User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2737 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Quite simply to put it, this game is amazing. Sure it may be linear at times and scripted but to me its the characterisation and livelyness these characters give. In an age where the single player experience is becoming less cared about Naughty Dog really show that its possible to put time into Singleplayer and make a fairly stable Multiplayer.Now as for the incredibly low ratings for this game they just appear biased all over. Some have picked out strengths and used this to criticise the game. The Xbox fanboys need to grow up and rate what they can legitimatly reveiw. Afterall this is PS3 exclusive and if you hate PS3 so much, how come you have an opinion on a game that CANNOT run on your system. Trolling about a game on a console you hate is low and immature. This game is a 9/10 for me as it kind of is in UC2's shadow, but still a good game. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    A real shame I really wanted to like this, I loved the first 2 games. As a self confessed Sony fanboy it upsets me. The balance of the game is all off. Aiming is extremely difficult, stupid QTE's and an anti climatic story that for the last hour is essentially uncharted 2 all over again. A lot of the story centre's around SUlly and Drakes relationship, this is unnessary, we already know they have a father/son type relationship this didn't need to be delved into in so much detail. On positive notes Cutter is an excellent character and has some of the best lines. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    First off, to justify my review, you should know I have achieved Platinum on Uncharted 1 and 2, so I feel I have some insight to the franchise and what I expected of this chapter. I will start by saying it is as fun as the other two, with amazing, lush environments, great cut scenes and a nice finale for our characters. The formula is identical to the first two games of the trilogy; you run around, shoot bad guys and find treasures and solve a few puzzles. That being said, I expected a little more than what we got from this outing. It seems toward the end the plot kind of trickled to a hurry up finale. I will try not to spoil the plot itself, but I still had a lot of unanswered questions in the end. I know I am critiquing the story a bit, but a great game usually has a great storyline, so if it fails a bit, so to does the game. I just felt like it was more of the same we have already encountered. Naughty Dog did not really stray too far from the formula of the previous installments. As I write this I am still trying to think what bothered me about it the most. It just seemed to introduce new characters without any kind of a back story. I mean, we know the bad guy is bad, and the bad leader was connected to our hero's past, but I found myself not caring as much about it as I did with the other games of the series. There were lots of lose ends at the finale, and I kept asking, well who was she? Who was he? Why did they end here? Where did that ring come from? Graphically is is probably the best you can find on the PS3 console at the moment, but the replay values is limited, and the multi-player is a bit generic. Too often lately I feel that developers of current games force a timeline and do not quite make the end of the game live up to expectations. So to summarize - fun game, beautiful graphics, nice cinematics. But at the conclusion I was like, that was it? It left me wanting more, but I knew that this story was probably concluded and left a lot unanswered for characters we've followed over the years. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Huge pluses and HUGE minuses for this effort by NaughtyDog. I'm wearing Drake's ring around my neck, from the collector's edition, so ya think I'm a fan?? BUT WAIT.... there's two sides to this annulus. Beautifully rendered and well-acted by the voice performers, this game repeats the fussy, infuriating ways of its predecessor. Think dying is fun? Well you will love U3's gameplay. As in the prior game, if you don't already KNOW how to react, figure on dying at least once, or maybe four times, in every fun action sequence. What's that you say? It's not FUN to die consecutively with no hints as to how to succeed? Repeated painful failure is NOT what you like to do in your leisure time? Sorry. NaughtyDog wants to rub your nose in it and spank you, again and again. Yeah, they made a beautiful vibrant visual world. But I had more fun playing DOOM on my PC in 1996 because the GAMEPLAY was better. Again, to be clear, this game is pickier than your mother-in-law and more obtusely opaque than your ex-wife. If you are single, and living in your basement, it's worse than being repeatedly shot down by the girls you try to talk to. Seriously, I would grab the director and beat his geeky stick-figure for not focus-grouping the "challenges" and noticing that they SUCK. I mean (SPOILER ALERT) I CAN FIND THE F*****G NORTH STAR!!! I don't need more hints about the objective. You irritating jerks don't know the difference between already knowing the answer and finding it on your own. Once I find the North Star, do you want me to shoot it? Lasso it? Bend it over and and show it the meaning of... never mind, I'm sure they don't even know where that was going. So they don't want me to do that. I'm appalled that people make a living designing things with such abysmal design. I mean BAD. Not visual design, which is superb in this game, but FUNCTIONAL design. Like a Ferrari with no brakes, and the windows don't open, and the stereo makes no sound, but it looks GORGEOUS.

    At least the studio is aptly named. Those naughty pups should whimper and cower, shamed by the product they have offered. $118 of my hard-earned (Canadian) cash for the collector's edition, when the plain old regular version would have disappointed me just as sorely. Bad dog! Bad! Bad!
    Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    dsffasdfadfasdfasfdsadsadfasd sd afsdfasdf asdfasdfsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdsdadfasd fasdfsadfasdasdfasdf
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    This game a disappointment to me, even though on first sight, it pretty much is nothing than a copy of Uncharted 2, which I loved and still play now and then, with new textures and I'm not one to complain when a sequel is too similar to the prequel as long as it's still well done, so why do I not like this game so much? The graphics are, again, extremely beautiful and you are presented with a lot of "hold your breath" action scenes, but something's missing. I never dropped my jaw like I did so often in Uncharted 2. The story this time was weak. The developers mentioned somewhere they first thought of locations they wanted to implement and then they wrote the plot around these and it shows. The game is basically being saved by the likeable characters and their banter. Conflicts are being introduced only to be resolved and/or dropped a few moments later. The question of who to trust is being raised several times and could've been used very well to raise some tension, but then the issue is solved soon in a cutscene (sometimes even the very same one it arose in) and off they go to new adventures. The same could be said about the "supernatural" touch towards the end, albeit as always scientifically explainable? This time, it happens at the very ending and is nothing but a very, very short "intermission" that is over after a few shootouts and cutscenes when the idea itself would've been interesting enough to make it a much, much bigger and complex part of the story. Actually, the whole "endgame" lacks. When you find the place the search for which has been the whole point of the game, that section is over before you know it, no sense of mystery or exploring the place at all. The amount of luck and unlikely survival this time borders on silliness, it's really way too exaggerated and in some cases, laughable. It has been part of the series, sure, but it's overdone here, especially the inconsistency of how deep a man can fall and still go unharmed. The ridiculously linear and narrow nature of the levels is another issue. The Uncharted games were never sandboxy, but this time, they overdid it as for like 95% of the game, you'll feel like you're just following a tight corridor, even when the environment is supposedly vast. Platforming is more straightforward than ever and requires no thinking or observing of the surroundings, just a matchbox length short of being a Quick Time Event game. I absolutely hated the shooting sections this time. They're either ridiculously easy or unfairly hard, or rather, annoying. Whenever enemies showed up, I was rolling my eyes and I really disliked all the parts where they basically dropped you in a narrow arena with little to no way of moving around or taking cover, then send enemy wave after enemy wave at you, including heavy armored dudes that take a lot of damage and guys with "(almost and really)one-shot-kill-guns". And what's up with all the snipers, I swear it feels like they are in every battle this time, so you'll frantically try to run from cover to cover while fending of criminals and agents, but it's not always clear where you'll actually be save and a lot of these battles become pure trial&error to find the perfect route that leads you to the grenade launcher. Stealth sections are annoying this time as well, basically because the whole stealth system isn't all that deep but is used too deeply, different from U2, where it was just a nice change of pace now and then. Clairvoyant soldiers who all will know exactly where you are and come storming towards you as soon as ONE guy notices you somewhere on the map are annoying enough in the shooting sections, but become a pain when you, just for the sake of variety, want to get through a section silently and one mistake, be it yours or the game's, forces you to either restart all over or give up on sneaking and shoot your way out for the rest of it. One thing that is new and I really liked was the little QTE that would allow you to throw back grenades, but unfortunately, Nathan Drake will throw them against the wall he is taking cover behind more often than is forgivable. Other control issues arise with several actions being on the same button and the game failing to realize what you meant. A game like this also has puzzles, but as it proceeds, they become less and less until they're gone completely. I also understand this is an action game, but do the puzzles that it does have really have to be easy to the point where you simply open the journal to be given the solutions? I doubt gamers are that dumb. There's exactly ONE puzzle that requires a little bit of observing I also hate how the characters will keep telling you where to go and what to do (as if there were any other options) all the time. Overall, it's still a very entertaining experience and the chase sequences ar awesome, but as a game, it feels poorly done and the story never uses its potential. 7/10 Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2012
    6
    The first two Uncharted games were top notch. I'm sorry to say that the third one didn't live up to my expectations. Like all Uncharted games, the set pieces and graphics are amazing. Usually Naughty Dog has a great story line to accompany it. Sadly, the story in Uncharted 3 lacks the excitement of the other two. It starts off great, but bad story elements drag it down slowly and painfully. I was confused not half way through the game by some of the occurrences. The ending is also not very good and neither is the boss fight. This game is definitely worth picking up, but it's not the best one in the series. Expand
  8. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    The game has great graphics, sound and an entertaining story. The locales are as amazing as the first two games. It would have been the perfect video game, however, had it not been for the unresponsive controls, which are almost game breaking. Having spent months playing Demons' Souls before playing Uncharted 3, I grew used to precise controls and minimal input lag. Playing Uncharted 3 has shown was frustrating thing it is when controls are not responsive. Seeing as the game has such a heavy emphasis on CQC, the lack of precision and urgency to control commands is unforgivable and nearly ruin the game. Save your money folks, and only buy this game when it goes on sale. Expand
  9. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    The gameplay is broken, save for the melee fighting (which even then is impractical half the time). The set pieces are inconsistent with some being unremarkable or frustrating and others being balls-growingly awesome. The story starts things that it can't end and ends things it never started as if half of the campaign was cut off at the last minute because they couldn't fit it on the blu-ray disc, what with the orgasmic visuals and all. Expand
  10. Nov 30, 2011
    7
    Hmm. Didn't really like this game that much. Had a terrible story and there was not much impressive scenery. There are some improvements in the combat and a few new guns that weren't in Uncharted 2, but not much else different. Puzzles are frustrating. Still a reasonable game, however Uncharted 2 was better.
  11. Apr 9, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Massively disappointing... While the two first games in the series were great, this falls flat on its illogical design, uninspired challenges and underdeveloped plot full of holes... While the graphics are generally great, the sound and acting also, not much praise can be given to the rest of the design. The game introduces some new characters for this third round, and Cutter is great, yet disappears from the game completely around mid-ways through - in spite of uttering a desire to see this through - they could at least have included him somewhere in the ending sequence. The desert nomads should also definitely have been fleshed out a lot more! Couple this lacklustre inclusion of the new good guys with some really wasted potential of the bad guys - unlike the previous games, the motivation of the bad guys is so shrouded in an attempt at mysticism you have to wonder if the developers knew themselves. They are hunting for a source of hallucinogenic water contamination, caused by imprisoned Djinn in a desert city (which is incorrectly pronounced - the d should not be clearly audible), yet seem to have access to the very same substance to use in a dart delivery system - while the plot clearly states they have yet to find the city where this contamination is found. Without giving away too much, to say your final battle against your two main adversaries is anticlimactic is the understatement of the year. I am aware a game like this require some degree of suspension of disbelief, yet there are so many glaring examples of "no way would they act like that!"-moments, such as when a whole city is crumbling, ceiling caving in and a giant sand pit is swallowing everything, why would a group of soldiers, who we don't know whether are mercenaries, fanatics or whatever, stay to shoot at us, their bosses already dead or gone, their mission a complete bust and nothing to gain by killing Drake, yet everything to gain by running away? Why would pirates place platoons to guard a derelict ship in a ship graveyard that they use as "torture chamber" or so, when the only discernible way into or out of the area is to scale walls like only Nate is crazy enough to attempt?

