
    Nov 4, 2009
    8
    Amazing game that should get a 10 but is let down becasue it is way to short !
  29. EdC.
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    I've noticed that whoever liked the 1st one did not like the 2nd one as much. I actually lik the 1st one more too, as for some reason the atmosphere and gameplay just felt better. But I still give the this sequel a 10 because of the amazing graphics and multiplayer + coop features which the 1st one lacked. Whoever gave this sequel a 0 are out of their minds. We know you're just I've noticed that whoever liked the 1st one did not like the 2nd one as much. I actually lik the 1st one more too, as for some reason the atmosphere and gameplay just felt better. But I still give the this sequel a 10 because of the amazing graphics and multiplayer + coop features which the 1st one lacked. Whoever gave this sequel a 0 are out of their minds. We know you're just trying to drag the score down. Expand
  30. JarrodS
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable game. It's been a long time since any game (including Mario Galaxy) matched the level of this. The voice acting,the animation,the graphics,the gameplay,the stealth elements. Simply an amazing 10/10 title.
  31. RickL
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely an amazing experience, words can't do this title justice. All I can say is: go out there, buy this game and PLAY
  32. MarinaM.
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing. My only complaint is that the platforming is too linear, but other than that, Uncharted 2 is THE GAME of 2009. Do yourself a favor and buy this game NOW. Don't wait till the price drops; seriously, it's that good. On a side note, for those who haven't played the first one, I recommend playing that first though if you just want to skip to the sequel Absolutely amazing. My only complaint is that the platforming is too linear, but other than that, Uncharted 2 is THE GAME of 2009. Do yourself a favor and buy this game NOW. Don't wait till the price drops; seriously, it's that good. On a side note, for those who haven't played the first one, I recommend playing that first though if you just want to skip to the sequel everything still makes sense, you just miss out on a few jokes. Expand
  33. WilliamB
    Nov 7, 2009
    8
    Graphics are great, storyline is solid, but overall not that fun to play and the online it a real let down. Final boss battle is an improvement over the originals, but still needs to be less linear and more exciting.
  34. anonymous
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect. Story, gameplay, balance, graphics.. To the point I'm feeling sad because of completing it :) An absolute must have for anyone even remotely into gaming (on any platform). Don't miss this gem
  35. PeterP
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Unbelievable. I never thought I could play a game that captured my attention like Metal Gear Solid 4 did, and this one really did it.
  36. JoshB
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    The best game this console generation. A definitive experience which dwarfs the brilliant Killzone 2 and the superb Call of Duty 4. The action is intense and difficult, but gripping and fun as well. The single player is the best I have ever played, and mulitplayer, whilst lacking the depth of Call of Duty 4, Resistance 2, Killzone 2, and others, remains as the most balanced experience to The best game this console generation. A definitive experience which dwarfs the brilliant Killzone 2 and the superb Call of Duty 4. The action is intense and difficult, but gripping and fun as well. The single player is the best I have ever played, and mulitplayer, whilst lacking the depth of Call of Duty 4, Resistance 2, Killzone 2, and others, remains as the most balanced experience to date, with variety in gameplay styles, great maps, numerous 'boosters', characters to play as, and people will be playing this for a very long time. A landmark achievement, anybody who doesn't own this game is missing out. Buy buy buy! Expand
  37. Chasyboy
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Uncharted 2 starts off brilliant, very well done, great suspence, unexpected surprises around most corners, story is better than the original, which was also good. Straight into the action brilliant!! the way it should be. The enemies AI was much better than Killszone 2, which is one of the best around, the various enemies coming at you at the same time was awesome at times am sure Uncharted 2 starts off brilliant, very well done, great suspence, unexpected surprises around most corners, story is better than the original, which was also good. Straight into the action brilliant!! the way it should be. The enemies AI was much better than Killszone 2, which is one of the best around, the various enemies coming at you at the same time was awesome at times am sure you'll agree. I really enjoyed that side to this game. Headshot practice on a moving enemy is very hard, but such is what makes it a great game. On the other hand, what I thought was not so good was the yeti's who jumped around and never seemed to feel any the headshots I pumped into them, just smacking me around alot. The first game also had a crazy bit in it with alien type characters too which was strange and frustrating. The gunfights were tremendous at times, as were the train levels, with attacking helicoptors and bad guys everywhere. The chase scene up the mountains revealed some tremendous crashes and explosions. I sometimes was stalling just to take in the views lol. I, like most waited for this game for a long time and was mostly impressed by everything except until I was being chased around, the controls were harder to control, sometimes I was dying after jumping the wrong way to what I wanted Drake to jump? Was it just me or was it the same for you? The high mountain graphics were totally awesome, although better control of Drake during intense chase and fight scenes would be better than running into walls and unable to move, which happened to me on a couple of occassions. I would have given it a 10 if the close control of the character was more like Lara Croft games. Can't wait for the next instalment though if its anything like this, until then, see you online.... Expand
