• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. This is not only one of the best games of the year, it is the best game on the PS3 thus far as well.
  2. Naughty Dog use the PS3 to reinvigorate the adventure gaming experience, combining key elements that every gamer holds dear in a game that looks and feels like a blockbuster film. [Dec 2007, p.52]
  3. I was totally captivated from the moment I inserted the disc, and the need to sleep was the only thing that kept me from finishing this game in a single session (I did it in two).
  4. The superb attention to detail, coupled with mind-blowing visuals, fantastic combat, immense climbing puzzles and a brilliant storyline makes Uncharted: Drakes Fortune the best PS3 title to date.
  5. From the adventure-filled gameplay to the pristine presentation, each of Uncharted's twenty chapters are polished to perfection and will leave you counting the days to the inevitable sequel. Despite packing a lengthy campaign, you'll hate to see it come to an end.
  6. The only set back to not purchasing Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune the game length, besides that you won’t find a more polished game on the Playstation 3. This is one treasure that you need to seek out for yourself, you won’t be disappointed.
  7. 95
    Hands down the best game in the PS3 library, and one of the best action adventure titles to come down the pike this generation.
  8. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a very solid game and Naughty Dog has really worked a bunch on this one during its development.
  9. It's easily one of the best single-player games on PlayStation 3, or any platform, this year.
  10. 93
    Uncharted is the best game Naughty Dog has ever crafted.
  11. It’s as simple as this; if you own a PS3, you need to get Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune.
  12. 93
    With its beautiful graphics, excellent voice acting, inspiring music, fantastic story and script, and amazing gameplay, Uncharted is nothing short of a winner – it’s Game of the Year material.
  13. Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune really shines by borrowing elements of other games and making an experience all to its own that can be enjoyed greatly by those that give it a shot.
  14. While this game is not perfect, it comes close to touching it on several points, and absolutely nails it on the story. This tale is gripping the whole way through, and has the value to be revisited over and over again, just like any DVD movie on your shelf.
  15. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  16. Uncharted is a tremendously fun game and one of the best gaming experiences of the year. While it borrows heavily from other games in the market it's such a nice and diverse game that it's hard to find much fault with.
  17. This game is as much an adventure for your eyes as it is for your reflexes.
  18. Production value exudes from every pore on Nathan's face; great graphics, audio, and gameplay are used with lethal detail to tell an over-the-top adventure story that draws inspiration from big budget adventure flicks. And it actually manages to pull off everything with enthusiasm, leaving you wanting more.
  19. 90
    Fast paced and full of relentless action, Uncharted: Drake`s Fortune is a pleasure to play from start to finish.
  20. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.
  21. Uncharted is a superb but linear action adventure that doesn’t last too long, but anyone with a PS3 or even a soft spot for a grand adventure should definitely check out it.
  22. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune isn't a clone of other action adventure games. Yes, it borrows certain elements from its peers, but it combines them together into a wonderful package that's unlike any other game out there.
  23. Like Tomb Raider but with mroe guns and fewer puzzles, Uncharted deserves to be 2007's sleeper hit. [Christmas 2007, p.118]
  24. So if it isn't the most original premise, at least it's executed beautifully.
  25. An enjoyable cinematic experience complemented by the fast-paced fighting and Tomb Raider-inspired platform jumping.
  26. Sensational storytelling. [Christmas 2007, p.84]
  27. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  28. By itself, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a wonderful game and stands as arguably the best Third Person Shooter we have seen on the PS3 thus far. The visuals are second to none and the sound is cinematically solid.
  29. Thanks to its charming cast of characters and great production values, Uncharted plays like a really good Hollywood blockbuster that’s never short on memorable moments and action-packed scenes.
  30. With it’s stunning graphical presentation and Indiana-Jones-ish-1930s-serial storyline, players will be compelled to complete the entire experience.
  31. 90
    Its amazing blend of action and adventure make it far more than any simple clone of any one game and you'll simply walk away from the eight to ten hour jaunt feeling like a million bucks. Naughty Dog - congratulations on what is, quite simply, the finest Playstation 3 experience I've played to date.