    Yet another prime example of lousy game design, is when you have battled your way through hundreds of opponents, preferring melee to shooting, easily knocking out the biggest and meanest, you suddenly encounter a guy, seemingly like any other guy, you engage him in melee combat, and no matter what you do, no matter from which direction you try to hit him, no matter how much you hammer that square button, you will not throw a single punch, as he will, without fail, deliver a kick to your nuts. Why? Because Naughty Dog decided part of the puzzle had to be that this one, a clone of every other brute, you had to dispose of with explosives. That's cheating! As is when you are doing everything right in a fight, yet you will still lose, fall down a wall in a rather nicely animated cutscene, and get to shoot your opponent - but why create battles we can't win, even by doing everything right? As for the bugs - I won't delve too deeply into those, aside from mentioning one that annoyed me quite a bit: this is a game where hanging from a ledge feature quite heavily. Sometimes, hanging in the wrong spot of this ledge will make it impossible for Nate to climb up, he will instead just jump straight up, and catch the same ledge again. Not that problematic on a regular ledge, you just move to the side and try again - though when the ledge is being consumed by a sand pit, you sort of have to wonder, why is he jumping up and down instead of climbing off the ledge? In spite of all this, the game can be a worthwhile play: It isn't too long, it features some beautiful vistas, great acting and animation, some nice thrills and a bit of humour. Character interaction is, as before, pretty well done. Just be aware that the game isn't up to the standard established by the second iteration.
    Expand
  12. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Ah. Uncharted 3. How do you top Uncharted 2: Among Thieves? Well, you really don't have to with a quality series such as this one. All the key elements are intact. Industry leading visuals, check. Great acting coupled with top shelf animations, check. Complex physics, check. Action packed, cinematic gameplay, check. I won't lie for the sake of my favorite developer. Another Uncharted game this generation without a noticeable engine upgrade would be a disappointment. That said, UC3 is still an unmatched technical achievement. I'm not sure what it would have taken to turn me off of this game but Naughty Dog is in no danger here. This is a perfect example of how all the pieces can come together to deliver an experience that oozes quality and polish. Personally I would love to see the next UC game take some risks. Maybe even jump genres entirely. As for UC3, it doesn't get any better. Expand
  13. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    The only thing you could expect from the Uncharted series after Among Thieves was for Naughty Dog to keep the same level of quality. I didn't believe they could do it; they did it. Drake's Deception is the very at least as good as its predecessor. Much like the third Indiana Jones movie, Uncharted 3 shifts the focus of the story to the past of main character Drake and mentor/sidekick Sully. And it does with masterfully, mixing the old cast with the new and bringing various new elements to the series. Combat remains fluid and the voice acting is as good as ever. The actions sequences are also great, even though occasionally it is a bit over the top and looks based bore on James Bond than on Indiana Jones. The scenarios continue to impress, with the new desert theme working very well and the graphics once again raising the bar (there are actually rendered grains of sand on Drake's clothes and hair). Uncharted 3 is an incredible game by itself, an amazing continuation to a great series that still has much to show us. Expand
  14. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Incredible game. do not miss this one. it improves every aspect of the previous games. It definitely deserves all the praise it's getting. BUY IT that's all.
  15. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This is what a blockbuster game is meant to be. Entertaining, action packed, the feel that you are actually in that moment, good story, strong characters and amazing gaming mechanics from graphics to gameplay. Drake's Deception has raised the bar graphically and story wise and it deserves all the praise it gets. With that sad let me explain why the 9 and not a 10. Uncharted has always been known to have a huge supernatural reveal towards the end which I felt made it unique. Yes they had the interesting flame head guys but they were not real. Also I believe the final fight and and the build up to end was a bit rushed and lackluster (with the exception of the destruction no spoiler!) I feel with how amazing each ending every game was this ending felt rushed. Other then that you would be a fool not to buy this game or at least play it. IT IS A MUST!!!!! Expand
  16. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Excellent game. I'll list on what it missing from this game:
    1) Offline solo multiplayer against bots. I would be cool to play team deathmatch against bots in offline mode. Or play co-op solo play without need to make it splitscreen.
    If that solo play and offline multiplayer against bots with friendly bots available would have been available then this would have been a game of the
    century (up to this day, until better game comes).
    2) Some annoying issues when collection rare treasures, they are RARE, but this is not so much of an issue. Just makes the feeling of accomplishment better, when that last piece of treasure in some set finally drops.