  38. JamesA.
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Up there with Resident Evil 4, Bioshock, and Final Fantasy 7 as one of the greatest games i ever played.
  39. spyrewolf
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    this game was truly amazing, it really shows what the ps3 is capable of and naughty dog knocked this out of the park, every aspect of the game was flawless, not only is it beautiful to look at but the voice acting, story and pacing are tight! great game!
  40. JACKL
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Absolutley the best! won't put the controller down it is orgasmic! buy buy buy this game if you don't own it, best graphics, gameplay, and best story since Zelda! Orgasmic!
  41. AdamF
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning Initially renting this game, days after release, I was stunned. Never before had a game been so successful in immersing me into the story line than Uncharted 2. Building off of a great cast from Drake's Fortune, the actors are all back, with some new faces too. Going head first into the story mode is the best decision for you in this game, for you will experience much from beginning to end. I actually found myself playing this game three times through to find all the collectibles, and achieving all awards to gain money for cheats. Once you feel the story mode loses it's thrill, you won't be unsatisfied with the highly addictive online modes. Variants of popular shooter matches, like death match, capture the flag, or elimination will keep you busy for months to come. The co-op is also a blast to play, but although it only sticks to three missions, they stick to the story very well. Along with a store to purchase goods like costumes, perks, and co-op weapon upgrades, which add a very deep feel to the online. So all-in-all, the shooting is great, the graphics are great, the acting is great, and everything else is great. This game raises the bar in so many ways, and it never ceases to surprise. Expand
  42. AgnerS
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A One of the best games I've ever played and easily one of the top games of this generation. The story, graphics, and gameplay while not flawless are still the best to date on any console. Looking forward to the next uncharted and whatever else the industry has for us over the next few years. Multiple player is also great and I hope ND keeps supporting it for many months to come. A must have title in anyone's library. Expand
  43. ReeceL
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing, what more can be said. Superb graphics, gameplay, and a mindblowing story and musical score.
  44. DannyM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    absolutely awesome, the game of the decade. scratch that, its the best game of all time!! its an essential purchase, its the best game you will ever play, trust me, its got everything, get it!!
  45. nm
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Great game, not much to say but ain't feeling to well so don't really have the patience to do a full review but this game is great...
  46. EliJ.
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Ha, greatest 3rd person shooter since resident evil 4, and the greatest story line since bioshock. You can definitely tell that xbox fanboys just commented on this game and gave it a zero without even playing it. Cant let anything ps3 be any good can you xbox humpers? ha its just too funny. Honestly, if its a good game give it a good score. Jesus its like you guys are 5 years old. Ha, greatest 3rd person shooter since resident evil 4, and the greatest story line since bioshock. You can definitely tell that xbox fanboys just commented on this game and gave it a zero without even playing it. Cant let anything ps3 be any good can you xbox humpers? ha its just too funny. Honestly, if its a good game give it a good score. Jesus its like you guys are 5 years old. Uncharted 2 blew my mind and splattered it all over my Ps3. Expand
  47. DanielSG-17
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This is hands down the best game that I have ever played in my entire life! Even better than Super Mario Bros 3!