  32. Uncharted is one of those rare games that truly defines its respective genre, becoming the benchmark for everyone to follow. If you've been dying for a proper Tomb Raider game, and have obviously been left disappointed, you must pick up Uncharted.
  33. 90
    The surprisingly deep combat, impressive AI, immersive cut-scenes, lack of loading and smooth frame rate combine to deliver not only one of the PlayStation 3's best games yet, but one of the best games yet this generation.
  34. It’s an ambitious game, but, importantly, not an overly ambitious one. All the important elements – gameplay, graphics, story, audio – have come together really, really well, making it well worth at least one play through if you can get your hands on a PlayStation 3.
  35. It’s not the most original game on the PS3, but it’s easily one of the best. This is a must-have in any PS3 owner’s library.
  36. Despite me finding a majority of the combat boring (and I admit, many will love it -- I'm just very impatient at times and really thought it stopped the game cold) there's no questioning that Uncharted is a fantastic game, and has topped Ratchet & Clank as my favorite on the PS3.
  37. The best PS3 exclusive to date. While it lasts, it’s one of the best action/adventure games of recent times. Lara Croft will have to sweat a lot on her next adventure to make Nathan Drake go away. [Nov 2007]
  38. We could actually say that Drake is the male version of Lara Croft, a good prediction to the beginning of a franchise that could be very interesting.
  39. 90
    It might not have the running time of other titles on the market, but the leanness of the experience and time invested are fulfilling, plus the replay value is strong...In a sea of great first person shooters, you won't get a better action game this year.
  40. Uniquely entertaining, if cliched at times. [Jan 2008, p.60]
  41. Uncharted is one of those rare games that borrows elements from all the latest hits without feeling like an also-ran. It manages to simplify gameplay elements that typically frustrate casual players, yet provides enough challenge in the gunplay to satisfy the hardcore.
  42. While there are very few PS3-only games that have come out this year, Uncharted can go right to the top of that small pile.
  43. 89
    It effortlessly captures the feel of a classic, rollicking pulp adventure film through charming, fallible characters, great dialogue and voice acting, over-the-top action sequences, and a story featuring plenty of twists and turns.
  44. It’s a fun, fast, and memorable thrill ride, and perhaps the closest video games have come yet to approximating the experience of an interactive summer blockbuster.
  45. Uncharted flirts with greatness, but some gameplay, AI and plot issues keep it from achieving its full potential. It's still an incredible game, though, with the best production values we've seen in 2007.
  46. 88
    This is a game you could think of as real 'summer blockbuster', although this is meant in the best possible way.
  47. The gun battles are very satisfying, and the dialog, graphics, and cutscenes are some of the best in the business. Everything Uncharted does, it does as well as or better than its competitors.
  48. 87
    One of the best things about Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is that it actually has an ending. [Issue#161, p.80]
  49. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a gorgeous game. But it's heartening to realize that they seem to have spent just as much time making sure Uncharted is fun.
  50. They took a big risk in doing something other than a cartoony platform and in many respects Uncharted is a success, but slightly sloppy gunplay and some absolutely infuriating parts of the game hold it back from being a true killer app. On sheer graphical merits alone the game is a must-buy, but as a complete game, we'll have to wait to see how the sequel turns out to know for sure if this is gaming's equivalent of an Indiana Jones flick.
  51. Everything's fun and exhilarating, but it never builds to more than the sum of its parts. Just keep your expectations in the right place, and you'll enjoy your time in the tropical sun. [Holiday 2007, p.76]
  52. 85
    The breadth of Uncharted's entertaining acrobatics/gunfight gameplay mix more than makes up for its shortcomings, as does the safe but satisfying story (even if it does get a little ridiculous by the end). It's definitely the type of game that makes you glad you have a PS3.
  53. By and large the shooting sections are fun and the enemy AI keeps things interesting by actually trying to flank you.
  54. To dismiss is as something you may have 'seen and done before' would mean missing out on a game that knows exactly what it wants to do and does it spectacularly. [Jan 2007, p.58]
  55. 85
    Uncharted reminded me a lot of an Indiana Jones movie in that both are fun and enjoyable romps that are just good enough to make you forgive their respective weaknesses.