    This game is excellent. Just don't buy the DLC map packs if you are not very good with shooters, it will ruin your game experience, because you would be then put always against high level players.
    Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game. everything from the combat to the story is great. It's a very cinematic experience, and sometimes I even had to laugh the game was so freakin epic. The game has some linear parts, but you have enough freedom in combat to make it interesting. Some of the linear parts are also overshadowed by the fact that it's cinematics and looks awesome. The multiplayer is also very fun and can keep you interested in many hours after you've finished the campaign. If there's one complain I have it must be the puzzles, some of them are to easy, and the game actually helps you way too much, but still this is only a minor annoyance in one of my favourite games! Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This game is nearly flawless. Split screen online is great. The main story is great. The graphics, voice acting and music are fantastic and the replay value is through the roof with the multiplayer. The only critics I have is that I wasn't as blown away as I was with Among Theives. Still phenomenal though.
  19. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    When I played Uncharted 2 I thought the game would never be surpassed by any other game, 2010 passed and nothing, Uncharted 2 was still the king, then 2011 came, and that story changed, Uncharted 3 is the best in the series and one of the best games out there, it surpassed Uncharted 2 in every conceivable way, and it's a game that should be played by everyone, everything in it is just perfect, you should play it, you wont regret it Expand
  20. Jul 3, 2012
    3
    UC 3 is a unfortunate, unbalance disaster. And because of that, it makes UC3 nowhere as good as UC2. The enemy AI is broken, which makes combat horrendously harder now on any difficulty. The story/characters are still great, and the graphics are of coarse gorgeous, and even better than before with new character face models, but graphics can only take you so far, and unfortunately the game play, which matters the most, just wasn't fun for me, so I'll pass. Hopefully Naughty Dog will go back to how UC2 for the next one. Expand
  21. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Let me straight out say that uncharted 3 is better than its very famous predessesor uncharted 2. it took me awhile to realise this because uncharted 2 suprised me so much and I was expecting umcharted 3 to do the same. but uncharted 3 is better, it just didnt shock me as much. everything is improved from the shooting, to climbing, graphics, and even the conversations. the online did shock me though being waaaaay better than u2 online. I recommend u3 to anyone and everyone best game ive played in a while Expand
  22. May 2, 2013
    10
    Uncharted 3 is absolutely awesome but I don't know if it is better than 2. Thhe gameplay has been refined even more this time resulting in more fluid movement and combat. In addition the action set pieces have been stepped up even more now in the league with God of War. The game's story is great to and a cut above most of the other stuff out there but comparing to U2 even though it tries something different and does well there are just a few things that aren't explained enough by the end. The multiplayer is great aswell if your interested. Still one of the best games ever!! Expand
  23. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    While uncharted 3 is a great game, you can't help but feel a little déjà vu playing this. Some stages do feel repetitive. The plot and humor are still there in good proportion, but there is something just missing!
    I would definitely recommend this game but out of the 3 uncharted games, Among Thieves still ranks the best!
  24. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    When we just about thought that Nate and co had just stole the PS3 and made off with being called the best game of all time, the sequel shows up and snatches the PS3. Uncharted 3 is quite simply the most epic game on PS3 and quite easily the best action adventure game in existance. Some might be turned off with the inherent familiarity and the slightly iffy shooting controls, but otherwise this is pitch perfect. Taking you From London England Bars to French Chateaus and beyond, Uncharted 3 never stops with the epic moments. The minute to minute gameplay is so masterfully crafted that you rarely get time to put your feet up. Drake and his friend Sully are explored as characters in terms of their history and their uncanny likenesses to each other. The visuals are always pleasing- as can be expected of any Uncharted game and the countless epic moments just reinforce the unmatched production values. It might be waxing lyrical in the same vein as Uncharted 2, but Uncharted 3 is every bit as good and buffed to a fine sheen that is inarguably the most stellar achievement the PS3 has accomplished. Uncharted 4 has its work cut out for it. Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    The main reason why I bought this game at first place was because my cousin urge me too and I have no game to buy for my PS3 in a long time so I gave it a try, color me surprise it's actually a good one. It's not a perfect game due to the lack of actually having a good plot for the 3rd chapter in the series because it felt loose and never gave a satisfying conclusion. I was wondering how I could finish this game if the starting is already wearing me down but lucky for me I finished all 22 chapters and I will say it's one the best PS3 gaming experience I'll ever have (although the game is just way too short for my liking), yes the aiming is at times frustrating but it was never bad enough to discourage for enjoying the game... while I do think the game holds many flaws but minor ones, now I'll await a good multi-player from my cousin XD. Expand
  26. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This game has really made an impact on me, I've played Uncharted and Uncharted 2 but this game managed to top them both. This game has it's flaws, for example the controls can be slightly annoying but they were like this in previous games and this time around it's less of an issue. Multiplayer has kept me hooked, the multiplayer maps don't seem as basic as they were in Uncharted 2, but more should have been included this time around. The flaws of this game seem hidden under the fact that is the most breathtaking game this generation, an essential purchase for any gamer around. Expand
  27. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying this game is amazing. So much fun. Definitely a must buy for a fan of the series and i'd say for all PS3 owners. 10/10. That said let's get the minor gripes out of the way. I wish there were more puzzles, especially towards the end. The last 3 hours or so you have none. I was waiting for one final big one and it never came. The ones it did have were great but I felt UC2 had some better ones. Also the end I love and hate. Quite good and not annoying like UC2s but then again there wasn't much play more of a guided movie. That and the occasional stuck in an unfair firefight spot but that happens in lots of games. Other than my nit picks though the levels are incredible, the story is great as always and the graphics deliver in detail and smart design. I won't ruin it but the faces if you have played are my favorite, took a bit of starring to figure them out but once I did I thought now that's awesome! Every part of this game has insane detail and although I hope from here on out they start to open up the climbing and the routes to have a more open approach (even if they take this mechanic to a new series, who knows if this one is done or not) the climbing parts were much more varied and the objects much more natural. A bit of color hints but for the most part you felt like you were climbing on stuff instead of "this yellow ledge". I don't have much more to say without giving spoilers besides buy this game. oh and no worries on multiplayer, it's fantastic too. Opinions can be made in comparison to other shooters and such but this one definitely has it's own flavor and style to make it compete for my online hours. The addition of player customization and emblem creation are huge to me as a professional designer. May not be as big of points for others but I like to make things unique and my own and I love that they added this. Tons of upgrades and unlock and plenty of levels to keep you interested. The levels themselves are varied with their own unique situations I guess I would say which definitely makes you feel like they aren't just another map. Some are better than other of course but that's all opinion. To wrap up overall great game with minor gripes but only because it makes you wanting more. Covers all the essential, great gameplay, great story, great multiplayer. you will play again and again. Collapse
  28. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    One of the best game I play in 2011. Although, I think Uncharted 2 is still a better game. Single player is a 10/10. Multiplayer seen like a few steps forward from Uncharted 2 MP and a few steps backward, and also whey the heck did ND took out Weapon Expert on MP out? MP is like a 8/10 for me. So together, I have no complain but I'll take 1 point out because the MP wasn't as good as I was hoping and I even enjoy the summer beta more than the real MP.

    You got to play the game and experiences it for yourself since I hate spoiler anyway and this game is a great masterpiece game, just not perfect for me because I don't think any game is perfect in my book.
    Expand
  29. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    best game on ps3 by a long shot... This is a game so close to perfection.. wish i could give it 11 out of 10.. cant see why others rate it so badly but thats there opinion. i love the uncharted series and this is the icing on a damn fine cake.
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    On paper this is the perfect game. It has amazing graphics, an engrossing storyline and brilliant, likeable characters. However when compared to its predecessors there is something lacking. I can't quite put my finger on what it is, but it doesn't quite have the same 'wow' factor as the first two in the series. That said I found it to be immensely enjoyable and addictive so I can't criticise it too harshly! I thought the campaign was a little on the short side which added to my disappointment, but I haven't tried any of the multiplayer options yet. I desperately wanted this to be the 10/10 game I thought it would be, but it wasnâ Expand
  31. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    GAME OF THE YEAR! Id say this is one of the best games iv ever played! naughty dog have done a brilliant job :) 10/10 for me!
  32. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest game ever made. Story, graphics and story melts together perfectly. i`v played the previous UC games and this is awesome, but i must say that i liked the story in UC2 better than UC3, but that is the only thing. the uncharted series is the top of technical achievement and storytelling in the gaming world, it sits on top of the throne with the Mass Effect series. You really emerge into the story and the graphics is awesome. Naughty dog keeps up the tradition of making really amazing games. Expand
  33. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, the sequel to the very well obtained Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, but was it worth the wait?

    Uncharted was always known for the superb dialogues and great storytelling, especially Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.

    The problem with uncharted 3 starts at the very beginning. A new character gets introduced, where you dont know anything about. In continuation of that, that character is coming with you for like the first half of the game. Also, the way how you create a band with the characters in Uncharted 2 are not found here. Characters that were really important in uncharted 2, are completely dull and empty in Uncharted 3, and the only reason why they are in Uncharted 3 is to create variety. But what does Uncharted 3 do better than uncharted 2.

    in Uncharted 3, it feels like 2 seperate teams work for 1/2 of the game. The first half is completely slow-paced and the dialoques are still very dull. But at some point in the game, there is a twist in the story and thats when it becomes very well. Suprisingly, the dialoques are very good and funny, and the global thrill just goes a gear up.

    The thing with Uncharted 2 was that howlonger you were in the game, the worse the game got (or atleast less), In Uncharted 3, you begin very cliché and slowpaced, but then the twist comes and its non cliché and the pace is going faster.