  48. MattL
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Greatest game ever to be created. Simple as that. I mean come on, who doesnt secretly have a crush on Nathan Drake? Its like the ultimate Indiana Jones film (Raiders) mixed with Gears of War gunplay and Tomb Raider esque platforming and styling. The story is the greatest you'll ever come across, and the motion capturing and voice acting make every scene look like a movie, except this Greatest game ever to be created. Simple as that. I mean come on, who doesnt secretly have a crush on Nathan Drake? Its like the ultimate Indiana Jones film (Raiders) mixed with Gears of War gunplay and Tomb Raider esque platforming and styling. The story is the greatest you'll ever come across, and the motion capturing and voice acting make every scene look like a movie, except this is a movie you will constantly want to watch. Expand
  49. daniellopez
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    A MASTERPICE wow just wow cannot miss this game if u are a true gamer GET IT just GET IT it wont dissapoint nd u are amazing devs cannot thank u enough for this not since re4 have i been so engrossed in a game
  50. Maxj
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    AWESOME! best game of this generation. graphics,gameplay,story,level design, multiplayer, are all perfect!Naughty dog has set the bar very very higher among the other developers.GOTY 2009.
  51. rockyRoger
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    perfect game,perfect gameplay. grafically gorgeous.level design top notch. best game of this generation.
  52. AndrewC
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    First off Graphics: The best of this console generation. Only Arma 2 and Crysis can compare with this wonderful work of art! The story is off blockbuster movie quality and is genuinely a laugh from start to finish, it is absolutely breathtaking. I completed the game and then guess what I did? Yep that's right, started all over again. The multiplayer ain't half bad either ;)
  53. MattB
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible. I honestly felt like I sat down and watched a ten hour long movie that I was immersed in. The graphics are amazing, rivaling the best, and the plot and gameplay just blew me out of the water. It has multiplayer, too! What more could you want? This is the best game I have ever played, flat out.
  54. codenamezero
    Nov 13, 2009
    9
    Solid game play and great story telling. I enjoy the multiplayer mode a lot especially the co-op, however i gave it a 9 because some part of the game aren't right, such as falling through world and getting stuck around the obstacles...
  55. steveh
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Best game i've ever played. Cod mw2 doesn't even compare to UC2 . Should run away with GoTY but it won't, becuase there are too many fanboys out there.
  56. AnthonyG
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    I have to give this game a 10. It reallly deserves it just with its single player. It did'nt need multiplayer but it's there and its fun too. If you have a PS3 BUY THIS GAME!
  57. GeraldO
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    This is the best game ever made. Period. Plain and simple. Hands down. Okay... or a least close to it... ONE OF the best. Game of the Year without a doubt. Nothing released this year on any console can compare. The cinematic elements are what everybody's raving about, and they are right to rave, but the best part is the fact that Naughty Dog has incorporated so many different genres This is the best game ever made. Period. Plain and simple. Hands down. Okay... or a least close to it... ONE OF the best. Game of the Year without a doubt. Nothing released this year on any console can compare. The cinematic elements are what everybody's raving about, and they are right to rave, but the best part is the fact that Naughty Dog has incorporated so many different genres into an Adventure game. Uncharted 2 is an action-packed adventure game with platforming, puzzle solving, and third person shooter aspects rolled into one. It's fun, addictive, the multiplayer is awesome, and the story is amazing. Buy it... now. Expand
  58. AndrewB
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    Naughty Dog are one of those companies that seem to make an great game everytime, and this time, even they have a truely outdone themself. Uncharted 2 is a game that beats the previous game in everyway imagineable. The single player is amazingly done and filled with memorable moments, they didn't even have to include the multiplayer, but man, I'm glad they did. Just like the Naughty Dog are one of those companies that seem to make an great game everytime, and this time, even they have a truely outdone themself. Uncharted 2 is a game that beats the previous game in everyway imagineable. The single player is amazingly done and filled with memorable moments, they didn't even have to include the multiplayer, but man, I'm glad they did. Just like the single player, it's filled with death defying gameplay and very enjoyable to play. As an overall package it's near perfection, easily Game of the Year and possibly one of the best games ever made. 96% Expand
  59. JoeD
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing in every way. Nonstop action, excellent plot, amazing cutscenes, and mind blowing graphics. This game deserves a 10/10. This is definitely the best game this generation.