  56. 84
    If you're looking for an intelligent rival to Tomb Raider you'll be disappointed. If it's nine hours of giddying high-def, Hollywood-style entertainment you want, Uncharted more than fits the bill.
  57. Oh, the wasted potential! The great Indiana Jones style adventure potential is wasted with way too much fighting and too little everything else. Still, the fighting is fun most of the time and the great looks and story keep you interested. The dialogue and voice acting are particularly good and make the characters very likeable. [Jan 2008]
  58. Through judicious pruning and reweaving Naughty Dog has crafted one of the finest action adventures to date. It’s involving in its narrative, a triumph of pacing, and simply a pleasure to play. [Christmas 2007, p.80]
  59. Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is a rare treat for a console that is currently starved of triple A exclusive titles.
  60. Both the combat and exploration are hugely satisfying, but that warm sense of nostalgia eventually gives way to the feeling that there really should be something more. [Jan 2008, p.110]
  61. In spite of all the work that obviously went into crafting Uncharted, its gameplay comes up a bit short, turning key moments in its 8-to-10-hour run time into frustrating, repetitive slogs. Still, it's a lot of fun overall, and its cool pulp-fiction atmosphere and wildly entertaining story will keep you grinding through even when things get dull.
  62. Although Crysis on the PC has wiped the floor with every game available, on the console front Uncharted is right up there with the best. The jungle settings are gorgeous and make use of some stunning lighting, while the indoor settings are detailed and moody.
  63. If Naughty Dog are only using 30% of the PS3's power, we're in for some treats in the next few years.
  64. Incredible production values and plenty of thrilling moments help make Uncharted an action-packed adventure, in spite of some slightly uneven gameplay.
  65. Ultimately, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a fairly standard adventure game at its core that goes from "great" to "good" by the time all's said and done. [Jan 2008, p.79]
  66. Problem is, when it comes to movie-style storytelling, Uncharted is more "Sahara" than "Raiders Of The Lost Ark."
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1672 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 384
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game playman i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol Full Review »
  2. OscarH
    Aug 11, 2008
    6
    I bought this on the strength of certain reviews, and I must admit I feel robbed; although I was fortunate enough to purchase it on Platinum I bought this on the strength of certain reviews, and I must admit I feel robbed; although I was fortunate enough to purchase it on Platinum so it doesn't hurt the piggy bank too badly! Games have taken a nose dive if a game so unimaginative and lacking in innovation as this is scoring anything above a 7. The positive: this game looks fantastic. Although the graphics aren't as impressive as Metal Gear Solid 4, it's still a very nice effort, albeit it looks plastic and over saturated in some places. In addition, it at least attempts to introduce innovation into the gameplay (with jetskis, jumping, puzzles etc) although you quickly realise they all follow a similar linear pathway and are heavily interspersed with the same lazy gameplay. The negatives: - Repetitive: For a short game (~8 hours apparently) this felt like a week of playing, such was the tedium. Shooting an endless stream of unnamed enemies grows tiresome very quickly; replacing those enemies with a few zombies at the end isn't the innovation I am looking for - Plot: B-movie style. This is acceptable in a game like Far Cry where its superior visuals and open ended approach to gameplay is the main selling point, but for such a linear game it hardly helps matters here. - AI: Almost superhuman at times, which isn't a good thing; those enemies with the lasers (especially Navarro at the end) are inhumanely accurate. Their presence is also incongruous with the information of certain locations - e.g. they appear in droves in areas that humans apparently haven't seen for hundreds of years. - Absolute zero replay value: I have no intention of ever playing this game again following my lack of enjoyment on my first run through. With the additional lack of multiplayer and coop modes, this will now be gathering dust somewhere. Overall this is lazy game design. Do not buy but merely rent this title only if you have a really boring weekend you want to kill, slowly and painfully. Distinctly unimpressed. Full Review »
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    This game is an amazing. Naughty dog hit the nail on the head with this amazing game. Uncharted will should go down in history as the gameThis game is an amazing. Naughty dog hit the nail on the head with this amazing game. Uncharted will should go down in history as the game that spawned many other great sequels and etc. Great story, Good graphics for the time, Nathan drake has taken Lara's seat for the time being until she can get back on her feet. Full Review »