    Still, I like Uncharted 2: Among Thieves more, because that game was just approaching 'perfection.'
    but Uncharted 3 is not a game you want to miss, if you have played the previous two titles.
    Expand
  34. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THE ACTION ADVENTURE GAME. It doesn't get much better than this. I truly can not say enough about this game. Scrapping the bottom of the criticism barrel to find faults I would say that it takes or limits control to the player a few too many time for my taste, also the desert scene is a little too hand holdy and long winded. These really are the only negatives you could say about this game. It has some of the best gun play ever in a game. The best combination of hand to hand with gun play ever in a game. Arguably the best graphics ever in a game. You always find yourself in a new action adventure scene that is both stunning technically and a joy to play. (I am looking at you horse back scene) Don't read more about it don't think about it, just go buy it. Expand
  35. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 3 is a game crafted by experts and a cinematic experience like no other.It puts most other games(and movies) to shame with its ultra high production values,graphics and dialogue.The gunplay,I must admit, is a little weak at times and the controls can really force a contest of wills between the player and the game itself.Also, UC3 lacks the fantastic beginning of its predecessor and takes a couple of hours to get going,but when it does it takes you on a hell of a ride.
    I've had a hard time deciding how to score this game,but despite some average gameplay elements,its almost unbelieveably amazing presentation raises it to a 9.Whilst UC3 will certainly get its share of accolades,I can't see it beating Skyrim for the major GOTY awards.
    Expand
  36. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    Naughty Dog tweeked too much with Uncharted's gameplay mechanics that this game isn't as fun as Uncharted 2. The game still has the great graphics, the greatest voice acting of any game I ever played, and, even though it started out slow and plotless in the begining, a great action/adventure storyline overall. Uncharted 2 was one of the best games I've ever played mostly because of its third person shooter aspect, but for the third installation the shooting aspect was altered for the worse. I actually had to play Uncharted 2 to make sure I wasn't mistaken, but Uncharted 3 has somehow managed to make it erratic and slower to aim. And, while I'm not a fan of precision jumping platform games, Uncharted 2's use of it was beareable due to the graphics attention to detail and voice commentary along the way. In Uncharted 3, the developers added more animations to Drake's movements that he ends up with a very unnatural herky, jerky movement that causes an unreliable platforming experience. It's just awkward and painful to watch or play. Naughty Dog furthered tweaked this series by including more fighting options by having timed button pushing, which I can't stand. If you want a fighting game, than add combos and blocks, don't have me just push one or two buttons according to what the developers flash in front of me. So the overall effect of the game on me was a great action storyline but since I didn't enjoy playing the game with its current mechanics, I felt I was just trying to get from one cut scene to the next in order to watch a movie and not actually playing a game. Since this game is suppose to be a 3rd person shooter, and it has done this badly, no amount of great graphics and storyline can make this a game worth paying full price to play. Expand
  37. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS EPIC!!!! Get this game, don't wait! It's one fo the best PS3 exclusives that you don't wanna miss. It's got great graphics, motion and physics. It's like Tomb Raider, but you are a treasure hunter in this game, and you fight thugs in combat and shooting. Multiplayer is awesome as well, better than most Third-Person Shooting games'. A solid 10 for this game!
  38. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    Naughty Dog: You guys are the best. You made Uncharted 2. Uncharted. F*cking. Two. Starting on a new game immediately afterwards must have been almost soul crushing. I know you all are very passionate about what you do, and it really shows in the finished product, but even so......needing to follow up your masterpiece right away instead of letting it soak in for a while was probably a very tough thing to do. Your efforts on Uncharted 3 are inspiring. You packed in tons of cool moments, while trying to flesh out the character of an Action hero. No easy task. With all due respect though, the pacing of Uncharted 3 didn't excite me too much. I felt that the game started with a whimper, and then all the set pieces after that were more like flashes of lightning than a building storm. It seems also that some changes were made just for the sake of change. The way Nate walks near walls has been compared to "Captain Jack Sparrow" and that analogy made me laugh several times throughout the game. The increased focus on puzzle solving, while very clever in design, takes away from the rollicking action sensibility which made UC2 so fun to play and replay. All of the puzzles in Uncharted 3 make me less inclined to trudge through the game again because they detract from the excitement of the game. And now, for my biggest complaint about the game: the gun fights and shooting controls. I don't enjoy them. The fights are tedious where Uncharted 2's were fun. Wave after wave of enemy, often as you're just leaving another plot point on the checklist. And the fact that the shooting controls are less responsive than your previous game utterly frustrated me. I stopped playing the game halfway through for about a week, in hopes that the controls would be patched. I waited and waited, but the patch never came. I eventually soldiered on through the game, but was continually annoyed by the controls. Sure, I adapted to them, but they weren't very much fun for me. All in all, I'd say that playing Uncharted 3 became a chore. Something i was obligated to finish, without feeling utterly compelled. Had the gun controls been better, i might have actually liked the game a lot more because i would have been enjoying that other 50% of it instead of constantly being reminded of how this game doesn't feel like the others. Please fix the controls. Expand
  39. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    No, this is not the greatest game ever made. No, this is not the best Uncharted ever made. It is a fabulous game, with lots of production values, great story, gameplay and a cast of characters we've learned to love. But, in my honest opinion, Naughty Dog has not improved with Uncharted 3. For me, Uncharted 2 started with a much more of a bang, which made it IMPOSSIBLE to put it down. I feel like U3 walks under the shadow of U2 with occasional moments of brilliance. Sometimes it's pure genius. Other times it looks lazy and uninspired. What's with the clone-thugs? It's impossible to be indifferent to 100 guys in a black suit and red tie (with almost the same faces). The game is beautiful, yes, and plays beautifuly too. But... they stepped so much further between U1 and U2 that's impossible to ignore that U3 doesn't look as inspired. It's like they started running out of ideas, I don't know. This is a great game, but it feels sub-par for the Uncharted franchise. Great, indeed, but not the greatest game, nor the best Uncharted. U2 remains the best thriller so far. Expand
  40. Dec 11, 2011
    6
    I don't know if it was the hype that ruined it for me, or the expectation that it could live up to Uncharted 2. Uncharted 3, while an alright game was a flat out disappointment. The story felt like a big mess, the 'treasure' followed the exact same idea as it did in the second game, and the difficulty was ridiculously increased on normal to being harder then Uncharted 2 on Crushing presumably to extend the already shorter-then-Portal 2 singleplayer. This game is a rent. I assume they poured more resources into the multiplayer, but I couldn't say because I refuse to stomach Sony/Naughty Dog's **** reasoning for needing an online pass for non-dedicated server multiplayer. I am now not so excited for The Last of Us because of this rushed mess of a game that had GOTY potential. ND blew it. Expand
  41. Feb 12, 2012
    3
    + Great graphics
    - Irritating gameplay and cutscenes
    - The difficulty is at medium setting mostly too easy, and sometimes infuriatingly difficult
    - Aiming is completely broken.
  42. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Letting it sink a little, i should probably shorten and change my review to this: I love Uncharted so much that the lesser story (than previous uncharted games) is a notable letdown. If you watch the developer commetary after finishing the game.. makes perfect sense. Hope they don't do that for the next game :/
  43. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Fantastic sequel to the 2009 game of the year. Bigger and more astounding set-pieces but with a slightly inferior narrative makes this only just bettered by Uncharted 2. Nonetheless this is a fantastic game with wonderful characters, settings and set pieces which make it a must-buy for PS3 owners. Naughty Dog have done it again.
  44. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Naughty Dog admits that they began planning this game around the set pieces. It shows. The set pieces are amazing to be sure. The chateau was fun, the ship was amazing, and the horse riding portions gave me the best kind of Indiana Jones flashbacks. The problem comes with portions of the plot that are hackneyed to jerk at the player's emotions specifically in the last level. The story telling is amazing, but fake-outs are not entertaining or rewarding. Further, where are the puzzles? The action is there, but I miss the complex puzzles that required heavy thought and planning. Lastly, the multiplayer is a diversion at best. These are the problems. But they are gripes at the most. In truth, it's a cinematic experience and a must for the fans of the series. The characters are flushed out, its fun, beautifully rendered, and full of character. As a fan I just wish it had a bit more to make it complete. Expand
  45. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Naughty Dog has done it again. The campaign was amazing and the storyline was just epic. And the multiplayer is much better this time around. And when the credits came up..... Well, I had to dry my eyes a bit.

    I don't think U3 is the last game in the series. I'm sure there will be a Uncharted 4! But to be honest I want ND to take a brake from Drake and bring back Jak and Daxter :)
  46. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    Although the games are not that bad, i think i never gonna be a Uncharted Fan. The Presentation is top, graphics and design are beyond any doubt and the shootings are not that bad either. But there are too long and there are too many in a row, the controls are vague, the story is boring and the gameplay is repetitive. Either you are shooting or climbing.