  60. EdUARDOF
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    Graphics: 10 Story: 95 Gameplay: 95 Overall: 10
  61. TomA.
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Very good addition to the ps3's library, but somewhat overhyped. I give the graphics a 10, the audio a 10, and the gameplay a 9, only because it can get frustrating at times, and there are too many annoying bugs. But overall a great game and a must buy for any ps3 owner.
  62. DaveJ
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    Maybe I'm just a tough critic but I don't believe Uncharted 2 deserves a 10. Don't get me wrong, the game is good - but is it great?... Not in my opinion. My issues are with the linearity of the game. Why is there only one path, this is a game that could easily incorporate several different routes to reach the same destination. It makes it all too easy. Choosing where your Maybe I'm just a tough critic but I don't believe Uncharted 2 deserves a 10. Don't get me wrong, the game is good - but is it great?... Not in my opinion. My issues are with the linearity of the game. Why is there only one path, this is a game that could easily incorporate several different routes to reach the same destination. It makes it all too easy. Choosing where your next jump will be has no consequence at all; if you try to jump off a ledge you Expand
  63. BoS
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best game I have ever played and cannot put down. So refreshing feels like a new genre, in my opinion this game truly kicked off this generation. If you thought the first was good, you have no idea. Mad props to naughty dog! Hope to see a number 3 but wow I cant see how they can improve at all, one love....
  64. DominikJ
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    A well- polished set of mechanics, a cinematic thrill ride, and a surprisingly good multiplayer and coop feature make this a package that all PS3 users should try
  65. ThomasO.
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is THE BEST GAME AVAILABLE on the PS3. Sony and Naughty Dog have easily made the best game of this current generation for now. U2: AT's awesomeness will be talked about for years to come. If you own a PS3, get this game. Don't own a PS3, BUY ONE TO PLAY IT!!!
  66. dtT22
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    uncharted 2 is the best game of 2009!! the graphics is great! the story is engaging!!!! this game should be in the top 5 ps3 games of all time, o wait, it is it rules!!!!! ill rate it 30 out of 10 but i was limited with 10 so ill give it a graet 10 out of 10!!!!!
  67. EvanB.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    The only game I have played to completion this year! Game of the Year for me, and best game on the Playstation 3!
  68. RyanR
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    The best game out on any gaming console. The thing to keep in mind is that this masterpiece is PS3 exclusive(what else?). Best graphics, gameplay, story, replay value, and has the best themed music imaginable. This game is more than a 10/10. It's broken the boundry to an 11/10. Go Uncharted 2!
  69. MSmith
    Nov 23, 2009
    8
    Firstly I would like to clarify that my score of 8 is deliberately harsh. Uncharted 2 is a great game, certainly one of the best on the PS3. Having said that, my experience of the game was not the fault free, hyped experience that many people have had. The game is gorgeous and as close to a cinematic experience as any other game I've played. However, the cinematic nature of the game Firstly I would like to clarify that my score of 8 is deliberately harsh. Uncharted 2 is a great game, certainly one of the best on the PS3. Having said that, my experience of the game was not the fault free, hyped experience that many people have had. The game is gorgeous and as close to a cinematic experience as any other game I've played. However, the cinematic nature of the game makes it entirely linear. This is not a problem within itself but when you aren't doing EXACTLY what the game wants in certain scenarios it can lead to frustrating deaths. The checkpoint system is largely generous but there were a few instances towards the end of the game when frustrating sections need to be replayed often not at the players fault. The final boss fight was a huge disappointment and actually less enjoyable than the one from Uncharted 1. Ranked against other games this game would certainly get a 9 but certain issues cause unnecessary frustration and slightly tarnish this gem of a game. Expand
  70. DylanM
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    This is a all out amazing game. I've almost played through the entire thing, but let me tell you something, this game is worth that $60 rolling around in your wallet.
  71. fashizzle
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    this game is awesome from the graphics to the storyline to the gunplay its insane and keeps you on your toes untill you finish the game
  72. SpenokV
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    Simply one of the Best games i have ever played, on any platform, at any time. This goes up there with MGS4 and Zelda
  73. JohnT.
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    This game looks BADASS. Haven't got a chance to play it yet but it sure does look awesome, it looks more like a video than a game where you control all these movements. Graphics are pretty, too. Sadly, it's not on the superior gaming platform (PC) :P so this knocks off 1 point.
  74. JoeB
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    Absolutely great. 1 problem with game the penalty for quitting in MP is too much esp if you lose connection
  75. LoonieR
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played! Story, voice acting, animation and gameplay is all brilliantly executed. What more can one ask for in a game?
  76. BrettD
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    If you want to enjoy other games do not play this game. It will ruin every other game. The graphics on this game are possibly the best of this generation with the only competition coming from Killzone 2. The story is actually good compared to most of the tripe that gets passed off in other games. The controls are flawless especially when compared to AC2. This game isn't all hype like If you want to enjoy other games do not play this game. It will ruin every other game. The graphics on this game are possibly the best of this generation with the only competition coming from Killzone 2. The story is actually good compared to most of the tripe that gets passed off in other games. The controls are flawless especially when compared to AC2. This game isn't all hype like GTA4 it actually deserves the scores it has been getting. The best part is it's worth buying because the multi-player is the best experience out right now and that includes MW2. Expand
  77. MatthewE
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Possibly the best single-player gaming ever! The multiplayer gets almost as high marks. The vs mode is OK, but the co-op is friggin' sweet. Not perfect, but almost.
  78. AlanD
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Refines adventure games as Tomb Raider did back in 1996! A true masterpiece of a game!
  79. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games.. in fact, possibly THE best game ever made. The only disappointment is that it's a bit too short
  80. neofitoso
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    The best graphics ever and fantastic action.Perfect story.I never wanted this memorable game to end.This game is 10/10.MUST BUY.
  81. pg
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    No game has yet to reach the standards of Uncharted 2. The game is near perfect in every aspect.
  82. WoW,THisgamereallyRox!
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Hey! Ok, Uncharted 2 is one of the games that you won't forget in the rest of your life, this game is just perfect, since the storyline to the voice-acting, passing trough the gameplay, wich must be 9.9 (only a minor bug in the cover system, that is quite annoying doesnt make gameplay get a 10). Voice-Acting is spectacular, animations are fluid, graphics are unbeleiveble, story is Hey! Ok, Uncharted 2 is one of the games that you won't forget in the rest of your life, this game is just perfect, since the storyline to the voice-acting, passing trough the gameplay, wich must be 9.9 (only a minor bug in the cover system, that is quite annoying doesnt make gameplay get a 10). Voice-Acting is spectacular, animations are fluid, graphics are unbeleiveble, story is great, gameplay is 9.9/10, what else can i say? The game is perfect, GOTY 2009 for me, for sure, and probably GOTCentury, Naughty Dog, did another great job, Uncharted 1 was my favourite game to the date, now it lost the place, for it's sequel. BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  83. Kenny
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best single player experience I have ever had with a game. They completely blew me away with this game. The first one was good but this was Great! Felt like a high budget Hollywood movie but as a game. They way the characters reacted with each other felt real. This game is gonna be one for the records. Have to give it to Sony for finally having a winner on there hands. Wish One of the best single player experience I have ever had with a game. They completely blew me away with this game. The first one was good but this was Great! Felt like a high budget Hollywood movie but as a game. They way the characters reacted with each other felt real. This game is gonna be one for the records. Have to give it to Sony for finally having a winner on there hands. Wish they had more exclusives like this. Expand
  84. Tahoe
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Amazing campaign. Compelling story. Great multiplayer. It's not as extensive as MW2's multiplayer, but it surpasses that, because the graphics of Uncharted 2 are amazing, has a GREAT motion capture and superb voice acting.