    Blinder
  47. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    Uncharted 3 had some adventurous fun and I recommend for a rental over the weekend but there is not a lot of depth to the game play, story or campaign to recommend as a purchase. The story is predictably cut and paste from The last crusade, there's some charm and is descent enough to watch, however there isn't much character development and is kinda forgettable and lacks surprises. The environment graphics look very nice, the character models do the job at a distance but look strange and jarring at close range in the cut scenes - the character eyes look weird. Uncharted 3 was ok Expand
  48. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    I was expecting so much more from this game. I bought my ps3 2 days ago and this game was one of the reasons why I did. This game isn't bad it's just not all it's hyped up to be (still can't believe freaking ign gave it a 10. . . damn Greg Miller). I'll start with the pros. The game is absolutely gorgeous. Probably one of the prettiest console games ever made. Another highlight of the game is the cut scenes. During the campaign I was looking forward to the cut scenes more than the gameplay itself. Next is the voice acting. Top notch. Not much more to say then that. Last is the multiplayer. A great improvement from UC2's multiplayer. Now the cons. The campaign is ridiculously linear. All you do is move from boring puzzle to boring puzzle, run into the enemy and hide behind something and kill them all, and sit through a cool cut scene, etc. There are some great moments in the story mode, but 80 percent of the time your doing the same thing over and over again. Very short as well. If you want you could finish the whole game in 8 hours or so. So there you have it. A good game, but not a great game. If you really want to play the some disappointing campaign then just rent it. I don't think there are any other features that could justify a full purchase unless you really like multiplayer. Final score 7.5/10 Expand
  49. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    I'll start off by getting the obvious things out of the way first: the graphics are outstanding, the stages are thrilling, the voice acting is perfect, and the musical score is amazing. The game makes more use of physics than the previous title and does so in wonderful fashion... the physics based gameplay in this game is probably the most impressive I've seen since Half-Life 2. The newly added melee system does a great job of complimenting gun combat and combat in general now is more challenging, due to more aggressive enemies. There are more stealth parts to the game but unfortunately, it's rather difficult to clear an area without being seen. The story is another tale of treasuring hunting but this time, focuses more on Drake and the lovable Sully, including bits of their past. But what unfortunately, ND felt it necessary to tweak the aiming system from previous game and it simply doesn't feel as smooth as the previous games. It takes quite a bit of time to get used to. And many of the events become a bit to cliched, like crumbling floors and falling ladders. Overall, this is a great game but it falls just short of the perfectly paced Uncharted 2. Multiplayer, however, is the highlight in this game. It's been significantly improved since the last game and is simply more fun so the game will keep you busy for months after you finish the single player mode. Expand
  50. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    After how good Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was, I wasn't sure if Naughty Dog would be able to match it with the sequel. But not do they match it, Uncharted 3 does almost everything that Among Thieves did better. The campaign was the best I've ever played despite only being nine hours long. There are so many unforgettable moments in it and it is driven by an captivating story line with several unexpected twists along the way. The online multiplayer is also much better this time around, this is mainly because of how good the maps are, and the Co-Op is also surprisingly good. Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception has the best campaign you'll find in any game and one of the best online modes you'll find, not that you need any more reasons to buy this game, but it also has the best graphics around. From single-player to multiplayer Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception is flawless. Expand
  51. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    in uncharted 3 drake is back on his search for fame and fortune, this is an excellent game and a must have for all playstation users, it combines 3rd person action with a fantastic plot, challenging puzzles and the ability to let you live out your own indiana jones style fantasy, to an epic score naughty dog have out done themselves
  52. Jan 31, 2013
    4
    The worst of the series. Beautiful visuals aren't much good when the story is so painfully stupid you can't wait for it to be over. The game obviously wants to resemble a movie. Well, it does. Unfortunately it's a really crappy movie with a weak plot, awful dialog and lackluster acting. They should have made a game instead.
  53. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    This game is unlike any other experience you can ever get from games. This games just makes everything feel so alive due to motion capture, great acting and incredible graphics. I used to think that people were over exaggerating when people were saying that it is difficult to tell when you playing and not but that is actually the case. Also, at some bits, I actually thought I was watching a film. This game makes you care about the characters and towards the end of the game, you really feel the struggle Drake is going through and the love that they have for each other. Not to mention the fact how addicting the online is. This is a masterpiece and it will be one of the most memorable game you will play. 10 Expand
  54. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    Uncharted 2 was, in my opinion, as close to perfect as you can possibly be, which thereby makes it almost impossible to make a follow up with the same level of excellence. This game sports all the same action, platforming and story telling that made previous entries so enticing and it is all presented with the same high production values we have come to expect. Despite falling victim to the "more-of-the-same" syndrome, the game still manages to be thoroughly entertaining from beginning to end. Where the game differs is in its extra focus on hand-to-hand combat which I felt was often misplaced and underdeveloped. My favorite addition to the game however is the Free-For-All multiplayer mode, most modern shooters rely only on team-based multiplayer these days so it was very refreshing to see this alternative. Expand
  55. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    Ok guys, let's just be honest. This is a pretty big dissapointment, especially the single player. Very short, only 8:30 hours on HARD. Because most games this generation are extremely short it doesnt mean you have to work towards such a short single player. Also, even on hard, this is a very easy game and almost everything will be done for you and you're getting tips all the time EVEN when you turn hints off. Many technical flaws like glitches, enemies becoming invisible, bad animations, dissapearing environments, VERY stupid AI almost emberrasing for a game with this power/graphics. Even in the gamecube-era the AI can be much smarter than this. Naughty Dog apparently choses graphics over story and gameplay. I hope they learned their lesson with this one.

    The multiplayer is fun yes. The best part of the game also. Not very innovative but still fun with friends. You get lots of content by level up, many weapons, medals, character costumoptions. Doesn't really hold me on like Uncharted 2, which is the much better game.
    Expand
  56. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3 is a great game, it is a must play for 2011. Nathan Drake's adventure continues in this epic adventure that doesn't quite live up to it's predecessor "Uncharted 2" but it is still worth playing. The plot is always as great as ever and the action as well but the shining point is the relationship between Drake and his mentor Sully, Uncharted 3 takes character relationships so well that you will actually care about the characters, that is how well the story is told and it in a way trumps Uncharted 2's story. The graphics are plain amazing with amazing set pieces and I find it cool that Drake has a few new animations that make it seem so realistic that just looking at it makes you go "Whooah!". The multiplayer is great too, it was good in Uncharted 2 but it got a revamp in Uncharted 3 to a good effect. The voice acting and character animations are great as always, again setting the bar for the PS3 as it always had. While there is a lot of good stuff there are sadly some flaws and that is in gameplay. The melee combat has been improved drastically so that is much funner and effective to use but then the controls are slightly clunky and gunplay becomes a little harder in part due to the new animations in Drake which makes the gunfights a bit more difficult but platforming is improved as well so it's good and swimming controls are frustrating too. Overall, Uncharted 3 is a great game. There is the control skirmishes but they don't hurt the overall experience too much. The game is one of the best of 2011 and the second best in the series to Uncharted 2. Breakdown for "Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception": Presentation: 9.8, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Gameplay: 9.6, Lasting Appeal: 9.8. Verdict: 9.7 out of 10 Expand
  57. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This game is better than uncharted 2 in everyway except the shooting.they changed it a bit and made it worse.the mp is awesome.co-op is awesome and story is definatly the just as good as uncharted 2.

    I'd give it a 9.5 and im a true fan of the series
  58. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Another Uncharted? Sure! I thought the game was great. I loved the story and gameplay (although it isnâ
  59. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    This is not a video game; This is a playable Hollywood experience, and a good one at that. The storytelling and character development is some of the best of the series, and the graphics are among the best the system has to offer. My only problem ( and it is a pretty big one) is the shooting scenes. I don't feel any Uncharted game has had good gun-control, and this one is no exception. It always feels that the shooting takes away from what every Uncharted fan wants more of : Extreme Jumping! With that said, I still enjoyed Uncharted 3, and recommend any fan of the series to jump right back in. Expand
  60. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    OK I was in the first place going to give this game a 8-9 score but theres too many people giving it zero which it does NOT deserve.So yea im giving it a 10 to help even it out, Apparently for some people the cut scenes and the occasionally frustrating gun fights can make the game not as fun but seriously? a zero? I dont think any game deserves a zero. Giving that is being just dramatic and overly hateful of a good game and making it look bad when in fact, its a great game by most standards. So aside from that this game is awesome. I'm honestly a little disappointed that it wasn't exciting from start to finish like Uncharted 2 was but its still a great game with top notch graphics, soundtrack, and very good voice acting. It has its funny moments and exciting thrilling scenes you'd picture in a film. Pick this up, You wont regret it Expand
  61. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Uncharted 1 was boring and repetitive, Uncharted 2 was one of the best games I have ever played. Uncharted 3 started off amazingly, just like Uncharted 2 but unfortunately it did not deliver. It's boring and repetitive. The story is quite good, it's just game-play mostly fails. I am not sure why but Uncharted 3 is like a cross between Uncharted 1 and 2. The story is amazing, cut scenes are awesome but game-play is exhausting and repetitive. The game eventually becomes a grind. Kill guys here, climb there, enter room with many spawning enemies, rinse and repeat through out the whole game. I found myself loving the game but at the same time becoming very frustrated during my game-play. Uncharted 2 was stellar, I must have played the game 5 times at least, this game I cannot finish due to being exhausted of the same things over and over again. Expand
  62. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 3 is one of the few threequels that maintains the high standards of gameplay and innovation set down by it's predecessors. The cinematic presentation remains consistent throughout yet never intrudes upon the gameplay, which has evolved into a smooth combination of gunplay, acrobatics and a new Batman-esque combat system. However, this style of combat can become tedious, often leaving you out in the open of a tense shoot-out. Smaller new additions include the ability to toss back grenades, which I think works well and suits Drake's **** attitude. The story itself winds a more personal, involving (if cliched) tale, but is at least bold enough to tread new ground with our characters. Multiplayer provides a unique experience, competent enough in it's variety of persistent unlocks and customization.
    Not revolutionary, but a great game by any standards. Playstation's flagship for a reason.
    Expand
  63. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    After recently playing Uncharted 2 again, i went into Uncharted 3 with high hopes, but in the back of my mind i knew it wouldn't be a huge leap forward for the series. And while my mind was correct, it in no way meant this was going badly, this was going really well.
    All Uncharted 3 needed to do was be consistent, and it achieved just that, offering more fun, explosive set pieces, solid
    platforming and exciting gun fights. I feel the people giving this game negative reviews are just trying to keep the overall score down, who knows why, if i don't like a game, i simply steer clear of it. The graphics of course are pretty much the best you'll find on a console, everything looks gorgeous, and Naughty Dog's attention to detail is staggering, really cementing them as one of the foremost AAA developers in the business. The music too works very well, the main menu theme a joy to hum along to while the action loads up.
    Characters get a little more depth too, and the story does seem more personal this time around but don't expect a Shakespearean level of development. It works to keep the action going, and the set pieces coming. The action is a little more subtle than Among Thieves, but there's always a lot happening so it never feels that way, until you weigh them both against each other. And of course, the multiplayer this time certainly feels much more complete. Not to take away from the last offering, but this seems to get it all right.
    Co-Op especially is a joy to play, while challenging at the same time. All in all it's a good follow up to the stellar Among Thieves, however, Naughty Dog raised the bar so much in their second offering, it was always going to be difficult to better it, and i think Drake's Deception just falls short of that. It's certainly not a bad game, it's fantastic, just.. not as good as it's last offering. And i think that is why everyone is moaning about the scores, Uncharted 3 doesn't do much new, but it does what it does brilliantly, like any true sequel. If this came before Among Thieves, i believe this would be the game sitting at 96 metascore.
    Expand
  64. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    It's hard to say this but overall I enjoyed Uncharted 2 more when it came out. The 2nd one was a much larger leap forward from the first Uncharted game. The 3rd one is not as much of a leap forward like the 2nd one was to the 1st one. The story also follows a similar formula like its predecessor. And also the story arc was more epic I thought in Uncharted 2 as well. Don't get me wrong the gameplay, graphics, and music are better in the 3rd one. So to sum it up in an analogy Uncharted 1 to Uncharted 2 is like going from the first iPhone to the iPhone 4; whereas Uncharted 3 is like upgrading from the iPhone 4 to the iPhone 4S. Scoring wise Uncharted 3 may be the best when it's all said and done, just the leap forward wasn't as major if you know what I mean. And in my opinion nothing tops the train sequence in Uncharted 2. Remember riding and taking out bad guys from the jungle to the snowy mountains in one scene? That's the pinnacle of video gaming right there! But that's not to say other people may have differing opinions on the awesome sequences in the 3rd one. Expand
  65. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    I suppose at this point, it seems cliche to say that it pains me to write a sub-par review for a game such as Uncharted 3. The comparisons with its predecessor abound. When I bought Uncharted 2, I played it and its multiplayer for about a year. The story, the set pieces, the music, the voice acting, the characters, the sound effects were fantastic. Gameplay had its share of small tweaks required, but it was assured that with a company like Naughty Dog, the little bits here and there would be fixed in time for this third release.