  85. JedidiahR
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    This game is a beautifully crafted piece of work from on of the greatest developers in gaming.The game may lack originallity and innovation,but The Dark Knight lacked those things essentially and that is still praised.GTA IV lacked those things and that is still praised.Your unlikely to find a more immersive,more engaging game than Uncharted 2 in the history of gaming so far.For those This game is a beautifully crafted piece of work from on of the greatest developers in gaming.The game may lack originallity and innovation,but The Dark Knight lacked those things essentially and that is still praised.GTA IV lacked those things and that is still praised.Your unlikely to find a more immersive,more engaging game than Uncharted 2 in the history of gaming so far.For those who've played the first game it will have even more to offer as I found personally,that even after a year without playing the first game my love for the characters never wained.This game is perfect for anyone who enjoys action,adventure and a real sense of escapism that you just can't find in games like Halo,Gears or Resistance. Expand
  86. BL
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, controlling the camera in real time and even adding weather effects. Expand
  87. Memyself
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best game this generation so far. Great gameplay, great plot, great characters, I don't even need to comment the visuals and the voice acting. It's just top notch. This game is more than game of the year, so far it's the Game of the WHOLE 7th GENERATION!
  88. kj
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    is b t joking?.... i think he is trying to imitate Sol T for being a fanboy... no one could possibly have that much trouble without being mentally disabled...... this game is absolutuly amazing in everyway (i play it more than cod, and i am a cod junkie)
  89. JackSparrow
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Plain and simple, this is the game we have all been waiting for.........game of the decade! From graphics to platforming, this is as good as it gets.
  90. TylerD
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing. I played through the game three times in a row, and it never got boring for me. If you have a ps3, you must buy this game. If you do not have a ps3, you must buy a ps3, and then buy this game.
  91. RichardN
    Dec 13, 2009
    9
    I really don't understand Sol T's comment, exept that maybe he is a Xbox fanboy and this game can only be on ps3 (lack of space on normal dvd on xbox). This game is truly a masterpiece, the controls are very smooth, nice hitbox/aiming system, really good sound effects,VERY challenging at hard difficulty on coop and solo, awesome map design, insane story/cutscene even better than I really don't understand Sol T's comment, exept that maybe he is a Xbox fanboy and this game can only be on ps3 (lack of space on normal dvd on xbox). This game is truly a masterpiece, the controls are very smooth, nice hitbox/aiming system, really good sound effects,VERY challenging at hard difficulty on coop and solo, awesome map design, insane story/cutscene even better than a lot of movies. The multiplayer is very well done, it's very fair ( Actually more than other popular shooters like CodMW2, Halo 3, Killzone 2 etc..) and doesn't lag at all. This game doesn't deserve a 0 , Sol T's comment deserve a 0. the only reason why i'm giving a 9 is because if someone leave an online match, no one can connect to the game after that to take his place but thats only a matter of time for naughty dog to patch this maybe, anyway thats not a big problem at all. In fact all ps3 owners SHOULD buy this game. Expand
  92. IceTea
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    You might call it overrated, and you might say that it's all about the graphics, but then it's probably more you there is a problem with than the game. What do I think? Well, let's just say I'm having a hard time lifting my jaw up from the floor. Epicness FTW!