    The story is lacklustre, with one of the most anti-climactic endings of all time. The controls are floaty compared to UC2, the sound effects lack the same "oomph" factor, the voice acting is great as always, the music is rousing.

    The shooting bits were great - there was much more in the way of environments to really vary how a player approaches a fight with twenty different guys shooting at you at once. I almost wish there was more of these. The introduction of at least 5 or 6 different weapons was a pleasant sight. As was the removal of the FAL, replaced by the G-MAL. There were just as many stealth parts, but they were far more difficult than in the last game. But in some places felt cheap. Even in parts where I knew I was being silent, I was still caught somehow. The cover system hasn't been resolved. There are still several times when I was trying to cover into a wall where it instead rolled. Overall, a very average game. But a big disappointment considering UC2.
    Expand
  66. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    One of the best games this generation. Everything from awesome action set pieces, amazing graphics, great gameplay, fun multiplayer, and funny and adventerous story. All of those things make up a quality game like this. The negative points was I felt Uncharted 2 was a little bit better than Uncharted 3.
  67. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    Wicked game! Just got it and had to come on and give my feedback! Buy it, great game. That's all I have to say really its well worth the money and really draws you in. PS3 all the way!
  68. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This is a great game that should be experienced by all. The addictive story and gameplay make it almost impossible to put down. Even when you get done with the epic story, the multiplayer is a blast. You won't be disappointed.
  69. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    OH MY GOD THIS GAME IS AMAZING. Graphics 10-10 Gameplay 10-10 Sound 10-10 this game is the best in the series NAUGHTY DOG YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  70. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    I give this game a nine because although it's a great game, it's pretty much the same process as the last two.
    but overall I enjoyed it. out of all the PS3 exclusives that came out this year. this is probably the best out of all of them. I enjoyed the multiplayer which is a vast improvement but I can't get connected probably due to the firmware update it got the other day. there isn't many
    reasons why not to buy this game oh who am I kidding,there isn't any. If you have a PS3 and don't want to play COD like everyone else. play this. Expand
  71. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Amazing Game. Graphics really shows us what a 5 year old console can still produce. Some of the soundtracks in this can is awesome. I finished the game in 7 hours and 20 minutes. The gameplay is incredible, the new melee combat system is 1000 times better than what was there in Uncharted 2. Its said to see so many kids rating this game down just coz "t3h a1m1ng sucks!" comments. Please do us all a favor and switch on gaming mode on your tv and then stfu. Guys this game is NOT hard! You need to learn that not all games follow cod's run and gun style. In this game, if you THINK, then you will SUCCEED. I think they could have done a better job with the story, I mean it was great and all but, I think Uncharted 2's campaign was SLIGHTLY better than this. Anyway, Uncharted 3 is a fantastic game that manages to keep you on your toes the whole time. Must buy. Expand
  72. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    In My opinion . Untcharted 3 one of the most amazing games this year . The story was very good . The Graphics is really Amazing and I think that this game has the best Graphics in Consolos .
    It desrive a perfect score . And if you have PS3 then don't miss this game ..
  73. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    This is a really well developed game but can be a little stale.There are a couple moments that dropped my jaw to the floor, but most of the game I didn't have any emotion for, especially not as much as I did for the last two games. I thought there was a serious lack of the support cast development besides Sully, and the antagonists only show themselves maybe four times through the entire game. It still has some charming factors as Drake is constantly cracking wise, and there is a new character who is a perfect addition to the fantastic cast.

    Multiplayer is alright but not anything special, while Co-op on the other hand is fantastic - and there is finally local play. Naughty Dog certainly put a lot of time and effort into the multiplayer, creating an interesting social aspect, but it is not something for everyone, nor is the big draw. Controls can be a little finicky. There seemed to be a significant delay in pulling my weapon out during one specific mission, and rolling or performing specific actions sometimes will not work even if you hammer on the button. Granted, the controls need to be incredibly precise, but I found myself fighting the controls more times than I wanted to. Uncharted 3 is visually fantastic (besides some vehicles and at least one background terrain) but feels like just another adventure of Nathan Drake. That can be good many eyes, but there isn't anything fantastic story-wise and the cast is kind of left out to dry most of the game. There are some fantastic set pieces that will wow you, and the ending I think is handled better than its predecessors, but if Naughty Dog had another year, I could imagine something masterful. If you liked previous Uncharted games, you will without doubt enjoy this, but don't expect a revolutionary change in gameplay or storytelling.
    Expand
  74. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    All I can say is this game is amazing. There's not a slow moment at all, and it's I think just a bit better than Among thieves which is saying something. The story is good, and even a bit emotional. The action scenes are incredible, the hand to hand combat has improved greatly. At first I didn't like the shooting, it was a bit different from the others, but you get used to it. Graphics, don't get me started on that. Great graphics. Overall one of the best games I have played. Expand
  75. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Incredible game, in my opinion better than the 2nd one. After beating it I said to myself "that was awesome", mostly because of the set pieces like the boat, cargo plane and desert levels. The multiplayer is a blast, you can really see that ND worked hard on it, though I must admit that the melee system is hard to get accustomed to, but after playing a few matches you realize that it's just part of the game and if your smart you can avoid those situations. The coop is also fantastic. Expand
  76. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. It is perfect in every way imaginable, game of the year by far. The story is similar to that of a hollywood movie.The graphics are so good you will think the next generation of graphics is in your PS3. The voice acting is fantastic. The soundtrack will have you turning up the volume. Even the multiplayer is great, its really rewarding and has you coming back for more. Naughty Dog has once again delivered magic. This game is an experience like no other. A definite must buy. Expand
  77. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    The greatest videogame experience i have ever had, it even rivals the best hollywood action movies, and the best part is that you are doing all crazy stuff yourself! Add in there a robust, accessible, fun and deep mutiplayer and you got yourself the most complete game in history!
  78. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This game has a lot to live up to. Uncharted 2 set the bar for any sort of action adventure games to come. Uncharted 3 not only hits the bar, but pushes it to it's limits. It continues the story that the first two uncharted games made players become intrigued in, and fleshes out the characters they made us fall in love with. This game is considerably harder than it's predisposes, but not in a horribly aggravating way. Every time you have to reload a checkpoint you're challenged to find new ways to complete your goal. It's enthralling campaign coupled with it's entertaining multiplayer makes this game one of the best in the series. Expand
  79. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I just finished the campaign, and I immediately want to play the game over again. I had high hopes for Uncharted 3, and it did not disappoint. The characters are well animated, as expected; the gameplay is similar to the last two games with a few changes (more brawling here and there, AI is better); plot is intriguing and dialogue & action are entertaining. And the environments and music are spectacular and make the game; they aren't just background you barely notice and then forget. This game is simply a stunning and a visual masterpiece. It's all beautiful, detailed, and grand - a true cinematic experience. This is one of the best games I've ever played, (along with the other Uncharted games of course) IGNORE the trolls and haters. This game outdoes Uncharted 3 in nearly every-way. Expand
  80. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    You won't find a more exhilarating experience on any console than this! Epic action sequences that will have your heart pounding, amazing story, and lovable characters. This beats any big-budget Hollywood action flick out there!
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fenominal game! Perfectly flawless gameplay, excelent story, and great graphics all combine to make Uncharted 3 this years Game of the Year. I got this game and when I sat down to play it I didmt know I was going to spend the next 11 hours of my life with my eyes glued to the 82" TV screen. I literally could not stop playing. This is without a doubt the best game ever made on any system. 12/10 SCORE! Expand
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3 Drakes Deception is one of the finest games released this year. It's a well told story, following Nathan Drake as he and his friends journey across the world to unlock secrets hidden by Francis Drake hundreds of years ago. The true strength of the story of this particular Uncharted though, is not the search for a lost treasure within a lost city, but the theme of growing up and moving forward that we see through the multiple relationships of Drake and his friends, especially Drake and his father figure, Victor Sullivan. For that, it is unquestionably the most well thought out, and emotional Uncharted story to date.

    On top of fantastic story telling, Uncharted 3 manages to top every other game on the market in terms of Graphics. It's one of the rare games that's so beautiful, you'll put your controller down just to see what's on the screen. It's heavily detailed, showing every cut on a characters body, every freckle on a person's face, every blade of grass, and every brick on a building. It also has many vibrant colors, avoiding the common use of black, brown, grey, and dark green we see in many current gen games. Now, even though its story is well told, and looks beautiful, that would be nothing if the game mechanics sucked. Thankfully, like its predecessors, Uncharted 3 has some of the most solid third person shooting mechanics, and the most well tuned platforming mechanics of just about any other game on the market. You can feel, hear, and see the different level of power each gun has. You can be strategic, use g-mal and zoom in for a head shot, or you can grab an SAS and run around and mow enemies down. On top of that, there's the impressive platforming, that actually requires timing, and well executed jumps at the right places, or else you will fall to your death.

    On top of the platforming and finely tuned gun mechanics, there's hand to hand combat, and stealth, both of which are also very well done. The hand to hand is very much the same combat system you will find in Batman Arkham Asylum. Therefore it's slower and less dynamic than the finely tuned combat system you'll see in Arkham City, but still works quite well in the context of Uncharted, which is not a hand-to-hand combat based game. Then there's the stealth, which adds a lot of variety to the game play, allowing for players to avoid large gun battles, simply by strategically moving from varying places of cover or creeping up behind enemies in order to get one hit stealth kills. It's all finely tuned, and adds a lot of depth to the single player experience.

    On top of this, there has been some additions that really have not been seen in Uncharted, and really not seen in any other game before. First, there's the grenade throwback mechanic, which makes it's first appearance to the Uncharted franchise. It's a great way for players to avoid having to roll out of cover, simply by allowing players a chance to throback a grenade at an enemy to kill them, or throw it in the air to avoid getting damaged. It keeps things challenging, without making it too frustrating. The real innovation though comes in the form of the vertical platforming/shooting that we see in both Syria and the boat levels in this game. You'll be climbing up the side of a building, and shooting enemies while hiding behind cover attached to a wall. We first saw this in Dark Void back in 2010, but that game failed on many levels, especially in its execution of this innovative gameplay feature. Here, the developers at Naughty Dog did it right, and made some of the most well designed shooting sections, and some of the only shooting while platforming sections I've seen in any game. Now, one cannot mention Uncharted 3 without talking about the multi-player and co-op features, which make a big return from Uncharted 2. Initially just a well designed way to extend the life of the game in Uncharted 2, being one of the most fun, and freshest mutli-player components I've seen added to any game, it has truly become a part of the Uncharted package here in Uncharted 3. It constantly rewards you for playing, and adds an innovative buddy feature, not seen in any other game before, that brings a true co-op experience to standard Multi-player. It's a huge component, and with tons of content in both multi-player and co-op, it gives players plenty of reason to stay in Uncharted 3, instead of going onto the next triple A game.

    Overall, Uncharted 3 is one of the best games released all year. It has great voice acting, spectacular set pieces, and the best puzzles in the Uncharted series. It's not as revolutionary as Uncharted 2, and has slighty worst shooting mechanics than Uncharted 2 if I am to be completely honest, but it's still a very fun and charming adventure, one people will remember. I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I didn't think it was possible but they did it! I thought they wouldnt be able to top Uncharted 2 but they really outdid themselves. Lets see what this game does amazing.
    Gameplay: They completely revamped the melee system while keeping it familiar. It's actually sort of like Batman Arkham Asylum/City combat system. Just like with UC2 you can strike with the square button and counter with
    the triangle button but now the enemies will grab you and you have to rapidly press the circle button to counter it. Now how its similar to Arkham, The enemies now swarm you from all directions and you can seemlessly strike/counter each of them like in Arkham. You can also use the enviornment like throwing them through windows or throwing them up to a fish market stand and beating them with said fish. You can use any part of your enviorment and it's just amazing. The gunplay is much tighter than it was in Drakes Fortune and Among Thieves. Bullet travel time in the other two games was good but pretty slow, Its the perfect speed now. It's like how real guns should work, it feels 100x better. Just moving Nate around is immense fun becasue of so many animations that they gave him. Like say you are running at full speed towards a sharp 90 degree turn, in real life you would slow down and maybe slide a bit and then make your turn and keep running. Nate does this now, he slides and pushes of the wall to give a boost and you just have to see it to appreciate it.
    Sound: The orchestral soundtrack is phenomenal like in the other games, nuff said.
    Graphics: Just absolutely amazing, The facial animations to the characters are stunning and the enviornments are just amazing. You can see the detail of the fabrics and stuff on peoples clothes too. Its like Uncharted 2 on steroids. But what stands out even more are the amazing Water, Sand, and Fire physics. Most impressive being the water and sand. During the cruise ship level in the middle of a big storm, tidal waves are crashing down on the boat, its rocking back and forth, up and down, left right, pretty much every direction possible. Its not an Ocean that they deveoped scripted, If you watch the featurettes they developed a real time moving ocean, the boat will not move the same way everytime you play. It is also constantly raining and the effects of it pouring on the floor and seeing each individual rain drop is amazing. Fire looks like real fire, not just generic orange flame. It has substance(if that is the right word lol). The sand is the best out of them all. The way his footprints stay there and the way that sand falls off of a sand cliff is crazy. The way it moves is how it would be if you were in the desert, They put a lot of detail in it. It's not something you can explain, you have to see it for yourself.
    Lasting appeal: I beat Uncharted Drakes Fortune once, mainly beacuse I didn't have it very long. I beat Uncharted 2 about 10 times and I'm no doubt going to do the same for Uncharted 3. The multiplayer is also really good, although a bit buggy. But it all helps with the lasting appeal.
    Bad things: Very very few but no game is without flaws. These bad things actual come if you aren't used to the way Uncharted games feel. If you don't play them often it might take you a good while to get used to traversing places and it will result in you making Nate do some funky things. I noticed this when I watched my friend play throught it. He doesn't get to play the Uncharted games often, as he owns an Xbox and his recent experience to Uncharted was the beta and it's been a long time since he played the other two games. So when he starts a new Uncharted game hes a little off but he gets the hang of it eventually but still not completely. So if you are new to the series or haven't played it in a long time you might want to relax and take your time with your jumping, aiming, and timing your counters. Things always work better when you take your time and not rush because it could result in doing wacky things. Multiplayer is another tiny issue as it is still a wee bit buggy and there is only five co-op adventures. And lastly is there is not as many exras as there was in Uncharted 1 and 2. There is only 4 feaurettes and I think 6 concept art collections. No extra character skins, cheats, or graphics filters.
    I hope this review was helpful as I actually went decently in-depth unlike some reviews on here...
    Expand
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Not much to say except best graphics handsdown on any game to date... best storytelling flow... gameplay is nice and clean, you got your action sequences, puzzles and platforming all nicely packed. the multiplayer experience is nice new and fresh (unlike codMW3 same year after year). Expect Uncharted to be game of the year.
  85. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game is like an awesome adventure movie - a true cinematic experience. Nearly perfect (apart from some platforming/AI glitches), it keeps you hooked in to the very end. The blend of shooting, fighting, platforming (a little clumsy at times, but still) and puzzle solving offers an engaging experience for fans of different genres. Too bad they didn't put more multiplayer trophies from the beginning (they'll probably make a DLC just like for U2). Expand
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    EPIC. Is the first word that comes to mind when playing Uncharted 3, Naughty Dog has found a way to balance a story line worthy of a hollywood blockbuster with addictive game that will ahve you not wantign to set the remote down. I can honestly say this is one of the Playstation 3's preimer franchises and is worth every penny.
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Ten! Expand
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Very fun game. The story is immersing and keeps you going until the end, was almost like watching a movie. The multi-player is fun, which was unexpected. Few things that bugged in the campaign though was the endless desert scene, and the part where you get drugged. Start to make me feel a little on the sick side. Other then that this game has been fantastically executed, and even for people new to the series was pretty easy to fallow. Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Uncharted is a solid game, its beautiful, fun and exciting and adventure around every corner. Even during gameplay it feels cinematic. I would give it a 10 if it weren't for a fews issues I had; one being is we see the same enemy more than once. He is a much larger male who always engages you in hand to hand combat, he comes along in the game on more than one occasion, i think they should have left him in only one instance in the game. Another issue I had was the lack of response enemies had when taking bullets to the arm, leg chest ect. I mean you can send a hail of bullets their way and they wont even flich and their accuracy will still be dead center on you. Other than that i highly recommend this title Expand
  90. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3 is the greatest ps3 game I have ever played. It is awesome in so many ways. The graphics are so real it look like your watching a movie. The weapons and combat make the gameplay feel real. I enjoy how naughty dog allowed gamers to watch a clip then all the sudden your falling down a hill. It kept the game interesting from beginning to end,
  91. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    The game feels like a big step back from UC2. Drake tripping over stuff looks cool at first but quickly gets old. Your telling me he can survive a fall out of an airplane but can't walk 10 feet without tripping over something. I feel like I'm always fighting the camera, gunplay is a mess and multiplayer is more jacked up than that. The graphics are great but I'm at a loss as to why this game was rated so high. The way the game tells its story is great however it seems Naughty Dog put this aspect in front of game play which leaves you with a beautiful looking game that is fun at times, frustrating at others and overall a bit of a disappointment. Expand
  92. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Outstanding game. Are immersed in an action movie where the script will surprise you at every step you take. certainly recommended. The online mode, very entertaining.
  93. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Before today, I have never played an Uncharted game before. I was aware of how big the franchise was, of course, but it wasn't until I saw the near-universal praise Drake's Deception received that I finally decided to pick it up. And dammit if I'm not glad I did.