  93. JD
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    b t and Sol T got it all wrong. Sol T is a 360 fan, because of the fact he called the PS3 fail, and b t is obviously making Uncharted 2 seem hard to climb in. It's not really, it's super easy and dynamic. Plus, he says it lacks stuff again from OTHER games and a 362 exclusive, hence a fanboy Back to my review: The game is phenomenal. Character animations are NOT stiff, they b t and Sol T got it all wrong. Sol T is a 360 fan, because of the fact he called the PS3 fail, and b t is obviously making Uncharted 2 seem hard to climb in. It's not really, it's super easy and dynamic. Plus, he says it lacks stuff again from OTHER games and a 362 exclusive, hence a fanboy Back to my review: The game is phenomenal. Character animations are NOT stiff, they react very realistically to what you do, and other stuff. Multiplayer upgrade system is ridiculously easy to use, it SHOWS you on the Multiplayer menu for petes sake! Multiplayer is fantastic if you're up for getting killed a lot the first three or four games, requires skill. Graphics are best to date on any console, still overall is Crysis on PC. But for a 720p game, dang, it looks goooood. 1080p would have fried my eyebrows off with amazingness! Multiplayer is only team based though, and it should be. It wouldn't make sense for Drake to shoot Drake. Gameplay is great, and the platforming which sometimes you need to hurry up for, or you die. Oh, and one last thing: It won GOTY! :P Expand
  94. BDow
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    wow D V. this "inferior" logic is whether or not a game is fun. this is a fun game. its Uncharted used to be my favorite game till this came out. Why? because it is fun. whole point of the game. fun.
  95. brandonr
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    the only perfect game we've seen this generation and most likely the best single player experience ever!
  96. Sam
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is easily the best game of the year, possibly of all time. It has a plot as good, if not better, then movies. If you are new to the series, this game can be thought of as something similar to Indiana Jones or Tomb Raider. This game is perfect in every aspect. The single player so good if this game didn't have multiplayer it would still recieve a ten. The multiplayer has a Uncharted 2 is easily the best game of the year, possibly of all time. It has a plot as good, if not better, then movies. If you are new to the series, this game can be thought of as something similar to Indiana Jones or Tomb Raider. This game is perfect in every aspect. The single player so good if this game didn't have multiplayer it would still recieve a ten. The multiplayer has a wide variety of modes, all of which are executed perfectly. The game has the best graphics of all time. It is photorealistic. This game is a must-buy and if you don't have a ps3 it is the sole reason to get one. Expand
  97. VictorS
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best games I've played. Unmatched graphics, amazing story and characters, fuun multiplayer, epic gameplay, what more do you need?
  98. Novaria
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Fab game, cut scenes are seamless, effortless pick up and play and with the 5 play modes its a game for everyone.....a must in any gamers collection
  99. PaulR
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Perfect combination of... shooting, platforming and puzzling with production values that have to be seen to be believed
  100. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    What can I say? The best game I have EVER played! Great gameplay, kickass graphics! a must play!
  101. Jul 25, 2011
    0
    I have just recently acquired the platinum trophy for this game, which means that I have spent a great deal of time playing said game. How anyone that claims to care about video gaming in general wouldnt think this game deserves at least an 8/10 just baffles me. Im guessing its an Xbox fan-boy thing. They will call this a "Gears" clone or whatever but see the difference between thisI have just recently acquired the platinum trophy for this game, which means that I have spent a great deal of time playing said game. How anyone that claims to care about video gaming in general wouldnt think this game deserves at least an 8/10 just baffles me. Im guessing its an Xbox fan-boy thing. They will call this a "Gears" clone or whatever but see the difference between this game and GOW is that while Gears is with out a doubt a good game, the story elements and character development are lacking extremely. This game is such a great package! You have a fantastic single player story, great competitive multiplayer, and a highly addictive co-op mode. I would never compare this game to anything....its a gem in its own right. Let Gears of War be what it is and let Uncharted 2 be what it is....they are both great gaming experiences, except one doesnt run off of the almost obsolete Unreal Engine. Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.