    What's there to say about this game that hasn't already been said? It has everything you could ask for in a video game...
    stunning graphics, great gameplay, and a gripping storyline. Although I could have just as easily picked up Drake's Fortune or Among Thieves I'm glad DD was the one I decided to buy. It's this generation's crowning achievement as far as action-adventure games go. It's hard to believe that in just a few years this game will look outdated but as of the moment this is as good as it gets. Absolute perfection Expand
  94. Jun 10, 2012
    5
    If you're staggered by an explosion, enemies can shoot you, even if your character is clearly in cover. The melee combat is flawed, with no real way to exit combat, or cancel into other moves like the previous 2 games. There are times where the game feels like it's just throwing enemies at you for the sake of making it more difficult, only to have it be incredibly annoying.
  95. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Overall a better game than the first, a little worse than the second in terms of single-player but does have the best online multi-player and the only game in the series to feature split-screen gameplay. I recommend it to anyone who really liked the multi-player in U2, because the single-player doesn't hold up as well.

    (problem areas) Single player pacing, difficulty curve and controls:
    Uncharted 2 had a nearly perfect single player experience, 3 stumbles a little bit. Uncharted games essentially have three different modes: shooting, climbing and light puzzle solving. U3 has a hard time balancing these in the same way that U2 and U1 did. Shooting is scarce in the first half of the game, then it shows up and becomes too difficult too quickly. The combat set-pieces are overwhelming confusing, leading to inevitable and frustrating trial-and-error without much idea as to what i actually did wrong with each death. The aiming controls in single player are weirdly sluggish as well, even though they're fine in multiplayer but even then come with some problems and don't feel quite as sharp as other console shooters. There are moments of brilliance in some of the set-pieces other games can only aspire to match, but their overbearing weight on the experience as a whole (the entire game was designed and written around a few key set-pieces) leaves the single-player feeling a little disjointed, unbalanced and just kind of made me want to play U2's or U1's campaign one more time.

    (strong areas) The muli-player is the best Naughty Dog has done so far. They fixed up the game modes so multiple game-types are included in a single mode, so a single game of team objective might include: brief team death-match, king of the hill, territories, chain-reaction and a spin-off of plunder that involves holding onto and protecting the idol for as long as you can. The same treatment was given to co-op arena, so gone are the days of getting stuck with gold rush, it will switch out for siege and then to survival. Also included is a neat new 2v2 spin-off of co-op arena called hunter arena that lets 2 people play as the normally AI controlled bad guys. The players assuming these roles can even pick what kinds of enemies they want to play as including snipers, grenadiers a few different types of gunners. It's a fairly entertaining twist on co-op, and is reminiscent of other games like Left 4 Dead that have combined co-op and competitive styles of play. They have also revamped the character customization across the board in all online modes, allowing you to pick boosters (perks) like before but now co-op also has access to various customizations as well. Weapons can be modded, clothes can be bought, and now medals earned in combat allow you to use kickbacks which are basically super-powers and you get to pick one for each load out. Some of the weapon mods are annoyingly expensive, ranking up alone hardly unlocks anything and it can be a bit of a let down when you finally get that mod you want and you aren't even close to affording it. Earning money in itself is a part of the mechanics, and there's a booster that helps you make more. There's even treasure gathering from chests scattered around the map or people you take down will randomly drop some. It does add a little spice to the flavor, but at a cost to the overall focus. There's some emblem stuff too but that's not very interesting.

    Overall it's a pretty solid game, the single-player will leave you wanting (even though it's occasionally incredible, and worth experiencing, if only once) but the multi-player is fully featured enough to keep you around for a good while between the competitive, cooperative and hybrid modes. I'm a little baffled by the abundance of add-on content available so quickly and that hunter's club nonsense Sony is using to reel in even more cash, but I can't let that reflect on my final score.
    Expand
  96. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This game was action packed. I had no problem with the hand to hand combat this time around. The shooting was also excellent. Also, the multiplayer is as fun as ever with new changes such as creating your own loadout. The voice acting is as good as ever and the soundtrack is unbelievable. If you own a PS3, get this game, you won't be disappointed.
  97. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    The game was the best game of history and it improve the realistic action, the music, voice acting, heavily motion capture and 3D is fantastic and top-notch and singleplayer story and experience looks great and multiplayer would help you get it right and gunplay and brawl fighting was very realistic i mean you could pull the grenade pin and push the enemy and blow or throw the AK at the enemy and punch him that is awesome and this game looks like a movie (if they would make a movie) alot but i haven't played this game but i watch the videos of the gameplay, walkthrough, ending, multiplayer and the making of at the youtube and i was surprised that the game was perfect so i was thinking maybe a perfect score would be helpful :) Expand
  98. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    A very, very, very good game. Not a great game though. When Uncharted 2 came out I re-played it immediately on crushing and got a Platinum. And while the first is not as popular I still play it to this day. I just don't feel the same connection to 3. It was fun for a few hours but now that it's over it's over. It doesn't help that the final level is underwhelming and ending is curiously bland. An 8 is too low and a 9 is too high--8.6 Expand
  99. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Best game ever played. No seriously, I'll write it in capital this time. BEST GAME EVER. This game had the best story line that I have played this year. Batman Arkham City was still an excellent game , same with Skyrim and all the other games, but this just topped it off. The graphics where astonishing and I love how Naught Dog made combat even better and that you wouldn't end up snapping some ones neck in the finishing move like in the previous games. The voice acting is superb and the different range of enviroment sis perfect, for example your in a Forest in France and then you move over all the way to a Syrian Castle, and then you also have the Rub' Akli Dessert and much more.

    The Cintamatics were amazing and they blew me away. The puzzles where mind blasting and were quite annoying but I don't give, they were still fun. The Humour in the game was very funny and made me laughing 24/7.

    I would keep on going on about how amazing this game is but it would probably take me an hour to write all of it down. So i say that this is the best game of 2011 and I also that the Metacritic score isn't reall that fair, but we just have to move on and aceept the fact that this game deserves Game Of The Year.
    Expand
  100. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Baring in mind I have not played single player (campaign mode) I absolutely love multi-player! I have grown to love multi-player, and go on it everyday, everyone who hasn't played Uncharted before, you have GOT to try it, its one of the best games ever made, and much better than Uncharted Among Thieves (second uncharted out of three) :)
  101. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    Let me start by saying this game is amazing. So much fun. Definitely a must buy for a fan of the series and i'd say for all PS3 owners. 10/10. That said let's get the minor gripes out of the way. I wish there were more puzzles, especially towards the end. The last 3 hours or so you have none. I was waiting for one final big one and it never came. The ones it did have were great but I felt UC2 had some better ones. Also the end I love and hate. Quite good and not annoying like UC2s but then again there wasn't much play more of a guided movie. That and the occasional stuck in an unfair firefight spot but that happens in lots of games. Other than my nit picks though the levels are incredible, the story is great as always and the graphics deliver in detail and smart design. I won't ruin it but the faces if you have played are my favorite, took a bit of starring to figure them out but once I did I thought now that's awesome! Every part of this game has insane detail and although I hope from here on out they start to open up the climbing and the routes to have a more open approach (even if they take this mechanic to a new series, who knows if this one is done or not) the climbing parts were much more varied and the objects much more natural. A bit of color hints but for the most part you felt like you were climbing on stuff instead of "this yellow ledge". I don't have much more to say without giving spoilers besides buy this game. oh and no worries on multiplayer, it's fantastic too. Opinions can be made in comparison to other shooters and such but this one definitely has it's own flavor and style to make it compete for my online hours. The addition of player customization and emblem creation are huge to me as a professional designer. May not be as big of points for others but I like to make things unique and my own and I love that they added this. Tons of upgrades and unlock and plenty of levels to keep you interested. The levels themselves are varied with their own unique situations I guess I would say which definitely makes you feel like they aren't just another map. Some are better than other of course but that's all opinion. To wrap up overall great game with minor gripes but only because it makes you wanting more. Covers all the essential, great gameplay, great story, great multiplayer. you will play again and again. Collapse
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 97 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 97
  2. Negative: 0 out of 97
  1. The characterisations by the actors is second to none and even though this tall-tale takes you to fantastical places and events, the script is never once unbelievable. You never feel like an outsider. If anything, you'll feel right at home, ensconced in the constant drama of this loveable cast of returning reprobates and reprehensible villains. [Dec 2011, p60]
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    100
    It's more than just the best entry in an outstanding series though - it epitomises the very reason many of us play video games. And that's its greatest achievement.
  3. 90
    Only a few camera troubles stopped us from giving Drake's Deception the highest rating. Uncharted 3 is without doubt the best PS3 exclusive game of this year. [Dec 2011]